Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-drinkers are 'more depressed, lack social skills'

• 28-08-2009 11:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭

Original link: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/snsnojsnau/rss2/
    PEOPLE who spurn alcohol tend to be miserable social misfits, research suggests.

Teetotallers had significantly higher levels of depression and anxiety than moderate drinkers, a study found. They were also likely to lack social skills, it was claimed.

Abstainers suffered even more mental problems than the heaviest drinkers who consumed too much alcohol.

The happiest folk were those who averaged two glasses of wine, a bottle of beer, or a shot of spirits a week, the British and Norwegian scientists discovered.

One reason why non-drinkers were more gloomy could be that they have few friends, the study suggests.

"We see that this group is less socially well-adjusted than other groups," said research leader Dr Eystein Stordal, from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

Even when participants who quit drinking because of problems with alcohol were excluded, the link between abstinence and depression remained.

So is it true? Are non-drinkers a miserable shower of dour-faced loners? Does drinking regularly make you more sociable, even when sober?

One non-drinker I know is very outgoing, sociable and funny. But an aunt of mine is a Pioneer and she radiates misery wherever she goes. When she enters a room, erections wilt, dogs whine and children cry.

I hope the study is true anyway, so I can claim that I drink for the good of my mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't drink and I'm fine.

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

brummytom wrote: »

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

Quoted for posterity in the hopes there'll be a drunken thread in 5 days or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

I'll raise a glass to tha- goddamnit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

Your sig says it all dude!

ALL HAIL THE ALE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I know it makes me a lot happier anyway ;)

I have one friend who is a teetotaller, lol I dont think shes anymore depressed or anxious than any of my other friends though.

She wouldnt go to as many social events but like she said herself she gets sick of drunk people slurring at her and you cant blame her for that.

FunkZ wrote: »
    Your sig says it all dude!

ALL HAIL THE ALE.

My sig's about fúcking actually :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

My sig's about fúcking actually :p

I thought of mentioning it, but figured it might make it worse :pac:

Abigayle wrote: »
    I thought of mentioning it, but figured it might make it worse :pac:

:p
    Giving me a present then Abi? ;):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dave D

Well as as drinker myself I know alot of non-drinkers alot happier than myself and alot of alcoholics alot more sadder than myself, although I do know a few people who dont have many friends who would be sadder than me and dont drink. I think there would be a link to people not having many friends and not going drinking. I would guess its more of a confidence issue really.

I don't drink, and I think I'm OK. Have a bit of social anxiety though.

In saying that, this report reads more to me "People who drink tend to think they're above those who don't, and try to look down on and exclude such people as much as possible", rather than "non-drinkers r weird lulz"

Although I can honestly say, I'd much rather be known as the guy who's a boring, deppressive git, than the guy who pukes all over himself at the weekend and thinks he's cool as fcuk because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

In all honesty, i find the whole drinking thing to be boring as ****, and people to be boring as **** when they are drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Dragan wrote: »
    In all honesty, i find the whole drinking thing to be boring as ****, and people to be boring as **** when they are drunk.

your doing it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Non drinkers are sadists. I'm an escape artist ;)
    Giving me a present then Abi?
    I'll pop that cherry and go to the offie for ya! You might want to consider doing that in reverse order though...

/packs strap-on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

strongr wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong.

Yep drinking is great when done properly. It's been a long time since I've been too drunk to remember parts of the night before or have gotten sick.

I drink at my pace and stop when I've felt I've had enough and I always have a good time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You're not doing it right.

I know two people who have never drank.
    They are/were mostly used as taxis.

In saying that, they had no problems getting up on the dance floor and pulling girls. Neither lack confidence.

Funnily enough, a bouncer once turned us away from a club with the excuse that the non-drinkier with us was too drunk.
    Having been granted entry and being young, drunk and naive at the time, I was the one who gave the bouncer grief. Looking back, it was an idiotic thing to do, but the bouncer must have been a jackass to turn away a person who never touched an intoxicating substance in his life anyway.

Beer is great.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Non drinkers are sadists. I'm an escape artist ;)
    We'll see...

I'll pop that cherry and go to the offie for ya! You might want to consider doing that in reverse order though...
    Sound.. give us the booze, leave me and my mates in the park so I can get this one slag pissed :D

Why would I want to do it in reverse? (order!)
    /packs strap-on

Don't worry, I don't need.. oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Terry wrote: »
    You're not doing it right.

Why do you think i don't drink anymore? It just didn't suit me, and towards the end i didn't like myself when drunk. I was ****ing lazy, loosing entire days to hangovers....all that ****. So i knocked it on the head.

Best decision i ever made.

Beer is great for those who are suited to it, but looking back i don't think i ever was. I think a lot of people would be better off to either cut back, or cut it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Why do you think i don't drink anymore? It just didn't suit me, and towards the end i didn't like myself when drunk. I was ****ing lazy, loosing entire days to hangovers....all that ****. So i knocked it on the head.

Best decision i ever made.

Beer is great for those who are suited to it, but looking back i don't think i ever was. I think a lot of people would be better off to either cut back, or cut it out.
    Yeah, sounds like you weren't doing it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

The only thing alcohol does to augment my nights out, is it makes my facial expressions more dramatic.

Over the past few years beer has been turning my stomach more and more (from 5-6 pints two years ago to 2-3 nowadays, could be a minor allergy or a clash of stomach acids) so going out drinking is more expensive as I turn to alternatives. As I drink less, I don't see my nights getting worse. On the contrary, as I spend nights out with close friends, I find that alcohol doesn't make any difference to a night out except make things louder and the aforementioned facial expressions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

In saying that, this report reads more to me "People who drink tend to think they're above those who don't, and try to look down on and exclude such people as much as possible", rather than "non-drinkers r weird lulz"

Although I can honestly say, I'd much rather be known as the guy who's a boring, deppressive git, than the guy who pukes all over himself at the weekend and thinks he's cool as fcuk because of it.

Give me Mr. Pukey any day. At least he's having fun. Genuine depression is not a nice thing. At all.

I think its a load of crap. Not-drinking isn't what makes you not have friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Getting sick is an accident, occasionally following at the end of a great night. No big deal. You'll be all the better for it in the morning.

Being a boring and depressive pioneer is a lifestyle choice. It lasts a lot longer than a heaving session. It is pioneers who look down on drinkers from their 'high horse'. It is us spunkers who will have the last drunken laugh.

“Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the
    intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well
    preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways,
    cigar in one hand, champagne in the other, body
    thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming
    “WOO HOO what a ride!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

It's simply to do with context. If you live in a society where most people can only socialise when getting drunk, then it's to be expected that non-drinkers will find it hard to socialise in general, because most people around them will be dirnkers, and because the "normal" thing to do for most people is to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Most non-drinkers I know/knew play the whole Pioneer card but in reality are just too tight to drink, wouldnt spend christmas.

The only rational reason I'd accept for not drinking the beautiful nectar would be if beer had the same effect as Hydrochloric Acid on you. Im at a stage now where I stop after I reach my limit, it's a fair drop but I still can function the day after a pi$$ up.

Beer really is Great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭STBR

Cianos wrote: »
    It's simply to do with context. If you live in a society where most people can only socialise when getting drunk, then it's to be expected that non-drinkers will find it hard to socialise in general, because most people around them will be dirnkers, and because the "normal" thing to do for most people is to drink.
    Exactly.

It's because of Ireland that so many people are like this.

So different even in the US.

My cousin was home from Japan last week and he said he couldn't believe the only thing all his college friends are still doing [around 30+ years old] is drinking every weekend.

Won't be staying here for that.

*Awaits immature replies*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

SirDarren wrote: »
    My cousin was home from Japan last week and he said he couldn't believe the only thing all his college friends are still doing [around 30+ years old] is drinking every weekend.

Posting on internet forums FTW! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I have to draw attention to the "lack social skills". I guess some non drinkers may be a bit more self conscious or not as adept at talking in big groups but I have to say I have noticed plenty of drinkers lacking social skills. In particular the people who fall asleep in the club or at the bar, those who go around stealing drinks or throwing things around, getting really pervy and randomly feeling people up, those who puke up everywhere, those people I see after the club falling around,fightning other people, boyfriends, girlfriends, those who go around town after shouting and roaring, damaging things, littering the street. And lets not forget my personal fave the ( usually ) drunk girl sitting down on the footpath or against a wall bawling crying because either her or her drunken ass boyfriend have done or said something stupid or have started some sort of drama. And to think that four hours earlier all of them were in good spirits looking forward to having a drink and a chat and a dance etc, but those idiots overdid it and don't learn and proceed to do it again the next weekend. Yes I was generalising abit, but I'm 29 now and have seen enough of how some people carry on. So glad I don't have anything to do with that scene. And before someone says anything,of course I know lots of people who like to have a drink and socialise and get on fine, I'm not talking about them. I am talking about the drinkers who "lack social skills"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm now by far mainly a non-drinker but thats because I need to stay focused at all times.
    (I can get a phone call day or night about work and off I have to go).
    That said, do are non-drinkers more depressed, lack social skills, etc...? NO.

When I do drink I'm a plonker, when I'm off the drink I can be a plonker.
    Does the lack of drink change me in bad ways? No. The true underlying character and mood of the person will always be there.
    In fact, I'd say that alcohol only acts as a further catalyst to create more depressive moods, bigger social skill problems, etc than in comparison to any non-drinkers sticking with their Club Orange.

Short answer to OP question above, simply "NO".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Rhyme wrote: »
    The only thing alcohol does to augment my nights out, is it makes my faecal expressions more dramatic.

I read that as above, and was about to ask if you embraced the pear too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

I can understand those who have gave up drinking for reason - booze doesn't suit some people at all, but the people I know who have 'never drank' are mostly too tight to drink (mentioned above) or they're just squares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

LOL...."research suggests". And I suggest that research suggests a lot of things!

2 particular good friends of mine, 1 male 1 female, have never touched a drink in their lives (and I'm a light drinker myself) and they are 2 of the funniest, most sociable people you could ever meet.

Now, compare that to the 2 old school friends of mine who basically live in the pub 24/7 and cant see past their beer-bellies and just look like they've aged 15 yrs more than I have, with their farty constipated expressions on their faces.:rolleyes:

Who would I rather hang around with? No-brainer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I haven't had a drink in almost a year and tbh I have plenty of chances to go out and ''socialise''.

Only last night, I was asked to head into town with ''the lads'', but to be honest, any pros to drinking are far outweighed by the cons imo, namely having to use public transport!! Plus I just don't like pubs, what is the point in standing in a crowded pub not being able to hear 90% of any conversation going on?

However, if the pub was local to me (walking distance) and it's quiet enough to have a conversation with someone without shouting into their ear, then I'd be much more likely to have a drink.

Does this make me unsociable? Frankly, I don't give a fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Let me see...

not consuming a known depressant makes you depressed?

Who conducted this research? The VFI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

I can't stand drunk people. I hate this giddy attitude to drinking in Ireland, people who go to a pub and feel like they are basking in the glow of their own "coolness" simply because they are drinking alcohol.

WOW, you're drinking alcohol, you're some MAD WHORE!!!??!!!??!

Oh and by the way, hilarious "you're not doing it right" responses, LOL, mad whores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    I can't stand drunk people. I hate this giddy attitude to drinking in Ireland, people who go to a pub and feel like they are basking in the glow of their own "coolness" simply because they are drinking alcohol.

WOW, you're drinking alcohol, you're some MAD WHORE!!!??!!!??!

Oh and by the way, hilarious "you're not doing it right" responses, LOL, mad whores.

Those were responses to someone saying that he hated being really drunk, getting sick and losing the next day to a bad hangover repeatedly.

If that was regular occurence, then he clearly wasn't doing it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I have to draw attention to the "lack social skills". I guess some non drinkers may be a bit more self conscious or not as adept at talking in big groups but I have to say I have noticed plenty of drinkers lacking social skills. In particular the people who fall asleep in the club or at the bar, those who go around stealing drinks or throwing things around, getting really pervy and randomly feeling people up, those who puke up everywhere, those people I see after the club falling around,fightning other people, boyfriends, girlfriends, those who go around town after shouting and roaring, damaging things, etc...

You are mixing up social skills and social conduct. The report is simply saying that people who don't drink have more difficulty socialising and with social communication. Don't like pubs and the behaviour in them so they don't go. Less socialisation equals less social skills.

I can see why somebody who doesn't drink wouldn't go to the pub but that makes them have less friends. The same applies to liking sport as I don't like sport I don't go to the pub to watch it so I socialise less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I don't think non-drinkers lack social skills and even if they did, it's only because they are being alienated by those who do drink. I swear that Irish people feel threatened by non-drinkers. I remember one night I wasn't drinking and everything was going fine until my mate came back from the bar and agressively shoved a drink into my hand and said "It's the ****ing weekend, get that into you." I had another mate who gave up drink for lent a few years back, and he got nothing but hostility on nights out. Lacking social skills my ass, more like being abused for not conforming to Ireland's drink culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It was Norweigian survey which came up with those stats .The price they pay for a beer is depressing enough .

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

One of the craziest people I know doesn't drink - you're practically guaranteed a good night out when she's out.

I'd be a very light drinker: i must prefer having a decent wine with dinner, trying new foreign beers in the porterhouse or having a couple of drinks at a gig or club. Not into going out and having twelve pints at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Kipperhell wrote: »
    You are mixing up social skills and social conduct. The report is simply saying that people who don't drink have more difficulty socialising and with social communication. Don't like pubs and the behaviour in them so they don't go. Less socialisation equals less social skills.

I can see why somebody who doesn't drink wouldn't go to the pub but that makes them have less friends. The same applies to liking sport as I don't like sport I don't go to the pub to watch it so I socialise less.

I get your point but I disagree with the last part. Not so.
    So they don't go to a bar - so they have less friends?
    Maybe they go to other entertainment outlets??? You just don't need to be standing up in bar just gain just as much friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

It's unfair to lump all non-drinkers into one category.
    While drinking doesn't make you cool, people who have never drank do have a tendency to be more square than average.
    I would expand the same sentiment towards those who waited untill they were 18 untill they drank.
    For me, drinking will never be anything like it was when i was 16/17. It was the whole forbidden fruit factor that made it so enjoyable. People who were impervious to this growing up, would strike me as being quite square and rule-abiding (at the detriment of free-thought).

That being said, people chronically underestimate the effect a party atmosphere has on someone's inhibitions. It is very possible to do fun and crazy stuff without drinking. Only problem is, if people find out you're sober they will think you're a weirdo :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Agamemnon wrote: »
    So is it true? Are non-drinkers a miserable shower of dour-faced loners? Does drinking regularly make you more sociable, even when sober?
    Is it true? i'm gonna say no in my case. I didnt begin to drink up until Feb of this year (28 long years of teetotal) and i was still as sociable and outgoing as any of my friends would have been. I have still seen countless men drinking in a pub/club who would not set foot on a dancefloor, and alot of non-drinkers heading there after the first glass of soda water & lime. Confidence is the key here once again.

More than likely its just that the "research" didnt take into account the social states of introvert and extrovert and just focused on how alcohol affected the social and possible mental state of the test subjects. Flawed research is my guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

When she enters a room, erections wilt

You're saying that you want your erection to continue when she enters the room?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

So not consuming alcohol, a substance long known to have a signifigant link to depression, makes you depressed?

That contradiction and the idea of being fukked if you do or fukked if you don't is enough to make despair so much that I need a beer to deal with it. No wiat, I don't, that would make me depressed, better not. Wait, not having the beer will make me depressed, so maybe I should just have half a beer to kep things balanced, that way I only get half the depression. But that really is the ultimate is the half glass empty/half full dilemma, isn't it?

Oh fukk this, I'm taking up heroin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tarbuck

What a people people like me who drink AND are depressed and lacking in social skills?

I like to drink but I'd 5000% prefer to spend a night in front of my computer/telly with a bunch of cans than go for a night out in a pub/club.

I find sitting in a pub akin to walking into someone elses house and polietly listening to their music and watching their telly whilst being annoyed by their loud obnoxious family. It's not for me. I Like the beer tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

vinylmesh wrote: »
    It's unfair to lump all non-drinkers into one category.
    While drinking doesn't make you cool, people who have never drank do have a tendency to be more square than average.
    I would expand the same sentiment towards those who waited untill they were 18 untill they drank.
    For me, drinking will never be anything like it was when i was 16/17. It was the whole forbidden fruit factor that made it so enjoyable. People who were impervious to this growing up, would strike me as being quite square and rule-abiding (at the detriment of free-thought).

That being said, people chronically underestimate the effect a party atmosphere has on someone's inhibitions. It is very possible to do fun and crazy stuff without drinking. Only problem is, if people find out you're sober they will think you're a weirdo :D.

Ah, the free thinking, peer-pressured youth, how amazing it'd be to be so cool and enlightened.

I can understand those who have gave up drinking for reason - booze doesn't suit some people at all, but the people I know who have 'never drank' are mostly too tight to drink (mentioned above) or they're just squares.
    OR
    • They don't like to consume depressants.
    • They don't like it.
    • They just don't fúcking want to.

Username says it all though so I won't expect you to reason.

Can't believe all the mature pro-anti-drinking replies in here; maybe Ireland is a little different than portrayed...

... Still leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

SirDarren wrote: »
    OR
    • They don't like to consume depressants.
    • They don't like it.
    • They just don't fúcking want to.

Username says it all though so I won't expect you to reason.

Can't believe all the mature pro-anti-drinking replies in here; maybe Ireland is a little different than portrayed...

... Still leaving.

'Still doesn't make them any less boring. Does it? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Only last night, I was asked to head into town with ''the lads''

Are they your friends? Why the sarcastic inverted commas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

That's actually very interesting.

I don't drink and I have been told that at times, it does really seem as if I have a visible lack of social skills.

'Still doesn't make them any less boring. Does it? :)
    Nobody but you implied they were any more boring than drinkers in the first place.

In fact, if you were to read through this you'd see people saying they were at the same, if not a higher entertainment level. :D

Besides, what's the alternative for drinkers?

Falling over the footpath and pissing yourself in the street?

Only sounds entertaining for those watching.

Tell me the next time you're doing it and I can come have a laugh.