Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What wierd quirks do you have?

• 12-09-2009 8:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭

So was just talking to a friend about this last night, what wierd quirks do you have?

Me, I have to stand at a certain side when walking beside someone, if i dont and they wont leave me change I get all anxi :rolleyes:

Or another one is, If i do a 360 spin/turn to the right ,i have to turn back left straight away or ill feel sick.

So boardies what are your quirks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I can tell the difference between butter and "I can't believe it's not butter".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I see dead people :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Obsessed with ensuring the front door is locked and all windows closed.
    Oh and checking the immersion is off and oven too. Other stuff too

It takes me nearly 5 minutes to check, recheck and check yet again before I leave for work every morning.

I could check the front door a few times walk to the bus stop and then start worrying did I lock the door and noooooooo, the place will be robbed :eek:
    So I have to walk all the way back, check the door yet again and then go back to the bus stop. And miss the bus!

It's just not right :(

Its 9.15m and I havent gone to bed yet, I just dont like going to sleep. My dreams are very real, I can smell and taste, my reflection in mirrors looks the same as in real life, tho I can morph it if I want. I tested out my phone in one of the last dreams and the menus system was all weird so my brain couldnt process that. But people in my dreams act as normal and physics is begining to be more normal in them.
    When I fight in a dream and kick /punch, I hit the wall in my bedroom while asleep, I knocked over my tripod last week so I now dont leave things beside the bed. I prob kick more often but it only wakes me when I make contact with the wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

emo!! wrote: »
    Or another one is, If i do a 360 spin/turn to the right ,i have to turn back left straight away or ill feel sick.

You mean you're not an ambiturner a la Derek Zoolander?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

emo!! wrote: »
    So was just talking to a friend about this last night, what wierd quirks do you have?

Me, I have to stand at a certain side when walking beside someone, if i dont and they wont leave me change I get all anxi :rolleyes:

So boardies what are your quirks?[/quote

I always like proper spelling - the difference between wierd and weird freaks me out!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I often practice Judo sweep techniques against tree's, poles & walls.

When I'm alone in elevators (lifts) I practice breaking balance technique's too - I've been caught once or twice :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I often practice Judo sweep techniques against tree's, poles & walls when I'm alone in elevators (lifts) I practice breaking balance technique's too - I've been caught once or twice :o

KICK THE TREE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

smelling my fingers after ive been to the jacks, just to make sure there's a soapy smell other than a pooy smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭derv60

have to leave the volume on the tv at an even number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I kill people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I still don't know what a tracker mortgage is !!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I have a brother who hates touching food. He has to wash his hands after every meal, even if he used cutlery rather than his hands, because the "steam leaves grease on his hands". He can't eat crisps anymore and doesn't want the kids anywhere near him if they've been eating :) Having mucky fingers, dusty fingers, etc doesn't bother him, just food.

Me? I'm perfect. But if I see a butterfly or a daddy long legs, i have to pull the neck of my clothing in really tight in case it flies down my top. Yes, this has happened to me in the past :(

KTRIC wrote: »
    I still don't know what a tracker mortgage is !!! :(

theres an ad on tv that explains it, I think. Im not really sure myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I can only visit countries that are an anagram of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭sallysaucer

derv60 wrote: »
    have to leave the volume on the tv at an even number

Me too even the car radio has to be on a even number...odd numbers drive me up the wall for some reason!!

Also have this habit of spelling things in my head. Like if i see a chair i will spell chair in my head....c.h.a.i.r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Also have this habit of spelling things in my head. Like if i see a chair i will spell chair in my head....c.h.a.i.r

Woah! Do you spell everything you see in your head?!

I do all kinds of weird things. I like to organise everything. Food in presses, books (or anything) on tables, I like things to be at certain angles and look like they belong! I can't stand anything just been thrown somewhere.

When I'm in work and hanging clothes on a rail, I always do it in a certain order. Big coats, jeans (in size order!), dressy trousers, skirts (going in length from longest to shortest, shorts (again, in length), jumpers (from the thickest wool to the thinnest) and then dresses / tops (from longest sleeves to shortest)!
    No one will even dare to mess with my system, they just hand an item to me and say, "Sorry, I'm not sure where you'd want this!" haha :) Yep, I'm mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

fryup wrote: »
    smelling my fingers after ive been to the jacks, just to make sure there's a soapy smell other than a pooy smell

Why would there be a pooey smell? Do you touch the Poo? ewwww

If I start tidying my room it always turns into a full spring clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Whenever I'm telling a story I make gestures with my hands.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I have to lie on my belly to fall asleep.. I always seem to wake up on my back though :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I laugh in my sleep. Now and again I laugh so hard that I wake myself up... Is that weird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i have to put jeans on left leg first always and put my right arm in jumpers and t-shirts first dont know why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I imagine myself having conversations with people, and think about what they'd say and what I'd say back ... that's weird isn't it?

Oh, and I sleep with my eyes open. Go to sleep with them closed, but everyone says they open when I'm asleep and follow people round the room :eek:

brummytom wrote: »
    I imagine myself having conversations with people, and think about what they'd say and what I'd say back ... that's weird isn't it?

No, I do the same. In fact I plan arguements based on what they say in my head.

I won an arguement the other night because I planned it. I knew what the other guy was gonna say so I snapped at him for a while about it. That shut up the smug barsteward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

You all have varying degrees of OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder)!

brummytom wrote: »

I remember you said this before and I was like, yes, I'm not the only one! So now there's 3 of us, you, me and minidazzler! :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sounds like the bones of a support group to me.

Novella wrote: »
    Woah! Do you spell everything you see in your head?!

I do all kinds of weird things. I like to organise everything. Food in presses, books (or anything) on tables, I like things to be at certain angles and look like they belong! I can't stand anything just been thrown somewhere.

When I'm in work and hanging clothes on a rail, I always do it in a certain order. Big coats, jeans (in size order!), dressy trousers, skirts (going in length from longest to shortest, shorts (again, in length), jumpers (from the thickest wool to the thinnest) and then dresses / tops (from longest sleeves to shortest)!
    No one will even dare to mess with my system, they just hand an item to me and say, "Sorry, I'm not sure where you'd want this!" haha :) Yep, I'm mad!

That's not weird, it's common sense. You must be able to quickly and easily identify everything. Otherwise it's just bad selling because the customer won't know what's there.

I am the one in my house who puts the shopping away, because my mam horses everything into the fridge, freezer and presses so noone can tell what's there so feck all get's eaten. When I do it I have a specific Layout. it's perfect and looks beautiful if I do say so myself.

Also, how I organise it makes sure that food which is nearer the expiration date is used first!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Sounds like the bones of a support group to me.

Says the mod of The Thunderdome...

*runs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

If I don't flick a lightswitch on and off 17 times before I leave a room, my whole family will die!

That's not weird, it's common sense. You must be able to quickly and easily identify everything. Otherwise it's just bad selling because the customer won't know what's there.

I am the one in my house who puts the shopping away, because my mam horses everything into the fridge, freezer and presses so noone can tell what's there so feck all get's eaten. When I do it I have a specific Layout. it's perfect and looks beautiful if I do say so myself.

Also, how I organise it makes sure that food which is nearer the expiration date is used first!!!

.... I think I love you! :pac:

I lived with my friend for a year and she thought I was insane for my food organising! I feel much better now!

.... I think I love you! :pac:

I lived with my friend for a year and she thought I was insane for my food organising! I feel much better now!

Your friend is nothing but a low down slob. No offence:D

None taken! However, she is on boards so she will probably see that and take offence herself! :P

*Cough*Splutter* Eh, I mean, clean up your act Novella's friend. Organisation is the key to success!!!:D

When I am mopping the floors I won't do the straight mop my mam does. I put the flash stuff down, Put some water over it, SCRUB it on my hands and knee's then mop out the place.

Then if anyone messes it within 3 days I raise holy war on them usually.

Something weird then........There is no pron in existance that I have not seen, I am a human rule 34 dictionary:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭X-Calibre

I always have to put on my right shoe/sock first. I physically find it really difficult to put on my left shoe if theres nothing on my right foot...

Also its tamed down a bit recently but if I kick a stone or something while walking I generally have to keep kicking it for as long as possible, even if it goes off direction and I need to change course. Sometimes if it gets stuck on something I will spend ages trying to get it out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

People whistling, making funny humming sounds, loud talking on mobiles, blearing music coming through someone's headphones etc etc in enclosed spaces like public transport really bugs me. Think it's the invasion of my space or something I don't like, but I know it's a total overreaction on my part - but I can't help it - it just bugs me.

I'm the same with stones X-Calibre, hate doing it but can't stop once I start!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I have to start the ignition on my car and put the windows up and down 24 times before I start the engine. Bastard when its raining. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I do that exact thing...

If I step on a crack in the pavement, then I have to step on one again with my other foot.
    Similarly, if I'm in the car and a light shines in one of my eyes and not the other, then a light has to shine in just my other eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I have a tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Jay P wrote: »
    I do that exact thing...

If I step on a crack in the pavement, then I have to step on one again with my other foot.
    Similarly, if I'm in the car and a light shines in one of my eyes and not the other, then a light has to shine in just my other eye.

Same with me!!! :eek::pac:
    Weird...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't like nail varnish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

I won an arguement the other night because I planned it. I knew what the other guy was gonna say so I snapped at him for a while about it. That shut up the smug barsteward.

oh do i that too!!!its fun:D..or prepare comebacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

DrIndy wrote: »
    You all have varying degrees of OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder)!
    Can you send me your insurer's details? :pac:

In fairness, surely it is only OCD when it starts interfering with someone's life or is causing them distress.

I habitually know / check how many letters are in a word, but if I get it wrong, while I might be surprised or disappointed, I don't worry about it.

oh do i that too!!!its fun:D..or prepare comebacks

It helps to beat l'esprit d'escalier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I like to provide sound effects whenever i do...anytging. I find it makes the day go faster

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm a bugger about security.
    I double-check and triple check doors, locks and other early laid precautions.

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm a bugger about security.
    I double-check and triple check doors, locks and other early laid precautions.

Hmmm, we didn't assume that already:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I like to pretend I'm driving a big V8 muscle car while walking and then change gears to go faster or slow down and occasionally accompanied by the deep throttling soundtrack of a good powerful V8 and all...

Yup its lame and also a bit to the fact I can't afford a big V8... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

It helps to beat l'esprit d'escalier.

it does!!never good when you cant for your life think of anything to hit em back with until 5 minutes later