Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Congratulations Kilkenny - 4 in a row

• 06-09-2009 5:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭

Coming from a Waterford man this is tough, but hats off to Kilkenny and many congratulations on a fantastic achievement of winning 4 All Ireland's in a row. Without doubt the team of the decade.

A fantastic match today, and plenty of talking points from the season to see us through the winter months.

Well done again KK and enjoy the celebrations, but we'll all be out to get ye next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

KevIRL wrote: »
    Coming from a Waterford man this is tough, but hats off to Kilkenny and many congratulations on a fantastic achievement of winning 4 All Ireland's in a row. Without doubt the team of the decade.

A fantastic match today, and plenty of talking points from the season to see us through the winter months.

Well done again KK and enjoy the celebrations, but we'll all be out to get ye next year ;)
    Traitor :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jimmym

i agree , great achievement,tipp had them on rack but costly misses
    at start 2nd half cost them,kk were like a boxer fighting from memory
    hung in there and experience saw them home

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Great game today. This season has restored a lot of pride for a good few counties. (particularly Waterford.)
    Well done Kilkenny on a historic win! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Waterford played very well this year Kevin, Id say we`l have to watch ye next year!

Well done to the boys today on their fantastic achievment of getting the 4 in a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭joeduggan

the killing thing is that the two best matches this year were the league final and the all ireland final. nothing worth talking about in between. this cant be very good for hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

joeduggan wrote: »
    the killing thing is that the two best matches this year were the league final and the all ireland final. nothing worth talking about in between. this cant be very good for hurling.

Both KK v Galway and KK v Waterford were good games. If Waterford and Galway can knuckle down and make the same progress Tipp have things will look good. Dont forget about Cork either, if they can avoid striking and get a proper league run they'll be right in the mix next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Congratulation to our hurlers, you did us proud again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

joeduggan wrote: »

Almost all games involving Kilkenny this year have been entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

You have to take your hats off to them.

4 in a row is some achievement.

Some teams interest seems to wane with success but they come back each year with the same passion and desire to win.

I wouldnt be a big hurling fan by any stretch but Im never anything but entertained when watching the cats.

Well done to all concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Reminded me of the Tyrone footballers a lot today, very dirty and cynical but there is no denying how big an achievement the 4 in a row is. I think last years ai final performance was the best team performance I have ever seen in any sport, it was pure perfection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Congratulations to Kilkenny, a remarkable achievement to win four all irelands in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

great team...amazing achievement. congrats to all...but i really have an issue with the amount of soft decisions by ref's in favour of kilkenny...they get away with all kinds of foul play....the level of over carrying is unreal and they never get called up for it..the holding/obstruction its ridiculous too. and they get a good few soft free's in front of goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 me_one

KK have set a standard in hurling of pure filth and dirty strokes. Tipp out-hurled them but don't have the dirty streak yet which is needed to defeat the dirtiest team of modern times.

This post was closed. Here's to freedom of speech.

Firstly I'll announce that I'm not from Tipperary. I'm expressing my neutral opinion of what I consider to be the biggest set back that inter-county hurling has ever encountered.

Kilkenny have been hailed as the greatest team that have ever occupied a field but am I alone in thinking that they are cheats? When a Clare hurler, Gerry Quinn injured King Henry Kilkenny wanted nothing short of blood. Yet their cheating and dirty strokes have been overlooked over and over again.

Benny Dunne has been sent off today for a dirty stroke on whom I consider to be one of the biggest cheats the game has ever seen. However, a clever cheat is he who doesn't get caught but a cheat none the less.

Benny had the right idea with his dirty stoke but opposition will need to be much more clever when it comes to his cheating cheats. They will need to take a leaf from Tommy's book and improve at not getting caught cheating.

It's sad to see that a team like Tipp have out-hurled Kilkenny but have lost an All-Ireland because though they are skillful, ultimately they are too clean to match the modern standards set by Kilkenny.

I wish to see these standards improve for the sake of the game that I have loved for all of my life but as Kilkenny get away with their with their cheating we will see other sports such as rugby benefiting where the best team truly wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

me_one wrote: »

Firstly I'll announce that I'm not from Tipperary.

Well thank God for that. Tipperary people have brains as well as opinions. I doubt you're from Kilkenny though, because we're not that smart really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭tororosso

Have to say that I am delighted with todays match as it was needed after the last two All Ireland finals. I am uneasy with the result of todays match as I felt that the best team didnt win pure and simple. At the same time the result doesnt necessarily always reflect the better team on a given day but the fact that they have now been crowned champions for the past four years does show without a shadow of a doubt that the best hurling team around for pure consistency and excellence is Kilkenny.

Kilkenny are cynical but dirty is a bit strong..remember that it is the referee's job to enforce the match and the ref's performance today was nothing short of shocking..The one decision that changed the match and he got it wrong: Kilkenny's first penalty..
    Had he gotten that decision right would Kilkenny have been inflated and Tipp deflated as much in those last 5 minutes?? Probably not...
    Is this Kilkenny's fault? No...
    They stuck at it for the whole match and Tipp could never get more than 2-3 up on them and it is for that reason that I still admire them as champions even though I thought Tipperary were the better team on this particular day...

Fair play to Kilkenny, whose for 5 in a row?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

Next year will be very interesting, as a lot of teams are on an upward curve.

Firstly I'll announce that I'm not from Tipperary. I'm expressing my neutral opinion of what I consider to be the biggest set back that inter-county hurling has ever encountered.

Kilkenny have been hailed as the greatest team that have ever occupied a field but am I alone in thinking that they are cheats? When a Clare hurler, Gerry Quinn injured King Henry Kilkenny wanted nothing short of blood. Yet their cheating and dirty strokes have been overlooked over and over again.

Benny Dunne has been sent off today for a dirty stroke on whom I consider to be one of the biggest cheats the game has ever seen. However, a clever cheat is he who doesn't get caught but a cheat none the less.

Benny had the right idea with his dirty stoke but opposition will need to be much more clever when it comes to his cheating cheats. They will need to take a leaf from Tommy's book and improve at not getting caught cheating.

It's sad to see that a team like Tipp have out-hurled Kilkenny but have lost an All-Ireland because though they are skillful, ultimately they are too clean to match the modern standards set by Kilkenny.

I wish to see these standards improve for the sake of the game that I have loved for all of my life but as Kilkenny get away with their with their cheating we will see other sports such as rugby benefiting where the best team truly wins.

You are entitled to your opinion, but do not drag this thread off topic with crap about freedom of speech. Consider this a friendly warning, my advice is that you read the charter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭crackity_jones

Just to make it clear, I am not from Kilkenny but I'm a very interested spectator from one of the 'smaller' counties. It seems you have to make such admissions before people will listen to a word you have to say.
    Reminded me of the Tyrone footballers a lot today, very dirty and cynical but there is no denying how big an achievement the 4 in a row is. I think last years ai final performance was the best team performance I have ever seen in any sport, it was pure perfection

This is a sentiment that is doing the rounds on these boards, as is the case after EVERY Kilkenny win, and I'm baffled people are still buying into it. Of course it's little more than jealousy of probably the most accomplished team to ever play the sport. Thus it has always been; people will try to muddy the record of any successful team, even if the facts prove otherwise.

Yes, they have introduced a level of physicality and intensity to their play that is new to the game, but can anyone say that they are a 'dirty' team? And if that is the case why were two of the dirtiest strokes of this year's championship, in games involving Kilkenny, perpetrated by Tipperary (Dunne) and Galway (Murray) players, both of whom rightly got the line? I haven't seen Tommy Walsh or JJ Delaney making those kind of pulls.

Certainly their hooking, blocking and general harrying of opponents is ferocious, and I have no doubt that they resort to all kinds of intimidatory tactics in an effort to put players off. But this is top level hurling for god's sake. It supposed to be physical, with no quarter given or asked for! And analysts such as Loughnane and Farrell have dismissed such accusations as little more than sour grapes. Kilkenny have been the top dogs all decade and who is to say that won't continue? They're certainly got the talent coming through, even if it might not be as freakishly good as the current collection of players.

Kilkenny are one of the great Irish sporting teams and I feel lucky to have them play in the flesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Commiserations to Tipp. Kilkenny a great team but today wasn't their finest hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Congratz KK. I think Tipp got the wrong end of a good few refereeing decisions but in the end it was missed chances that really cost them. Dunne had to walk of course but i do agree that KK are guilty of some very rough, and sometimes dirty play. Thats for another topic anyway and today is their day so enjoy the celebrations and i would think you have got your AllStar goalkeeper finally after today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭lazyQuestions

Agree 100% - Nuff Said

To cruiserweight: I'm not an activest for freedom of speech but want to express an opinion on what is being described as one of the best teams of all time. To say their glory is tained would be such ... You know what I mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

At the end of the day how can 14 men beat 16 men and one of the 16 have a whistle

To cruiserweight: I'm not an activest for freedom of speech but want to express an opinion on what is being described as one of the best teams of all time. To say their glory is tained would be such ... You know what I mean

It is polluting a congratulations thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Interesting to note, in 2008 Kilkennys victories in the Championship were by margins of 18, 19, 9 and 23 points. This year it's fallen to 4, 6, 5 and 5 points. A sign of this great Kilkenny team dwindling down, or more the opposition stepping up to the plate and trying to reach the standard set the past few years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Congrats KK,
    Well done.
    As this is a congrats thread i won't drag it off topic,

Well done.
    Wish the dubs were as dedicated!

Exactly my point crackity. Other teams much be more cute at how they cheat. The differance between Tommy, JJ and Benny cheating is that Tipp aren't used to cheating hence Benny got caught blatantly pulling a dirty stroke. I want to see hurling going back to skill. Otherwise I'd be following WFC. However Kilkenny will need to be beaten at their own dirty game before we can go back to skill winning hence hurling winning. Again look at the numbers that have been lost to rugby because it is a tough game but you don't get much cheating.

I thought that Loughnane was making a similar point to my own when he defended Benny Dunne. Granted, it was a dirty stroke but he was surely provoked, though in a very cute way.

Exactly my point crackity. Other teams much be more cute at how they cheat. The differance between Tommy, JJ and Benny cheating is that Tipp aren't used to cheating hence Benny got caught blatantly pulling a dirty stroke. I want to see hurling going back to skill. Otherwise I'd be following WFC. However Kilkenny will need to be beaten at their own dirty game before we can go back to skill winning hence hurling winning. Again look at the numbers that have been lost to rugby because it is a tough game but you don't get much cheating.

I thought that Loughnane was making a similar point to my own when he defended Benny Dunne. Granted, it was a dirty stroke but he was surely provoked, though in a very cute way.

Can you post this stuff in the match thread or somewhere else, what has it to do with 'congratulations Kilkenny - 4 in a row'?

@me_one

I'm always suspicious about people who create new accounts solely to express strong and controversial opinions on a particular subject. Why aren't you using your regular account? Chances are you're simply trolling in an effort to annoy and wind up some people.

If that is your opinion then it is one held by very few people of 'neutral' status. I work with quite a few Wexford people and while seeing their close neighbours dominating to such an extent is certainly painful they admit that this is a great team and fully deserving of the plaudits coming their way. They're simply the best team in the land.

Why are you comparing two completely different things? Henry Shefflin suffered a very serious eye injury in that game and while Kilkenny's response was vocal and robust (from what I recall) they did get on with things and moved on. Trying to compare this incident to Kilkenny's aggressive tackling and harrying is a nonsense. I'll say it again: the dirtiest strokes perpetrated this year have been on Kilkenny players. Yes, KK stray very close to the line but they don't try to take the head of opposing players.

And if they are so dirty and cynical, where are the shouts of protest and complaint from oppositions players and managers? Any complaints I have heard have come from journalists and ex-players. You think a guy like Davy Fitzgerald is going to keep quiet if he thought his team were the victims of dirty play? Not a chance.

So Benny Dunne "had the right idea" when he struck Walsh in the face but Kilkenny are the team that play the filthy hurling? That's some interesting logic, right there. You claim you want to see all rough play eradicated from the game but condone a terrible stroke from a Tipperary player? What are you really for?

Yes, Tipperary out-hurled Kilkenny for long periods of today's game, and possibly would have won had they taken their goal chances, but it's a fact of sport, and not just hurling, that the best team does not always win on the day. That being said, some people seem to think that Tipperary hammered KK throughout. Far from it. Kilkenny took everything thrown at them and still got the goals when it mattered.

And no, it wasn't a penalty. But that's the ref's call.

I'm not sure what you're trying to say here. The general opinion is that today's game saved the championship, perhaps in both codes, from what has been a very, very average competition. As someone else here pointed out, the best games were probably those involving Kilkenny. Maybe the opposition raise their game in an effort to compete.

And please don't say you're holding up rugby as some paragon of excellence. Pick up any paper from the last month and you'll get a nasty surprise.

And I would just like to add that I do not consider Tipperary or Galway dirty teams in any way either. I highlighted poor strokes pulled by some of their players but that was simply in an effort to counter the idea that Kilkenny are a dirty side.

Apologies for going off topic somewhat on the general theme of this thread.

Great game, great challenge from Tipperary and great champions in Kilkenny.

That's enough from me.

CJ

Okay you can express your opinion on the matter that relates to the thread, any statement that relates to freedom of speech is off topic. If you want to talk about freedom of speech etc. there are other avenues and places on this website and forum that you can do it. That is the last that I want to here about it here

Again cruiserweight I'm not speaking about freedom of speech. I'm talking about hurling and maintaining what I've grown up to love. It was a great game, the best I've witnessed in years. But my issue is that though Tipp were skillful enough they didn't have that dirty stroke about them. You've posted a lot to respond to crackity. I don't want this to become a slugging match between us but I stand firm on my opinion. KK are a dirty team and I know that my son won't be playing hurling while this is becoming the standard. I know that Benny Dunne's stroke was disgraceful but if you provoke a dog with such pride expect to get bitten.

They are the greatest team I've ever witnessed but for the future of hurling I would like to see a cleaner standard of play. In fairness Tommy hopped up today and didn't look for Dunne to get the line but being able to take a hit surely doesn't mean you can hit back as hard because it would end in chaos.

And with your referance to cheating in rugby; It was handled expertly and this is what I want for hurling. For cheats to be caught. Lets try to keep young lads playing hurling rather than soccer and rugby and start by fair play, not filth as I'd rather my son play than fight.

me one could you not post this is the thread about the match? And leave this thread for people that genuinely want to wish the team congradulations, instead of p$ssing all over it calling them cheaters and dirty players and likining Tommy walsh to a dog, its very insulting to genuine supporters. Let us have our bloody day and post your slander in a more suitable thread. Amazing how you signed up for an account right after the match just to slate the team. Their one of the best hurling teams Ireland has seen in years. It was a close match and emotions were running high but have some decency would you!

I guess his team lost to Kilkenny sometime over the past year.

If he can't be happy then the Kilkenny supporters can't be......

Min wrote: »

Well of course we still are happy Min but yea I get you;) Its just insulting to drag it into a comgradulatory thread. KK is madness at the mo, great singing going on inside :) Unfortunately my lift was going early and I hadnt the money to be staying out, the town is alive inside, tis a proud day to be from Kilkenny and wear the county colours :)

I tried to start a seperate thread but it was closed off by the moderator so blame him/her for me posting it here. I told him that I would express my opinion and this thread was the closest to my own thread. It's Cruiserweight. You can see his/her posts. Why has this become a personal attack? I was simply stating an opinion. Can you not make constructive comments? Or are you so juvenile that the first hint of constructive critisism drives you make such negative comments. I love hurling but am seriously worried about the sport's well being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

I tried to start a seperate thread but it was closed off by the moderator so blame him/her for me posting it here. I told him that I would express my opinion and this thread was the closest to my own thread. It's Cruiserweight. You can see his/her posts. Why has this become a personal attack? I was simply stating an opinion. Can you not make constructive comments? Or are you so juvenile that the first hint of constructive critisism drives you make such negative comments. I love hurling but am seriously worried about the sport's well being.
    theres a thread open at the moment regarding the matter of kilkenny being dirty players(not the one you started) prehaps thats a better place to slate off our team than here

anyways back on topic... wooop four in a row, well done to the boys:) roll on the homecoming :D

This topic is not about you.....

Oh and I didn't register to bad-mouth KK as some of you seem to think. I registered to express my concerns about Brookfield Hall. At the end of the day this is just sport but people have real concerns. Again I attempted to start a seperate thread but the moderator thought differantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Min wrote: »

Who cares anyhow. At 72 mins Kilkenny had more scores on the board. If so-called hurling "fans" cannot accept Kilkenny's superiority well then they should just fcuk off and follow something else.

Oh and I didn't register to bad-mouth KK as some of you seem to think. I registered to express my concerns about Brookfield Hall. At the end of the day this is just sport but people have real concerns. Again I attempted to start a seperate thread but the moderator thought differantly.
    like i said there is a thread not started by you , open about kk being a dirty team, post your concerns there no?, leave the well wishing thread to the well wishers.. or are you just doing it ruffle feathers (which is what it looks like!!! )??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭wax

Congrats to Kilkenny tonight. Tipperary almost took it from us and I'd like to acknowledge their effort today. They're definitely a team to watch out for next year.

But for tonight........

:):):)

You're all tossers, especially the moderator "cruiserweight". I'm off to bed now. Until tomorrow. xx

say hello to the banhammer ! :pac:

I doubt we shall hear from you tomorrow as personal abuse is a banable offence. Looks like he can give it but resorts to personal abuse and name calling when its pointed out that this wasnt the best place to post his slander.

Let the well wishing continue;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Spoken like a true sportsman :D. Pot, Kettle and Black spring to mind.
    Sleep well. Dreamng of Kilkennys FOUR IN A ROW. SWEET DREAMS XXXX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Both KK v Galway and KK v Waterford were good games. If Waterford and Galway can knuckle down and make the same progress Tipp have things will look good. Dont forget about Cork either, if they can avoid striking and get a proper league run they'll be right in the mix next season.

I actually think Cork will be down for a few years. They'll always be there or thereabouts but i can't see them winning a Munster in the next 3-4 years. Not much talent coming up down the line, but given the size of the county and their resources they're always likely to unearth a few new players. That said, i think Tipp, Waterford and Clare will be the dominant teams in Munster over the next 7-8 years. Cork will struggle for a while and Limerick will be down for the best part of a decade.
    Galway have the potential to oust Kilkenny but they have to develop a mean streak, they've got a soft underbelly and have had for years. Dublin will improve and with a bit more experience they'll be challenging KK too. I wouldn't have too much hope for Offaly or Wexford to be honest, they'll be their usual stubborn selves but can't see either of them winning a Leinster for some time to come.

mfitzy wrote: »
    Spoken like a true sportsman :D. Pot, Kettle and Black spring to mind.
    Sleep well. Dreamng of Kilkennys FOUR IN A ROW. SWEET DREAMS XXXX

Instead of counting sheep he can count our titles :D:D

Again I salute KK but I would point you back to my original post.

And I won't be banned. I've spoken to the tosser of a moderator. Maybe I'll be banned under this username but you'll never be rid of me. Ha Ha Ha