Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DIT Airsoft Soc?

• 27-08-2009 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭

I posted this on the DIT forum, wondering if there was a DIT airsoft society. I thought I might get a better response here.

I do not believe there is a society (I could be wrong), but there is a paintball one. I wonder if anyone in DIT would be interested in setting one up. I would do it myself, but I don't have the time as I'm in my final year. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

There was one set up last year, wasnt around to see it develop though.
    It could still be going around, check the soc's during the signup period, maybe it'll still be around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I'll be starting in DIT next month, I'll keep an eye out for it. Kevin street seems a bit low numbers wise, hope its combined through all the DIT buildings.

The paintball society in DIT Bolton street was good when I was there 5 or 6 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

I'm starting next month so i'll keep an eye out for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Good luck with this, when you get it set up be sure to check around as most sites now I think do great college society deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Bernie Mac

VonLuck wrote: »
    I posted this on the DIT forum, wondering if there was a DIT airsoft society. I thought I might get a better response here.

I do not believe there is a society (I could be wrong), but there is a paintball one. I wonder if anyone in DIT would be interested in setting one up. I would do it myself, but I don't have the time as I'm in my final year. :/

I have been involved in a few societies within DIT over the past few years and the president of one and must say the only thing I heard from was that the soc office didnt see the point as there was a paintball society. But if anybody is willing to set it up this year i will try spare whatever time i can in helping run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Well there seems to be a reasonable response here to an airsoft soc, but I have no idea to what is involved in running a society or amount of work involved.

there is a fair amount I wouldnt recommend it if you are in your final year or in your first year usually your 2nd or 3rd are the best years to run a soc :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

There is one in kevin Street only as far as I am aware.

It is a lot of work in running a socity, but it can be rewarding if you have a good committie to work with you. Paintball was always one of the larger Socs in DIT over the last few years, so airsoft should do well also if you do it right.

My self and a few others wrote a handbook on running a paintball soc. I am sure most of it will be the same for airsoft also.

http://www.paintballer.ie/college/812-ippa-college-pb-handbook.html

I was at the society event in Kevin Street today and signed up, no sign of the paintball society strangely enough and nearly everyone at the airsoft desk was asking about paintball instead:D.

There was just one guy there in a tac vest, SWAT style helmet and a CA M249. Form the few people I saw that were interested, they did not seem all that impressed when they picked up the 249. I thought there would be more than one guy there to manage questions, explain the sport and take members but it seemed a low key event all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

Was talking to the lads themselves today, they did put in a lot of effort to get things set up for today. Fair play to them for getting it started this year! I'd never of had the time to look after a soc in college.

lperrozzi wrote: »
    Was talking to the lads themselves today, they did put in a lot of effort to get things set up for today. Fair play to them for getting it started this year! I'd never of had the time to look after a soc in college.

Yep there is one can confirm as i signed up yesterday! :p

@ditpaintball: I have been involved in the juggling soc for the last few years so I will be throwing the lads a hand wherever I can! I'll see you guys on thursday tho we can compare notes on getting intervarsity comps set up ;)

Just to let you know, I'm Richie, the guy was is helping out the Soc's office all week with the festival and stuff. So I will be knocking arund all the sites each day the festival hits them.

The Airsoft lads seems to do well alright, but like all socs, it will all come down to the trips.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Joined the other day myself, hope they can get some good trips organised! Looking forward to shooting some mates in DCU

Talking to the guy there yesterday quickly as he was getting swamped by questions (what do they shoot, does it hurt, etc) it seems a trip to Redbarn will be on the cards at some stage.

I have more assignments and projects at this stage than airsoft guns so hopefully I'll get time to go. I don't know how they have time to run this society, I do around 24hrs per week in DIT and I have far less free time on my hands than when I was in full time employment.

Hope it ends up as successful as the paintball society has over the past years when I was in DIT Bolton Street 6 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Joined. :D

So, anybody heard any further word on this or is it early days yet?

Heard nothing myself, I signed up a week ago yesterday. Was starting to think he may have got my email wrong or something. Probably waiting until timetables and other college things settle down first. Our year with 8 groups, around 120 odd of us are on our 3rd timetable revision in 3 weeks.

I think the college cutbacks are starting to effect the soc's overall with facilities and funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

I think some of them only got their passwords for the whole text and email system just there so I'd say if anything is gonna happen you'll be hearing it in a week or two

A lot of societies are having trouble with the text messaging services and the society training is only this friday so i would give the lads another few days as they are only a new society and probably dont know what to expect or understand what work is involved :rolleyes:

But I want to shoot some nerds!

So go to any airsoft site in the country.... I swear to god half the people in airsoft are doing some form of computers :P

anyone got contact details for them? Didnt see them in Bolton street, then again i was severely hungover so i wasnt the most observant person at the time:D

Well if you cant find them I'd say call ATS because there's some sponsorship going on there so they should have the number

Yeah your man running it is on their team. It seems the society office decided to change the passwords without telling any of the soc's there the other day so the lads are probably still having some trouble with that.

If, and I probably should, run into them at soc training tomorrow so I'll see what their plans are and what not :rolleyes:

I seem to have missed the Airsoft stand the day it was in Bolton Street (I even walked past it unknowingly!). I tried e-mailling the guys to see if I could join up or whats the story, but haven't heard anything back.

Any idea when the first/next meet is or how can I join up? Tis the only soc I'd be interested in this year...

I joined, and haven't heard a word. If I get any contact, I'll let ye know.

I seem to have missed the Airsoft stand the day it was in Bolton Street (I even walked past it unknowingly!). I tried e-mailling the guys to see if I could join up or whats the story, but haven't heard anything back.

Any idea when the first/next meet is or how can I join up? Tis the only soc I'd be interested in this year...

You couldn't have walked past it as there was none!lol

I'll try pop down to the students union and get a contact number for them because I also havn't heard anything...not sure if they went to the society training. If they didnt they dont have their pass word to the system so can't send out texts.

If I get anywhere with the contacting them I'll post it up :D

I think you man turned up and left half way through the day to go to work or something

Bernie Mac wrote: »
    You couldn't have walked past it as there was none!lol

Someone said there was a small stand at the top of the stairs. :/

Ah well. Hopefully the guys running it don't give up on it. I know of a few people who wanted to run a soc that already existed but weren't allowed, even though the people running it did nothing for the whole year.

Someone said there was a small stand at the top of the stairs. :/

Ah well. Hopefully the guys running it don't give up on it. I know of a few people who wanted to run a soc that already existed but weren't allowed, even though the people running it did nothing for the whole year.

Yeah like I even said to the lads I would give a hand because I have been involved in societies before. But there definitally wasn't a stand in Bolton street. When we were laying them out at the start theirs went up but was taken down because we needed room for the others ones as the lads never showed up to claim it so it just stayed lying on the ground in the SU.

Any word yet? It's not looking good :/

I haven't heard a thing I think I'll go to the socs office and have a word

Pop into the Socs office and ask James for the Airsoft Boys number. He could have gotten swamped in college work, you never know.

There defo was not an airsoft stall in Bolton St. either.

Kevin street socs office was closed but the women in the SU office told me that the new societies only found out how they got their money yesterday........ atleast I think thats what she said

Well looks like the airsoft soc is goin ahead got a text at half 2

Same here, I had almost given up on it. They must be putting ''review week'' to good use.

It seems so looking forward to see what happens next :p

Yes! And hooray for that.
    "Airsoft Soc is set up & planning a trip out. Also I'm getting t shirts ordered for the Soc, if you want one, email me your size at XXXXXXXXX@hotmail.com They cost 3 euro."

Can someone pm me the phone number or email so i can sign up?

Cheers in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 decoi

and here too please :):D

I hate bumping this all the time, but I'm still looking for info. Whens the first event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭blacon9

DIT vs DCU soon ;)

Let the trash talk being :D

Gonna be an embarassing day for DCU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Craigsy wrote: »
    Let the trash talk being :D

Gonna be an embarassing day for DCU

I know it's slightly embarrassing making people cry.

But i think we'll deal with it;)

Still no word? Its getting pretty late in the year... I'm wondering if these guys are even bothered :/

as far as i know they are (or were) going to redbarn today or tomorrow! not 100% tho :o

Ha. Seems like some sort of secret society! I cant seem to find out anything only from here. I e-mailled them, asked in the socs office, even thought they might have a facebook page.

I would have went if I knew :(

Ha. Seems like some sort of secret society! I cant seem to find out anything only from here. I e-mailled them, asked in the socs office, even thought they might have a facebook page.

I would have went if I knew :(

I know your man doesnt reply to his emails and isnt on this and the societies office cant even track him down they may as well be the secret society! :rolleyes:

I got a text on Tuesday, there is a trip tomorrow to Red Barn. They said to meet up in Aungier street on Thursday gone between 1 and 2 to go through all the details. I didn't attend as I had to do a presentation for my own course at the time. They didn't say where in Aungier street to meet up mind.

I have no idea who is going tomorrow, how many and at what times. Don't know why they won't just email all the members, its not exactly a hard or time consuming task to do.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

I'm going tomorrow, Its in RedBarn. He sent a text with these details: Bus leaves outside angier st at 9.30, be at angier at 9.15. It's gonna cost €20 for people with their own gun and €30 for the rest. Back in town at 4.30