Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No more pitch celebrations in Croker!!!

• 01-09-2009 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0901/crokepark.html
    The GAA are expected to confirm this week that the presentation of this year's Liam MacCarthy and Sam Maguire Cups will take place in the centre of the Croke Park pitch.
    A report in today's Irish Independent suggests that the GAA will abandon the traditional Hogan Stand presentation in favour of the more controlled environment of the on-pitch celebrations.
    Insurance costs at Croke Park have risen dramatically in recent years as the health and safety of fans is threatened by hordes of fans invading the pitch to celebrate in front of the Hogan Stand.

Indeed, last year's celebrations by Tyrone saw Kerry's Colm Cooper jostled on his way to the dressing rooms, while captain Kieran McGeeney had to urge fans to move back as Armagh celebrated their maiden All-Ireland win 2002.
    The practice of on-pitch celebrations is not a new one for the GAA, who enjoyed three largely incident free years when the celebrations took place on the hallowed turf from 1999 to 2001 while the Hogan Stand was being redeveloped.
    The report also suggests that pitch incursions may also become unlawful, like in Australia and the UK.

They can try keeping Tipp fans off the pitch if they win!
    Im totally against this to be honest. Its tradition to be on the pitch to see your team collecting a trophy from the pitch. And in the 125th Aniversary of the GAA, surely tradition should count for something.
    Petition anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

well like ya said, if tipp win and they can't get on the pitch, image the crush :(

****ing.chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

kaimera wrote: »
    well like ya said, if tipp win and they can't get on the pitch, image the crush :(

Imagine the crush that will inevitably happen if these pitch invastions are to continue. It's a nice tradition and all that, but there's no place for it in this day and age.

The only disappointment if that this has been decided so late. I'm going to presume with only 6 days notice, the presentation on the pitch will be nothing more than a little platform and a few dignitaries. This should've been planned months ago. Get a real cool stage set up like they have for the Heineken Cup finals and maybe even a few fireworks in place around the roof of the stands.

Plus, being able to do a lap of honour around the pitch will be a welcome return too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Imagine the crush that will inevitably happen if these pitch invastions are to continue. It's a nice tradition and all that, but there's no place for it in this day and age

Well it has become a catch22.

Should have been dealt with years ago really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

GAA is not my sport but I have to agree that even friendly pitch invasions are a H & S issue. However, I really don't see how it can be stopped 'cos it has been a feature of every major final that I have seen. Appealing to fans to stay off won't work because of the emotions of the occasion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Daysha wrote: »
    Imagine the crush that will inevitably happen if these pitch invastions are to continue.

I dont see how any crush could happen to be honest, unless of course the Croke Park officials decide to deny the fans entry to the pitch, which would spoil the celebrations of the winning team a little.

This isnt the San Siro were talking about.... the GAA should stop taking leaves out of UEFA's book.

Whats next? Encage Croker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i would hate to see this being brought in.

theres nothing like teh atmosphere and craic from running out onto the pitch, and watching proceedings in the hogan stand.

its an amazing feeling.

i remember being in the canal end in 2000 after kerry won, and the presentation was made on the pitch, the team did a lap of honour afterwards but it just wasnt the same at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Imagine the crush that might happen???

Its been going on for years and years, and no such crush has occurred.
    If its a "hilsborough-esque" crush you're talking about that couldn't happen in Croke Park.
    All the barriers leading onto the pitch are quite low so if a crush like that came close to happening, people would just climb over. The problem at Hilsborough (besides a massive overcrowding issue, and an idiotic police force) was that there were high cage like fences surrounding the pitch, leaving no exit and causing a massive crush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Is this just gonna be for presentations in croke park? I dont like it anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭blueovalmk2

i wounder is it anything to do with the fact that its like a ice rink out there with a sup of rain?people slipping an claiming is there worrys i`d say!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

They're gonna segregate the fans next.
    They outlawed pitch invasions 10 years ago and as far as I can recall it worked. I know in 99 and 01 the presentations were done in the middle of the field. But once Armagh won it in 02, there was gonna be no holding them back.
    I can tell you if Meath win a Leinster and/or All Ireland in the near future, no steward alive would keep me off the pitch. In a lot of cases, it would be more dangerous to try and contain them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Over the 125 years of the GAA how many major incidents have there been from crowds running on the pitch after?

Its part of the GAA. The iconic image of the captain taking Sam/Laim from the president and holding it aloft infront of a sea of supporters. Imagine if Joe Connoly was presented with Liam McCarthy in the middle of the pitch with the fans still in stand? We would have lost one of the greatest GAA moments ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

If they stopped people trying to get onto the pitch in the first place there would be no problems. I predict Plan B will be displayed and they can stuff any attempts to stop fans getting onto the pitch, without the fans their would be no Croke Park. If either Tipperary or Cork win the All-Ireland and they try to pull this sort of crap they will have a nasty situation on their hands. Noone will stop Cork if they beat Kerry. I'd gladly sign a waiver or whatever would be needed when buying my ticket to help them with their insurance problems also if needs be. However trying to stop pitch invasions will ultimatly ruin all-irelands and cause people to get hurt, stop trying to impede them and let them on simple as.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Over the 125 years of the GAA how many major incidents have there been from crowds running on the pitch after?

Its part of the GAA. The iconic image of the captain taking Sam/Laim from the president and holding it aloft infront of a sea of supporters. Imagine if Joe Connoly was presented with Liam McCarthy in the middle of the pitch with the fans still in stand? We would have lost one of the greatest GAA moments ever.

See I just don't get that. I know people have these iconic future images of their county captain lifting Liam/Sam in front of a sea of your county colours, but surely the most important aspect is actually win the thing in the first place. I honestly couldn't care less where in the stadium a Waterford captain would lift Liam McCarthy if such a improbability were ever to occur. We'll have the match won, that's all that matters.

People's mind set just needs to change thats all. If your county wins an AI for the first time in decades, your first instinct shouldn't be to invade the pitch and go apeshít, just enjoy the moment for what it is.

Also, for what it's worth, Portsmouth won an FA Cup for the first time in 69 years last year. For many of those fans it was one of the greatest days of their lives. Seeing them collect the famous trophy in the box and parading it around the ground and then in front of the thousands and thousands of people that lined the streets of the city in the coming days. You don't need pitch invasions to enjoy moments like those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Sorry for the slightly off topic question but without a stage or anything on the croke park pitch how many would it hold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

unfortunately the GAA has just had to succumb to the compo culture that thrived over the last 15 years as well as the building trade. the insurance payments simply from gob****es invading the pitch and falling over taking advantage of no win no fee ads in the golden pages (apart from the other great fans who know full well that if they fall over it's very likely that they weren't looking where they were running to and just get up and on with it) have put an end to it. it's not the elf n safety brigade, not the GAA, it's the idiots who just didn't look after themselves in the first place that we have to blame for this.
    it's a sad end to a long tradition, but if it was my stadium, i'd do the same. it doesn't matter what waiver you sign, some dooorty solicitor will find their way around it and help you claim a tidy few thousand for your swollen knee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

croke part is the safest ground about to get onto the pitch, there are no barriers and its easy to get out safely. stopping people to get on, who will get on anyway, is what causes the problems. there should he a disclaimer on the tickets that if you enter the pitch, you are trespassing and therefore waver your right to claim. any GAA fan that sues the GAA cause of their own actions is a lowlife in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭thatsnotmyname

i think it has always been the tradition to have the presenation in the Hogan stand
    a great spectacle it would be a shame to see this go !

i think if Tipp win on Sunday they will invade for sure and i would'nt blame them

if Kilkenny win they will yawn and go home :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 moylaghshergar

Man if tipp win everyone will want to see the fans rush the field, and I think they will. Its tradition and no one is ever harmed.

I think 1999 was the first time they presented Sam on the centre of the pitch. I was at the game Meath beat Cork in the final and it was such an anti-climax, it ruined the whole thing. If we were allowed rush the field it would have been brilliant. Rushing the field is all part of all-Ireland final day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

When I see the fans running on to the pitch at Croker at the end of a game I hate it for the players sake.
    The players can barely get to celebrate with each other in those fantastic few minutes just after the final whistle blows. The adrenaline rush is there and all they want to do is find a teamate to throw their arms around and jump around like a mad thing. Can't do this with all the fans on the pitch.
    Also I often notice its hard to get to shake hands with the opposition too which is always nice.
    I'm totally for no pitch invasions and as Daysha said if Waterford ever do manage to win the Liam McCarthy I will be happy out in the stands watching them receive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Unfortunately the GAA has to conform to H&S matters along with the fact that they just ripped up the pitch for U2 benefit.Given the possible weather conditions being bad and 40,000 fans on the pitch,that pitch will get torn up causing the GAA thousands and the possibility of somebody getting hurt.

As I remember,I think a disclaimer on the ticket is not valid.It is the same if you enter a lift and read a disclaimer and in the process get hurt...the disclaimer is not legally biding.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Why can't they control the crowd properly and still have the presentation in the hogan stand?

At Wembley the fa cup is presented at the stand yet people don't invade the pitch.

Do people generally think a pitch presentation is better or is it just because people are less likely to invade the pitch.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I have a feeling that fans will be on the pitch after the match.. Just making the whole situation worse by the presentation being on the pitch..

I mean H&S will compain about anything anymore. I heard recently in primary schools sports days, very few are allowed a 3 legged race because of the H&S worried about the danger, everything is dangerous if you think about it like that.

I really hope people get onto the pitch and show what a stupid rule this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

They made presentations on the pitch between 1999 and 2001, there was no problem then.

No problem... but not great either. No atmosphere.
    Its just 1 step closer to soccer... a "Champions League" style presentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭SIBHCHEVIE

They've tried it before and failed so what makes them think its going to work this time????

The presentation has always been in the hogan stand, thats tradition. The presentations in the middle of the pitch are such an anti climax, I was there when we beat Offaly in the final a few years ago and the lap of honor just wasn't the same.

Their excuse is claims against the GAA for injuries, I've invaded the pitch the last 3 years and more before that and any injuries i saw were those inflicted on supporters by security guards. If they actually had an orderly plan to let people onto the pitch there would be no injuries. The way i see it if the presentation is on the pitch which ever team wins there will be a pitch invasion and will actually pose more of a threat to the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

this is a bad decision, i remember the last times they did this and it was a disaster.
    If tipp when there will be a pitch invasion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

skelliser wrote: »
    this is a bad decision, i remember the last times they did this and it was a disaster.
    If tipp when there will be a pitch invasion
    Yes, it's been a disaster before, won't work and why should it. Great tradition as far as I'm concerned.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0902/crokepark.html

The GAA have confirmed, as expected, that the trophy presentations at this year's All-Ireland finals will take place on the Croke Park pitch.

The GAA have been known to be keen to avoid the recent pitch invasions which have to led to health and safety concerns for fans, and they have now asked for the co-operation of fans for the two finals.

Plans to move the presentations from the Hogan Stand to the pitch will also allow the celebrations to engage more with the fans.

A statement released by the GAA today, read: 'The GAA is seeking the co-operation of all supporters present at Sunday's All-Ireland hurling final as part of plans to mark the Association's 125 Anniversary Celebrations with an on-field post-match trophy presentation that will engage everyone present at the game.

'Plans have been put in place to honour the winning team on a podium in front of the Hogan Stand after the final whistle.

'A display involving flag bearers, drummers and pyrotechnics will accompany the handing over of the Liam MacCarthy Cup to the senior winning captain and afterwards the victorious team is expected to parade around the pitch in an effort to make a special connection with supporters in all parts of the ground.

'The GAA has devised these plans in an effort to ensure the safety of players, supporters and match officials attempting to allow everyone, young and old, to enjoy the post-match celebrations in a risk-free environment.'

The statement concluded: 'GAA President Criostóír Ó Cuana (Christy Cooney) has called on everyone present at Croke Park on Sunday to join in the carnival atmosphere that he believes will accompany the end of the game, whether it's confirming a win for Kilkenny or Tipperary.'

Cooney said: 'A number of special initiatives have been organised so far this year to mark what has been a special year for the Association as we celebrate 125 years of existence.'

Drummers and Flag Bearers!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: Oh that makes it so acceptable! :rolleyes:

I think 1999 was the first time they presented Sam on the centre of the pitch. I was at the game Meath beat Cork in the final and it was such an anti-climax, it ruined the whole thing. If we were allowed rush the field it would have been brilliant. Rushing the field is all part of all-Ireland final day.

I really hope you're not a Meathman. Not being able to invade the pitch ruined an All-Ireland victory for you?

Seriously?

Daysha wrote: »
    I really hope you're not a Meathman. Not being able to invade the pitch ruined an All-Ireland victory for you?

Seriously?

i think it was graham geraghty's speech that ruined that all-ireland. bloody awful. ray silke and sean óg o h-ailpín should be the only ones allowed to write all ireland winning speeches!! with an encore of the west's awake, no matter who wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

If it had stayed as pitch 'invasions' after All Ireland finals only then maybe the issue would not have arose. However, in the last few years there have been invasions after all manner of games, Leinster finals, AI quarters etc. When it was a one off I think there was a blind eye turned to it but its just too regular now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i think it was graham geraghty's speech that ruined that all-ireland. bloody awful. ray silke and sean óg o h-ailpín should be the only ones allowed to write all ireland winning speeches!! with an encore of the west's awake, no matter who wins.

what about dara o cinneide???

his wonderful speech in 2004 was absolutely incredible, and i frequently watch it on youtube, just to relive the experience and hear his grasp of irish.

the first line alone is so emotive:

"ardaionn sé mo chroi go hárd na bhFlaitheas an corn seo, buan corn sam maguire, a ghardeach thar cheann foireann, lucht bainisteoichta, lucht oidhreachta agus lucht tacaiochta na riochta" (excuse any spelling mistakes!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

To be honest i think they've only decided to have the presentations in the centre of the field to stop fans trampling on the newly laid surface. A decision like this should have beeen announced weeks ago not a few days before the All Ireland final. The pitch invasion is part and parcel of All Ireland day,there has been no problems in the past with it so why change it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Parawind

ok i have to say i hate the idea of not having pitch invasions but at the same time we need to keep in mind that Ireland play Italy in Croker only like 2-3 weeks after the all Ireland and the last thing they want is the pitch to be in a state(worse then it is atm).

Parawind wrote: »
    ok i have to say i hate the idea of not having pitch invasions but at the same time we need to keep in mind that Ireland play Italy in Croker only like 2-3 weeks after the all Ireland and the last thing they want is the pitch to be in a state(worse then it is atm).

:D ... that is a joke right?

DDC1990 wrote: »
    :D ... that is a joke right?

no.... i'm serious have you ever seen the state of the pitch after the pitch invasion it gets wrecked, especially if its an all ireland size crowd.

So we should break tradition... for... Soccer?

Just think that over for a few seconds.
    Also... Im pretty sure the Irish soccer team would like the pitch as f-ed up as possible.
    They might snatch a draw then.

wowowowo slow down there and read my post again, i never said we should, i am simply saying that the GAA having made this deal with the FAI would have to try to keep the pitch in good condition.

I want us to keep pitch invasions at finals at the very least, also croke park has had so much use over the last year with gaa, rugby and soccer being played on it, that the pitch is not in the best condition atm anyway.

Ha, i appologise!
    I assumed from you post that you were saying that you were against the pitch invasions to protect the pitch for the soccer team. Anyway, the pitch took 4 games over a weekend last year including the torrential downpour for the Kerry Galway game, without any ill effects.
    Im sure a pitch invasion wouldn't cause much damage, unless we had 80,000 football boot/stiletto wearers. :P

Don't forget some of us like to take a few sods home as souvenirs:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I have to say I'm with Daysha on this one. What if someone falls rushing out of Hill 16 with a stampede behind him/her. Consequences could be fatal but sure ah fuck it we had a good time on the field didn't we lads. The GAA has to be lucky all the time and hope that such an accident won't happen. They only have to be unlucky once.

Someone said about having an organised plan to let people on the pitch. This would be almost impossible due to non segregation of the supporters. The nature of GAA games is that there would be a good mix of fans all over the stadium and you could having losing fans wanting to leave and winning fans wanting to invade and then a potentially dangerous situation in the stands with regards crushing. I have seen fans threaten stewards for not letting them on the field. Sure they are only doing their job.

What about when Ireland won the Grand Slam or Munster the Heineken in Cardiff. The joy on the faces of the supporters in the stands was evident for all to see. Their prority wasn't to invade the pitch and many of the same supporters are probably in Croke Park for big occaisons also. Then in the aftermath huge homecoming parties for both the teams. That was the time for the players to meet the fans. As someone said already the players probably want a few moments for themselves after all it's them who were slaving away in muck, dirt, wind and rain since January. Not Joe Public in the stands.

I know it's a part of the GAA culture and don't get me wrong I have joined in many a time particularly after we bayt Tipp after the third match in 07. But I bet Clare wished pitch invasions were banned the time of the whole Offaly controversy;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭wexican

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Don't forget some of us like to take a few sods home as souvenirs:D

I still have bags of sod from '95 (Clare), '96 (Wexford) and '97 (Clare).

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

I'm glad the GAA are bringing this in, though it's quite surprising it wasn't brought in and kept sooner. I think it's a bit ridiculous, really, not allowing the players to celebrate with each other, you can clearly tell from the look on their faces that they find the whole thing awkward. It was a fine tradition, but I think it's time to let go, to be honest.

One of the things that annoys me most of all in this regard is when people encroach on the pitch before the match is even over. The Dublin v Wexford Leinster final last year was a prime example - lads running onto the pitch and pretending to kick the ball while the players were still fighting for it.

ccosgrave wrote: »
    One of the things that annoys me most of all in this regard is when people encroach on the pitch before the match is even over. The Dublin v Wexford Leinster final last year was a prime example - lads running onto the pitch and pretending to kick the ball while the players were still fighting for it.

as well as 2006 in the final against offaly, the ref was looking around with a couple of minutes left and saw a load of shams running in from the hill and blew the whistle. straight to plan b.
    have to say though, if it was febuary 2000 in mullingar again, and longford still came back to beat westmeath in an epic o'byrne cup final, i'd be there on the pitch with the other few thousand or so!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This should have been brought in years ago. Any supporters go on the field after the game, fine the county boards of the supporters.

If the GAA are sued for even €1 then why should they allow people out onto the pitch? And how exactly does not going on the pitch kill the atmosphere? Are you going to watch a game or to run on grass afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I can see both sides of the argument. It is great craic and the atmosphere is electric but sooner or later somone is going to get hurt. Saying the wall is low so everyone will be fine just doesn't wash. What if a small child gets caught up against the wall? It wouldn't take too much shoving to cause some damage there. Against that, the system at present of blocking fans with orange plastic material is a joke also and someone will definetly get hurt (maybe a steward) using this to stop fans.

I was at 2000 also when Moynihan lifted Sam and it was a small bit of an anti climax, but really who gives a fcuk ten mins later when you're walking down Jones Road with a smile on your face.

Not sure if was mentioned but the GAA didn't just try it out in 1999 and 2000, the Hogan Stand was being rebuilt so they had to do something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭SIBHCHEVIE

Pitch invading before the match is over is a different story, we're talking about going celebrating with the players after they have won the match they have been playing for all year. Like i said before i've pitch invaded loads of times before and anytime i have done its been civilised, everybody is aware of their kids and where they are and no body is pushing to get on, the only time there is pushing and crushing is when security guards are trying to stop people getting out and those behind are getting frustrated and thats why is better to let the crowd go.

Yes supporters are mixed us but that doesn't have anything got to do with it, they also want to go and commiserate their team and those who do not want to pitch invade (winning and loosing supporters) simply stay where they are as always.

I have never heard any of our players give out about us pitch invading and celebrating with them. They do get a chance to celebrate with each other and the other team both on the pitch right after and in the dressing rooms after the presentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭deeno1975

I think myself, it'll be a good auld case of

"Plan B, Plan B" :eek:

I wonder maybe if this is just another once off because of the 125th Anniversary Celebrations they are planning with normal invasions as usual next year. I am hoping that the Hurling supporters flaunt it regardless and invade the pitch. The gaa was built on the backs on the supporters and who can deny them that maybe once in a lifetime oppurtunity to walk the hallowed sod.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Lads if yer're going to the match and your team wins, make sure you get on the pitch!!! :D
    I doubt they want this to be a once off seeing as before most matches they're telling people to keep off the pitch.. I think its even dumber that they're bringing this rule in at the end of hte year too. I mean why wait until the all ireland, the biggest match of the year.