Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Very late early memory.

• 02-09-2009 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Apparently Pighead has been on this beautiful planet for 32 long years now, yet his earliest memory only goes back as far as 1985 when he was 8 years old. It was a pissy rainy, Saturday in July, and it was the day of Band Aid. Pighead got hit by a red van with a bumper sticker which read "My wife keeps saying I never listen to her.....or something like that" Can clearly remember chucking at that one whilst flying at speed through mid air towards the side of the road.

Have always thought it a bit strange that the old noggin has absolutely no recollections of anything that happened between the years 77 and 85. Sometimes think that maybe the folks have been lying to Pighead all these years and that he's actually only 28. Why would they do that though? Tax Scam? Save money on birthday parties? Did they find a baby Pighead on the side of the road and make a really really bad guess as to what his age was?

At a guess Pighead would say that the average persons earliest memory occurs between the ages of 3 and 5. You get some spanners who claim to remember being in the womb but they're probably just confusing that with the time they fell into a swamp when they were two and a half.

So how far back can you remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

I remember being 3 and being up in the playground in the phoenix park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Pighead wrote:
    Pighead got hit by a red van
    Pighead wrote: »
    .. yet his earliest memory only goes back as far as 1985 when he was 8 years old.

I wonder is there a link there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I have a few fragments from what must have been 3-5. So that seems to make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭cathysworld

I remember sitting on top of the stairs when I was 3 to watch TV through the glass in the sitting room door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Apparently Pighead has been on this beautiful planet for 32 long years now, yet his earliest memory only goes back as far as 1985 when he was 8 years old. It was a pissy rainy, Saturday in July, and it was the day of Band Aid.

That was Live Aid! I was born that day! Can't remember it though.

Earliest memory is on holidays in France, I was about 3. We used to go caravaning every year and as the youngest and smallest of 4 children, my bed was a sleeping bag in the toilet of the caravan :( I have a hazy memory of being tucked into my makeshift bed one evening by my mam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

some spanners think they remember when they are 1 or two.
    (AND THEY REMEMBER IT IN 3RD PERSON in a memory you see tru your eyes not from behind you.)
    but really somone just tells a story to them... and when the story is said again the form a picture and say i remember that

i remember a fair bit of play school or pre school,.. whatever its called. so yea, memories from when i was 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    I wonder is there a link there?
    Often wondered that as well but Pighead was fortunate that day and the sum of his injuries was one broken toe on his left foot. Head escaped unscathed.

Bit miffed about the whole minor injury thing at the time because all the people who came to see Pighead after hearing he was in a road traffic accident pissed off almost as soon as they arrived when they realised he'd only broke his big piggy toe. They didn't even leave their sweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Mousey- wrote: »
    some spanners think they remember when they are 1 or two.
    (AND THEY REMEMBER IT IN 3RD PERSON in a memory you see tru your eyes not from behind you.)
    but really somone just tells a story to them... and when the story is said again the form a picture and say i remember that

Not true, I can remember being :mad:2 and catching my willy in the zipper of my babygrow not likely to fuggin forget that now am i?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My earliest memory is when I was 5 and my Da took me in a spin in his bright new shiny red van.

"Faster Da! Faster!" I shouted gleefully as we sped through a housing estate.

"Yay!" I cried as we swerved around corners at speed.

"What was that?" My Da asked as we smacked off something small and piglike.

Ah the memories!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    My earliest memory is when I was 5 and my Da took me in a spin in his bright new shiny red van.

"Faster Da! Faster!" I shouted gleefully as we sped through a housing estate.

"Yay!" I cried as we swerved around corners at speed.

"What was that?" My Da asked as we smacked off something small and piglike.

Ah the memories!
    That's unreal! If the bit in bold had read "sprawling country manor" Pighead would have sworn that our two incidents were linked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Apparently Pighead has been on this beautiful planet for 32 long years now, yet his earliest memory only goes back as far as 1985 when he was 8 years old. It was a pissy rainy, Saturday in July, and it was the day of Band Aid. Pighead got hit by a red van with a bumper sticker which read "My wife keeps saying I never listen to her.....or something like that" Can clearly remember chucking at that one whilst flying at speed through mid air towards the side of the road.

strangley enough I remember Band Aid day too, it was my birthday ( 11 ) and we went to Dundalk in a big " knacker like " van cos me da was going to see a chiropractor. i hope it wasnt us that hit you. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

It comes and goes with me. They usually happen at such odd times, maybe I'll see something that "triggers" the memory.

But for those few seconds, the visions are amazingly clear and vivid and make me nostalgic. Usually seeing dead loved ones at events, all looking up of course, random school days that at the time I figured were meaningless but now looking back, you miss them.

strangley enough I remember Band Aid day too, it was my birthday ( 11 ) and we went to Dundalk in a big " knacker like " van cos me da was going to see a chiropractor. i hope it wasnt us that hit you. :eek:
    Don't worry mirwillbeback. Pighead harbours absolutely no grudges to the person who sent him flying. If anything, that man deserves to be bought a pint. Without him, Pighead could still be awaiting his first memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭token56

Earliest memory is of my grand father who passed away when I was 2 and a half, so I must have been around 2 at the time. I remember it fairly clearly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I remember being on a train when I was younger and I distinctly remember it having red leather seats. My mother told me several years later when I said it to her that that occasion was us visiting my Grandparents when I was about 17 months old. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

The pope arrived in Ireland on my fifth birthday - I have very clear memories of my shit birthday party - all my friends had buggered off to the Phoenix Park to see him.

Although, I do have memories of being in Playschool which could only have been from when I was three-ish.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

My earliest memory is of being in tremendous pain and wishing for my own death. I was three and a bit. ****in' Emo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭FACEPALM

When I was about 5 my sister and I thought it would be a good Idea to invite every kid on my street( about 25ppl) and from my class ( another 30ppl) with the bright idea that I would get loadz a presents .
    the one think i didn't do was tell my mam how many people i invited .
    It worked:) and I got sh1t loadz of presents and to this day my mam says that all the mothers were just dropping the kids into my house and pissing off for the day . :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

I remember when the Lisbon 2 thread was started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I must've been only about 1 to 1 and a half years old. I was playing in my front garden with my Mam, I crawled away from her and started eating muck. I can still taste it.

When I mentioned this to my parents they did say that I used to eat muck sometimes ;P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭smoochie06

The earliest thing i remember was getting slapped by my neighbour who was about 15 and i was around 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 TimeonmyHands

My first memory is my first day at school. Reckon I was about 4. I wanted to be with my older sisters and brothers so spend my first day at school in their classroom with their teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I've got a terrible memory. I can remember little snippits of things like my Grandad (God rest him) giving me sweets and stuff when I was about 3, but I can't remember anything until 9/11! :eek: I know that's late, I would have been just 8.

We were out at the swimming baths with my class (would have been Year 4 I think), Mrs McDonough came in, she'd be listening to the radio out in the reception bit. She whispered in our teacher's ear, we were told to come to the shallow end and say a Hail Mary because there'd been a "plane accident" in America. Very weird thing to do in a swimming baths.

I can remember going home, switching on the TV and every station had just rolling news on, every station replaying the same clips of the second plane hitting, then the towers crashing. I remember the family just sitting there in silence, they were acting like it was the end of the world.

I know to everyone here that's very recent past, but to me, that's a significant memory of my childhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I remember eating toast and then having milk and cookies in play school very well and kind of remember a nativity play in playschool when I was 3/4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

i've loadsa vague early memories but hard to put a time on them.
    i remember nearly drowning in butlins pool one time,i just remember the colour and me dad pulling me out.i was two at the time.
    it was ray bradbury, the science fiction writer ,who could remember every detail of his early childhood in perfect detail,he was even able to recount details of his entry into the world, (and complications with his birth)to his amazed parents,as a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I remember crawling along on our kitchen floor, being picked up by my Dad and staring at some of the spots on his face. I'm guessing that I was less than a year old.

Hmmm seems that a lot of our earliest memories are traumatic events that have occured in our lives. Car accidents, death, abandonment, 9/11, getting slapped by neighbours, Frada's Dad being spotty.

Now Pighead's no psychologist but this must mean that bad experiences affect our brain more than good experiences. It's like the old wise saying that goes "Things that were hard to bear, are easy to remember" or the newer saying which Pighead just made up "If you remember only the good things, you most probably have a rubbish memory"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

My earliest memory was when I almost lost the top of my thumb in a phone box door when I was 2.

And being carried ringing doorbells looking for a doctors.

Must have been the trauma there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

the brain slows time down in order to record traumatic incidents to avoid repetition so thats why those types of memories tend to clearer.

http://www.physorg.com/news116655680.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I remember me and my sister lighting a fire on the carpet in the corner of the sitting room when I was three and she was four. It was all her fault, she was a bad influence on me.

I also remember very clearly the bollocking (accompanied with wooden spoon) that came afterwards :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I remember me and millions of my buddies shooting out of the tip of my fathers erect penis....we lost alot of men that day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭smoochie06

I remember me and millions of my buddies shooting out of the tip of my fathers erect penis....we lost alot of men that day :(

Euwwwww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Apparently the hippocamus doesn't develope competely until approx 3 years old which is why we suffer childhood amnesia.

My earliest memory is when I was about 4 years old and my brother and me were out in the backgarden. Its was Easter and my mother told us not to get dirty as we still had to go to mass. Anyway being the rebels that we were, we played in the muck and got filthy! My brother told me to spit on my hands and rub them together to get the dirt off. My mother went ape when she saw us as it was all over our clothes. My brother couldnt understand why because he assumed if our hands were clean then so were we!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

earliest memory is when i was 3, Ireland beat romania (so i was told later) my memory involves me crowd surfing.

I believe my da threw me up in the air and someone else proceed to push me back up, like an inflatable Condom at a concert i made my way around the place eventually landing back where i began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The pope arrived in Ireland on my fifth birthday - I have very clear memories of my shit birthday party - all my friends had buggered off to the Phoenix Park to see him.

Although, I do have memories of being in Playschool which could only have been from when I was three-ish.

Hey, we must be exactly the same age - the pope arrived here on my 5th birthday too - and its one of my earliest memories too!
    I got a Lone Ranger cowboy outfit, and we went to the airport to see the Pope arrive, but they wouldn't let me bring my guns in... I was mad! :mad: :D

Zzippy wrote: »
    Hey, we must be exactly the same age - the pope arrived here on my 5th birthday too - and its one of my earliest memories too!
    I got a Lone Ranger cowboy outfit, and we went to the airport to see the Pope arrive, but they wouldn't let me bring my guns in... I was mad! :mad: :D

i would safely make the assumption ye are the same age, there's no must about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭joanofarc

i distinctly remember my 1st birthday party....could tell my mother exactly what i was wearing, who was there and what food she had put out!!! freaks her out that i can describe it so well.:D

joanofarc wrote: »
    i distinctly remember my 1st birthday party....could tell my mother exactly what i was wearing, who was there and what food she had put out!!! freaks her out that i can describe it so well.:D

that is very weird, are you sure you haven't just seen the photos of it loads and think you've remembered it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭J.Ball

It was the year 1990 when i was 1. I was crawling around the floor and found a seering hot cup of tea so decided to dip my hand in it :eek:. I remember the flashy ambulance lights the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Have always thought it a bit strange that the old noggin has absolutely no recollections of anything that happened between the years 77 and 85.

Pighead, its quite possible you suffered from some sort of brain defect or repressed memeory of trauma that impeded the storing of long-term memory function but that the shock and trauma from your accident caused this defect to be corrected....what you need to remember your older memories is some sort of mind-meld or meditation techniques.....:eek:.....Note to self: stop watching fecking Star trek/X-Files re-runs.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I can picture a helicopter landing in the field beside my house. It was dropping food for people because the snow was so bad we were all stranded in our houses. I think i was 2 or 3 years old. I also can remember Hurricane Charlie. That was fcuking scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

super-rush wrote: »
    I can picture a helicopter landing in the field beside my house. It was dropping food for people because the snow was so bad we were all stranded in our houses. I think i was 2 or 3 years old. I also can remember Hurricane Charlie. That was fcuking scary.
    Hurricane Charlie was in 1951. :eek:

How old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'm not that old but i do remember a hurricane type thing in 86 i think and hearing people referring to 'Hurricane Charlie', maybe they were saying it was as bad as that.

And i found this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1986_Atlantic_hurricane_season

super-rush wrote: »
    I'm not that old but i do remember a hurricane type thing in 86 i think and hearing people referring to 'Hurricane Charlie', maybe they were saying it was as bad as that.

And i found this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1986_Atlantic_hurricane_season
    Yes, yes, yes. Memories slowly coming back. Pighead also remembers a hurricane Charlie. Can vividly remember the front page of the Evening Herald showing a picture of a guy dressed up as Charlie Chaplain, skipping down the street whilst carrying the umbrella. That must be my second ever memory. The memories are really starting to flow now. By the end of the day work shall begin on a book entitled "Pighead's childhood memories"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I remeber when i was 15 trying to pass for a 12 yr old so i could get half price tickets to the cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

My parents owned a pub until I was five. My earliest memory was following my mum around the pool table in the pub one morning (I think she was ironing it) and asking repeatedly "When will I be 3? When will I be 3?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I remeber when i was 15 trying to pass for a 12 yr old so i could get half price tickets to the cinema.

Your earliest memory is when you were fifteen? :eek: Nothing before that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

I've a very early memory, I remember lying on my back in a cot or a pram waving my arms and legs in the air and crying, I couldn't talk or think clearly but I knew I wanted company and to be lifted. A door slid open noisily and a woman with long dark hair lifted me and carried me into the next room where I was on this woman's knee, she was talking to my mother. Turns out it was my auntie 'cos she had long dark hair yrs ago. When I'm in a new house, the smell of fresh plaster brings me back to that time. I was a year old when we moved to the house with the noisy sliding door..so I must've been more than that but not old enough to stand by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I've a very bad long term memory and have basically a seven year window from the present time backwards in which I can remember events.

For everything outside that window, I only remember selective snippets of about 3-5 seconds and only of 'important' events.

It's really embarrassing sometimes when someone comes up to you and remembers you from primary/secondary school and you haven't a clue who they are.