Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know your Maynoothians 09/10

• 28-08-2009 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭

Right so I stole this from the D.I.T thread :P

pretty self explanitory

Name:
    Year/Course:
    How to notice:

Right I'll go first :cool:

Name: on my birth cert Lorna, what people call me, Kitten
    Year/Course: MH101
    Societies/Clubs/interests:Music soc, possibly juggling and archery club. Hopefully also the orchestra, but I hear theres a lot of competition for places.
    How to notice: Bright red shoulder lenght hair, might be pink or blue by orientation though :P. Will be the one in the kitten hoody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Name: Rob
    Year/Course: 3BMus
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Music Soc (worst. member. ever), and loads of other crap I never had time to go to. Interested in music, typography, design, figurative rhetoric, TEA
    How to notice: Scowling or else talking about Google/fonts/Barleybooley
    Photo: http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v185/214/123/663690572/s663690572_2142639_3265.jpg

Good thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Name: Roisin/Roe/Rozabeez
    Year/Course: 3rd year Arts - Anthro and Sociology
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Anthrosoc, Sociology soc, Gladtobe, Mikadosoc.
    How to notice: Blonde, Dunnes uniform on evenings and weekends, occasionally covered in mud from slipping while drunk, obnoxious and staring out the window from library desk.

Overly nice pic attached, don't always look so windswept and damn hot :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭~Candy~

Name: Candy..everyone calls me that, i know..:o
    Year/Course:1st yr, law and business
    Societies/Clubs/interests: should be join in the fashion one, maybe music or jogging...

How to notice:
    The one with the puppy eyes *lol*
    black long hair, brown eyes...erm ,5'6ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Name: Donal

Year/Course:2/ History (MH113)

Age: The average age of a soldier in the Vietnam Was was ni-ni-ni-ni-nineteen (classic tune amirite)

Societies/Clubs/interests: I hope in second year they give the Alt Music Soc the boot up the arse it needs, I'll help on that front.

Beyond that I intend to continue to fight the power .

I'd like to see regular indie/electronic nights take place in the SU, and again'll do my bit (I've been dj'ing on local radio for 3 years which means I get loads of free CDs and can operate machinery (*hit buttons*)

Also hoping to play my part in fixing the college paper.

How to notice: An endless collection of Clash/Pogues/Black Flag/Sonic Youth etc. shirts, a harrington jacket with a few Northern Soul/Antifa/Specials pins on it that makes mature students sometimes come up to me and tell me about 'back in the day' (has happened twice).

I'm never without headphones and I always look like I'm a hurry even when I'm not. A cup of coffee/ hot chocolate is normally in my hands, and half the contents on my shirt. Known to go a day or two without shaving if it means I've time for a breakfast role. Guilty of manbag carrying.

You will bump into me, boards.ie Maynoothians seem to do it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Name: John
    Year/Course: 1st year Arts
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Everything really. I do have a disdain for present Irish politics.
    How to notice: The guy complaining that there's no stella on draft in the pub :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Name Michelle
    Year/course 2nd year Arts. French and Geography.
    Age 19 and 11 months.
    Clubs/SocietiesLast year I was in Alt music, dunno what I'll join this year.
    How to notice I'm incredibly short with short short hair. I'll most likely be wearing a shirt and a skirt of some sort. See attachment for face. I'm in desperate need of a haircut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Whoring yourself on the internet like that Michelle, disgusting.

Name: Martin
    Course: Onto my second masters now, M.Sc in Maths Education through research.
    Clubs/socs: Not sure yet but never made an effort before so determined I will this time. This time being my 6th year in full time education :D
    How to notice: some of you already know me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Wendero

Name: John
    Year/Course: First year Finance and economics, MH401
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Since I haven't started yet, haven't joined any. I'm quite into politics.
    How to notice: I'll wear a top hat:) Haha, seriously I do own one, don't think I'll use it very much thought;) Except for that, I have a scandinavian accent (which I hope will disappear) :(

/John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭xochillixo

Name: Deirdre (Dee)
    Course:mh209??? 1st yr psychology thru science
    Societies: hopefully badminton,, kickboxing (want to try it out), surf n kayaking.... mayb im bein 2 ambitious with all these!!g
    How to spot me: jaysus havnt a clu... dark hair n eyes 5'5' n petite.. wil hav a royal blu "we're class....09) on the back... st joes forever!
    stayn in village n shall b attending all parties so watch ou mullin hall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭internetaddict

Name: Orla
    Year/Course:1st year Arts, Eng, French and probably Law.
    Age:17.. I think I'm the baby here.. that's depressing (18 in November!)
    Societies/Clubs/interests:I love music and I always get involved in too many extra curriculars so you society people should just ply me with flyers..
    How to notice: I have really weirdly coloured reddy brown curly hair and usually wear converse.. I will be listening to an Ipod with one earphone because it has nearly given up the will to live. I'll probably bang into you or fall over you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Name: Seán
    Year/Course: going into 3BMus
    Societies/Clubs/interests: VP of music soc, tenor in Choral Soc and general lingerer around Logic house.
    How to notice: I'll be the one pestering music students to perform at riverstown.

Pic! I'm the one on the left, quite drunk in the roost with an exam at 9.30 the next morning. But it was only style studies.

<- all anyone needs to know about style studies. Never went to a lecture, never did an assignment. Turned up, passed by exam only. And I'm dumb.

Moar pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭nothing

Name: Em
    Year/Course: MH201 - 4th year Applied maths and stats
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Mikado, Games, Omega, DA, GLB, Maths Soc (if it ever reemerges) -> all of these may be dropped in favour of study this year though
    How to notice: hmmm... I'll be hiding in a corner somewhere in the Logic area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Xqzciara

Name: Ciara
    Year/Course: MH101 (and hopefully psychology on its own in 2nd yr)
    Societies/Clubs/interests: wanna join yoga, love CHOCOLATE,they shud make a chocolate soc
    How to notice: large tattoo of fighting dragons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Name: Eoin
    Year/Course: 3rd year phd
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Astro2 and Games! Someone please play guitar hero with me next year?? Also COD4, GOW or Halo. Wouldn't mind getting back into music, so anyone looking to start an informal band/jamming group give me a shout!
    How to notice: Call down for a chat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

Name: Megan
    Year/Course: Starting my Military History Masters in September
    Societies/Clubs/interests: (Societies) History, Labour Youth, Classics, as for interests, pontificating on the EU or the Cold War, bitching about the English lectures.
    How to notice: Will be seen sucking on a cigarette outside JH, Arts, Calhan hall, the History department and the library. Occassionally can be found wandering the main street and this year I shall be journeying to Moyglare Abbey to lord my degree over certain people...

Alternatively this is moi, http://file037a.bebo.com/13/large/20...195845657l.jpg (and another boardsie :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭lsuzanne1987

Name: Laura
    Year/Course: MH404 Business & Management Degree (1st Year)
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Would like to join yoga & the choir
    How to notice: Pink bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Name: Sinéad
    Year/Course: 1st year, finance and economics
    Societies/Clubs/interests: I'm quite lazy
    How to notice: ehhhm tall, brown curlish hair, and I nearly always carry a big red bag :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭internetaddict

Tomorrow I'm buying myself a signature bag. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 keithconnolly

Name: Keith
    Course:1st year MH101(prob do business,economics,and geography)
    Societies/Clubs/interests:Sports(football),Politics,Socialising
    How to notice: eh 6 4" tall , blonde hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

Mmm bags...
    Never again shall you mock me for mine, Allandanyways! :pac:

Name: Kieran
    Year/Course: 2nd Year CSSE, terribly exciting stuff
    Societies/Clubs/Interests: No socs or clubs, turning up was too much of a hassle in first first year so I gave up on them! Maybe this time round!
    How to notice: Ideally I shall spend all day sleeping in bed, so you probably won't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Teabag!

Name: Dermot
    Year/Course:2nd year history (MH113)
    Societies/Clubs/interests: will fill ya'll in when i actually paricipate in some clubs/socs,
    How to notice: usually drinking tea, wearing fca t shirts, talkin poo.

(i look like elton john in this pic :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Name: Donal

Societies/Clubs/interests: I hope in second year they give the Alt Music Soc the boot up the arse it needs, I'll help on that front.

Agm will be in september, i reckon you'd be welcome.

Name- Brian

age- 21

Course- MA in military history

societies/ interests Alt music, former ents officer (as such i am entertaining), playing music and acting the maggot. I am also really really interested in not having to study english this year. i consider this victory.

How to notice- Long dark hair, goatee, drunk, probably playing some depressing tunes at open mic badly whilst drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Name: Rory
    Course: 1st year MH101 (Hopefully Music, Mathematical Physics and Psychology... Or Philosophy?)
    Clubs/Socs/interests: Music - I want to get into the composers', alternative and electronic music societies, and maybe the trampolining club :cool:
    How to notice: Lots of Flaming Lips tshirts, I might make a point of wearing only Lips shirts for the first week so you can spot me :p

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Whoring yourself on the internet like that Michelle, disgusting.

Makes a nice change from doing it in real life.

Name: Martin
    Course: Onto my second masters now, M.Sc in Maths Education through research.
    Clubs/socs: Not sure yet but never made an effort before so determined I will this time. This time being my 6th year in full time education :D
    How to notice: some of you already know me

That's better.

jethro081 wrote: »

How to notice- Long dark hair, goatee, drunk, probably playing some depressing tunes at open mic badly whilst drunk

PIIIIIIIIIIIIICS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Beau

I don't really belong in here as I finished up in Maynooth this year :(

Name: Neil
    Year/Course: (Repeat results pending) BSc Finance and Venture Management (with Computer Science)
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Rugby, Gym, Set up go-karting two years ago, did Badminton a fair bit in 1st and 2nd year.
    How to notice: Well if you see me it'll mean I still don't have a job! I don't wanna be one of those dudes in Maynooth that you see that just never F off when they finish up but here's a pic, I'm the one on the left :P

Beau wrote: »
    I don't really belong in here as I'm finished in Maynooth :(

Name: Neil
    Year/Course: (Repeat results pending) BSc Finance and Venture Management (with Computer Science)
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Rugby, Gym, Set up go-karting two years ago, did Badminton a fair bit in 1st and 2nd year.
    How to notice: Well if you see me it'll mean I still don't have a job! I don't wanna be one of those dudes in Maynooth that you see that just never F off when they finish up but here's a pic, I'm the one on the left :)

How do I attach it neatly like everyone else?

Go to manage attachments under the submit reply option. Only works if you're taking the file from your computer, not a web page.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    PIIIIIIIIIIIIICS!

this was pre goatee. 2nd year i think..

i'm the one in the middle being drunk with my mouth open for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Name: Keith Broni (but most commonly just Broni)

Year/Course: Second year; hopefully MH106 (Psychology), but possibly MH101 (English and Philosophy)

Societies/Clubs/interests: Drama Soc (Venues & Liaisons Officer / ISDA Representative), Film Soc (President), Comedy Soc (PRO), Assistant Editor to the Maynooth SU magazine, bassist in the band The Desired Effect, amateur graphic designer, etc etc etc. I like keeping myself so busy I barely get time to breathe.

How to notice: I walk like I'm constantly doing an aggrandized Foghorn Leghorn impression. Usually wearing some combination of an indie hipster scart, quirky Converse and a rave-tastic hoodie.

jethro081 wrote: »
    this was pre goatee. 2nd year i think..

i'm the one in the middle being drunk with my mouth open for some reason

I totally recognise you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Name: James

Year/Course: Hoping it's 3rd Arts (French and Sociology) but I could be repeating 2nd year yet

Societies/Clubs/interests: Drama Soc in 1st year, GLB/GLadToBe@NUIM throughout, currently Treasurer of LnD(Literary and Debating), used to do a bit of Swimming Club, and I intend to go back to it this year

How to notice: You might see me in the Jucie Lucie talking to people, coming through the Arts Block frustrated with a certain academic dept. :p or out of breath on the footbridge :rolleyes: Generally, wear retro T-shirts with sesame St. or Mr. Men characters and jeans :cool:

I'm slightly tipsy in this photo, hence the weird smile

banquo wrote: »
    I totally recognise you.

looking at your picture i think our paths may have croassed on occasion.

I recognise you also, us Dunnesies are the eyes and ears of Maynooth! *Watches*

i always knew people only took jobs in dunnes so they could be really relally lazy stalkers. :pac:

I also like money.

And Winters-time.

We all love winters-time.

I hate Winters-time. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I'm disgusted with myself, should have been on the first page of this thread due to my dedication to this board. But I'm in Donegal with the hottest ginger in Maynooth :D

Name: Rachel/occasionally called Tracey from people mixing up my names.

Year/Course: 3rd BA- Spanish and English

Age: 19, birthday in July, officially the 3rd youngest person in the 3rd BA
    Societies/Clubs/interests: N/A, my interests include tea, and observing people from my boyfriend's flat on campus, there's no soc for that.

How to notice: Large and in charge, occasionally with large curly hair to match. Usually attached to a ginger of some description, always giving out and bumming cigarettes off people. Avoid me if I have a wine bottle in my hand- I get vicious. Usually found outside the library or Spanish department or wandering around dunnes with a bag of marshmallows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

I'm disgusted with myself, should have been on the first page of this thread due to my dedication to this board. But I'm in Donegal with the hottest ginger in Maynooth :D

Name: Rachel/occasionally called Tracey from people mixing up my names.

Year/Course: 3rd BA- Spanish and English

Age: 19, birthday in July, officially the 3rd youngest person in the 3rd BA
    Societies/Clubs/interests: N/A, my interests include tea, and observing people from my boyfriend's flat on campus, there's no soc for that.

How to notice: Large and in charge, occasionally with large curly hair to match. Usually attached to a ginger of some description, always giving out and bumming cigarettes off people. Avoid me if I have a wine bottle in my hand- I get vicious. Usually found outside the library or Spanish department or wandering around dunnes with a bag of marshmallows.

Pics or GTFO :pac:

(also, if you have a vagina, avoid her boyfriend while she is present :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

We is massive now, cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭yummy91

Name: Tara
    Year/Course: 1st year M209 psych tru sci
    Societies/Clubs/interests: thinking about joining the equestrian one and i don't know what else yet,,,,
    How to notice: mmmmmm, will be late to everything and will often be caught staring into space in a daydream instead of listening to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Awooga

Name: Beibhinn
    Course: Psych thru science /3rd psych / 4th science (to be precise)
    How to notice: the drunk one interviewing the shrubbery ("bring us...a SHRUBBERY" *dun dun dun) or the one saying loudly "did you know that...?) Or if all else fails, ask my name and I'll say "It's Beibhinn, like Kevin but with a B"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭kisaragi

Name: Seán

Year/Course: 3rd year psych (:eek:)

Societies/Clubs/interests: Trampoline club! Ex-secretary and Ents Officer :D GLBT, would join a Spanish Soc if there was one still :rolleyes:

How to notice: The tall one scribling on his assignment cover-sheet and handing it in with a sigh of relief five minutes before it's due in.

Pic: The one in the air :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Year/Course: Second year; hopefully MH106 (Psychology), but possibly MH101 (English and Philosophy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭scott.s

Hardly ever post on the boards but oh well... Shameless club pimping :D

Name: Scott

Year/Course: 4th CSSE

Societies/Clubs/interests: Trampoline Club(ex-captain, currently a coach), MUCK(kayaking)

Pic: I'll have to get back to you on that...

How to notice: Skipping lectures to go to trampoline training. Otherwise in the comp labs 'working'

p.s. Join the Trampoline Club :P

Awooga wrote: »
    Name: Beibhinn
    Course: Psych thru science /3rd psych / 4th science (to be precise)
    How to notice: the drunk one interviewing the shrubbery ("bring us...a SHRUBBERY" *dun dun dun) or the one saying loudly "did you know that...?) Or if all else fails, ask my name and I'll say "It's Beibhinn, like Kevin but with a B"

The following just took place.

Rob to Michelle: OMG Michele, there's a girl here called Beibhinn who's exactly like the Beibhin we know. She's going into 4th Psych through science, and complete with monty python quotes and all!
    Michelle: That is Beibhinn.
    *thwaps rob*

banquo wrote: »
    The following just took place.

Rob to Michelle: OMG Michele, there's a girl here called Beibhinn who's exactly like the Beibhin we know. She's going into 4th Psych through science, and complete with monty python quotes and all!
    Michelle: That is Beibhinn.
    *thwaps rob*

Liar. I remember none of this.