Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rey Mysterio suspended for 30 days.....[potential SD spoilers]

• 27-08-2009 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭

Wellness!
    Stunned by this, I thought he was untouchable specially with SD so low on star power.
    In accordance with WWE's Wellness Program, effective Wednesday, September 2, Oscar Gutierrez (Rey Mysterio) is suspended for 30 days for a violation of the company’s policy.
    http://www.wwe.com/inside/news/869043

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Source please?

This is gonna be pretty interesting since he is the IC champ at the minute.

I'll keep my personal opinions to myself for the minute, mostly because I am too busy laughing to type anymore at the minute :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

orestes wrote: »
    Source please?

This is gonna be pretty interesting since he is the IC champ at the minute.

I'll keep my personal opinions to myself for the minute, mostly because I am too busy laughing to type anymore at the minute :D

Sorry boss
    http://www.wwe.com/inside/news/869043
    You must be very sad right now.:pac:
    He will lose the IC belt next week on SD or Superstars I think.

So I get a month of no Rey on tv AND he loses the IC belt?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Im assuming that Dolph will get the belt, tis just a pity that he didnt win it at Summerslam.

silly Rey Rey

orestes wrote: »
    So I get a month of no Rey on tv AND he loses the IC belt?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

More CM punk though.:D
    It hurts Smackdown which is a huge shame though as its without Edge and very soon
    Jeff
    and now Rey. :(
    Time to call Danielson up to the roster maybe?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,958 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Jesus the show in dublin in November will have a very weak roster if things like this continue to happen to big name smackdown superstars

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Jesus the show in dublin in November will have a very weak roster if things like this continue to happen to big name smackdown superstars

its only a 30 day suspension

• Subscribers Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Brolly

Nice! A month off work...fair play there Rey:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

What did he do?

Sorry pro wrestling noob, I browse here time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,204 ✭✭✭✭Penn

creggy wrote: »
    What did he do?

Sorry pro wrestling noob, I browse here time to time.

He must have been taking some steroids or painkillers or something which he is not allowed to by the WWE. Same way they drug test in athletics and stuff.

He's an idiot. With him being such good friends with Eddie and Benoit, he'd be one of the last ones I would have expected to be at that craic.

Ah well, finally we get to hear

"Hey, I'm Intercontinental Champion Dolph Ziggler"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

shock :eek:

Two of SD biggest draws out (Hardy gone and Rey out for a month)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

He must have been taking some steroids or painkillers or something which he is not allowed to by the WWE. Same way they drug test in athletics and stuff.

He's an idiot. With him being such good friends with Eddie and Benoit, he'd be one of the last ones I would have expected to be at that craic.

Ah well, finally we get to hear

"Hey, I'm Intercontinental Champion Dolph Ziggler"

I'm going to guess it's painkillers. He really needs to retire as it's only a matter of time before he sufferes another serious injury,but he probably feels the need to continue due to the WWE being deprived of genuine stars.

I think Rey could lose it to somebody else and then have Dolph win it from the new champ at Breaking Point.

I know Dolph is the number one contender but this is WWE so they can get around that.

The Ziggler push has been done brilliantly so far, it would be a shame if he loses some momentum because of this.

Another thing is that a clean win over Mysterio would be massive for Ziggler under normal circumstances, but if he beats him now then everybody will know it's only because WWE had to get the belt off Rey. It would be next to meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I thought this was Reys second time failing welness, so shouldn't it be a sixty day suspension?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

I thought this was Reys second time failing welness, so shouldn't it be a sixty day suspension?

His name was mentioned in a list of WWE superstars who had obtained steroids in 2005/06. But this was before the wellness policy so he wasn't suspended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Seriously how stupid can one be? To actually think that you could away with it boggles the mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

JP Liz wrote: »
    shock :eek:

Two of SD biggest draws out (Hardy gone and Rey out for a month)

No chance of a spoiler there no....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

big syke wrote: »

come on wtf doesnt know Hardy is going :rolleyes:

Well i dont read spoilers and Smackdown isnt on until 2night, a bit of common courtesy would be nice.

From Charter

Anything that happens on ECW, Smackdown, Impact or a TNA PPV has to be marked as a spoiler until the show airs in Ireland (that's until Thursday night for ECW, Friday night for Smackdown, Saturday night for Impact and Wednesday night for TNA PPVs)

His contract has been the worst kept secret going this past month or two.
    I would say he drops it to Morrison to keep his WHC shot on ice for 'Taker-Punk feud.

His contract has been the worst kept secret going this past month or two.

And? That doesnt stop me from wanting to watch an unspoiled Smackdown

I would say he drops it to Morrison to keep his WHC shot on ice for 'Taker-Punk feud.

Cant see him dropping it to a babyface doh. Would be cool to give Morrison the tilte and let him run with it. Would show us what he can do with a decent push...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Nah. Give it to Dolph in a final rematch type thing and have Ziggler v Morrison perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

Thats weird,I had always assumed that main eventers were un-officially exempt from the wellness policy,hence the reason the likes of Triple H,Cena and Batista have never been suspended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

currythis wrote: »
    Thats weird,I had always assumed that main eventers were un-officially exempt from the wellness policy,hence the reason the likes of Triple H,Cena and Batista have never been suspended.

There is a school of thought though that those guys, Vince's preferred main eventers, are protected somewhat.

I don't want to comment on that speculation, however I would say, that Rey definitely does not fit into Vince's boys club, regardless of how high up the card he is.

Nope. Whether or not Hardy is leaving still isn't sure so it is speculation, not a spoiler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

currythis wrote: »

They are but Rey isn't on their level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I'm actually rather disappointed. Whether you like him or not there's no denying that Rey has been one of the most consistently good wrestlers WWE have had this year. Ziggler won No. 1 contendership for the IC title at Breaking Point on Superstars so that'll probably be bumped up to Smackdown.

Bubs101 wrote: »
    They are but Rey isn't on their level

Not on Cena's or Hunter's but for sure he is on Batista's level. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,204 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'm actually rather disappointed. Whether you like him or not there's no denying that Rey has been one of the most consistently good wrestlers WWE have had this year. Ziggler won No. 1 contendership for the IC title at Breaking Point on Superstars so that'll probably be bumped up to Smackdown.

They could set up a pretty good fued by having Ziggler or someone attack Rey backstage, fake injury, title awarded to Ziggler, then Rey comes back to fight for the title. Would probably get Ziggler more heat too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

I'm with you here Big Syke, disappointed to have read this. Ah well,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

I wouldn't be surprised if this was the catalyst for him leaving WWE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

There is a school of thought though that those guys, Vince's preferred main eventers, are protected somewhat.

A school of thought started by internet rumour hounds, dirt sheets and folk who ,no matter what, will find fault in wwe. If we know about this then surely the relevant authorities will know? What about the other corporations who use the same medical consultants. What would their position be if these rumours are true? Their reputation is gone too if they continue to use a flawed testing agency.Would you use the medical services of a company known to "doctor" the results to protect the guilty? Seems an awful lot at stake here.

I can see where it comes from that folk think the top guys are protected but if it is true and it did come out a lot more than the wwe is screwed.

Fozzy wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if this was the catalyst for him leaving WWE

Did he not sign a contract recently?
    Losing Rey would be massive right now. He moves a ton of merch and is crucial in getting Hispanic audiences. Smackdown does savage ratings in Mexico as well which Rey can take the most credit for.
    for those reasons alone I thought Rey would be protected from wellness. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Did he not sign a contract recently?
    Losing Rey would be massive right now. He moves a ton of merch and is crucial in getting Hispanic audiences. Smackdown does savage ratings in Mexico as well,
    for those reasons alone I thought Rey would be protected from wellness. :pac:

Didn't they hire Dos Caras recently? Maybe they'll try pushing him up instead.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Didn't they hire Dos Caras recently? Maybe they'll try pushing him up instead.

Rey has a bond with the audience that he has built up over the last decade it wont be easy to replicate. It would be cruel to expect Dos to be even half the draw that Rey is for a long time. Rey -massive money right now.

davrho wrote: »
    A school of thought started by internet rumour hounds, dirt sheets and folk who ,no matter what, will find fault in wwe. If we know about this then surely the relevant authorities will know? What about the other corporations who use the same medical consultants. What would their position be if these rumours are true? Their reputation is gone too if they continue to use a flawed testing agency.Would you use the medical services of a company known to "doctor" the results to protect the guilty? Seems an awful lot at stake here.

I can see where it comes from that folk think the top guys are protected but if it is true and it did come out a lot more than the wwe is screwed.

So I'm guessing that you haven't read the interview with the head doctor of WWE's Wellness Policy conducted by the US congress where he basically said that some guys are protected? His quote was that he "was unaccustomed to policies that suspend and you're not suspended"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Rey has a bond with the audience that he has built up over the last decade it wont be easy to replicate. It would be cruel to expect Dos to be even half the draw that Rey is for a long time. Rey -massive money right now.

Absolutely, yeah. I was just reading that part of the reason they had Dos Caras was as a sort of fallback because Rey wasn't going to last too much longer, and was hemming and hawing over his contract too.

I don't think they'll get another Rey, and definitely not easily.

I was also reading Rey was making noises about going to AAA in Mexico, because he's pretty godlike over there right now, like, to the point where he could do sneaker commercials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

So I'm guessing that you haven't read the interview with the head doctor of WWE's Wellness Policy conducted by the US congress where he basically said that some guys are protected? His quote was that he "was unaccustomed to policies that suspend and you're not suspended"

Wasn't he just referring to the way some peoples suspensions aren't immediate as WWE still has to feature them on TV for one more week to explain why they'll be gone for a month, especially with current title holders.

Yeah, but there was also a test failure documented in the congress report that was never announced publicly by WWE. So when you couple together them not announcing a failure with them not actually suspending someone, it's not a huge leap to them protecting someone

And the winner of the main event on Raw this week doesn't even give samples at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Rey is one of my least favourites I have to admit. He does some high flying stuff which is cool but he sort of does my head in.

I see WWE are still advertising Jeff as attending the Smackdown tour in the UK and Ireland in November. It will be interesting to see if he's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

I see WWE are still advertising Jeff as attending the Smackdown tour in the UK and Ireland in November. It will be interesting to see if he's there.

He won't be there.
    I noticed this too last weekend, they really need to sort out those ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Rey is one of my least favourites I have to admit. He does some high flying stuff which is cool but he sort of does my head in.

Do elaborate please.

As for Dos Caras Jr, he's decent but there's no way he could replace Rey, he's nowhere near that level of ability to connect with the audience that Rey has.

And if Rey did leave he could make an absolute fortune in Mexico as well as revitalising the local wrestling scene which has been in freefall of late. I read a few weeks ago in the Observer that hes second in name recognition over there to the president himself. He's absolutely massive.

Yeah, but there was also a test failure documented in the congress report that was never announced publicly by WWE. So when you couple together them not announcing a failure with them not actually suspending someone, it's not a huge leap to them protecting someone

And the winner of the main event on Raw this week doesn't even give samples at all

So surely then all other companies who deal with this organisation drug testing results are in doubt? Why are they still being used by other organisations if they openly admitt that they are not creditable? Is the wellness test situation in the US just a load of pish? After all the pressure congress put on the wwe why is nothing being done? Why did they not reat to this staement? As i said if us plebs know then surely those in authority know too?

If its all a load of bull then fair enough. What happens when its exposed?

I am not saying that i dont believe the top guys would be protected but a consistant sales merchandiser and important cog in the US Spanish demograph has just been caught. Why is this cash cow being put forward for slaughter?

There does not seem a firm directive in this. Until there is I will remain open minded about the whole situation. I wont throw blame and accusations like some. Something definetly stinks.......

One more point. I read differently into the congress report than yourself Fozzy. The ambiguity of the statement is open to many interpretations.

I am not saying anyone is wrong here. Just trying to open up a bigger picture.

If proof does come out of wrong doing then i will be the first to applaud it.

So surely then all other companies who deal with this organisation drug testing results are in doubt? Why are they still being used by other organisations if they openly admitt that they are not creditable?

It's credible if they want it to be credible. The company that WWE use for testing, Aegis, don't decide what the policy is. They just take samples, test the samples, and inform WWE of the results. None of that is in question, Aegis are on the up and up. What's in question is what WWE do once they get those results, which is clearly in question given how many times they've amended their policy to make it easier not to punish guys
    Is the wellness test situation in the US just a load of pish? After all the pressure congress put on the wwe why is nothing being done? Why did they not reat to this staement? As i said if us plebs know then surely those in authority know too?

They know, but who cares about pro wrestling? Seriously. There's a shortage of money right now and drug use in pro wrestling is well behind in priority to drug use in other sports, never mind other things altogether
    If its all a load of bull then fair enough. What happens when its exposed?

Nothing
    I am not saying that i dont believe the top guys would be protected but a consistant sales merchandiser and important cog in the US Spanish demograph has just been caught. Why is this cash cow being put forward for slaughter?

They're not going to protect everyone. Jeff Hardy was suspended twice and he's at the same sort of level as Rey in popularity. But neither are in with the top guys in WWE, like HHH and Orton, perhaps that's a reason

Well if nobody cares why not just abandon the wellness program? As you say there are bigger problems. If everybody knows and no one is going to do anything about it whats the point? Why waste cash when you point out its in shortage? It only fuels internet gossip and starts rumours.

Mysterio and Hardy have been great market sucesses for the wwe in recent years. It would be interesting to see there sales in comparison to the others. I am not saying they are as big as cena/hhh but i reckon they would rank highly. I am not conviced the reason they get caught is because they are not big players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

exactly you can't just throw in another mexican and expect him to replace rey, how over did the likes of super crazy, psicosis and juventud get in wwe despite a big early push :D

guys like eddie and rey are unique talents

Well if nobody cares why not just abandon the wellness program? As you say there are bigger problems. If everybody knows and no one is going to do anything about it whats the point? Why waste cash when you point out its in shortage? It only fuels internet gossip and starts rumours.

Not everybody knows of its shortcomings though. There are shareholders who would be happy to know that there's a drug testing policy in place without going into the technical details. The government would also be a lot more likely to step in if there was no policy at all. And it would probably get a lot of bad publicity if they just stopped testing now

The government would also be a lot more likely to step in if there was no policy at all. And it would probably get a lot of bad publicity if they just stopped testing now

They know, but who cares about pro wrestling? Seriously.

This is not adding up?

Think back to when Benoit killed his family and himself . It got a ton of publicity and people acted outraged but it was forgotten about within a month or so

When Vince started the Wellness policy he wanted to be seen to be making some sort of effort to curb drug use in the company. Maybe he intended to use it as damage control for any incidents, like he did in relation to Benoit. He's had it changed since then and it's been made more lax because it got in the way of him promoting

If they dropped the Wellness policy today then you'd have guys going back on steroids and whatever else they were taking before. The current policy isn't a total bust and it does discourage guys from using. Then if someone did die from drug use Vince would have no defence. It could end up being incredibly bad for the company

In the aftermath of Benoit's death the threat of government intervention was very real. But in the end they didn't care enough. Vince doesn't want anyone getting involved like that and he doesn't want shareholders unhappy about no drug testing and he doesn't want bad publicity so he has this half-serious drug policy that they can always point to to clear themselves of any wrongdoing

You are twisting and turning but cant get away. Nobody cares you say. Now its a government issue. Bring up Benoit. Keep going bud. Any chance of some hard evidence?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,459 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

You are twisting and turning but cant get away. Nobody cares you say. Now its a government issue. Bring up Benoit. Keep going bud. Any chance of some hard evidence?
    Yes, only hold on a moment while I call in the PsyCops to read Vince mind.

No one cares enough to enforce it 110% instead of no one cares, is that good enough or do you want to continue argue semantics about something people don't care enough about?