Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The boy Dunne wrong

• 07-09-2009 10:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭

Question is: was he instructed to rattle Kilkenny's most dominant outfield force yesterday? Maybe I saw incorrectly, but there seemed an earlier sideline clattering of Tommy Walsh before the headcase whack, but RTE quickly pulled the plug on that for some reason:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

It was a blind side shoulder if I remember right.

EDIT: and he hit him in the shoulder/chest, not the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

djScarey wrote: »
    Question is: was he instructed to rattle Kilkenny's most dominant outfield force yesterday? Maybe I saw incorrectly, but there seemed an earlier sideline clattering of Tommy Walsh before the headcase whack, but RTE quickly pulled the plug on that for some reason:rolleyes:.

Of course he wasnt instructed to do it - why instruct someone to get sent off? It was pure madness what he done and it was plain to see. Pity as Tipp were on top at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Warper wrote: »
    Of course he wasnt instructed to do it - why instruct someone to get sent off? It was pure madness what he done and it was plain to see. Pity as Tipp were on top at that stage.

When Dunne pulled accross Tommys face to get sent off, it already his third attempt to clatter Walsh. The previous two times the ball came into them Tommy ended up on the ground, with Dunne kicking Tommy the first time and then the second time it appears that Dunne pulls accross Walsh.
    The 3rd time the ball arrived..well we all saw what happend

So the sending off was on the cards.

Now imagine the reaction in the media and on online forums, if Tommy Walsh had pulled accorss Dunnes face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

Annuv wrote: »
    Now imagine the reaction in the media and on online forums, if Tommy Walsh had pulled accorss Dunnes face.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

He got special praise down in hillybilly land Thurles this evening apparently. Just goes to show the mentalities you are up against sometimes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

It was a moment of absolute madness from Dunne. Anyone who gives him praise for it is a complete muppet. Probably cost his side the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭draward

Dunne should be banned for life. What if walsh had no helmet on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Oh I heard a few Tipp boys saying Dunne should have given Walsh "a bit more of the same". Dunne made a show of himself and his team and he deserved to be sent off. pEOPLE have the gaul then to call KK dirty hurlers. Laughable really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Silly move by Dunne, it really was. He should have held his temper better.

Still though, if you were to start up a topic for every dirty foul a Kilkenny player makes in a game.... jesus you'd be here for a while.

Gerard.C wrote: »

Still though, if you were to start up a topic for every dirty foul a Kilkenny player makes in a game.... jesus you'd be here for a while.

I'm sre you meant to write "All Ireland wins" in place of what you wrote there. Are those grapes sour enough for ya yet? No?? Always "next year" I suppose :D

draward wrote: »
    Dunne should be banned for life. What if walsh had no helmet on
    Nothing since he hit the chest.Christ am I the only one whos looking at the strike instead of where Walsh grabbed

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

It did cost Tipp the game, what was Dunne even doing on the pitch? - he is a poor hurler - how it cost them was the extra man - Dunne wouldn't have contributed much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

you're not the only one. Where is this 'hitting the head' coming from? :confused:
    Dunne gave him a fierce aul blow and deserved red though.

you're not the only one. Where is this 'hitting the head' coming from? :confused:
    Dunne gave him a fierce aul blow and deserved red though.
    Oh im not arguing about the red, it was stupid and well deserved.
    Its just all this talking about tommy almost being decapitated because he grabbed his face when he went down but if you look at the replays it was the shoulder/chest area he hit.As I said in the match thread, even with the face mask, if that strike hit the head he wouldnt have been up that fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 brockbobbins

Oh im not arguing about the red, it was stupid and well deserved.
    Its just all this talking about tommy almost being decapitated because he grabbed his face when he went down but if you look at the replays it was the shoulder/chest area he hit.As I said in the match thread, even with the face mask, if that strike hit the head he wouldnt have been up that fast

saw tommy last night in Langtons, he got it on the chin and has a nice mark and a few stitches to go along with it. jesus i'm dying this morning, some win and some celebrations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I'm still convinced that the blow was on the upper chest after watching numerous replays (will have to watch it on super slo-mo again) but the fact remains that it was a stupid thing for Dunne to do regardless of the fact that Walsh had tampered with his helmet as the ball came through to him. Just not cute enough, Tommy! ;)

However, some of you Kilkenny lads make me laugh with your over-reactions to it (ban him for life, get a grip). What if the Tipp player hadn't been wearing a helmet when Walsh threw his hurl at him in the League final and it had cracked him on the back of the head??

Enjoy your four in a row lads and don't be turning neutral fans against you by being sore winners because that's even worse than being sore losers.

saw tommy last night in Langtons, he got it on the chin and has a nice mark and a few stitches to go along with it. jesus i'm dying this morning, some win and some celebrations
    Then it would have had to have made contact at the most bizarre angle considering the size of the chin guard on those helmets.:confused:

Tommy wears an old cooper helmet with a battered guard that is taken from an old micro helmet with bars missing etc
    It is very easy to imagine a belt of that force bending the bars towards the face causing injury. He has a number of stitches in his chin as a result

Tommy wears an old cooper helmet with a battered guard that is taken from an old micro helmet with bars missing etc

He might want to get a new shiny one for next year so with the compulsory regs coming in ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Ed_

mfitzy wrote: »
    He got special praise down in hillybilly land Thurles this evening apparently.

I see your location is Kilkenny. Hardly a sprawling metropolis is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

What Dunne did was probably one of the greatest acts of mind numbing stupidity ever seen in an all Ireland final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

Tommy Walsh got 6 stitches to his cheek.
    The force of impact drove one of the bars inwards.
    He also got straight up after and made no big deal about it.

Now why dont you give it a rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 room18

There is no doubt in my mind Walsh provoked that. He is a dirty hurler!! Im going to throw up a few links to show how much of a sc*m bag he is on the field.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NgUSiI8yAQ (listen to what the pundits say at the end)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HQ1FtJP_5M&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9qUrAXdFYY&feature=related

Dont get me wrong, he is a brilliant hurler who is extremely talented, but he is a filthy hurler. And tbh, Im sick of hearing KK people trying to deny it...

Alfie Boon wrote: »
    Tommy Walsh got 6 stitches to his cheek.
    The force of impact drove one of the bars inwards.
    He also got straight up after and made no big deal about it.

Now why dont you give it a rest.
    He doesnt have a mark on his cheek.A gash that required 6 stitches on the cheek would be very noticeable especially during lifting the trophy and would definately cause enough bleeding to warrent a jersey change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

room18 wrote: »
    There is no doubt in my mind Walsh provoked that. He is a dirty hurler!! Im going to throw up a few links to show how much of a sc*m bag he is on the field.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NgUSiI8yAQ (listen to what the pundits say at the end)

Dont get me wrong, he is a brilliant hurler who is extremely talented, but he is a filthy hurler. And tbh, Im sick of hearing KK people trying to deny it...
    No.1. Walsh tapped the Galway lad on the hip with one hand on his hurl.The lad went down clutching his hand.Why did you not put up the later incident when a Galway player pulled early on a dropping ball and was sent off?
    No.2 Walsh slipped when he turned and hit Lyng one handed (again) with the hurl on the shin
    No.3 Same again with Kelly.A tap on the hip.

You obviously never played hurling of any type before because if you did you would know that stuff happens in every single game.What Dunne did Sunday was something no one wants to see in hurling.What terms would you use for what he did? "filthy?" "scumbag?"
    Actually dont bother answering that, as your opinion is as worthless as the pathetic arguement you are trying to make.
    You are either a jealous and bitter fool or someone whose I.Q score is similiar to your username.

No.2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 johnnyfred

mfitzy wrote: »
    He got special praise down in hillybilly land Thurles this evening apparently. Just goes to show the mentalities you are up against sometimes ;)

There was no special praise for Benny last night.

The crowd gave him the loudest cheer because they recognise that he has hurled for Tipp for ten years and has given the county total commitment for a decade. The Tipp fans were recognising this commitment and trying to pick him up at the same time. No real fan would condone what he did.

No player wants to get sent off in a final.

room18 wrote: »

These have to be three most blown out proportion incidents in the history of hurling, you'd see worse strikes at an u-14 training session. Hayes sucking his thumb FFS. Every time there is a Tommy Walsh thread someone does their little youtube search for these three incidents and pastes them into the thread with the intention of proving Tommy Walsh is dirty, instead of highlighting the supposed dirtiness of Walsh, all it does is highlight the posters ignorance of hurling. None of the slaps in these videos had the potential to hurt the opposing player, you could find similar tackles made by most defenders in the country if there were as many videos of them available.

Compare these to Benny Dunnes belt on Tommy, to Richie Murrays pull on Derek Lyng, to Peader Cartons pull on the Tipp player, to Dirmuid O'Sullivans clothesline on Joe Canning etc, the Tommy incidents are nothing compared to these incidents which all could have resulted in serious injuries. But hey its Tommy Walsh so all perspective and parity goes out the window

johnnyfred wrote: »
    There was no special praise for Benny last night.

The crowd gave him the loudest cheer because they recognise that he has hurled for Tipp for ten years and has given the county total commitment for a decade. The Tipp fans were recognising this commitment and trying to pick him up at the same time. No real fan would condone what he did.

No player wants to get sent off in a final.

I understand that, they wanted to show Benny that they realise that he made a mistake and also thank him for his service to Tipp down through the years. I don't think any genuine Tipp fans were actually cheering him for hitting Tommy Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

did Benny get sent off in an AI club semi for a dirty dig with the hurl before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

did Benny get sent off in an AI club semi for a dirty dig with the hurl before?
    That was Tommy I think.

He was sent off in a club county semi a few years back I think. I wouldn't call him a dirty hurler though

Lads it was spur of the moment stuff. They were niggling each other off the ball for 5 mins before it. Walsh pushed the back of Benny's helmet and blinded him. Benny pulled wildly and deserved the red card... It didn't lose us the match though. The "peno" lost us the game. How in the name of god was that a peno ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

If we can get back to the question in the original post - Did sheedy send Dunne on to put Tommy out of the game? And, If so, should he face some sort of sanction too?

I wouldn't be surprised as he was a dirty oul hurler himself in his day.

BQQ wrote: »
    If we can get back to the question in the original post - Did sheedy send Dunne on to put Tommy out of the game? And, If so, should he face some sort of sanction too?

Get a grip!

Did Cody ask Jackie Tyrell to deliberately bodycheck Séamus Callinan as revenge for injuring Brian Hogan in the league final? Of course he didn't.

Benny has been pretty much Tipp's first sub all summer so things haven't changed there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Ed_

That is one of the most ridiculous posts I have seen on this website. Get a grip will you.

It was the heat of the moment, an instance of pure madness. There is nothing more to it. Why would somebody be brought on to get intentionally sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Oh I heard a few Tipp boys saying Dunne should have given Walsh "a bit more of the same". Dunne made a show of himself and his team and he deserved to be sent off. pEOPLE have the gaul then to call KK dirty hurlers. Laughable really.

He deserved to get the line and deserves a long suspension. Dunne made a show of himself and Id say he knows and regrets it now. However ye won an All Ireland, can ye not leave it at that. Dunne will get his suspension, Kilkenny got their 4 in a row.

Fair play to your keeper, some outstanding saves and along with the ref giving ye the harshest of penalties were the major incidents of the game. True, Dunne was sent off, but Tipp were coping with that. They couldnt cope with the goal and the heads dropped after that.

Also, I think Cody was shocking in that interview with Marty. He had to ask questions about the penalty and Cody dismissed him like a kid who was caught with his hand in the cookie jar!! Very bad form

Ed_ wrote: »
    That is one of the most ridiculous posts I have seen on this website. Get a grip will you.

It was the heat of the moment, an instance of pure madness. There is nothing more to it. Why would somebody be brought on to get intentionally sent off.

I never said his intention was to get sent off. That is ridiculous.
    I merely speculated that he was sent on to rough him up and reduce his influence on the game.

With Bloodgate raging over in England, it's clear modern coaches will go to any lengths for success. It's certainly not an alien concept in the GAA either. On several occasions, when i've been marking the opposition's key player, i've been told to hit him early on or "let him know you're there" (which I didn't do, because i'm not a dirty hurler like Benny Dunne or Seamus Callinan).

(which I didn't do, because i'm not a dirty hurler like Benny Dunne or Seamus Callinan).
    You're quite delusional, Séamus Callinan a dirty hurler. Get over yourself.

dcr22B wrote: »
    You're quite delusional, Séamus Callinan a dirty hurler. Get over yourself.

Get a grip.
    You mentioned yourself how he injured Brian Hogan in the League final.
    'nuff said.

Get a grip.
    You mentioned yourself how he injured Brian Hogan in the League final.
    'nuff said.
    Callinan was only playing as hard as what Kilkenny have dished out in the past and I doubt that he deliberately went out to injure Hogan. FTR I'm not saying KK are a dirty side, they play to the limit of the rules and other teams have to realise that they need to step up to the plate on a physical level to match this kind of performance.

You seem to have a bee in your bonnet that you feel the Tipperary lad's tactics were to deliberately injure Kilkenny players which I can assure you would not be tolerated if it was discovered to be true (which of course it isn't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I never said his intention was to get sent off. That is ridiculous.
    I merely speculated that he was sent on to rough him up and reduce his influence on the game.

With Bloodgate raging over in England, it's clear modern coaches will go to any lengths for success. It's certainly not an alien concept in the GAA either. On several occasions, when i've been marking the opposition's key player, i've been told to hit him early on or "let him know you're there" (which I didn't do, because i'm not a dirty hurler like Benny Dunne or Seamus Callinan).

Lol what ever small and I mean small bit of credibility you had vanished with this cracker, its actually so inaccurate and off the mark I'm lost for words, Iv heard of Callinan been accused of alot before but this is a new one on me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

I'm a Clareman and no-one hates the sight of Tipp more than us....

..but Seamus Callinan....Dirty...!!!!!!

I'd say he's only downfall as a hurler is that he's not dirty enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

BnA wrote: »
    I'm a Clareman and no-one hates the sight of Tipp more than us....

..but Seamus Callinan....Dirty...!!!!!!

I'd say he's only downfall as a hurler is that he's not dirty enough.

Absolutely, the guy wouldnt go ito a dark room ffs and i actually have it on very good authority that it is why he was never a first 15 player at minor for tipp and that was only 2 years ago!