Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Windows 7 Ultimate

• 11-09-2009 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭

Windows 7 Technical Community Launch - Dublin

Join us at the Windows 7 Technical Community Launch and be part of Windows history! Windows 7 is launching all over the world in the coming weeks and Microsoft Ireland are offering IT Professionals and Developers in your area, a chance to see the operating system uncovered. R2 of the already successful Windows Server 2008 is also being released - you will learn about the enhanced power of this server platform, along with the added benefits of running the server OS with Windows 7.

Breaking away from a traditional technology launch event, Microsoft technical experts will bring you through a ‘Day in the Life’ demo experience, highlighting key Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 scenarios. You will also hear from a business customer on their Windows 7 deployment experience. *Register your interest now to join the waitlist!!

When: 2pm to 5pm, 15th October
    Where: Dublin Institute of Technology, Kevin st. Directions & map here.
    *Register your interest now!!

...and did I mention, you will receive a free copy of Windows 7 Ultimate Edition at the event?

http://co1piltwb.partners.extranet.microsoft.com/mcoeredir/mcoeredirect.aspx?linkId=12489320&s1=642c6fba-81f2-ac27-548d-dbb4fa338a19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

That's cool. I put my name down on the waiting list... *fingers crossed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Is this like the Windows Vista thing a couple of years ago when the free copy of Ultimate turned out to be a license limited to a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

That would suck balls.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

shhhs! stop telling people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Where in registration its mentioned that you will receive a free copy of Windows 7 Ultimate???

I cant find it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

MOH wrote: »
    Is this like the Windows Vista thing a couple of years ago when the free copy of Ultimate turned out to be a license limited to a year?

I'm still happily using that copy of Vista today.

Anybody else having problems trying to create a passport account, it keeps failing on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭greys

I must have been to a different event - got free vista home premium edition back then, and still use it without a problem. I hope Win7 ultimate will be a 64bit edition though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

greys wrote: »
    I must have been to a different event - got free vista home premium edition back then, and still use it without a problem. I hope Win7 ultimate will be a 64bit edition though.
    i'd imagine win7 is like vista, the serial key works for both 32 & 64 bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭sedohre

"Microsoft Ireland are offering IT Professionals and Developers in your area"

Do you have to be a IT person really? or could you make up credentials to register and get a copy? :eek:

When I clicked on the OP's link I got "We are sorry, the page you requested cannot be found."??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

link seems to work ok, heres a direct link instead of redirect.
    http://www.microsoft.com/ireland/windows/windows-7/ITpro.aspx

it seems to be a lottery for tickets, so if you dont get in, you can get a 90 day trial here
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/cc442495.aspx?ITPID=tnflash

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I was at the launch for Server 2008, SQL Server 2008 and Visual Studio 2008 and we got a year long Vista Ultimate 32 bit licence at that. Currently on RC 1 of Win 7 at home, so wouldn't mind picking up a full copy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

coldfire1x wrote: »
    Where in registration its mentioned that you will receive a free copy of Windows 7 Ultimate???

I cant find it.
    its only mentioned in the newsletter, which i've pasted in my first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Just registered there and made sure to mention my position and company everywhere I could in my personal details :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭sedohre

"Windows 7 Technical Community Launch – Dublin"

Dublin Institute Technology
    Kevin Street
    Dublin Dublin 2
    Ireland

Event ID:
    "Registration for this event is now full. We are accepting waitlist registrations."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

That turned out to be only a legality - still works fine, but cant work out what all the fuss was about! A few moving desktops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Downloaded 7 a few months ago. My wifi printer stopped working. when I looked on the HP website it says not supported by Windows seven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

I was gonna register for this but couldnt remember my Windows Live ID while in work so I waited till I got home, then it was full so I didnt bother puttin my name on the waiting list... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Downloaded 7 a few months ago. My wifi printer stopped working. when I looked on the HP website it says not supported by Windows seven.

Well to be preciese HP do not have driver support for windows 7 yet, which is totally upto them.

People should always remember this when upgrading,
    an OS isnt crap if it doesnt support your hardware,
    the hardware manufacturer is crap because it hasnt bothered creating drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭fdevine

M450 wrote: »
    I was gonna register for this but couldnt remember my Windows Live ID while in work so I waited till I got home, then it was full so I didnt bother puttin my name on the waiting list... :(

It says 'full' but ignore that. It's a lottery for tickets. Successful applicants will be notified in early October.

Registered for the home event the same evening as it was still available earlier.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

fdevine wrote: »
    It says 'full' but ignore that. It's a lottery for tickets. Successful applicants will be notified in early October.

Registered for the home event the same evening as it was still available earlier.
    Do you still get a free copy for the home event?

Well to be preciese HP do not have driver support for windows 7 yet, which is totally upto them.

People should always remember this when upgrading,
    an OS isnt crap if it doesnt support your hardware,
    the hardware manufacturer is crap because it hasnt bothered creating drivers.

Don't remember using the word crap in my post. I was just pointing out to people that there might be driver issues.
    It does not mater who is at fault either MS or Hp. The reality is the printer stopped working!!
    As you said people should remember this when upgrading. Well I forgot!!!!! so I am only reminding other people who might be upgrading to be aware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Don't remember using the word crap in my post. I was just pointing out to people that there might be driver issues.
    It does not mater who is at fault either MS or Hp. The reality is the printer stopped working!!
    As you said people should remember this when upgrading. Well I forgot!!!!! so I am only reminding other people who might be upgrading to be aware.

Ah i was on about other people who say its crap just because x or y stopped working, not having a go at you! ;)

It just pisses me off when people blame microsoft automatically and i needed to vent it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^Hi, Bill! :D

Not your ornery onager

Ah i was on about other people who say its crap just because x or y stopped working, not having a go at you! ;)

It just pisses me off when people blame microsoft automatically and i needed to vent it!
    No problem. Not too upset. life's too shot for that. Have a nice weekend. You too esel ;););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Don't suppose anybody has a link for any of these events in England (more specifically, London...)
    I like free stuff:p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

tman wrote: »
    Don't suppose anybody has a link for any of these events in England (more specifically, London...)
    I like free stuff:p

Keep in mind- you have a 2 hour seminar extolling the virtues of MS before you get the goodies....... If you are a developer perhaps you might like to ask them what they've managed to loose in backwards compatability this time round- though in all fairness, they are good at coming back to you after the event and coming up with suggestions for you........

The big reason for Ultimate (or Professional) is for the XP virtual environment. Its going to be interesting to see how many manufacturers rush out BIOS updates to enable VTx at a BIOS level in order to use this feature (and thats assuming the processor you have supports VTx). If anyone has any experience with Insyde H2 scripts- give me a yell :mad:

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

Just back from the Galway event. They gave out the copies of Windows 7 Ultimate at the door as soon as you entered and got your name badge so i guess we could have just walked straight back out. Then there was 3 hours of windows is great talk, demos and ppts and a 30 min interval. the guys presenting were grand so it didn't drag. No food there, just coffee but hey, free Windows 7, some interesting demos (server 08 r2) and best of all no shítty piece of paper saying that the software was time limited :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Just back from the Galway event. They gave out the copies of Windows 7 Ultimate at the door as soon as you entered and got your name badge so i guess we could have just walked straight back out. Then there was 3 hours of windows is great talk, demos and ppts and a 30 min interval. the guys presenting were grand so it didn't drag. No food there, just coffee but hey, free Windows 7, some interesting demos (server 08 r2) and best of all no shítty piece of paper saying that the software was time limited :).

Only 32-bit copies though. Damm! Really want to trade mine or even sell it to get a 64 bit copy.

They gave out both 32bit and 64bit copies. 2 DVDs in one pack.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Only 32-bit copies though. Damm! Really want to trade mine or even sell it to get a 64 bit copy.
    The license key on vista worked for both 32bit and 64bit. I imagine it's the same for windows 7.

Licence key? I only got the two disks (didnt open it to see the 64 bit disc). Has anyone installed theirs? Wheres the key?

licence key is on the back of the 32bit cd envelope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

As a matter of interest, where was this held in Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Licence key? I only got the two disks (didnt open it to see the 64 bit disc). Has anyone installed theirs? Wheres the key?

Just installed it a few minutes ago, the licence key is on the back of the 32bit DVD, and works for both, but I assume one could not activate a 32bit and a 64bit install...
    donmeister wrote: »

In the Raddison hotel, at the back of the train station...

licence key is on the back of the 32bit cd envelope

I have two machines. Does it work for both? Could I even give one of the discs to a mate? Activating them with the same code.
    donmeister wrote: »

Radisson SAS hotel off eyre square. Down by the new Bus Station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭RabidDog

At the Galway event also.

We were specifically told, after someone asked, that the key only has one activation, so only once on either 32 or 64 bit.

Actually, something interesting.

For the Home event they had an "On Site Registration Form". A friend of mine came in, filled it out, and got a copy of Ultimate for himself (they ran a Pro (Server 2008) and Home launch event, one at 2pm and the other at 9pm). Of course you can only get one copy, even if you attend both. :)

RabidDog wrote: »
    At the Galway event also.

We were specifically told, after someone asked, that the key only has one activation, so only once on either 32 or 64 bit.

So, I could activate the 64 on my machine with the key, then the 32 bit on another machine with the same code?

No, afraid not. They said it would activate once, no matter what the version.

You could always ring the activation hotline, maybe they could help. ;)

RabidDog wrote: »
    No, afraid not. They said it would activate once, no matter what the version.

You could always ring the activation hotline, maybe they could help. ;)

Damm it, I suppose im asking for gravy on top of it expecting it to activate on more than one machine :(

no you can do one or the other. once the key is in use on one machine you would be violating the terms of the licence if you used it again. Plus once it activates it would probably show up as being "in use" if you tried to use the code again and just not activate on the 2nd machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

No. One activation only. Greedy fecker.:p

I was there as well. Like savemejebus said, twas interesting overall. Presentations/demos were good and speakers were grand and not boring. Very 'low key' event I thought for an os launch.

Anyone notice the ppt presentation that was running when we went in? It was slides of Win7 users and their thoughts on using it. One slide had a guy's picture on it and a quote from him saying "Win7 is the dogs bollix" :eek::D.
    Don't know whether it slipped through the net or left in deliberately. Gave me a good laugh anyway.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Anyone notice the ppt presentation that was running when we went in? It was slides of Win7 users and their thoughts on using it. One slide had a guy's picture on it and a quote from him saying "Win7 is the dogs bollix" :eek::D.
    Don't know whether it slipped through the net or left in deliberately. Gave me a good laugh anyway.:D

Was that from twitter? May have been me.

It was something like
    a:can i say it's the dogs bollix
    b:no that's probably not wise
    a: oops i just did...

The_Edge wrote: »
    Was that from twitter? May have been me.

It didn't say where it was from. Just the pic and the quote. He looked kinda ghey, so your call....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Ok, wasn't me so :)

Was too shy to ask a question.. really wanted one of those tshirts!

really wanted one of those tshirts!

:D Me too.

LOL, I asked TWO questions but only got a medium... :)

It really was low key, they just didn't have enough t-shirts to go around.

Did you see the "I'm a Windows 7 PC" badges they were handing out? They were terrible, Arial font on white plastic and it wasn't even centred.

Three friends of mine went to the Vista launch (in Dublin, but they're not doing the same thing this year) and won a laptop each, with one winning a holiday as well. The competition was to answer the multiple choice questions on Vista as quickly as possible. My friends realised that in every case the longest answer was the correct one, so they were top of the score board. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

Going to the Cork event tomorrow so hopefully the lack of numbers will be in my favour for a big goodie bag. :)

MC

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I'm jealous- they're not confirming the Dublin invites until the 1st..... If anyone doesn't intend using their copies of Win7 I'm very interested in doing some sort of a trade (keeping in mind I've pre-orders from Amazon at £44 a pop for Home Premium and £78 for Ultimate- thanks to this Bargains Alert thread!)

Are they giving out copies of Server 2008 at the industry launch too?