Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People wearing PJs outdoors.

• 08-09-2009 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

What the heck? Why do some women wear PJs outside? It's the stupidest looking thing I have ever seen in my life. Do they honestly think they look good like that? They look like jokes. I feel like starting up a website putting up pictures of people in the streets in PJs.
    I heard someone say when she walks around in her PJs heads turn to her. I admit, I turn my head and look at them, look and LAUGH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

It's the stupidest looking thing I have ever seen in my life. .

according to whose parameters.??
    people form different cultures or different eras would look at your attire and say exactly the same thing.
    try to be more open minded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

I want to see some pics. I've heard about girls in PJ out shopping but never seen them, ever. I suspect it's an elaborate urban myth! Pics please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I live in East Wall. It is like a standard issue uniform around here.

I went to the doctors a while back and was sat beside two 60 something yr old grannies nattering on in the middle of the day in the waiting room wearing pj bottoms.

Now that took the biccie for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

wudangclan i think he means oajamas as in around tallaght you see ppl going to the shops in their pajamas.

not muslim traditional dress etc....

Mousey- wrote: »
    wudangclan i think he means oajamas as in around tallaght you see ppl going to the shops in their pajamas.

i got that. i stand by my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

What the heck? Why do some women wear PJs outside?

because theyre knackers

next question please

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

unless they just escaped from a mental hospital they should be shot on sight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

wudangclan wrote: »
    people form different cultures or different eras would look at your attire and say exactly the same thing.

Come on man, you're really comparing young ones wearing their pyjamas outside to whole other cultures and eras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i hate when i see them out in shopping centers its not that hard to get dressed is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Hello ?? ...its alright to wear Pyjamas indoors - or maybe if you need to pop out to the street to get something from the car and a chat to the neighbour.

its just looks crap when you walk around and goto the shop at 2-3pm in bloody pyjamas. (ok not actually bloody but you know what I mean)

Do Pyjama people actually think its "Cool" ? ....c'mon

why even bother putting on PJ's why not go out in underwear and give us normal people something to look at ;)

As for the Different Cultures - please name a "Culture" which does this ? or a different era which would consider walking around in PJs as normal ?..... its not normal ...I dont think its even done outside of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dublin Forum
    >

i'm saying that the idea that a type of clothing designated as 'nighttime clothing' is a false mental construct and personally i couldn't care less if people wear them indoors or outdoors.
    unfortunately it's my bed time and the good man wants to close his internet store.
    night y'all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dublin Forum
    >

^ Racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dublin Forum
    >
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/banlist.php

I'm watching you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

what are bananas supposed to wear in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

And whats the deal with airline peanuts!

Close it down, It's been done to heck.

And whats the deal with airline peanuts!

Close it down, It's been done to heck.
    Wanna play some frolf?
    It's frisbee golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 TheDublinMan

It's a regular occurance these days, myself and the gf always find it hilarious that they seem to have time to their hair and make-up(you've been tangoed) but can't be bothered to throw on a pair of jeans.

Terry wrote: »
    Wanna play some frolf?
    It's frisbee golf.

Yes, but we must play Fing fong after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

Terry wrote: »

league of bastards :pac: fuppin brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

He did say 'It's the stupidest looking thing I have ever seen in my life. .'..so I would say it's according to his own parameters..

I think it's ridiculous. I think it's gone past the point of them being lazy and it's some sort of fashion statement of the poorer class areas. It doesnt make me angry or anything but if they actually sleep in the PJ's then walk around the streets in the same pair...thats pretty skanky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

It's not just the women either, i've seen fellas doing it as well. I really hate people wearing PJ's outside, It's so lazy and pathetic. Is it really such a hassle to people that they can't spend 30 seconds when they wake up, putting on a pair of clothes. It's also embarrassing as well because tourists will see these people and they'll go back home telling everybody about how the Irish are a bag of ham. Ok that last part wasn't serious:) but i stand by what I say when I say that people should dress more appropriately when going outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Is it the same set of PJs they sleep in? Or maybe they have separate "going out" PJs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

herya wrote: »
    Is it the same set of PJs they sleep in? Or maybe they have separate "going out" PJs?

I dont know which one is more pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,476 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

herya wrote: »

they probably take the PJ's off when they go to bed

maybe they're too poor to buy proper clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Or just plain lazy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TriceMarie

Saw a guy in bright pink pjs today near the Abbey :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 dimple_smile

I find it ridiculous, saw a girl in shops the other day face and hair all done up but still wearing her pj's and she had a baby with her too which was fully dresses. I just dont get it at all... dont they have mirrors??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Ah even the toll trolls have covered this one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What other people wear isn't anything to get concerned about, to be fair. They're not being that lazy if they're still out and about, and I doubt they're bothered with whether it looks good or cool. It's comfortable and yeah, lazy in and of itself, but it doesn't affect others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭garyt24

Cant understand wearing pjs out in the street. Its just plain common and lazy. Maybe i should start going out in just my boxer shorts and runners yet i bet these people would be the first to complain. Throw on a tshift and a pair of jeans for f**k sake. Its an eye sore for the whole of Ireland

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Bajingo wrote: »
    It doesnt make me angry or anything but if they actually sleep in the PJ's then walk around the streets in the same pair...thats pretty skanky!

They don't.
    They buy a range of ones for wearing outside.
    Check out the number of different types places like Penney's sell.

Personally, I don't see the difference between jim-jammers and tracksuit wearers in terms of inappropriate wear, but I'm not going to lose any sleep over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

spurious wrote: »
    They don't.
    They buy a range of ones for wearing outside.
    Check out the number of different types places like Penney's sell.

Personally, I don't see the difference between jim-jammers and tracksuit wearers in terms of inappropriate wear, but I'm not going to lose any sleep over it.

Wehwehweh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

It's not attractive, and just plain wrong, pj's are for bed and sitting in front of the TV if you're definately not going out.

maybe an exception can be made in extreme circumstances for driving someone to the shop, only if you're not getting out of the car.

dylano_k wrote: »
    Ah even the toll trolls have covered this one...
    Jesus ****ing Christ.
    Is that what passes for entertainment these days?
    Dudess wrote: »
    What other people wear isn't anything to get concerned about, to be fair. They're not being that lazy if they're still out and about, and I doubt they're bothered with whether it looks good or cool. It's comfortable and yeah, lazy in and of itself, but it doesn't affect others.
    Are you mad, woman?
    It has a huge effect on other people.

Think of the shame people feel when they see others walking around in pyjamas. Think of how it hurts the eyes of some people to see this.
    They are a menace to society and need to be sterilised in order to prevent them from creating a new generation of pyjamas wearers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Hmmm..

People with '69' in their name.

How trendy and cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭chachabinx

Mousey- wrote: »

U'd wanna watch who your talk about their buddy..Im from Tallaght & its only once in a blue moon that I see people in their pj's...

What I wanna know is do they get up in the morning & change underwear & PJ's or wear the ones from the night before!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I've figured out a solution for this one. On the rare occasions that I have to go to our fair Capital occasionally one will encounter a member of the working classes dressed in inappropriate attire. The correct course of action is simple.
    1. Take a 50 euro note. (If you don't have one just use 100s)
    2. Make a paper plane out of it.
    3. Make said pyjama wearer aware of the first two facts through a simple series of universally understandable grunts and gestures. (Don't stand too close as they carry swine flu, cause obesity and lower surrounding property values)
    4. Throw the paper plane back to the Northside.
    5. Put your monocle on and enjoy a day on the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I've figured out a solution for this one. On the rare occasions that I have to go to our fair Capital occasionally one will encounter a member of the working classes dressed in inappropriate attire. The correct course of action is simple.
    3. Make said pyjama wearer aware of the first two facts through a simple series of universally understandable grunts and gestures. (Don't stand too close as they carry swine flu, cause obesity and lower surrounding property values)

wouldnt it be better to make said paper plane from shiny material. ..... they love them shiny things :rolleyes:

PCPhoto wrote: »
    wouldnt it be better to make said paper plane from shiny material. ..... they love them shiny things :rolleyes:

No that's pigeons. Easy mistake to make though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

that might be difficult, since i saw a few pyjama zombies in rathmines the other morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

Heres a good article for you guys, there is a docu being filmed about it

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/film-will-track-citys-pyjama-girls-1873924.html

that might be difficult, since i saw a few pyjama zombies in rathmines the other morning

They're mining rats now? Jaysus. I have never seen that from the rear windows of my limousine. Possibly because of the tinting. I must see this. Is there a hyatt, hilton, sheraton or dorchester hotel near there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

Email circulating at the moment ..
    Cafe in Finglas :D

derra wrote: »
    Email circulating at the moment ..
    Cafe in Finglas :D

JESUS CHRIST.... :eek:

Can you guys see the face in the window too!

/hits the big red Paranormal button....6th absails down from Helicopter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What the heck? Why do some women wear PJs outside?
    AH from 3 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

I saw 2 PJ zombies only this morning on Amien St, one was even wearing slippers.
    The bus i get everyday goes up Amien St and North Strand. If one wishes to alight at any stop in these areas you have to be wearing the obligatory dress code of PJs or tracksuit bottoms tucked into white socks :pac:

(major generalisation, I know I know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

It all depends on if its a onesie or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

I see them in my local shop a lot. They stink so badly I usually have to leave. I feel sorry for the peeps behind the desk as you can see they are on the verge of vomiting.