Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pick your ireland 15

• 05-09-2009 11:40pm

Title says it all,pick the team you would pick if you were manager of ireland,not inc subs and you can pick injured players.

Your the manager,now pick the team!

1-Healy
    2-Best
    3-Ross
    4-Poc
    5-Cullen
    6-Ferris
    7-Jennings
    8-Heaslip
    9-O'Donohoe
    10-Sexton
    11-Fitz
    12-Darcy
    13-BOD
    14-Bowe
    15-Kearney

I find it so hard not to pick my fav player wally,I was even tempted to stick him on the wing,he has to up his game.

In the front row we have a bunch of beasts,who will challenge any team in the world.
    In the2nd row we have 2 proven leaders.
    Backs row we have a proper fetcher and 2 class footballers.

Rest of the team picks itself imo.

I cant stand O'learys ****ty box kicks,so Pod gets the nod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes

4. DOC
    5. POC

6. Ferris
    7. David Wallace
    8. Heaslip

9. I'm not sure. Reddan or O'Leary.
    10. Depends on opposition

11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy (but Wallace is bloody close)
    13. Guess
    14. Bowe

15. Kearney

16. Best
    17. Horan
    18. Ross
    19. Cullen
    20. Jennings
    21. Reddan/O'Leary
    22. Sexton/O'Gara
    23. Geordan Murphy or Keith Earls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

The 23 man rule isn't in place for any internationals.

I'll wait for some more games this season before picking a team. ROG and Horan in my opinion are the only first team players whose positions are under threat from Sexton and Healy respectively, after that Earls could come into the bench, TOLs fitness will dictate our scrum half, Leamy and Murphy could drop out altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes
    4. DOC
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip
    9.TOL
    10. Sexton
    11.Earls
    12.BOD (Don't worry he gets to keep his 13 jersey)
    13. Bowe
    14. Fitzgerald
    15. Kearney

16. Cronin (Best is out for the season, no point in having him here)
    17. Horan. Tough. Haven't seen enough of Ross and Buckley is getting no where near here. EDIT: What was I thinking I completely forgot about Horan, just not used him being on a bench.
    18. Ryan
    19. Jennings
    20. Stringer
    21. ROG
    22. Jones (I don't care, I think he's class regardless of how little he's played and yes I'm basing this on the Churchill Cup and a few half-breaks against Glasgow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

1. Cian Healy
    2. Sean Cronin
    3. John Hayes
    4. DOC -|__A proven combination
    5. POC -|
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip

9. Stringer (TOL/Reddan injured)
    10. Sexton (Only because i really really want him to succeed
    11. Fitz
    12. Darce
    13. Brian O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

danthefan wrote: »
    The 23 man rule isn't in place for any internationals.

I'll wait for some more games this season before picking a team. ROG and Horan in my opinion are the only first team players whose positions are under threat from Sexton and Healy respectively, after that Earls could come into the bench, TOLs fitness will dictate our scrum half, Leamy and Murphy could drop out altogether.

Sure then knock out Horan from mine.

I was kinda thing in ideal terms anyway. And ignoring injuries.

Look,none of this we havent played enough bull,you have to pick the team to play tommorow,pick it.

I cant believe people are picking Hayes and O'leary,O'Leary is probably the worst int 9 thats around the British isles currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

1.Healy
    2.Flannery
    3.Ross
    4.Caldwell
    5.PO'C
    6.Ferris
    7.Jennings
    8.Heaslip

9.Stringer
    10.Sexton

11.Fitzgerald
    12.D'Arcy
    13.O'Driscoll
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

16.Best
    17.Hayes/Horan
    18.Cullen
    19.Ronan
    20.Reddan
    21.Wallace
    22.Murphy

Look,none of this we havent played enough bull,you have to pick the team to play tommorow,pick it.

I cant believe people are picking Hayes and O'leary,O'Leary is probably the worst int 9 thats around the British isles currently.

That's over-exaggerating it a bit. O' Leary has improved immensely over the last year and was vital to us winning the Grand Slam. Why put POD in there anyway? I've heard good things about him but he's only played 4 games of Magners League Rugby and when you add up the time he's played on the pitch it's less than two, yet he can start ahead of the Heineken Cup and Grand Slam winning scrum half, or even two of them? And a third Heineken Cup winner in Reddan.

Then again it is your Ireland XV so you can have whoever you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

,O'Leary is probably the worst int 9 thats around the British isles currently.

British Isles :confused:

Does O'Leary not ply his trade in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Auvers wrote: »

Geographically ireland is part of the British Isles....:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

one game into the season. . were 3 out of 3 irish team have lost. and goose starts this thread

his team are full of leinster players that will need a miracle to get picked. to start

1-Healy yes
    2-Best he is out for the intire season, jerry flan, only option
    3-Ross hayes is still the best option at this moment in time
    4-Poc yes
    5-Cullen poc and coc have an good partnership. cullen will be on the bench, so no more mick o driscall getting anymore caps

6-Ferris yes
    7-Jennings it will be interesting to see how he plays with no rocky there to help

8-Heaslip yes.
    9-O'Donohoe is this a joke, chris keane as more expeirience.
    10-Sexton . god i hope so, i was never a fan of rog. but sexton led by example in the hc semi final and final. this will be interesting in november
    11-Fitz we need an out an out winger that scores try's. carr was top irish try scorer last year. but declan doesnt like him. would love to see him on the bench.

12-Darcy it is time to stick earls in,
    13-BOD yes
    14-Bowe yes
    15-Kearney yes

this thread should be locked, and any other about the irish team, until mid october, after more games have been played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Auvers wrote: »

Oh please. Not this poop again.
    It is the correct geographical term for these islands. It is not a political term.

outwest wrote: »
    this thread should be locked, and any other about the irish team, until mid october, after more games have been played.

We are entitled to our opinions and discussion on the irish squad, regardless of the time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

1. Healy
    2. Cronin/Flannery
    3. Hayes
    4. O'Connell
    5. Cullen/O'Callaghan
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace.
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan/O'Leary
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. KEarney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

O'Leary is probably the worst int 9 thats around the British isles currently.

Are you for real?
    Where were you the day the lions squad was announced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross (simply to give him a chance to prove himsself - need someone to replace Hayes ASAP)
    4. O'Callaghan
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip

9. O'Leary
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. O'Driscoll
    13. Bowe
    14. Earls
    15. Kearney

16. Hayes 17. Cronin 18. Cullen 19. Jennings 20. Reddan 21. O'Gara 22. McFadden

I'd like to see Jennings being given a run in the 7 jersey. In my opinion he's the best out and out 7 in the country, but just can't bring myself to drop Wallace, but at 27 or so, Jennings has lots of time and is a real ground hog 7, exactly what Ireland need.

[edit] Just looking at that backline, it's pure sex. I think Sexton brings a whole new level of play maker ability to the 10 jersey, his flat passing and running ability with the ball make him so dangerous, it's very harsh on D'Arcy, but BO'D & Bowe in the centre is massively physical, but Bowe brings that cut of pace through 13, and both of them are proven line breakers and game winners, lethal combination, even more so than BO'D & D'Arcy, and that back 3 is like ugby porn. That would be some backline to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Goose Did you mean to call this thread pick your leinster XV instead of ireland...i mean seriously Cullen and jennings??? there both ****e tbh.

1-M.Horan
    2-J.Flannery
    3-J.Hayes
    4-P.O'Connell(C)
    5-D.O'Callaghan
    6-S.Ferris
    7-D.Wallace
    8-J.Heaslip
    9-T.O'Leary
    10-R.O'Gara
    11-L.Fitzgerald
    12-G.D'Arcy
    13-B.O'Driscoll
    14-T.Bowe
    15-R.Carney

16-S.Cronin
    17-C.Healy
    18-N.Best
    19-K.Earls
    20-P.Stringer
    21-J.Sexton
    22-M.O'Kelly

And Ireland is NOT part of the British Isles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

the usual sithe, every one was asked to name their xv, nobody was asked to explain why, when one does as asked why knock, the problem with a a lot of players and supporters is they do not understand the reason a team is picked,
    it is usually to,
    win a game,
    it is the coaches idea of how the game can be won,
    up to recently in some sports, and ongoing in quite a few, the BIGEST problem is, me or I, it is not what can i do to make the team more successful, it is why did i not make the starting xv,
    games are not 10 min aside,
    the squad now is picked for an 80 min encounter,
    it is also picked for various plays,
    it is not picked on who the first xv is, or will, or maybe,
    please mods, lock this thread,
    until a thread is started asking posters to name their starting xv ,and give the reason why they pick their team, will posters please refrain from knocking posts which they do not agree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Depp wrote: »
    Goose Did you mean to call this thread pick your leinster XV instead of ireland...i mean seriously Cullen and jennings??? there both ****e tbh.

Hmm....not really wanting to get into it too much, but Jennings at least is the stand out 7 in this country, he has been absolutely superb over the last couple of seasons, his is more than likely, the best out and out 7 we have in this country. Regardless of who you support.

As for Cullen, he's not better than either O'Callaghan or O'Connell, but is better than O'Kelly or O'Driscoll and should really be third choice lock for Ireland...he was injured for a ll of the 6 nations last season, so we don't actually know how Kidney rates him, but I'd be surprised not to see him benching when fit.

Depp wrote:

Ouch! Yes it is, as all the grandmothers and grandfathers died for our freedom, there's absolutely nothing we can do about the fact that our little corner of Europe is called the British Isles, and just likes there's nothing they can do about have a whole coast along the Irish sea...it's just what they're called....

i mean seriously Cullen and jennings??? there both ****e tbh.

No, they quite clearly aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

[Jackass] wrote: »
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross (simply to give him a chance to prove himsself - need someone to replace Hayes ASAP)
    4. O'Callaghan
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip

9. O'Leary
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. O'Driscoll
    13. Bowe
    14. Earls
    15. Kearney

16. Hayes 17. Cronin 18. Cullen 19. Jennings 20. Reddan 21. O'Gara 22. McFadden

Id have Caldwell instead of Cullen, don't think Cullen is a impact sort of player imo he either starts or doesn't make the bench as he ain't that type of player who will make a explosive presence. Also i still think it's early days for McFadden id put Whitten or Cave in ahead of him for the time being.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Id have Caldwell instead of Cullen, don't think Cullen is a impact sort of player imo he either starts or doesn't make the bench as he ain't that type of player who will make a explosive presence. Also i still think it's early days for McFadden id put Whitten or Cave in ahead of him for the time being.

What if POC or DOC get injured after 10 minutes? Would you rather Cullen or Caldwell in that case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

What if POC or DOC get injured after 10 minutes? Would you rather Cullen or Caldwell in that case?

When is the last time either of them got injured that early in a international match? I stand by what i said id prefer Caldwell on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Title says it all,pick the team you would pick if you were manager of ireland,not inc subs and you can pick injured players.

Your the manager,now pick the team!

1-Healy
    2-Best
    3-Ross
    4-Poc
    5-Cullen
    6-Ferris
    7-Jennings
    8-Heaslip
    9-O'Donohoe
    10-Sexton
    11-Fitz
    12-Darcy
    13-BOD
    14-Bowe
    15-Kearney

I find it so hard not to pick my fav player wally,I was even tempted to stick him on the wing,he has to up his game.

In the front row we have a bunch of beasts,who will challenge any team in the world.
    In the2nd row we have 2 proven leaders.
    Backs row we have a proper fetcher and 2 class footballers.

Rest of the team picks itself imo.

I cant stand O'learys ****ty box kicks,so Pod gets the nod.

Dude he's like the 6th choice scrum - half in Ireland atm.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

1. Healy
    2. Flanney
    3. Wilkinson
    4. O'Callaghan
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace (Jennings is on the fringe)
    8. Heaslip
    9. O'Leary (I can see a good Eoin Reddan season taking it, Boss is back too.)
    10. O'Gara
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. Earls
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Best (seeing as he's injured Cronin who could even keep the place)
    17. Hayes
    18. O'Driscoll (Cullen could take it though)
    19. Jennings (Best and Muldoon, if they have strong seasons could get in)
    20. Reddan
    21. Murphy
    22. Sexton

I can't believe people are leaving out D'Arcy. He is still quite clearly a better centre than Earls in my opinion. Especially putting Earls at 12 where he's never played a professional game of rugby would be madness.

He played in the Churchill Cup a few years ago at 12 but I agree. I'd much rather have him on the wing and Bowe in the centre who has looked very impressive there everytime he plays there.

Cullen and Jennings, one of whom captained Leicester to a Heineken Cup final and Leinster to a win, Jennings, the best ball-winning 7 in Ireland...

Yes it is. Fcuk the name change for sensitive Shinners, it's a geographical term. The island of Ireland is beside the even bigger island of Britain, part of a large archipelago, named for the biggest island contained therein.

Also, in honour of those demanding explanation;

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes

16. Ross
    17. Best

Why: Horan's crap at scrummaging and in the loose lacks Healy's speed and power. He's more cunning and more experienced, but he's always been good enough and never good. Flannery's the only genuinely outstanding player of the Munster front three: Hayes and Horan are both great servants of Irish rugby, but they've never set the world of propping alight. Flannery really is that good though.

4. DOC
    5. POC

18. Cullen

Bob Casey and Cullen are almost as good as individuals, but they're the same age, and so there's no point replacing the existing parternship. Caldwell's close to getting on the bench, but only because he;s young.

6. Ferris
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

19. D. Wallace

David Wallace is getting older, and Jennings is better at the breakdown, though Wallace is no worse as a player, his strengths are different to Jennings. Moreover, he'd be a lethal player to bring on to attack defences late on in a game.

9. Reddan or 9. O'Leary
    10. Sexton or 10. O'Gara

How to pick this most divisive of positions? O'Gara's useless without O'Leary or Wallace to protect him, and Sexton's the coming man. But O'Gara's still the better player. If the team we're playing our weak against a running team, Sexton, if weak against kicking and forward play, O'Gara.

On the bench in 20 and 21 would be the other pair.

11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

22. Geordan Murphy or Earls

The backline picks itself, though the likes of Paddy Wallace and Shane Horgan would be close, form dependant. Also not to be forgotten would be someone such as Trimble, who, while miles from the squad right now, were he to recapture form could definitely try and force his way back into contention.

Earls or Murphy comes down to opposition - Murphy's as talented as Earls, and far more experienced, though lacks the explosivity these days.

In terms of general team stuff;

I'd want Reddan and Sexton starting to get the backline moving, and shore up the defence.

Jennings is in there to facilitate quick ball to the backs.

In terms of general team stuff;

I'd want Reddan and Sexton starting to get the backline moving, and shore up the defence.

Jennings is in there to facilitate quick ball to the backs.

Here, here.

I think Sexton and Strings would be a good combo though. Maybe even someone like Chris Keane coming on in a few matches too.

Here, here.

I think Sexton and Strings would be a good combo though. Maybe even someone like Chris Keane coming on in a few matches too.

Keane... for Ireland? No way.

Yep.

All part of development.
    But I just found out Keane is 31.
    So maybe I'm wrong haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

lads if you have a problem with a thread, report the posts... otherwise keep it off thread.

i'm not hugely in favour of another one of these threads before our best players have even played and the rest have played one competitive fixture. tis all a bit pointless imo.

However, if you are going to name teams at least give valid and reasoned arguments for you selections and viewpoints. If somebody else posts "Player X is ****e" they won't post again on this forum for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Maybe dec should throw in leamy eh? hahahahaha

Yep.

All part of development.
    But I just found out Keane is 31.
    So maybe I'm wrong haha.

Exactly. Though he actually wasn't bad yesterday I thought.

I got mixed up with another player I thought Keane was younger. My bad.

He didn't play too bad, but he has a bit of a bad habit of going himself and getting isolated.

It would be great to see McFadden, Jones and possibly Cave all being given a go, even if it is for a few minutes or a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

A front consisting of a LH player who has zero international caps, a TH who has 2 caps and a hooker who can't even cement down a first choice spot is capable of challenging any team in the world? :pac: But then it gets better when we have a scum half who has played a massive 4 ML matches and hasn't even played in the HEC is now better then a player who was picked for the Lions. A+ Goose. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm surprised by the number of people sticking Sexton in to their selections. He's still a bit flaky in my book.

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Hagan
    4. Caldwell
    5. Toner
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip

9.O'Donohoe
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. McFadden
    13. Bowe
    14. Earls
    15. Kearney

16. Harris-Wright
    17. Wilkinson
    18. Burke-Flynn
    19. Ryan
    20. Ruddock
    21. Murray
    22. McKinley
    23. D. Kearney/Conway

Hows that for a squad post RWC 2011? :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Pointless to do it now but for what its worth :

1. Healy - Obvious choice, already looks better than Horan
    2. Flannery - Best is injured anyway
    3. Ross - It's time to find the solution to Hayes replacement
    4. POC - Obvious choice, prob the 3rd best second row in the world
    5. Cullen - I would love to see how POC-Cullen worked, two massive leaders
    6. Ferris - Do I really need to justify that one?
    7. Jennings - Jennings is a complete 7 and its time he gets game time for future
    8. Heaslip - Probably one of the best 8s in the world right now
    9. Stringer -Quick passer and as theres no ROG we dont need a TOL type player
    10. Sexton - Hes got the talent to be better than ROG its his time now
    11. Fitzgerald - Really can't leave him out, great defensively and a smart player
    12. D'arcy - Because what other 12s of int standard do we have?
    13. BOD - ...........
    14. Bowe - The best winger in the country right now
    15. Kearney - In my opinion, Kearney along with Byrne are the best full backs in the world currently.

1-M.Horan
    2-J.Flannery
    3-J.Hayes
    4-P.O'Connell(C)
    5-D.O'Callaghan
    6-S.Ferris
    7-D.Wallace
    8-J.Heaslip
    9-T.O'Leary
    10-R.O'Gara
    11-L.Fitzgerald
    12-G.D'Arcy
    13-B.O'Driscoll
    14-T.Bowe
    15-R.Carney

16-S.Cronin
    17-C.Healy
    18-N.Best
    19-K.Earls
    20-P.Stringer
    21-J.Sexton
    22-M.O'Kelly

First of all,I dont know what the standard of education is like in Munster but geographically speaking Ireland is indeed located within the British isles,Deppers.

Although I wouldnt expect you to know that judging by all the txt speak you write along with that sig that looks like something that would be seen plastered in a Ballymun alley

Jennings is the best ball fetching 7 in Ireland and Wally is off the boil,a completely fair call.
    Cullen is a player I would pic every day of the week over the distinctly average O'Callaghan.

Of course you picked Hayes,O'Gara,Horan none of whom should ever see an Ireland shirt again,I will restrain from pointing out your distinct Munster bias.

On the scrumhalf call everyone seems to take issue with,I dont like any 9 in Ireland bar Stringer,from what I have seen of Pod he is the most talented we have and should cement his Leinster place this year and hopefully Ireland.

I said to pick the team you would pick as manager and I did,I was also drunk but I stand by my pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Of course you picked Hayes,O'Gara,Horan none of whom should ever see an Ireland shirt again,I will restrain from pointing out your distinct Munster bias.

Irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

My Team:
    1- C. Healy
    2-J.Flannery
    3-J.Hayes (Ross is just not proven at Ireland level yet. Plus, Hayes is a human forklift)
    4-D.O'Callaghan (DO'C does all the grunt work, like Cullen, but Id still keep DOC and POC together)
    5-P.O'Connell
    6-S.Ferris
    7-D.Wallace (Jennings maybe a classic 7, but he still hasnt proven himself to be a better option than Wally. This could possibly be his year, tho)
    8-J.Heaslip
    9-Reddan (TO'L if he was fit)
    10-J.Sexton (R.O'Gara doesnt cut it for me, but it will realistically be another year before Sexton takes the 10 jersey)
    11-L.Fitzgerald
    12-G.D'Arcy (P. Wallace, depends on the gameplan)
    13-B.O'Driscoll
    14-T.Bowe
    15-R.Kearney

16-S.Cronin
    17-M.Ross (Can Ross cover TH?)
    18-S.Jennings (Unless he shows he is better than Wally. After looking at the Lions, Wally looks like he might be on the way out....)
    19-K.Earls
    20-P.Stringer
    21-RO'Gara
    22-L.Cullen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

goose we won an grand slam without an out and out 7, but untill last year jennings was at best average. i reckon without rockey this year jennig will go back to being average. pod wont be in leinster Hcup 22 so why should he even be in the training squad.

depp is not right either, no way should marcus horan be in the irish 22 this year. i think healy will be the new hayes at loose head . and brett wilkonson will be the sub, he was in the training squad twice before he was even irish qaulified which suggests that some in the irish management likes him. also sexton should get his chance with th irish 10 because the november internationals will give him an chance t oshow evryone what he can do at the highest posible level.

depp you have big mal as your sub second row. leo will be the sub and might be pushing for a starting spot

i am also not at convincedwith kieth earls. we still dont know his best position and intil he settle wth munster first he wont be in the squad.

i also could not care with anyone who comes back and says he was in the lions squad. so what. did he play well?

i would like to thank evryone who team does not include mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

talk rugby people or there will be bans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes
    4. POC
    5. DOC
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip

9. O'Leary
    10. ROG
    11. FITZ
    12. Earls
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

My team may have a Munster bias, but Jesus at least it's believable, Leo Cullen playing international rugby? You're having a laugh son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes
    4. O'Connell
    5. O'Callaghan
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace.
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. O'Gara (with Sexton to come on for the last 20)
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

My team may have a Munster bias, but Jesus at least it's believable, Leo Cullen playing international rugby? You're having a laugh son.

Ah come on. He's captained the greatest club in the game's history. And Leicester. Both to Heineken Cup finals, winning one of them.

The fact that he and the likes of Bob Casey don't play for Munster doesn't make them bad players. Quite the opposite. Were it not for the fact that O'Connell and O'Callaghan had been played together for nigh on a decade by a succession of coaches there's no doubt that both Casey and Cullen would have a rake of Irish caps. Let's not forget that Casey after all, debuted first of all of them (I think?) and they're all the same age.

As for your team, Earls at 12 ahead of D'Arcy and Paddy Wallace? Justify these things, this thread's fairly pointless as it is, but it's worthless in terms of discussion if we all just list the names. ^^

Why Earls at 12? Do you think he has the intelligence, the kicking game, the passing, the power, what would he bring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Cullen and POC together would be as effective as POC and Wyn-Jones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

15. Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

what is it with munster men and this "earls at 12" thing? earls is a 13 if he's anything, might as well stick ROG at 12 if we're putting them wherever.

1 Healy
    2 Flannery
    3 Hayes
    4 Cullen
    5 POC
    6 Ferris
    7 Wallace
    8 Heaslip
    9 TOL
    10 ROG
    11 Luke
    12 D'arce