Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

With herself in bed..

• 03-09-2009 1:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭

So,
    I'm sure we've all been there. It's late at night and your with a gorgeous girl (be it your partner,wife etc) and having had to gotten to know each other better in bed so to speak..
    She lies down and pulls you into her so she'll sleep better rite..
    here's where it all goes horribly wrong.

Hair in the face! grr stupid hair looked nice at 11pm that night in a bar but not up my nose/ in my mouth.

Any others find this a slight irritation? I've somehow managed to tolerate it with women before as usually i'll fall asleep eventually but lately its buggering me!

What else buggers you about things like this in bed? I could mention more but I'm tired and should probably be sleeping rather than posting long arsed threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

you should probably ask them have they shaved their backs before you bring them home.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

meglome wrote: »
    you should probably ask them have they shaved their backs before you bring them home.

:o

Hey that was not me in the zoo with the gorillas I swear! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Ah man, the hair thing drives me nuts! my OH has frizzy curly hair (when she doesnt straighten it) looks good, but it itches so much!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Grow a beard, then rub it off them if they get too close, that'll learn 'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Yup, same here. And there's nothing you can do except turn away, which obviously isn't the ideal solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

if you've stubble it just seems to attract hair. I'm like a radiator in bed though, so most women i've shared a bed with move away after bout 5 minutes. :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Will wrote: »
    I'm like a radiator in bed though

lol, same here. The OH can't stand more than 5 minutes next to me due to the heat.

That being said, I have no problem with hair, as long as there is no hairspray in it. I think it depends on the kind of hair tbh. The OH has fine long hair and uses all kinds of fruit extract conditions to keep it soft. Never had an issue with it getting up my nose or sticking to my stubble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭maherro

I try to almost have my head on the top of the girls. Actually now that I think of it is this odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

the only time i ever fall a sleep beside a woman is after sex.
    the rest of the time i like my own space in bed to get comfy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

maherro wrote: »
    I try to almost have my head on the top of the girls. Actually now that I think of it is this odd?

Yep,same as that.

I would lie slightly higher up in bed with herself in the crook of my arm,seemed to work grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

I think spooning would be much better if I could detach my left arm and leave it beside the bed for the night rather than scooting it into that tunnel betwixt head and pillow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

I think spooning would be much better if I could detach my left arm and leave it beside the bed for the night rather than scooting it into that tunnel betwixt head and pillow.

Excellent point too.
    Hail 2 Da Chimp Grow a beard, then rub it off them if they get too close, that'll learn 'em!

Tried that, doesn't work.

The only answers are:

a) lie higher in the bed than the girl.
    b) lie lower in the bed than the girl, but this depends on how long her hair is. you may end up very far down in the bed....
    c) pretend to fall asleep, snore like mad in her ear and she will soon move out of the way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I laughed so hard now my workmates think I'm (more) weird. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I find if you dig your head into her hair a bit it doesn't tickle anymore. That or grab it and throw it over her face and let her deal with it ;)

I_am_Jebus wrote: »
    Excellent point too.

Tried that, doesn't work.

The only answers are:

b) lie lower in the bed than the girl, but this depends on how long her hair is. you may end up very far down in the bed....
    c) pretend to fall asleep, snore like mad in her ear and she will soon move out of the way ;)

Regardless of position I always find with some women it just seems to be in the way.. If I keep going low it could turn into an all nighter *ahem*
    Teferi wrote: »
    I find if you dig your head into her hair a bit it doesn't tickle anymore. That or grab it and throw it over her face and let her deal with it ;)

I tried this one night with an ex. The results was me in the guest room. Though i prolly brought it on myself by suggesting she shave her hair.. perhaps she mis-interpreted that lol

Bottom line Is I'm glad i'm not the only sufferer. As Supergrover pointed out, removing of ones arm would be an ideal evolutionary thing in the modern man for sleeping with women.

Still not as bad as a woman who farts in bed.. classy :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I_am_Jebus wrote: »

The only answers are:

Or reverse the spooning so she is cuddling into your back with her arms around you?

Unless you're a long haired bloke, it's unlikely anyone will be bothered by hair in the face then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Teferi wrote: »

That's cos you just loafed the woman you are sleeping with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

As a girl, I can say that I hate it when my boyfriend's face is anywhere near my hair, I always make sure that my head is lower than his, I hate the feel of his breath on my hair, it makes it feel all icky and greasy, especially in the morning, after a night of being breathed on. I don't think he suffers from the same problem you guys do. Well, I may have when I had ridiculously long hair but now its really really short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Hahahaha.

I meant...apply pressure to her hair with your face. I can't really explain it but it works for me. Nutting her in the back of the head would be gas though :pac:

Cows Go µ wrote: »
    As a girl, I can say that I hate it when my boyfriend's face is anywhere near my hair, I always make sure that my head is lower than his, I hate the feel of his breath on my hair, it makes it feel all icky and greasy, especially in the morning, after a night of being breathed on. I don't think he suffers from the same problem you guys do. Well, I may have when I had ridiculously long hair but now its really really short

Well nice to see the other side of the coin imo.
    I always wondered why they would like someone breathing down their neck all night.. sure cuddling is romantic but bleh the rest

I lol'd so hard I actually fell off the chair haha

So whats the ultimate solution to this prob? I find wait till she's asleep.. slip your now dead arm away and sleep on the other side of the bed comfortably works as I find sharing a bed a very warm thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Gues im lucky, Herself insists on sleeping with her hand on my hip - facing my back. The only problem I have is she somtimes throwns her leg in between mine for a tangle - Extremely annoying i think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

Yeah my bloke is always giving out about my hair in his face! Especially if he is a bit stubbely and it just acts like velcro!!

I was gonna tell him to read this thread as it's so funny but after seeing
    Originally Posted by I_am_Jebus View Post

The only answers are:

c) pretend to fall asleep, snore like mad in her ear and she will soon move out of the way

no way am I showing it to him or he will suddenly develop a snoring problem!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

if you've stubble it just seems to attract hair.

It's like flippin' velcro. edit: Jinx! I hadn't read giddybootz post. :)

I can't stand the hair thing either. I just let her snuggle in to me, or lie on my belly with an arm and leg propped over her (but face away from hair).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

I never sleep up next to herself when I have not shaved.

For the other times, if you can sleep with your arm under your head, try putting your arm there with your hand going across the headboard. Then put your pillow on your arm.
    Your head will be a few inches higher off the bed than hers and hair free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

It really bugs my fella too! So now I just tie up my hair after any messing around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭drunkymonkey

Ya the hair thing drives me crazy! :mad:

My OH has extreamely soft hair its like the softest iv ever felt so it doesnt itch it tickles me!

I usually keep a scissors next to the bed and pretend to clip her hair, they get scared and move off! :p

It really bugs my fella too! So now I just tie up my hair after any messing around!

Quite the lady! That's very considerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Khannie wrote: »

Well, surely it's the right thing to do?

If something is annoying the person, they say it and a solution is found, via a compromise or otherwise!

Honesty is the best policy ... so long as you're somewhat kind about it!

I once told I guy he smelled when I was drunk. He didn't like that one!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I cannot sleep with my hair down, I always have to tie it up!

Think the best solution is to let her be the big spoon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

it's ok for an initial cuddle or thereabouts but I'm unable to sleep with a face full of hair;

will end up rolling away completely for comforts sake or having her lie against my chest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Khannie wrote: »

I suppose so. But then I like him to be clean shaven so it's all about consideration and compromise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

shellyboo wrote: »

That only works if herself is the same height though.I was seeing a girl that was little over 5 feet tall so when she was the big spoon her breath on my back gave me needs.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

nedtheshed wrote: »
    That only works if herself is the same height though.I was seeing a girl that was little over 5 feet tall so when she was the big spoon her breath on my back gave me needs.;)

Heh, cute :)

Now I want to spoon :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

congo_90 wrote: »

Hair in the face! grr stupid hair looked nice at 11pm that night in a bar

facial hair on a woman never looks good not even through beer goggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I once told I guy he smelled when I was drunk.

Did he not smell when you were sober? :P

There are two answers to this 'hair' question: a scissors or a very large bed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Did he not smell when you were sober? :P

Well, I hadn't noticed. I was just drunk, got a smell of B.O and said "Ehh, I think you smell!"
    About as subtle as you can get! :rolleyes:

I don't even think it was him... The poor guy was mortified :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

got a smell of B.O and said "Ehh, I think you smell!"

I don't even think it was him... The poor guy was mortified :(

that reminds me of the time i was in a lift with three women. someone farted. silent but violent. one of the ones that would strip the paint off a wall. it wasn't me so had to be one of them. anyway, the three of them look at me in disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

ardinn wrote: »
    Gues im lucky, Herself insists on sleeping with her hand on my hip - facing my back.

Whoa... That makes you the little spoon!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I'd prefer the hair in the face than hair tied up, mmm hair haha. Maybe it's time to be the little spoon if you can't man up ?

:-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

That's impossible, what are you talking about?! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Long hair really has to be tied up out of the way, just tell her you find plaits at night times sexy, but only the one unless she won't think it's too school girl and kinky unless you both like that type of thing or buy her one hair net

03hairnet.jpg

or a nightcap

Thaedydal wrote: »
    just tell her you find plaits at night times sexy

I find plaits sexy at all times. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

As a girl i don't like spponing cause i can feel his breath on the back of my head.. the most comfortable i found to cuddle or sleep is with the man on his back with his arm out and i face into him probably with my hand on his chest..

Note: man can't smell as you effectively end up very near his arm pit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Ask her to tie her hair to the side,
    I wouldn't be offended if it was me.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

get her to tie it back....i always do......it annoys me to think that would happen with my oh.....so for the last 5yrs I have tied it back everytime i go to bed, a 2 second job and both of us are happy cos truth I cant stand to have my hair in my eyes or face either.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pickled Tranee

I suggest moving a little on the pillow so shes on your chest and you wont get the hair problem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Herself likes to be the little spoon, so I have to wait until she's asleep, then grab her by the hips and move her down the bed a bit so I'm not inhaling hair all night.

I prefer to fork :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Never had that problem........mind you after the dirty deed has been done i normally fix up the pimp with a few quid then get a taxi home!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Well, when we assume the spoon position I do get the hair in the face, I also get a raging boner which juts into the small of her back, so unless 'The Funky Chicken' is on the cards I get banished!!

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Heh, cute :)

A girl doing so may give a man needs, though I do understand the 'any excuse rule'
    facial hair on a woman never looks good not even through beer goggles

I've thankfully never slept with such women Beer goggles Desperation only works after 5 weeks no sex. Thankfully I've still never had a bearded one