Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Middle of Medical Testing....!

• 14-09-2009 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

Has any1 here done any medical testing of any sort?

Im in the middle of one at the moment...trapped in here till 8 this evening. Its pretty gas really....bout ten of us just chilling out on beds or watching tv in a lounge area. Not allowed leave the building for 24 hours...been here since 8 last night(for those of you who dislike math!)

All in all...piece of cake and havent had anything fall off.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

Probably the sort of question you should have asked before you signed up for medical testing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

chats wrote: »

Im in the middle of one at the moment...trapped in here till 8 this evening. Its pretty gas really....bout ten of us just chilling out on beds or watching tv in a lounge area. Not allowed leave the building for 24 hours...been here since 8 last night(for those of you who dislike math!)

That sounds class I read something about clinical trials a while ago and I really want to try it out. How do you put your name down for it?

Are you allowed to disclose any details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

[quote=chats;62100754Its pretty gas really....[/quote]

It will be when they open those vents.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Yup!!!!! My housemates did ones and one of the girls had a terrible reverse reaction to the drug.... Be careful!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭chats

Bajingo wrote: »
    That sounds class I read something about clinical trials a while ago and I really want to try it out. How do you put your name down for it?

Are you allowed to disclose any details?

im doing it in cork...it's scary enough, but its grand really...the risks are really minimal...its a small dosage. the only difficulty is trying to keep yourself entertained! its pretty boring, but money is pretty tasty...600 euros....cash:)

you want me to pm you a phone number or something?

I had my blood pressure taken last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Make sure you don't go under the hammer. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

anyone missing a couple of feet there.?

Are those MY feet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

let me get this....
    you're doing medical trials? you're testing out new drugs,is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

ha ha , I'm watching you on my video link , you have actually been kidnapped, it's a scam, hint dont swallow the yellow pills when you get them later, thats when the fun really begins

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

i'd have to be on my last legs to do that.. it is risky and people do die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Are you a chimp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

In cork, 600 euro??? To do nothing???

PM Me on how to sign up for this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Yeah PM me as well. Sounds like something i'd be up to doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

ive never chatted to a lab rat on the internet before :D

Has anything fallen off yet??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

im doing it in cork...it's scary enough, but its grand really...the risks are really minimal...its a small dosage. the only difficulty is trying to keep yourself entertained! its pretty boring, but money is pretty tasty...600 euros....cash:)

Ye could you PM me some details of how ya got involved cheers..it's not actually the money i'm interested(although that is interesting) im just curious how they go about the testing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 hairyhead

could you pm me some info too please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

In cork, 600 euro??? To do nothing???

They're trying to find a cure for the accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article741160.ece
    i know a girl who worked in this hospital on this case,
    i swear she's back in cork now,
    hope your not in the old north infirmary

her auld fella told me she's doing forensics but who's to know,i always thought she was an evil looking bit**...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Stin

could you pm me some details too please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Just a word of warning to anyone thinking of doing this. You will have trouble getting health/life insurance in the future as you will be asked about any history of involvement in medical trials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

silverharp wrote: »
    ha ha , I'm watching you on my video link , you have actually been kidnapped, it's a scam, hint dont swallow the yellow pills when you get them later, thats when the fun really begins

Sounds like they have started filming Saw 6 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Is this phase one of testing a new drug?

If it is they test it out on healthy humans first and increase the dose over time. Its to find out all the side effects of the drug. You know that leaflet you get with meds that tells you what may happen and to contact a doc if this or this happens.

Its ok if you are on the early trials, but as the dose increases you will be the one having the side effects :o

If only they had of had phase one trials with bullmers pear :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

In today's copy of the Sun, part 1 of Charlie's serialisation of his time in the Big Brother House....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭deco05ie

tatabubbly wrote: »
    Yup!!!!! My housemates did ones and one of the girls had a terrible reverse reaction to the drug.... Be careful!!!!
    She can't stop going backwards:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

chem wrote: »
    If only they had of had phase one trials with bullmers pear :D

Apparently disolving an immodium in a pint of bulmers pear neautralises any unwanted side effects such as the minging pear taste :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Be warned. Some medical testing has serious side effects.

Look what happened to this poor chap.

That_Guy wrote: »

I lol'd. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Are you sure you're not just in prison?

Or maybe you've been sectioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

If you grow tits on your back, let me know what they gave you. It's uh. For a friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

That_Guy wrote: »

Funny but actually there can be awful side effects, there was a trial of an immuno suppresant drug (to stop organ rejection in transplant patients, I think) in England a couple of years ago, and a several of the participants had a terrible reaction, severe braindamage, coma etc.

Really you have to be very very sure before you sign up to something like this.

There are guys who are "professional" lab rats though: http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg20327181.500-perils-of-the-professional-lab-rat.html?full=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I love this show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭chats

Im perfectly fine just in case any1 was worried!:rolleyes:

It was grand....just gave blood regularly all day and that was pretty much it...i would suggest any1 thinking of doing it to go for it....its such a small dosage risks are minimal....

....oh and i gained an extra inch...yes to my penis...;)

we all decided to limp out of the place when we were leaving though....new bunch were just coming in.....faces were priceless!!!:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Robert Rodriqez funded his first film, El Marachi, by donating himself to medical science!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

faceman wrote: »
    Robert Rodriqez funded his first film, El Marachi, by whoring himself on the streets!

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

What's the story if you develop and adverse reaction on one of these trials, do they make you sign some kind of waiver so you can't sue them if you end up requiring medical care afterwards.
    600 quid versus a potential lifetime of medical bills, i know which i'd choose !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

if anyone on here got a number of the place who does the med testing from the op please pm me

as he seems to be ignoring anyone who asks for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Yes please..... when did you sign up for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Most of the staff there are South African, what's that all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Sean_Alpha

some one please give me the info on how to get into it im living in kildare so there shall be place near by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Sean_Alpha wrote: »
    some one please give me the info on how to get into it im living in kildare so there shall be place near by

hi,

i are prince quagmire mbele of nigerian provinces. if you are like for to maked moneys from medicines, please reply, and we responded to you for quickly.
    we are pay you 1,000 euros by cheque of 6m GBP, and you will send change to lagos.

thanks,
    john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Sean_Alpha

ok who let this joker on the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

ok who let this joker on the site

Obvious joker, He didnt even say God bless at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

Please test something on me, anything!!! I got these cheesburgers maaan!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I vaguely considered it, then I remembered these guys..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/4808836.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I heard about a guy who could make fire come out of his hands after testing drugs. Ohh wait.... that was a movie.:D