Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitness forum gives back Pt 2

• 09-09-2009 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

Gem had the great idea of doing an event for charity here. I was talking to the lads running the Toys for Big boys show in the RDS about running my strongman competition again this year and thought it might be a good idea to do the event there? To put it in perspective the T4BB show gets a footfall of about 30,000 over the weekend, the Stephens green shopping centre gets around 20,000 visitors a day or the dundrum shopping centre gets around 30,000 a day. In saying that I'm sure I could get space for free in the T4BB show and I can provide the equipment needed if we were to do the 5000 dips, pullups ect.

I was thinking aswell would it be an idea to add an element of competition to it, haw about getting two teams together, the fitness forum vrs the athletics/triathlon or mma forum? That way we could have a race to 5000 reps and have digital counters on the wall behind the activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

so. tranform v mma forum would be more competitive :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

so. tranformer v mma forum would be more competitive :D

Who?

you miss qouted me hanley. poor you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

When is the T4BB thing on?

I'm game anyway, once it doesn't interfere with any upcoming fights.

you miss qouted me hanley. poor you.

The edit 3 minutes after my post shows up, dumbbass :D:D:p

And I'm up for it anyway.

hush child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Khannie wrote: »
    When is the T4BB thing on?

5th - 6th of November (Thursday - Sunday) AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

I'm all over that!

So all i have to do is 5000 press ups and dips and chins stuff like that - no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Great idea,

Pullups be a good idea and fair play to Mickk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Eh, who had this great idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

yous would probably be better off giving the MMA lads a go, as yous would hammer us in the Athletics, we're very lazy when it comes to upper body, I'd be lucky if I could go passed 10 push ups
    Unless you guys got a few treadmills involved and worked out some king of competitive work out
    Good idea though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Woddle wrote: »
    yous would probably be better off giving the MMA lads a go, as yous would hammer us in the Athletics, we're very lazy when it comes to upper body, I'd be lucky if I could go passed 10 push ups
    Unless you guys got a few treadmills involved and worked out some king of competitive work out
    Good idea though

Unless it was Fitness vs MMA / SD&MA vs Athletics....

Fitness - to 5000 pullups

MMA etc - to 5000 kicks / punches

Athletics - to 5000 steps

3 sets of pull up bars, 3 heavy bags, 3 treadmills. Who's better at thier speciality? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'm already feeling the competitive streak. :D

5th of November suits me perfectly. Probably have a fight at the end of October so I should be free that weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Sounds cool, great idea Mickk.

So it'd be two or three groups competing against each other to see who gets to 5000 push- ups/pull-ups etc first? Sweet!

I reckon Fitness vs MMA vs Athletics - 5000 push ups, 5000 pull ups and I dunno, 250km on the treadmill?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

Roper wrote: »
    Eh, who had this great idea?

You Know Gem, hot irish powerlifter, stronger than you, banned you a few times, you really should know her by now :D

The original idea was 5000 pushups, 5000 pullups, 5000 dips, 5000 situps and 5000 either bodyweight rows or squats. I think bodyweight squats mightn't look impressive to passers by... With 25000 reps the aim could be to raise 25000 euro.

Mickk wrote: »
    You Know Gem, hot irish powerlifter, stronger than you, banned you a few times, you really should know her by now :D

The original idea was 5000 pushups, 5000 pullups, 5000 dips, 5000 situps and 5000 either bodyweight rows or squats. I think bodyweight squats mightn't look impressive to passers by... With 25000 reps the aim could be to raise 25000 euro.

Yeah true on the squats, maybe thrusters instead for added pain? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

thrusters - no feckin way!!!! Did 100 of them two days ago with jsut 40kg and was fecked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I'm availableski and inski

Tomski

Transform wrote: »
    thrusters - no feckin way!!!! Did 100 of them two days ago with jsut 40kg and was fecked

They're unreal aren't they!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Mickk wrote: »

I thought the original idea developed from Hanley ( a deadlift challenge) if I remember correctly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

It just burns you all up that I came up with it.

I thought the original idea developed from Hanley ( a deadlift challenge) if I remember correctly

Heh heh!!!

Does it really matter at the end of the day anyway??

And sh!te, I can't take part. I'll be in Manchester that weekend!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

Lads I'll do all the pullups later tonight someone get started on the pushups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

How bout bench 1000 tonnes or something like that.
    Stick 50 on the bar in total, and start repping.

prehaps a race between deadlifts/squats/benching to reach a certain weight?? Three teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

jayoo wrote: »
    How bout bench 1000 tonnes or something like that.
    Stick 50 on the bar in total, and start repping.

prehaps a race between deadlifts/squats/benching to reach a certain weight?? Three teams

This sounds dangerous..................... i'm in..