Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilbeggan American Show Pictures (56k Warning!)

• 06-09-2009 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭

Just back from the Kilbeggan American show. Pissed rain the entire time I was there. Nearly got stuck in the field too trying to leave! Apart from the crap weather, it was a good show all the same. (Also, don't know why some images are different sizes than others. My poxy camera must be acting up):

S2300002-1.JPG

S2300003-1.JPG

S2300004-1.JPG

S2300005-1.JPG

S2300006-1.JPG

S2300007-1.JPG

S2300008-1.JPG

S2300009-1.JPG

S2300010-1.JPG

S2300011-1.JPG

S2300012-1.JPG

S2300013-1.JPG

S2300014-1.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

More...

S2300015-1.JPG

S2300016-1.JPG

S2300017-1.JPG

This cool Dodge Ram pickup truck was for sale:
    S2300018-1.JPG

S2300019-1.JPG

S2300020-1.JPG

S2300021-1.JPG

S2300022-1.JPG

S2300023-1.JPG

S2300024-1.JPG

S2300025-1.JPG

S2300026-1.JPG

S2300027-1.JPG

Proper estate car!:
    S2300028-1.JPG

S2300029-1.JPG

Cavan fire service have this Chevy truck in their fleet!:
    S2300030-1.JPG

S2300036-1.JPG

LAPD:
    S2300031-1.JPG

NYPD:
    S2300033-1.JPG

S2300032-1.JPG

S2300034-1.JPG

S2300035-1.JPG

S2300037-1.JPG

S2300038-1.JPG

S2300039-1.JPG

Ford Aerostar:
    S2300040-1.JPG

S2300042-1.JPG

S2300043-1.JPG

S2300044.JPG

S2300045.JPG

S2300046.JPG

S2300047.JPG

S2300048.JPG

S2300049.JPG

S2300050.JPG

S2300051.JPG

For sale too:
    S2300052.JPG

S2300053.JPG

S2300054.JPG

S2300055.JPG

S2300056.JPG

S2300057.JPG

S2300059.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Love that NYC Taxi!!

Nice shots!!!

'Vette Pace Car:
    S2300060.JPG

S2300061.JPG

S2300062.JPG

S2300063.JPG

S2300064.JPG

S2300065.JPG

S2300066.JPG

S2300067.JPG

S2300068.JPG

S2300069.JPG

S2300070.JPG

S2300071.JPG

RHD (probably a postal car):
    S2300072.JPG

S2300073.JPG

S2300074.JPG

S2300075.JPG

S2300076.JPG

S2300077.JPG

S2300079.JPG

S2300080.JPG

S2300081.JPG

S2300082.JPG

S2300083.JPG

Pre-'87 reg.:
    S2300084.JPG

S2300085.JPG

S2300086.JPG

S2300087.JPG

S2300088.JPG

S2300089.JPG

S2300090.JPG

---
    S2300091.JPG

S2300092.JPG

S2300093.JPG

S2300094.JPG

S2300095.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Great pics Max:D
    I see someone bought this..
    S2300010-1.JPG
    Last time i saw that it was in Aherns garage in castleisland for 4k..its been polished and painted somewhat since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

Mick Ahern owned that Lincoln for a long long time. It once belonged to Joe Headon and a friend of mine in Cork that sold it to Mick Ahern.

It was owned new by a guy called John Clancy, lived in Dalkey.

Great it is still around.

Mick Ahern owned that Lincoln for a long long time. It once belonged to Joe Headon and a friend of mine in Cork that sold it to Mick Ahern.

It was owned new by a guy called John Clancy, lived in Dalkey.

Great it is still around.
    Thanks kevin,as usual you come up with the info!:)It wasnt in the best of shape when it was in aherns,though it has been cleaned up since.Good to see an irish one too.
    Was it an embassy car?Or just a personal import by John clancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

wow !!!!

some nice metal turned out :cool:

nice piccies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Was an awful pity about the weather at this gig yesterday. The MAAC lads organise a really good show and there was still a good turn out despite the weather. Went down on Saturday afternoon and we went for a cruise with all the other lads that came early, some were there since mid-week! After the cruise there was a burnout competition and a BBQ followed by a bit of a seisiun and then camping over!
    Kilbeggan09035.jpg
    Kilbeggan09029.jpg
    Kilbeggan09026.jpg
    Kilbeggan09079.jpg
    Kilbeggan09105.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

Just to let ye know, that 1972 Chevy Nova SS pictured somewhere in the middle there is for sale, a mate of mine owns it, so if anyone's interested PM me.

And the 1965 Black Mustang pictured from the rear left of the car is mine, pity about the mud all over the back of it, feckin rain!

Just to let ye know, that Chevy Nova pictured somewhere in the middle there is for sale, a mate of mine owns it, so if anyone's interested PM me.

And the 1965 Black Mustang pictured from the rear left of the car is mine, pity about the mud all over the back of it, feckin rain!

Would that be this one?
    http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2883018

Nice car but asking about €10k too much IMO.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Would that be this one?
    http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2883018

Nice car but asking about €10k too much IMO.

That's Chevelle SS money he's asking there!

Do you have any info. on that army green Dodge Ram that on a trailer for sale?

Was asking €1900 for the Mopar truck. Is ex-army and quite rough, plus it's '83 so you would be paying regular tax, albeit commercial, for the next four years. Another chap I was talking to told me that it was sold to the present owner for €800!

I liked that truck. Man I'd nearly buy it if I had the money! Ideal resto project.

What's the story behind the Cavan Chevy fire truck? Not something that a county council would usually buy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

I know of one or two Chevy Fire engines in Waterford and Cork, they are RHD and registered around 88/89. There used to be one or two Chevy Dayvan ambulances run by private ambulance operators up to a few years ago, goes to show how much money the HSE wasted on contractors. One of them was 92 d - 32xxx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Well I could post some of my Pics of the cars at the show but it seems every one else has that well coveres. So here is a collection of my pics I got of cars leacing the event and driving on the N3 home.

DSCF4523.JPGDSCF4524.JPGDSCF4525.JPGDSCF4526.JPGDSCF4531.JPGDSCF4532.JPGDSCF4533.JPGDSCF4537.JPGDSCF4547.JPGDSCF4548.JPG

also here is a link to all my pics I got that day.

http://picasaweb.google.com/BarryKelly73/KillbegganUSAShowSept09#

^ Nice pictures in the link.

I like the video at the end. 'Fúck the Peugeot!' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

DSCF4533.JPG

Whats this car?

^ Ford Thunderbird.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    ^ Nice pictures in the link.

I like the video at the end. 'Fúck the Peugeot!' :D

LOL yes I forgot about that we wer trying to stay with that dodge cherger but were only in an Escort Xr3i who`s engine had seen better days and could only get 95 our of it. The charger let us stay with him for a bit before he buggered off. Now if we had had the RS turbo we woulda stayed on his tail.

but were only in an Escort Xr3i who`s engine had seen better days and could only get 95 our of it.

Jesus! I can manage to just about get 100mph out of my '95 Escort 1.3L. The engine in yours must be seriously on the way out!

yes the RS turbo fiesta does about 140 no bother. We have another engine for the XR3i its just a case of getting around to putting it in. Thinking of getting an RS turbo engine for it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 david2.8i

was at this show with my camaro, brilliant show except for weather...........

Nice, which Camaro is yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭3nero

DSCF4537.JPG

that drives past my house nearly every day.

3nero wrote: »
    that drives past my house nearly every day.

Must cost a bit filling that think with juice and using it everyday.

i'd say so. you can hear it coming from miles away aswell. you can also hear it bottom out on the speed bumb right out side the house :p

i'd say he's cruising along the seafront after a days work just to pay for the tank full he needs to get from the harbour down to dawsons :D

i'd say so. you can hear it coming from miles away aswell. you can also hear it bottom out on the speed bumb right out side the house :p

i'd say he's cruising along the seafront after a days work just to pay for the tank full he needs to get from the harbour down to dawsons :D

I'm not sure if thats the car you're thinking of. The one you are referring to belongs to a Dr.Fleetwood, owns it years,

fleetwood would would fleetwood :D

never heard of him.

looks identical though, there can't be many eye scorching yellow vettes in Ireland. Next time i hear it roaring down the road i'll try and get a pic ;)

david2.8i wrote: »
    was at this show with my camaro, brilliant show except for weather...........

was your the camero for sale? IM going to be driving a Camero when I goto the states by brother baught it for l like 1000 dollars. Cant wait Its an Iroc and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

DSCF4533.JPG

Not built for the corners then, I'm guessing?

I'd a friend who drove an old barge around NYC years ago - a '72 Buick Electra if memory serves. Similar rock-the-boat handling. Finding a parking spot and manouvering the thing in was quite an adventure.

^ Most Yank Tanks have leaf spring suspension anyway.

They were really built for highway cruising across America.

alastair wrote: »
    DSCF4533.JPG

Not built for the corners then, I'm guessing?

Yes she really leaned hard and was only doing about 5 mph there too. Most of them cars leaned like that on that paint on round about. Well all except for that guy in the green F150 who saw me taking pics and threw the arse out for effect but unfortunatally I took the pic to early, pity I dident have it on video.

Though I could direct you to this thread...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=62033744#post62033744

^ Most Yank Tanks have leaf spring suspension anyway.

They were really built for highway cruising across America.

That car has coil springs in the back.
    AFAIK in the mid to full size Ford range it was only the Lincoln Continentals that had leafs in the back in the late sixties.

The handling on American cars isnt as bad as you might think!

^ Learn something new everyday!

Funny to think though that the latest Chevy Corvette C6 still retains leaf springs!

I mention in another post that i used to drive a '72 buick century and i totally agree about the suspension. you could lean on the front wing and let it go quicly and the whole car would rock for nearly a minute. Beautiful on the sraight to drive and every bump in the road just felt like slight turbulance. The best and most comfy car for long distances i have ever driven. But when you get it into a town here in ireland thats when the troubles start:rolleyes:

Never bring a yank tank through Ennis town
    i got the buick well and truely suck on the narrow one way streets, front bumber was in solid contact with a plate glass shop window while the back bumber was less than one inch from the corner of another building, every time i see this clip i get flash backs:D

Hump back bridge signs are considered life saving warnings when driving a yank, as are the nice soft bogs that they are usually found in:o
    basicly if you hit a hump bridge at any speed in a buick the car dosn't realise the road has dropped away and continues on regardless, in what what ever flight plan it deems suitable.

carparks are like a krypton factor type test of driving skill, i took the two side doors off (yes clean off) a citroen saxo while doing about 2.5mph into a normal sized parking bay in the blachardstown shopping centre.

yanks are a nightmare to drive in Ireland but get one to germany and onto the autobahn and you'll never want to drive anything else :D

I saw a guy park an olds mobile in blanch center a few weeks back. Mind you he has no other cars close to him, he must only there early in the morning.

'you could lean on the front wing and let it go quicly and the whole car would rock for nearly a minute'

If this is the case, that Buick had some serious problems.

'you could lean on the front wing and let it go quicly and the whole car would rock for nearly a minute'

If this is the case, that Buick had some serious problems.
    Needed some new shocks perhaps...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

INever bring a yank tank through Ennis town
    i got the buick well and truely suck on the narrow one way streets, front bumber was in solid contact with a plate glass shop window while the back bumber was less than one inch from the corner of another building, every time i see this clip i get flash backs:D

Hump back bridge signs are considered life saving warnings when driving a yank, as are the nice soft bogs that they are usually found in:o
    basicly if you hit a hump bridge at any speed in a buick the car dosn't realise the road has dropped away and continues on regardless, in what what ever flight plan it deems suitable.

carparks are like a krypton factor type test of driving skill, i took the two side doors off (yes clean off) a citroen saxo while doing about 2.5mph into a normal sized parking bay in the blachardstown shopping centre.

yanks are a nightmare to drive in Ireland but get one to germany and onto the autobahn and you'll never want to drive anything else :D

...........I think this post says more about your driving skills that the cars themselves !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

I'm going to stand up for yank tanks here, while initially the mustang was like piloting a boat, after some suspension upgrades it handles very well. That car going around the corner needs some attention!

MercMad wrote: »
    ...........I think this post says more about your driving skills that the cars themselves !! ;)

:o:o

well i drove like a daily driver for 3 years so the mishaps are spread out over a long period.
    It ended up being swapped for a '79 trans-am and that was the worst car i ever drove :mad:

:o:o

well i drove like a daily driver for 3 years so the mishaps are spread out over a long period.
    It ended up being swapped for a '79 trans-am and that was the worst car i ever drove :mad:

Have to agree with Ed there. Most yank cars were built to go fast in a straight line, well to go in a straight line anyway. Most people I know with yanks have upgraded the brakes and suspension and then they're just fine. What was so bad about the T/A nero?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Have to agree with Ed there. Most yank cars were built to go fast in a straight line, well to go in a straight line anyway. Most people I know with yanks have upgraded the brakes and suspension and then they're just fine. What was so bad about the T/A nero?

there was a few things wrong wit it but the most dangerous was the steering used to lock in a turn if you hit the brakes. so if you came to a turn that tightend and you tapped the brakes the the steering would lock soilid and you ended up in the ditch or crossing lanes.
    it only did it when it felt like it and never when a mechanic was nearby:rolleyes:

there was a few things wrong wit it but the most dangerous was the steering used to lock in a turn if you hit the brakes. so if you came to a turn that tightend and you tapped the brakes the the steering would lock soilid and you ended up in the ditch or crossing lanes.
    it only did it when it felt like it and never when a mechanic was nearby:rolleyes:

Well you can't blame T/A's in general for that! More so how it was looked after (at whatever stage). I've driven beautifully tight cars with not a rattle that corner like a go-kart and I've driven big floundering messes of things. I know what to steer clear of. The T/A is one of the best handling pony cars built.

I'm not saying all trans-ams are crap..

..just the one that i drove

i wonder if it's still around?
    it was 79-D-789 (or something similar)
    black with the usual gold trim stickers and a light blue interior.