Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggars on the streets of Dublin! Hang the DJ! Hang the DJ!

• 03-09-2009 1:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Everytime I walk through town, which is almost everyday of the week, I'm always stopped and asked for money, if it's not by those Concern/Oxfam workers it's by beggars, and some of them won't take 'no' for an answer.

Has anyone else had this problem? They ask you for money, you tell them you don't have any, they keep pressuring you till you give it to them!

The thing is I can't afford to keep giving people money, the Romanian women in O'Connell Street sometimes walk after people when they refuse them and try to guilt-trip them, plus they stand outside those cafe's annoying people who are having lunch.

I am forever getting Dubs asking me for bus fair to Skerries or Swords (in other words 2euro or around that)!

In Westmoreland Street this small deaf man asks people for money at the bus stops, he often pokes people on the arm to get their attention, I've heard from a few people at the bus stop that they have often seen him in the bookies! Has anyone ever been stopped by him?

I don't mean to sound heartless, but if we give every beggar money, then it will be us who will have to resort to begging!

Does anyone else find they have to face this when they go into town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dublin Boy wrote: »
    heard from a few people that they have often seen him in the bookies!

Perhaps he has a system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Dublin Boy

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Perhaps he has a system.

Possibly:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

In Westmoreland Street this small deaf man asks people for money at the bus stops, he often pokes people on the arm to get their attention, I've heard from a few people at the bus stop that they have often seen him in the bookies! Has anyone ever been stopped by him?

yep hes always round the local shops in kimmage where i live coming up doing sign language what a freak!!! everyone thinks hes not really deaf! i think it too!...and yes hes ALWAYS in the bookies!!! i hate him:mad::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

It doesnt usually anoy me that much because I feel more sorry for them than anything and even if they pester me at least im going home to a warm bed!

But the other day I was passing where an irish beggar was sitting down and next minute another guy came along,te first guy stood up and walked off and the second guy sat down and took his place.It was obviously some sort of shift-change...couldnt believe that, its like a business for some of them.

Its just hard to pick out the people that really need your money and the last thing anyone wants to do is give their money to people who dont need it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Beggars on the streets of Dublin!

Ah sure they have the same problem in Dundee and Humberside too.

marko91 wrote: »

yep hes always round the local shops in kimmage where i live coming up doing sign language what a freak!!! everyone thinks hes not really deaf! i think it too!...and yes hes ALWAYS in the bookies!!! i hate him:mad::rolleyes:

I wonder if he ever wins on any of his bets:D

Ballerina wrote: »
    It doesnt usually anoy me that much because I feel more sorry for them than anything and even if they pester me at least im going home to a warm bed!

But the other day I was passing where an irish beggar was sitting down and next minute another guy came along,te first guy stood up and walked off and the second guy sat down and took his place.It was obviously some sort of shift-change...couldnt believe that, its like a business for some of them.

Its just hard to pick out the people that really need your money and the last thing anyone wants to do is give their money to people who dont need it!

That's what I'm talking about, there are so many genuine homeless people who I would like to help, but these chancers are the ones to look out for!

A well dressed girl used to stop me in Westmoreland St saying she needed bus fair, and that her bus was just about to leave, she also looked in a hurry, I thought she was genuine but she has done it a number of times, all a con of course!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

this is a small deaf man with glasses ur on about?it must be the same man!...i doubt it...maby he begs cos he loses all his dole money to terry roger:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Dec0512

I know that deaf beggar points to the palm of his hand etc,cheeky git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Exit wrote: »
    Ah sure they have the same problem in Dundee and Humberside too.

Don't really get the "Panic" reference. :):confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Does anyone else find they have to face this when they go into town?

No, you are the first person in the history of After Hours to have encounterd a beggar/homeless person/Roma gypsie/charity representative/junkie. This topic has never been discussed here before, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

tech77 wrote: »
    Don't really get the "Panic" reference. :):confused:

Just singing along to the thread title :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Fair enough :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

orestes wrote: »
    No, you are the first person in the history of After Hours to have encounterd a beggar/homeless person/Roma gypsie/charity representative/junkie. This topic has never been discussed here before, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

OP is new.

Did you know how what had already been discussed in AH after your first post or how to use the search function for that matter?

I didn't even know about AH's existence til well after I had joined.

Give him a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

He's a tic-tac man.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Ballerina wrote: »

I heard of a similar "scam" up in Dundalk, the romas, would beg for a few hours then change shifts, and be replaced. But at the end of the day they would be seen in a central carpark, putting the coins/'donations' into bags and then into some van.. Which would subsequently drive off leaving them to go back for more begging.. the mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

The deaf man used to do the Temple Bar area, but people started getting uppity with him, he seemed to react to one bloke telling him to feck off or I'll give ya a box, he was hamming it up beside Apache Pizza at the time, a few years back. His trick was to target women, nipping or pinching at the sleeve, elbow.

Annoying little fecker.

One family (Irish), used to control a stretch of Baggot Street, from the Tesco, all the way down to the bridge. You'd walk home from work in the evening and see them being picked up in a van. Anybody trying to beg on the same spots would get a visit from 2 or 3 blokes fairly quickly.

What always amused me was a few of them weren't bothered hiding the fact they were 'changing' out of their begging clothes, basically, take off the blanket, put on a pair of comfy runners, put away the cup, climb in the van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

tech77 wrote: »
    Fair enough :)

I wondered too myself.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

orestes wrote: »

Orestes it was only the OP,s 5th post!:confused:
    not like You to jump on a newbie!:confused:

If anybody thinks *beggars*(genuine or chancers)have a good quality of life,it simply is not true.

the people i would have empathy the most for are the humble,shy people in need who cannot be pushy like the *chancers*

money given to a *Charity*often ends up as only 3 cents per euro going to the*good cause*

IMO people need to use THEIR discretion as to who is in need of help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Does the small deaf guy kinda look like Ricky Hatton?

More of a look of Eamon Gilmore's dodgy midget brother. Small, he'd be looking up at you, silver hair. Glasses. Slacks, jumper. Small rectangular piece of paper with hand written text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

There is a huge amount of beggars on dublin's city centre streets. I doubt most are actually homeless.

I was walking down near tower records just off grafton st and saw two lads begging in tracksuits. Lads were wearing brand new nike runners. Chancers!

Also the Roma beggars are now bare foot. Basically they pick their begging spot with another lad. The other lad takes their shoes and gives him a blanket. They did this in front of me then tried to beg money and smokes off me.

OP, if you want to help geniune homeless people then its probably better to donate with a charity that combats homelessness and its long term effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Donate to a charity if you want to help. Otherwise tell them to fcuk off. I do.

Insurgent wrote: »
    Donate to a charity if you want to help. Otherwise tell them to fcuk off. I do.

Unfortunatly some so called *charitys*are the biggest beggars of all!
    (something i found by volunteering for two:eek:)

i cannot name names for obvious reasons,but as i suggested above people should use their own brain as to who and what are deserving of help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Most of these gus are signing on at the same time, getting living allowance and what ever else they can scam from the state etc and blowing the lot on bookies & p*ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I bet the bookie wins more often than he does.

There was a man out on the Naas Road near the Kylemore Road junction yesterday, in the pissings of rain asking people for money.

The only thing was this man was 50-ish, Irish, very respectable etc. He was in chino's and carrying a golf umbrella.

It kind of brought the reality of the situation home to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Slightly off topic but I saw two junkies yesterday, both mid twenties male and female, walking through the moving traffic and arguing with each other. The abuse dished out to the female junkie by the male was absolutely horrendous. This all happened outside Tara Street train station with hundreds of commuters wittnessing the onslaught. Eventually he cornered her and started roaring obsenities at her at the top of his voice. Nobody, including myself, pretended to notice. Depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Has anyone else had this problem? They ask you for money, you tell them you don't have any, they keep pressuring you till you give it to them!

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Killing all these junkies is the only solution.. Dublin is being destroyed by these absolute scum. They hassle people on their way to and from work, they hassle people at night .... giz a smoke, giz 2 euro... **** OFF!! get a ****in job, Im seriously sick of it..

Same for the Romas, **** their tradition etc.. they are scum and deserve to be treated as such. This is one race of people who deserve to be discriminated against. Their goal in life is to beg rob and steal...**** OFF outa my country and do it somewhere else..

/rant

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Beggars on the streets of Dublin

Beggars on the streets of Birmingham,
    I wonder to myself
    Could life ever be sane again?
    The Leeds side streets that you slip down
    I wonder to myself
    Hopes may rise on the Grasmere
    But Honey Pie, you're not safe here
    So you run down
    To the safety of the town
    But there's Beggars on the streets of Carlisle
    Dublin, Dundee, Humberside
    I wonder to myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

LOL I did exactly the same thing

neil_hosey wrote: »
    Killing all these junkies is the only solution.. Dublin is being destroyed by these absolute scum. They hassle people on their way to and from work, they hassle people at night .... giz a smoke, giz 2 euro... **** OFF!! get a ****in job, Im seriously sick of it..

Same for the Romas, **** their tradition etc.. they are scum and deserve to be treated as such. This is one race of people who deserve to be discriminated against. Their goal in life is to beg rob and steal...**** OFF outa my country and do it somewhere else..

/rant

Well, you've been having a good week so far.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

If I get accosted my a begger or charity worker I will just scream "I'M A HAEMOPHILIAC" and run away in a comical fashon

Bet these people where as sure they would not end up as they did, as much as some of the more thoughtless posters here seem to think *it could never happen to them*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Just thought of a way to deter/stop the beggars: (might take a couple of weeks/months)

If we document where they are:
    ie. photograph them at work and ensure they see us taking their pic - if we can find out their names - put all the data together.

They seem to swiftly move along to a new patch when the papers photograph them. (I've seen a one legged beggar move very fast once he spotted a camera pointed in his direction...Usain Bolt wouldnt have had a chance against him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

i had that idea for my twitter page, take photo of all the beggars, probably ones that should be helped are the ones not begging, So many ones i see begging are obvious junkies or foriegners. Im french of orgin and my view is if you leave your own country to come beg here you dont deserve any pity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

as much as some of the more thoughtless posters here seem to think *it could never happen to them*.

Because statisticly speaking it won't happen to them. Anyone who says after the fact I never thought it could happen to me deserves be shot in the face by Schrödingers cat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The best thing to do is to dress up as a bum, so you won't be asked for money. The added bonus will be that people will actually give you money, because they'll think that you're too proud to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Cushla

Da worst we had was a bollox begging under the bank of Ireland atm in Temple Bar. I don't know if he was genuinely homeless or not but he was really nasty. " Ye may look pretty now but ye won't for much longer etc". I guess when he heard my redneck accent, he thought he'd scored. We'd a few beers in so were very brave & ate him. I'd def say he regretted it - not coz he was afraid of us or anything but because we wouldn't shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

It beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Cushla wrote: »
    in so were very brave & ate him.

You ate him?? Surely he was more hungry than you, if indeed he was a binafide homeless person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Cushla

Insurgent wrote: »
    You ate him?? Surely he was more hungry than you, if indeed he was a binafide homeless person!
    :D:D I should have put a small bit of thought into what words I used! Oops

Cushla wrote: »
    " Ye may look pretty now but ye won't for much longer etc".

Tis true. All them pert young bosoms head kneewards in the end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Omg! Deaf Westmoreland Street Man! Yeah, I was stopped by him once, it was very weird, he kept pointing at his ears and then sticking out his hand, I think I gave him a few euros so he'd go away!

My friend mentioned the incident to her boyfriend who lives in the country, but used to live in Dublin, and he said, "Jaysus, is that guy still around?!"

It must be his fundage for the bookies, lol!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

LOL, my Hungarian mate has the best solution to Roma beggers, just start swearing at them loudly, haha seems to work very well too, and in fairness I reckon the Hungarians have been dealing with them a fair bit longer than we have :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

around 2 years ago there was a guy (looked mexican) who would wait around the bus stops in o'connell street. when a bus came he would walk up to the bus trying to get a fair of people, then if he got any would walk to the next bus and do the same thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Not sure if it's been mentioned already, have any of you encountered any of the beggers that are usually at the side of the road with deformed limbs? Often see one on the way to work when passing Palmerstown on the N4, that's pure mank and a major guilt trip special (I'm sure he doesn't want to be deformed but it's hardly my fault now is it?)

I remember my ex girlfriend used to go into the shop and buy them a cup of tea if they asked "have you got some change for a cup of tea?" lol, when she'd bring it over to them a lot of 'em would get real stroppy :)

Will someone PM Degsy about this thread please, it's just about ripe enough for him now. It's matured and burnt off a bit of it's fuel, so to speak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

anyone see that documentary about the Roma's in Milan last night on BBC2 really opened my eyes to see how these scumbags really operate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I'll offer a beggar (if they seem genuine) food/cup of tea. Under NO circumstances will I give them money. Last Christmas there was a chap in a wheelchair begging on Shop St. in Galway - Asked him if he wanted food to which I got a nod and a smile. I bought him back a Snack-box (Well, we're in Galwayyyyyy afterall) with a cup of tea and water and I swear to god i've never seen someones face light up so quickly.