Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College Road break in, ketchup bandit

• 11-09-2009 4:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭

:mad:Seriously pissed off beyond belief. Just spent the past 2 hours trying to scrub walls. :mad:
    Living on college road a bit up from The College Nook. I was woken up at about half 3 hearing one of the girls from my house telling another housemate to ring the guards. About ten minutes before this one of the girls had woken up to go downstairs to get a glass of water, to find the front door wide open and the sitting room walls smeared ALL OVER with ketchup and vinegar and the couch tipped over. The kitchen was also destroyed. Whoever had come in had emptied the contents of the bin all over the kitchen floor, thrown pasta sauce and soup all over the walls and stamped cocoa pops into the ground.
    The smell is beyond belief. :eek:
    We rang the guards and even they were shocked by the state of the place. We literally only moved in a few days ago and now we face telling the landlord in the morning that the sitting room (which was only just done up before we moved in) has to be repainted again. :(
    Has anyone else had something similar happen to them? Did your landlord eat the head off you?... :? I don't want to lose my deposit because of some immature scumbag(s) idea of a laugh.
    Obviously someone didn't lock the door before going to bed :(
    Can't believe none of us were woken up by the noise that must have been made. :shock: One of the girls had thought she saw someone out on the landing on the THIRD floor but didn't think it was someone who wasn't suppoused to be in the house.
    Sorry about this little rant but seriously like! :( Really freaked out by this, they could have come into any of our rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭steve french

thats a bad one, go back to bed and maybe you will wake up and realise it was all a dream.. did they use your ketchup and vinegar or did they bring their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

how many people are living there - is it possible that other tennants had a food fight (obviously while drunk).

Did the gardai take the "evidence" for fingerprinting (you cant throw ketchup and vinegar unless you hold the bottle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Poof Lantern

In all seriousness; what the hell do expect if you reside in such a degenerated area? You were seriously naive to select such a dwelling amidst the sheer delinquency which is par for the proverbial course on that street.

Maybe you're a 1st year, and hence are unaware of the urchins who inhabit those decrepit hovels? However, I conjecture that you are just somewhat dimwitted.

Take this as a lesson in life-- never live amongst riffraff again.:pac:

PCPhoto wrote: »
    how many people are living there - is it possible that other tennants had a food fight (obviously while drunk).

Did the gardai take the "evidence" for fingerprinting (you cant throw ketchup and vinegar unless you hold the bottle)

Yeah- I'm sure the samples are in the crime-lab as I type; the forensic team probably have a special unit working on this case.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

I noticed a smashed jar of pasta sauce on my to work tho other morning (still there now I believe). It was to the east of the Lough Church.
    Perhaps there's a trail of them you could follow.

Sounds rough though. Are you sure it wasn't some "mates" getting a bit over excited?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Haru

You're not the only one I found that video on youtube while searching for something else and was left speechless.

That kind of stuff has happened to me twice before while living in Castlewhite. Once during rag week and then because some girls had found it funny to paint the walls of the whole Castlewhite campus with food. They also broke a door while doing so. The garda came, and they were kinda shocked by what they saw. They asked us what we had seen, took a look at the videos that had been recorded and in the end...

...the girls' parents were contacted and paid for the repairs. Aside from that, the girls never apologized, never got to clean the mess they had done or whatever. We were all disgusted by that.

We also had a guy that ended up in our flat after our youngest flatmate had forgotten to lock the door. Luckily enough, another flatmate heard some noise and knocked on my bedroom door because she was scared, so the guy only had the time to put the chairs up side down before running away.

Are you sure the door wasn't locked ? Maybe they were able to open it by themselves after all. As for knowing who will pay for the damages... I think your landlord has an insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

Yeah- I'm sure the samples are in the crime-lab as I type; the forensic team probably have a special unit working on this case.:rolleyes:

I've seen the Gardai do finger printing it if a car is broken into, and I'd imagine they'd take breaking into a house filled with women alot more seriously.

Also, a bit less attitude please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I've seen the Gardai do finger printing it if a car is broken into, and I'd imagine they'd take breaking into a house filled with women alot more seriously.

Yup they do actually fingerprint for break-ins. Had all that done at Christmas when we were broken into.

They may well take prints, but if you actually believe the police follow up on such incidents, you're quite a deluded individual.:rolleyes:

I am ever so sorry for the "attitude", please accept my sincerest apologies for upsetting your fragile little head.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭pinkheels88

In all seriousness; what the hell do expect if you reside in such a degenerated area? You were seriously naive to select such a dwelling amidst the sheer delinquency which is par for the proverbial course on that street.

Maybe you're a 1st year, and hence are unaware of the urchins who inhabit those decrepit hovels? However, I conjecture that you are just somewhat dimwitted.

Actually I wouldn't refer to myself as dimwitted, I'm an MA student whose intelligent enough to hold a conversation without my thesarus in hand... :rolleyes: 'conjecture' 'urchin' 'hovel' - WTF is this a 19th century Victorian novel??? :pac:
    Seriously though last night was a horrible experience for everyone living here so don't appreciate your comments... :(

Actually I wouldn't refer to myself as dimwitted, I'm an MA student whose intelligent enough to hold a conversation without my thesarus in hand... :rolleyes: 'conjecture' 'urchin' 'hovel' - WTF is this a 19th century Victorian novel??? :pac:
    Seriously though last night was a horrible experience for everyone living here so don't appreciate your comments... :(

Perhaps the reason for your naivety is pertinent to the fact you're from Kerry? I understand moving from an agricultural setting to an urban area can be discombobulating for the likes of you.

Anyway, you have gained a valuable life experience from this event. At least you'll have something to gossip about upon your return to farm eh?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

where do you expect her to live? In a gated community, which happens to be 2 mins walk to UCC and costs €80 a week. get real. :rolleyes:

Perhaps the reason for your naivety is pertinent to the fact you're from Kerry? I understand moving from an agricultural setting to an urban area can be discombobulating for the likes of you.

Anyway, you have gained a valuable life experience from this event. At least you'll have something to gossip about upon your return to farm eh?:pac:

congratulations for having the most re***ded post on boards ever.

No farmers in Cork then? Actually I don't live anywhere near a farm, not that that's of any importance. Do you not see the seriousness of what happened last night?

How do I get this guy banned people????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Were the locks changed before you moved in? Could it be a previous tenant who had an issue with the landlord or something?

Seriously sucks for you....

Did you make an account purely to amuse yourself by being nasty to people?

You've obviously never been traumatised by someone trespassing in your home while you're there. Never mind having to deal with the mess and ordeal that the OP is having to deal with.

Shape up or ship out, I'd say.

i have reported him. i suggest you do so too if you want to get rid.

Same.

Did you make an account purely to amuse yourself by being nasty to people?

You've obviously never been traumatised by someone trespassing in your home while you're there. Never mind having to deal with the mess and ordeal that the OP is having to deal with.

Shape up or ship out, I'd say.

It is not my intention to be nasty to the poor creature.:rolleyes: I just feel if you put yourself in certain situations,(ie living on College Road) events such as which occurred are inevitable.

Please accept my unequivocal apology OP.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

click the 'report post' button.

the mods will look into it then.

It is not my intention to be nasty to the poor creature.:rolleyes: I just feel if you put yourself in certain situations,(ie living on College Road) events such as which occurred are inevitable.

Don't really care where she's living. Doesn't give anyone the right to waltz into your house and cause the damage they did. It doesn't make it the OP's fault in any way shape or form.

It's like saying a girl was asking to be sexually assaulted if she's wearing a short skirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

No they dont, my house was broken into in college last year.
    Was living down Goal Cross oppiset castle white, Sunny Side for those of you that know it. Great houses.
    Anyway, i hadnt stayed in the house that night. My mates woke in the morning to see a front hall covered in glass, the glass in the front door beside the lock all smashed way up the hall ( a good distance, so a lot of force).

Cops came and said "am... maybe it was someone playing hurling or something, let us know if it happends again"

There was no ball inside the house, they didn't even ask around castle white about the security cameras, finger prints pffftt. Never came back, they didnt give a shit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Poof Lantern, you've popped up on my radar one too many times today.

Consider this your first and final warning. Any more nonsense out of you and I will be adding UCC to your list of bans.

I'm locking this thread for now until the regular forum mods get to look at it.

Any issue, PM me directly.

Right, carry on so. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

A robbery/break in could happen anywhere not just college road. A few years back at my homeplace some people tried to rob our car, and i live in the countryside so in all honesty your theory is bullcrap. What do you want the OP to do? Commute from Kerry to college everyday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Sorry to hear about it ph88.
    Has anyone else had something similar happen to them? Did your landlord eat the head off you?... :? I don't want to lose my deposit because of some immature scumbag(s) idea of a laugh.

Contact your landlord immediately and explain. It isn't your doing so he might be okay about it. I'm sure your depoist is only being used if you or any of the tenants did damage. Explain everything.
    Obviously someone didn't lock the door before going to bed :(

Simple mistake, mistakes happen to the best of us.
    Sorry about this little rant but seriously like! :( Really freaked out by this, they could have come into any of our rooms.

Take this as a good sign that they didn't. Could have been a whole lot worse.

All the best.

deisedude wrote: »
    A robbery/break in could happen anywhere not just college road. A few years back at my homeplace some people tried to rob our car, and i live in the countryside so in all honesty your theory is bullcrap. What do you want the OP to do? Commute from Kerry to college everyday?

Yeah, but probabilistically, it is more likely to happen in ragamuffin central(College Road) than in the countryside.:rolleyes:

I could explain in more detail if you're having difficulty understanding this?

Yeah, but probabilistically, it is more likely to happen in ragamuffin central(College Road) than in the countryside.:rolleyes:

I could explain in more detail if you're having difficulty understanding this?

Were you not already warned about your tone in this thread?

Stop belittling things people say ffs.

Were you not already warned about your tone in this thread?

Stop belittling things people say ffs.

So it's acceptable for you to dismiss my theory as "bullcrap"? Am I not allowed to defend my utterances?

I made a valid point, just be a gentleman and admit it!:mad:

So it's acceptable for you to dismiss my theory as "bullcrap"? Am I not allowed to defend my utterances?

A few things..

I'm not sure why you're quoting bullcrap...I never used that word so no point making out that I did.

You're allowed to defend whatever you want...but I think we'd all prefer if you could do that without being condescending.

And I can't possibly be a gentleman about anything since I'm female.

You can have whatever theory you like, but don't expect people not to object when you imply that the OP should have known her house was going to be broken into and ruined because of the area it's in. Like it's her fault it happened at all and has no right to be in the slightest bit bothered about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

The fact of the matter is you are trolling. You are trying to make out college road to be some tough ghetto and that us poor students are putting our lives at risk by living in such an area. Robberies happen everywhere. Deriding the OP because she has chosen to live near the college shows that the only fool around here is you.

A few things..

I'm not sure why you're quoting bullcrap...I never used that word so no point making out that I did.

You're allowed to defend whatever you want...but I think we'd all prefer if you could do that without being condescending.

And I can't possibly be a gentleman about anything since I'm female.

You can have whatever theory you like, but don't expect people not to object when you imply that the OP should have known her house was going to be broken into and ruined because of the area it's in. Like it's her fault it happened at all and has no right to be in the slightest bit bothered about it.

You are becoming tiresome at this stage.:mad: College road is in fact renowned for such outlandish behaviour. Indeed, I have heard inauspicious and antisocial behaviour is the norm for this particular location.

There are other more suitable areas of residence in Cork; it's not like the OP didn't have a choice on the matter.

By the way, your abrasive nature is most unladylike.:pac:

Not gonna dignify Poof Lantern with a response anymore :rolleyes:
    The last girl that went to bed is 100% sure she locked the door so the theories that the lock on the front door isn't up to scratch/they had a key could be true. We're asking the landlord to change the locks and get a second lock on the front door.
    Luckily I took pictures of the damage last night. Didn't think it was possible to think straight at the hour of the night.
    Thanks to everyone for being so sympathetic, it really is sooo scary to think that strangers can just come into your house like that in the middle of the night. :(

deisedude wrote: »
    The fact of the matter is you are trolling. You are trying to make out college road to be some tough ghetto and that us poor students are putting our lives at risk by living in such an area. Robberies happen everywhere. Deriding the OP because she has chosen to live near the college shows that the only fool around here is you.

You are hyperbolising what I said.:mad:

I am actually being serious on this issue; ask most people around campus about life on College Road and they will confirm all I have uttered.

Luckily I'm smart enough not to live there eh?:P

You are becoming tiresome at this stage...
    There are other more suitable areas of residence in Cork; it's not like the OP didn't have a choice on the matter.

I chose college road, like so many other students do, because it is literally a 2min walk to college everyday. Can't think of a place more suitable in that regard.
    Your comments are becoming tiresome. I posted this thread really to warn others and you have turned it into a personal vendetta against students/farmers/Kerry people/the general college road area. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but please don't shove it in my face.

Luckily I'm smart enough not to live there eh?:P

Can you and your thesaurus not go and be superior elsewhere?

And I'm not bothered whether or not you find my "abrasive nature" ladylike. Or whether you find me "tiresome".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Grow up!

I chose college road, like so many other students do, because it is literally a 2min walk to college everyday. Can't think of a place more suitable in that regard.
    Your comments are becoming tiresome. I posted this thread really to warn others and you have turned it into a personal vendetta against students/farmers/Kerry people/the general college road area. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but please don't shove it in my face.

To be fair, there is an ignore facility at your disposal. I suggest you utilise this mechanism if you feel I am being confrontational.:(

All I am trying to do is highlight how this event, whilst obviously not entirely your fault, was partially inflicted due to your choice of residence.

I am sorry for your troubles, and hope that you (a), recover from this ordeal; and (b), learn the valuable life lesson that this event has provided you with.

Best Regards,

Poof Lantern:pac:

All I am trying to do is highlight how this event, whilst obviously not entirely your fault, was partially inflicted due to your choice of residence.

So it's a little bit her fault? Her choosing to live close to campus in some way made the little sh*ts who broke in think that was a good idea? Are you kidding me?

I'm sure plenty people who live in less desirable areas have never been subjected to this kind of crime. I live in a perfectly desirable/respectable area and my home was broken into. That was in no way my fault, just as it was in NO way the OP's fault that it happened to her.

And Poof Lantern takes a 7 day holiday.

Could I ask that people please restrain themselves and not feed the trolls?

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    And Poof Lantern takes a 7 day holiday.

Could I ask that people please restrain themselves and not feed the trolls?

Yes, sorry. *slaps self* :o

I've had friends living on college road for a few years and nothing has ever happened to them.

Also, glad to hear the landlady didn't go wild. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Steviewonder

OP. Sorry to hear wat happened!

I lived on college road last year No.3 opposite the nook..

Wat did the landlord say?:confused:

:) hope ye can get the house sorted soon! sorry to hear what happened.

f**king scumbags, seriously, wrecking someones house is not funnny

OP. Sorry to hear wat happened!

I lived on college road last year No.3 opposite the nook..

Wat did the landlord say?:confused:

Thanks! :)
    The landlord initially thought maybe we'd had a wild party and knew who had did it, but after some explaining that we were all asleep at the time the landlord eventually sympathised with us, at least I think so. I had to leave early yesterday afternoon and the landlord wasn't coming until 5. I thought they would be there the second they heard what had happened the next morning. :confused:
    It seriously would not be cool to be charged for something we are completely not responsible for.
    Just glad to be back home in Kerry at the moment, in a house which doesn't reek so bad of ketchup and vinegar it makes your eyes water...

OT: To those of you still reporting posts, we appreciate it, but the matter has been dealt with.

(hint:look directly under the person's name. ;))

Urgh, the smell of vinegar sucks. It may last for a while, though, so you'll probably have to open the windows to get some fresh air.

And honestly, even if it had been a wild party, I've never seen one go as wild as painting the walls with ketchup and vinegar. =/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Weedy McStoner

Thanks! :)
    The landlord initially thought maybe we'd had a wild party and knew who had did it, but after some explaining that we were all asleep at the time the landlord eventually sympathised with us, at least I think so. I had to leave early yesterday afternoon and the landlord wasn't coming until 5. I thought they would be there the second they heard what had happened the next morning. :confused:
    It seriously would not be cool to be charged for something we are completely not responsible for.
    Just glad to be back home in Kerry at the moment, in a house which doesn't reek so bad of ketchup and vinegar it makes your eyes water...

What a terrible thing to have happened. You don't think there's a chance a few of your friends from Kerry may have got a little overexcited about moving up to the city? It's probably not what happened, but you have to consider all possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

What a terrible thing to have happened. You don't think there's a chance a few of your friends from Kerry may have got a little overexcited about moving up to the city? It's probably not what happened, but you have to consider all possibilities.

If this is your idea of helping, then I'd rather not see anymore of it on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

It was actually the mayonnaise bandit. He wants to rid the world of ketchup.