Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lads - is it Ok to wear pink ??

• 05-09-2009 8:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Serious question - Is it ok for a straight man to wear pink these days without being accused of being a fairy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No it isn't ok.

You will get people here saying that real men wear pink, what they mean is real gay men wear pink.

You will also get the kind that say real men wear what they like and don't care what people think. These people are also gay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

fryup wrote: »
    Serious question - Is it ok for a straight man to wear pink these days without being accused of being a fairy??
    Absolutely no problem what so ever. In fact if you are not wearing at least some pink people think you are gay as all the "straights" are pinking it up these days.

Go Pinkie Go Pinkie.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Yes.. if you're gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Terodil

If you're a big, strong, older man, possibly with a beard, then it can work, look quite nice actually.

If you're slender and young, no, NO, NO!

For the first it may round them off and add a little interesting detail, for the second it will just make them feminine and affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Of course it's ok.

But you have to drape a white sweater over your shoulders.

But make sure it's a sweater and not a regular jumper, they're vulgar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭LiNgWiStIkZ

Ehhhh, not anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Pink is ok if you are secure in your sexuality.

If you attempt to call it "salmon" you have failed - miserably.

Men see in colours - purple, pink, yellow

Women see in flowers, fish and fruit - lilac, salmon, peach

If you see in anything but a colour you have caught the ghay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No - it's deviant and betokens homosexuality.

Stick to manly apparel such as rugby/GAA shirts or ill-fitting checked shirts in dour masculine colours and you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

SV wrote: »

You will also get the kind that say real men wear what they like and don't care what people think. These people are also gay.

Real men wear what they like and don't care what people think.

Yes I'm gay.

Nothing wrong being gay in my opinion.... but I'd never wear pink! Its like a shy red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 CAPTIAN CRAZY

Long Onion wrote: »
    Pink is ok if you are secure in your sexuality.

If you attempt to call it "salmon" you have failed - miserably.

Men see in colours - purple, pink, yellow

Women see in flowers, fish and fruit - lilac, salmon, peach

If you see in anything but a colour you have caught the ghay
    :D:D:D:D:D pink is ok if ye wear pink shoes to match:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

a man in pink stands out from the crowds. it's the first thing girls would notice. if it works. you have my compliment ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Wearing pink is not gay.

If you are a man and you have sex with another man, then that is gay.

A colour of an item of clothing doesnt have the power to make you gay.

Wear what ya want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

a man in pink stands out from the crowds. it's the first thing girls would notice. if it works. you have my compliment ;)

She'll notice him alright. She also won't go near him because he's gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

I like guys who wear pink, more should do so imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

emo!! wrote: »

Goddamn fag hags - everywhere i tells you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

If it suits you, it suits you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

fryup wrote: »

In this case I think it would be the wings and little fairy wand that would give it way, the colour would be irrelevant.

D.

m3llowship wrote: »
    Wearing pink is not gay.

Yes it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Yes it is.

No seriously, you have engage in a sexual act with another man to be gey.

I really think there needs to be more clarity here.

Wearing pink doesnt make you gay. Having sex with a man, if you are a man, DOES make you gay.

There is no grey area here......

No seriously, you have engage in a sexual act with another man to be gey.

I really think there needs to be more clarity here.

Wearing pink doesnt make you gay. Having sex with a man, if you are a man, DOES make you gay.

Nah ya might just be curious.

Wearing pink just seals the deal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

i think it really suits big/strong masculine men..but if your skinny/young and have the facial hair of a babies bum then its terrible imo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Show_me_Safety

wearing pink is gay. If you wear pink, not only will you look gay but your friends and family will think you are gay. You may become gay. Only gay men wear pink. Why don't you wear something manly like black or blue?

ARGH!!! Wear whatever d'fuk you want op. Argh

m3llowship is right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 lightangel

Strong pinks on guys with a tan look amazing!! Gay or Straight, that is irrelevant and fairly backward if you think a colour makes you gay!! lol :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there is nothing wrong with wearing 'salmon'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Long Onion wrote: »
    Goddamn fag hags - everywhere i tells you.
    Hey :( :P

really tho, some guys wear pink and wear it well.. yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It is not ok for a guy to wear anything pink, or anything can could even remotely be mistaken for pink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Terodil

Ok, let's rephrase 'is gay' to 'looks like crap to many and makes a substantial %-age of the population think you're gay'. :D

Seriously, this is not so much about confidence and if you can wear it, I think it's pretty much a given today that everybody *can* wear anything s/he likes, but it is about social acceptance. Your self-confidence and comfort wearing it doesn't come into that at all. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, not of the wearer.

IMO, on cheese-faced beanpole younglings it just looks terrible (imagine pink poloshirt with neck flipped up... /headdesk).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

no dont do it people will wonder are you gay or straight. btw if you are thinking of wearing pink are you sure your not:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭smoochie06

no no no. End of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Gaybos :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Grey.. now that's a manly color

I wouldn't wear pink tbh, it's just a little too delightful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Correct, it's all brown after you wear pink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Wearing pink is very gay, but everyone knows it's only gay if you take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I have three points I'd like to make

1) There's nothing wrong with being gay so who cares if anyone thinks you're gay or not?

B) Wearing pink doesn't look gay. It's just a colour. If you wore a pink shirt that said "I have sex with men" that might look gay though.

iii) It sounds gay for a man to worry too much about what other men think of his clothes or appearance. Not that I'm saying you're gay or that there's anything wrong with being gay.

Just wear what you like and to hell with what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

"Wear pink to make the boys wink"

Do you want to catch the ghey? Is that what you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

I'm in pink now

suck on that one bitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

RHunce wrote: »
    suck on that one bitches

*puts on pink t-shirt*

OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

Please no pink !!!! esp the middle aged plump married man who's wife tells him he can get away with it...... YOU CAN'T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Wearing pink is not gay.

Wear what ya want.

Wrong. Having sex with another man is not gay.

Enjoying sex with another man is gay. Or for that matter finding oneself attracted to other men.

......That and wearing pink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

never unless you're in fancy dress

even on a gay man it looks eh....gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Grey.. now that's a manly color

I wouldn't wear pink tbh, it's just a little too delightful

OMG you've caught "the yank"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭glennb

will be the first thing they will notice because they will theink here is a new shoping partner
    op depends on how much pink there is if it is all pink i wouldnt wear it but meh to each their own whatever if u feel u can fúk it why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

pmurphy00 wrote: »
    i think it really suits big/strong masculine men

The kind of guys who spend half their time in the gym and the rest of the time in the sauna...?

Hmm....

It depends on their skintone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

emo!! wrote: »

with a user name like yours ,either your one or taking the piss,thought emos only like guys that wear dull colours ie black,dark black ,light black,basicallly any shade of black,any thing that reminds ye moaney feckers about suicide and death.:rolleyes:oh and what shade of eyeliner yer gonna buy next.

anplaya wrote: »
    with a user name like yours ,either your one or taking the piss,thought emos only like guys that wear dull colours ie black,dark black ,light black,basicallly any shade of black,any thing that reminds ye moaney feckers about suicide and death.:rolleyes:oh and what shade of eyeliner yer gonna buy next.

Worst. Reply. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Worst. Reply. Ever.

thank.you.very.much.
    see i can slow down my words too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

Wearing pink is not gay.

Wear what ya want.

Thanks for clearing that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Of course! Pink makes the boys wink :D