Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Licence inspectors...

• 07-09-2009 12:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

Live in a student flat with no tv and recently got a warning in the post saying that the inspectors were aware that we have no tv licence and will soon be calling around to check it out. Just wondering what they can actually do if I refuse to let them in (purely to annoy them). Presumably they can't insist on being let in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

macgowan wrote: »
    Live in a student flat with no tv and recently got a warning in the post saying that the inspectors were aware that we have no tv licence and will soon be calling around to check it out. Just wondering what they can actually do if I refuse to let them in (purely to annoy them). Presumably they can't insist on being let in?

They'll come back with a warrant to search the place. If you've no tv you're better off letting them in for a look round. I mean why be a prick when you don't have to?

Besides afterwards you can go buy a tv and you won't have to worry about hearing from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Tell then you receive signals via your tin foil hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Use the oppurtunity to kick them hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Leave out a load of odd sex toys and let them search, cover a box that looks like a TV with a Gimp suit so they have to lift it to see what looks like a TV from the outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Don't you see? You won't have a choice.

The television told me that the tv license inspector is a smooth talking unoffensive looking middle aged man, he'll turn your knees to jelly with a deft wave of his hand convincing you that he's not the tv inspector you're looking for.

Once inside he'll carefully plant a 14' 'television' in your kitchen and write you up for having no license. I'm just warning you because no matter what you tell the judge that crafty devil of an inspector just preaches that he's heard it all before... and he keeps getting away with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

macgowan wrote: »

You know i often wonder do tv license inspetors ever go around to areas like southill or moyross in limerick or rougher housing estates in Dublin, i think most people can answer that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Alexl

Leave out a load of odd sex toys and let them search, cover a box that looks like a TV with a Gimp suit so they have to lift it to see what looks like a TV from the outside.

Literally crying with laughter!!!!

Leave a DVD player below the tv socket, theres no DVD player license is theer???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Or get a real gimp and when the inspector comes in start talking to the gimp telling him that the inspectors his new friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Have the gimp whine about being subjected to Fair City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

They send that to everyone and check very few of the houses they send to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 pesy

the ***** came round our accom at college earlier this year! best solution.....dont answer the door!! house isnt in your name!! but...i like the gimp idea! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Bring him into your house to look around and take off all your clothes and caress him.

These tv licence inspectors may have heard it all..... but have they seen it all. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

pesy wrote: »
    the ***** came round our accom at college earlier this year! best solution.....dont answer the door!! house isnt in your name!! but...i like the gimp idea! :D
    Exactly dont answer you door. Best form of defense from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

tell them you're from Fiji and cant speak any english

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Weren't you told they've heard all the excuses, and none of them work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ask him if he's hungry!!!
    http://www.gizmag.com/go/7947/

I'd actually let the inspector take my tv. Why bother paying for terrible programming like Play TV and the brand new Late Late with that eejit Tubridy?

I'd rather watch cum dry on a wall that I've whacked off against to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

You know i often wonder do tv license inspetors ever go around to areas like southill or moyross in limerick or rougher housing estates in Dublin, i think most people can answer that question.

Remember years ago they came around Ballymun flats,poor fckers car got pelted out off it and he was next if he didnt get out of there pronto

Never seen them up there again after that

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Remember years ago they came around Ballymun flats,poor fckers car got pelted out off it and he was next if he didnt get out of there pronto

Never seen them up there again after that

Aye, cos they know they can't realistically afford a tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

whats the penalty for not having your license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Overheal wrote: »
    whats the penalty for not having your license?

Castration :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

ye wanna be a fierce ****in eejit to have a tv lcence..... seriosly tho.... what the **** are ye payin for? adver ****ig tisements? the day somebody calls to ask me for a licence.... ha ha !

hey op, i got ur surname too!! except not mac... just mc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

I got stung recently after months, if not years, of avoiding the f*ckers. Somehow they were able to gain access to our apartment complex, which is like fort knox at the best of times. They would wander the corridors with clipboards and big smiles on their faces. I once had to pretend to put my key in the door of a neighbours apartment when one of them was lurking around waiting to pounce on me. When living in a previous apartment we actually received a summons due to not having a licence but seeing as the name on the summons was wrong (my first name and flat-mates surname) we simply ignored it.

Anyway, one day not too long ago, there was a knock on my apartment door. No-one knocks, any callers will buzz from outside. So, i obviously assumed it was my OH and that he had forgotten his keys or something. But, being skeptical of all knocks, knowing the licence dudes were doing the rounds, I tip-toed to the door and peeked through the peephole. I couldn't see anyone there, so assumed the boyf had bent down to search for keys in his bag or something. I then said "Who's there?" and the person said "It's me". The CHEEK of him - i actually thought it was my boyf so i opened the door....and alas, it was Mr. Licence. His records, he said, showed that I didnt have a TV licence.......and I just didnt have the energy or face to pretend that I didnt live there, couldnt speak English, didnt own a TV......whatever.........so i ended up having to get a TV licence. Complete waste of money but if you're caught, you could end up in court and get a hefty fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Complete waste of money but if you're caught, you could end up in court and get a hefty fine.

Personally I'm more worried about ThE ShAmE!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

spongers

I got stung recently after months, if not years, of avoiding the f*ckers. Somehow they were able to gain access to our apartment complex, which is like fort knox at the best of times. They would wander the corridors with clipboards and big smiles on their faces. I once had to pretend to put my key in the door of a neighbours apartment when one of them was lurking around waiting to pounce on me. When living in a previous apartment we actually received a summons due to not having a licence but seeing as the name on the summons was wrong (my first name and flat-mates surname) we simply ignored it.

Anyway, one day not too long ago, there was a knock on my apartment door. No-one knocks, any callers will buzz from outside. So, i obviously assumed it was my OH and that he had forgotten his keys or something. But, being skeptical of all knocks, knowing the licence dudes were doing the rounds, I tip-toed to the door and peeked through the peephole. I couldn't see anyone there, so assumed the boyf had bent down to search for keys in his bag or something. I then said "Who's there?" and the person said "It's me". The CHEEK of him - i actually thought it was my boyf so i opened the door....and alas, it was Mr. Licence. His records, he said, showed that I didnt have a TV licence.......and I just didnt have the energy or face to pretend that I didnt live there, couldnt speak English, didnt own a TV......whatever.........so i ended up having to get a TV licence. Complete waste of money but if you're caught, you could end up in court and get a hefty fine.

What kind of a cutn does that for a living??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I wonder would he try this in a rough flat complex?
    Not a chance! I'd say there are areas in every town and city that a license inspector will never, ever check.

Hope you asked him for ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

Course I did - and yep he had a nice shiny ID card. In fairness to him he was a nice enough bloke, even though I felt like kneeing him in the you-knows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

flanum wrote: »
    ye wanna be a fierce ****in eejit to have a tv lcence..... seriosly tho.... what the **** are ye payin for? adver ****ig tisements? the day somebody calls to ask me for a licence.... ha ha !

When you sober up you're gonna feel like a right twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You have to say it in english though, so they can understand you.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

that story

cheeky bastard! :)

If asked who is it, he should have responded properly...

Thankfully there is none of that lark over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭hiorta

In the UK, these folk are self-employed agency people, relying on intimidation.
    They are equipped with a list of addresses with current licences, so only target the remainder.
    Here, they must gain access and actually see a working set, before they can act and even then the threat of court action is an empty one, the courts being overloaded with real cases.

I have neither tv or licence and they wish to 'verify' my position but without any success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

"Fijians speak English". :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I then said "Who's there?" and the person said "It's me". The CHEEK of him - i actually thought it was my boyf so i opened the door
    Not know what your OH sounds like?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Have a white cane and dark sunglasses by the door, and put them on when some one knocks.
    I don't mind paying for the licence, however I do wish that the money was spent a little wiser. I find most of the presenters to be a waste of space, so hense over paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Course I did - and yep he had a nice shiny ID card. In fairness to him he was a nice enough bloke, even though I felt like kneeing him in the you-knows!
    All well and good but I think kneeing him in the balls would be much more effective then the you-knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

When they arrive, refuse to give them entry. By the time they come back with a warrant, you'll have had time to move your TV to another location or hide it.

Whilst I have a TV set (bought for me years ago), I never ever watch TV. The TV remote has an inch of dust on it, and the TV itself doesn't even have a plug attached.

For that reason, I have absolutely no intention of ever paying for a TV licence. It's an unfair tax that shouldn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've lived in the same apartment for 5 years, we got 2 letters over that course of time saying we had no licensce, I asked when we moved in was it covered by rent and was told it was so not my problem, its the one government body thats nicely useless at doing their jobs,yet they portray themselves on tv as this ass kicking, take no prisoners, agency only fighting for the rights of the poor RTE to charge us what thay already make money for in advertising to have ****e like Pure Mule and The Late Late on tv , American TV all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

I got one of these letters recently. I do have a tv, but I live in an apartment and I'm never home when they call.. Just wondering what they'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Its odd, i have a portable tv for about 10 years, neither my father or myself has ever gotten a license for it. Its plugged into the mains while im at home and with rabbit ears whenever im living away from home. Never once has the tv licence inspector picked up on it. I always wonder how exactly do they track homes with tvs because ireland is on an analogue system....anyone know how they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

j1smithy wrote: »
    They'll come back with a warrant to search the place. If you've no tv you're better off letting them in for a look round. I mean why be a prick when you don't have to?

Besides afterwards you can go buy a tv and you won't have to worry about hearing from them.
    Since when can TV inspectors get search warrants :confused:
    Eh, English is the official laguage of Fiji so me thinks that wont wash!

Generally if you dont answer they just move on to the next gaff. Was the letter addressed to you OP? If it wasnt then you are home free!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Patricide wrote: »
    Its odd, i have a portable tv for about 10 years, neither my father or myself has ever gotten a license for it. Its plugged into the mains while im at home and with rabbit ears whenever im living away from home. Never once has the tv licence inspector picked up on it. I always wonder how exactly do they track homes with tvs because ireland is on an analogue system....anyone know how they do it?

They go by a list of the people that paid. Everything else then gets checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Is your user name meant to be ironic?
    Also, lols @ the people not getting the Fiji joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

newblue08 wrote: »
    Exactly dont answer you door. Best form of defense from them.

Sure, become a recluse to avoid the payment... :rolleyes:

What about rented accomadation, I bought a licence for this flat, it's the first one, but never buying one again. Fcuk them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Aidric wrote: »
    Also, lols @ the people not getting the Fiji joke.
    I've heard all ofthe excuses and none of them work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

jonny24ie wrote: »
    They go by a list of the people that paid. Everything else then gets checked.
    But how do they know the people who havent paid have a tv in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Patricide wrote: »
    But how do they know the people who havent paid have a tv in the first place?

They take your details when you buy the licence. If your address is not listed, they come looking for you. It's up to you to prove you don't have a tv. Scandalous really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Ed_

That_Guy wrote: »
    Why bother paying for terrible programming like Play TV

Play TV is a TV3 production. But you are right in saying that it is terrible programming. Ditto for Tubridy Tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Alexl

Can you have a TV just for DVD/Playatation, and not have to pay a licence????