Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS3 slim + extra controller + infamous for only 150 euro!!!

• 27-08-2009 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭

As above, the PS3 goes on sale Monday with infamous and an extra dual shock 3 for 299. But there is a way to get it for 150. In fact I got mine this evening this way and will be collecting it Tuesday morning. Just look at the thread on the Xbox forum about how to get Batman for 30 euro with 10 euro credit left over using the gamestop deal. Same thing applies for PS3. Gamestop this evening extended their "trade a game on our list for 30 euro when you preorder a game" to include the PS3 slim. Manager in my local gamestop told me this evening and even rang head office to confirm.

So here is what I did. I went over to Smyths, and bought 2 copies of various NDS games on that gamestop list e.g. Imagine Movie Star, Imagine Ballet Dancer, Guitar Hero etc.. Check gamestops website for details. All these are going for 14.99 and worth 30 euro trade in againt a preorder in gamestop. So I bought 10 games in total (some multiple copies) for 150 euro, and these are basically worth the price of a PS3 slim as a trade in, in gamestop.

Of course depending on how well you know the manager he may or may not allow you to trade multiple copies of the same game. But you can always come back a few hours later when someone else is on. All they do is issue you with a receipt for the trade in amount and the receipt says it's for a PS3 slim. On subsequent visits, they just update this value on their system and give you a new receipt. Luckily I was able to do the lot in just 2 visits.

Note : some inexperienced staff will tell you the system can only put 1 game through and wont take all 3 or 4 or whatever you have. Tell them to put each one through separately and it adds it up at the end.

Update : Some people have reported some gamestop staff will only take 1 game per preorder against another game. This is WRONG. They are authorised to take 2. Also some people have reported gamestop staff are not taking games against a PS3 Slim Preorder or taking only 1 game. Again wrong. Gamestop staff from yesterday are authorised to take as many games up to the value of the PS3 slim. Gamestop head office have confirmed this. They can even go over the 300 a bit. I got 310 euro credit. If you are getting nowhere ask the manager to ring head office as it sounds like this information has not filtered down to all stores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Flaccus wrote: »
    As above, the PS3 goes on sale Monday with infamous and an extra dual shock 3 for 299. But there is a way to get it for 150. In fact I got mine this evening this way and will be collecting it Tuesday morning. Just look at the thread on the Xbox forum about how to get Batman for 30 euro with 10 euro credit left over using the gamestop deal. Same thing applies for PS3. Gamestop this evening extended their "trade a game on our list for 30 euro when you preorder a game" to include the PS3 slim. Manager in my local gamestop told me this evening and even rang head office to confirm.

So here is what I did. I went over to Smyths, and bought 2 copies of various NDS games on that gamestop list e.g. Imagine Movie Star, Imagine Ballet Dancer, Guitar Hero etc.. Check gamestops website for details. All these are going for 14.99 and worth 30 euro trade in againt a preorder in gamestop. So I bought 10 games in total (some multiple copies) for 150 euro, and these are basically worth the price of a PS3 slim as a trade in, in gamestop.

Of course depending on how well you know the manager he may or may not allow you to trade multiple copies of the same game. But you can always come back a few hours later when someone else is on. All they do is issue you with a receipt for the trade in amount and on it. It says it's for a PS3 slim. On subsequent visits, they just update this value on their system and give you a new receipt. Luckily I was able to do the lot in just 2 visits. Note : some inexperienced staff will tell you the system can only put 1 game through and wont take all 3 or 4 or whatever you have. Tell them to put each one through separately and it adds it up at the end.

Sweet.

Oh get in! Did this last time to get a PS3 for 200, was looking to upgrade. :) Can upgrade and order GT5 and Forza 3 all for about 100. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

can you go to multiple gamestops?

thebhoy wrote: »
    can you go to multiple gamestops?

I did during the last offer, one either side of the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭nevelator

Of course depending on how well you know the manager he may or may not allow you to trade multiple copies of the same game. But you can always come back a few hours later when someone else is on. All they do is issue you with a receipt for the trade in amount and the receipt says it's for a PS3 slim. On subsequent visits, they just update this value on their system and give you a new receipt. Luckily I was able to do the lot in just 2 visits. Note : some inexperienced staff will tell you the system can only put 1 game through and wont take all 3 or 4 or whatever you have. Tell them to put each one through separately and it adds it up at the end.

Sweet.

I went into Gamestop (Dungarvan) today and asked about bundles for the slim and was told they hadn't decided/been told.
    However there was deal for the 80gb PS3, a controller and infamous for €299 which I was tempted with. If I can get that same bundle with a slim rather than a 80gb, then I will go for the slim bundle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jomz27

Hey is that the deal on all gamestop free dualshock and infamous game? if that so that's awesome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Thats a really great "deal" but id say you were lucky, i brought 2 ps3 games to trade against a preorder slim and he said he was doing me a favour by taking 2 at once... it should be one game per preorder.

Neway, I just got E60 off a slim for 2 games I got for a bargain ages ago, so thanks flaccus.

CC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

They showed me the list of games i said oh ive a good few of these but he said you can only trade in one game against 1 pre order. must double check last time they did a 30 euro trade in thing i got a new elite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

They showed me the list of games i said oh ive a good few of these but he said you can only trade in one game against 1 pre order. must double check last time they did a 30 euro trade in thing i got a new elite

I traded in 2 games against Batman 2 days ago.

Gonna give this a bash tomorrow when I pick up Batman. Also if you can't find the games in Smyths argos's 2 for €40 offer has some of the games on the list, It'll be a lil more money though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

traded in 8 - you are the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

I don't really get it:rolleyes: So if I walk in with the 10 games from the list can I trade them all at once against a pre-ordered ps3 slim? What if they don't accept more then one would I come back a different time and add on credit:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

It's a bit risky cos you could land up with €150 worth of crappy DS games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

CombatCow wrote: »
    Thats a really great "deal" but id say you were lucky, i brought 2 ps3 games to trade against a preorder slim and he said he was doing me a favour by taking 2 at once... it should be one game per preorder.

Neway, I just got E60 off a slim for 2 games I got for a bargain ages ago, so thanks flaccus.

CC

No bother. It's not 1 game per preorder. He is wrong. It's 2 games per preorder of an upcoming game and as many games as you want up to the value of a slim PS3. Assuming they are on the list. And I wasn't lucky because the manager rang head office who confirmed this. I was there.

Obvioulsy this hasn't filtered down into other stores if some people are being told they can't trade games against a slim PS3 or they can only trade 1 game against a new upcoming game. This in fact happened me in 1 gamestop store earlier this week. And is probably due to the fact there are NO terms and conditions written down for this offer on their flyers and managers are making assumptions. Plus the rule about allowing you to trade as many games as you want against a slim PS3 was only made yesterday. The only guideline is they don't like taking 2 copies of the same game at the same time as they get stuck with stock they can't shift. You can just go into a different gamestop, or come back later to the same one. They can update your preorder details.

Dman001 wrote: »
    It's a bit risky cos you could land up with €150 worth of crappy DS games.

How so ? If they are all different it's not risky at all. They have to take them if they are on the list against a PS3 slim. If you get multiple copies, do multiple transactions. Slight risk there I admit.

jomz27 wrote: »
    Hey is that the deal on all gamestop free dualshock and infamous game? if that so that's awesome...

That's what gamestop in limerick told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

How so ? If they are all different it's not risky at all. They have to take them if they are on the list against a PS3 slim. If you get multiple copies, do multiple transactions. Slight risk there I admit.

They don't HAVE TO do anything. I'm sure ALL of their special promotions and deals have clauses where they can end them at any time, refuse a particular transaction, for a limited time, etc.

They have themselves well covered as they have been doing this sort of thing for a LONG time.

Feck sake...this isn't a legal argument and you know it. Of course they don't have to do anything. They don't even ahve to sell you a PS3 if they don't want to. They can say they have enough of one game and amend their list at any time. That's obvious.

I still maintain there is no risk as the PS3 slim is out Tuesday and you can only use this offer up until that point. They are hardly going to ammend their terms between now and Monday. So they will "have" to take your games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Of course depending on how well you know the manager he may or may not allow you to trade multiple copies of the same game. But you can always come back a few hours later when someone else is on. All they do is issue you with a receipt for the trade in amount and the receipt says it's for a PS3 slim. On subsequent visits, they just update this value on their system and give you a new receipt. Luckily I was able to do the lot in just 2 visits.

Note : some inexperienced staff will tell you the system can only put 1 game through and wont take all 3 or 4 or whatever you have. Tell them to put each one through separately and it adds it up at the end.

Update : Some people have reported some gamestop staff will only take 1 game per preorder against another game. This is WRONG. They are authorised to take 2. Also some people have reported gamestop staff are not taking games against a PS3 Slim Preorder or taking only 1 game. Again wrong. Gamestop staff from yesterday are authorised to take as many games up to the value of the PS3 slim. Gamestop head office have confirmed this. They can even go over the 300 a bit. I got 310 euro credit. If you are getting nowhere ask the manager to ring head office as it sounds like this information has not filtered down to all stores.

Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

What would you get to trade in your fat PS3?

Feck sake...this isn't a legal argument and you know it. What is your point then to pick holes ? Of course they don't hae to do anything. Technically they can say they have enough of one game and amend their list at any time.

I still maintain there is no risk as the PS3 slim is out Tuesday and you can only use this offer up until that point. They are hardly going to ammend their terms between now and Monday. So they will "have" to take your games.

There is a risk, I tried this last time to get a PS3 and was stuck with 4 crappy Wii/DS games as the branch in Newry was no longer accepting those games. I was just lucky the one in Dundalk was.

Not sure myself. One of the other PS3 threads lists the values for trading fat PS3's. It's not great to be honest over the recent price drop.

amacachi wrote: »
    There is a risk, I tried this last time to get a PS3 and was stuck with 4 crappy Wii/DS games as the branch in Newry was no longer accepting those games. I was just lucky the one in Dundalk was.

Yeah..but how long had the offer being running when you attempted to trade your games. Did you leave it too late ? Remember gamestop only got the goahead to take games against a PS3 Slim yesterday. You have until Monday to trade those games. That's 5 days only. How much of a risk do you think there is during a 5 day period that they will pull the games you want to trade off the list. Not much I'd say. Almost negligible.

What would you get to trade in your fat PS3?

Gamestop in Dundalk quoted me 220euro credit for trading in a 6 month old 80GB PS3. While that's a lot of depreciation it's not bad compared to the price of a new one.

Thinking of trying to trade in the games for it

Then also trade in the old PS3

Just did it today. Sweet, the guy at the till had to do it on 2 seperate transactions as it wouldn't accept 10 games on one, so it was just 5 on one reciept and 5 on the other.

Thinking of trying to trade in the games for it

Then also trade in the old PS3

Same here, have a few pre-order games I want so I'll be taking advantage of their offer either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭j4vier

was just checking the smiths website for the prices on those ds games
    is it just a few that are 15e? some of those have a price of 35e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

god im soooo tempted to buy this. i want the PS3 for GT5...

is the offer up on monday or does it finish on sunday?

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    god im soooo tempted to buy this. i want the PS3 for GT5...

is the offer up on monday or does it finish on sunday?

It'll be finished Monday closing time, I'd say, unless they run out of stock.

j4vier wrote: »
    was just checking the smiths website for the prices on those ds games
    is it just a few that are 15e? some of those have a price of 35e

14.99 on the NDS...worth 30 euro each in gamestop
    Littlest Petshop Spring
    Imagine Movie Star
    Imagine Ballet Dancer
    Guitar Hero Decades

Some additional games on the list can be picked up 2nd hand for that price. Obviously depends on store.

There are also some Wii games that are under 20 euro on that list.

I went with the DS games and bought multiple copies and only had to make 2 visits to gamestop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭savemejebus

If another shop breaks street date on ps3 slim sales tonight and gamestop follow, does that mean that the 'preorder' offer is off the shelf?

There not obligated to do so but IF that does happen I think they would. Possibility of loosing out on sales and all that jazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Just back from smiths, slim pickings.

Got enough for 70 euro off though, as long as they take multiple copies.

Anyone know, if I have to make two trips, can I preorder in say, liffey street, then add more off my preorder in Henry street?

Evidence so far would suggest you can. Or go back to the same store the a few hours later or even the next day is another possibility. The more people that avail of this offer, and trade the same games, then the higher the chances that gamestop will stop taking in said games. I'd risk it.

rizzla wrote: »
    There not obligated to do so but IF that does happen I think they would. Possibility of loosing out on sales and all that jazz.

Indeed..That's exactly the reason they broke the date on Batman. But consider this, most gamestops only had 5 or 6 ps3's in stock as of yesterday and are not getting more till launch day or day before. So they really wouldn't be loosing out on too many sales if they broke the street date as they don't have the stock to cover potential demand.

Same here, have a few pre-order games I want so I'll be taking advantage of their offer either way.

Look at it another way though.

You offset the cost of the DS games, with the trade in price of your old playstation

Look at it another way though.

You offset the cost of the DS games, with the trade in price of your old playstation

Yeah I'm gonna tip up later to see what the craic is in the particular branch. If they'll let me trade in two games and my PS3 against it then happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

I wonder if they are taking pre-orders for the psp go aswell, this would be a handy way of knocking a few euro off it.

CC

I'm guessing it doesn't matter what platform they're on once they're on the list yeah?

I mean I can trade a few PS3 games along with some DS games as long as they're all on the list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 roadwars

Does anyone know why some shops dont do this bundle? Or do they and should I ask a manager??

I'm guessing it doesn't matter what platform they're on once they're on the list yeah?

I mean I can trade a few PS3 games along with some DS games as long as they're all on the list?

No. They have separate games listed for each platform but alot are common across both.

http://www.gamestop.ie/PreOrderOffer.asp

So if you tried to trade Virtua Tennis 2009 for the 360 say, that won't work as it's only listed for the Wii. The way it works is they scan in a game for whatever the trade in price is. e.g. Wolfenstein is 28 euro. Then they enter the offer code and that brings it up to 30 euro if the game is recognised by the system as being on the offer list, and they repeat for each game. If the game isn't recognised you can only get normal trade in value for it. .50c for PGR4 for example :(
    roadwars wrote: »
    Does anyone know why some shops dont do this bundle? Or do they and should I ask a manager??

All gamestops should do the bundle as far as I know. If the manager says no, tell him other shops are doing it and could he ring head office for clarification.

Gamestop in Dundalk are saying that the extra controller + infamous bundle is only on the 80gig PS3.

What a bunch of tossers. They are obviously wrong.

Flacus.. what i mean is, like if i have a ps3 game on the list and a ds game on the list that'll still work yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Pity this will only work until Tuesday cos you could get the games cheap online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Harpy

hey flaccus which gamestop in limerick did you get this in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭dolby

Can we create a list for now which shops are doing this offer?.. fair play OP:D

Flacus.. what i mean is, like if i have a ps3 game on the list and a ds game on the list that'll still work yes?

Sure. You are correct. As many games on the list as you want for a ps3 slim up to the value of the slim. And 2 games on the list if preordering a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭nevelator

Gamestop in Dundalk are saying that the extra controller + infamous bundle is only on the 80gig PS3.

That is what I found in the Gamestop in Dungarvan last night. I will be paying another visit after work tonight as I didn't know about this deal with the slim then.
    I was looking at the list there and see that there are a few games I have for the 360 that I could trade in. Fallout 3 being a good example as all the DLC has been released and 30 quid is good business indeed. However I think I lost the manual for it - would I still get the full €30 for it in that case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

Is there a smyths in Limerick.

yes...on childers road, beside dunnes (gamestop is just up the road from them, in the parkway shopping centre, so handy). there is also a smyths off the ennis road in a retail park across from the side of the jetland shopping centre (beside petmania). good luck with the traffic.