Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Trucks

• 25-08-2009 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Hi does anybody have an interest in classic trucks & commercials.I am looking for spares for a Hino KL 1976.Preferably a complete truck in any condition to assist a restoration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I've an interest.

I love the old Ford D-Series, and it's successor, the Ford Cargo (currently still built in India!)

D-Series:
    D-type.JPG

Cargo:
    1990-1999-ford-trucks-5.jpg

Also liked the Iveco Zeta (famously used in the 2004 Irish film 'Man About Dog'):

76_zeta-gelb-mn-070805-01.jpg

As for your spare parts, their is a small van/ truck scrapyard on the Greenhills Road in Tallaght, Dublin 24. Don't know the name of the place though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Max_Damage wrote: »
    D-Series:
    D-type.JPG

I drove one of those D series for about 18 mnonths after leaving college, nice but the CAB was a bit small, I actually preferred the older Dodge trucks like this one. higher position and more room

37_854__1-m.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

Ron G wrote: »
    I am looking for spares for a Hino KL 1976.

Fair play to you! I would love to get my hands on something like that but unfortunately so many were just run into the ground back in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭welder

Dont know where You are but Halligans on the Tallaght to Blessington
    Rd(nearer Blessington)Co.Wicklow would be worth a try. If they dont have they may be able to point You in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

i know where there is one,where are you based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

Any DAF 3300 T/U's about,
    xfys06.jpg DAF 3300 Turbo Intercooler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭3nero

PanhardPL wrote: »
    Any DAF 3300 T/U's about,
    xfys06.jpg DAF 3300 Turbo Intercooler

A ton of ex military trucks ended up in the circus and funfair bizz.
    and i think there is one or 2 of those daf's in a circus yard near mullingar

I'll look through my pics and see if i have any shots of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Has anyone got any parts for a Bedford J type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I have recently took an interest in old trucks. Do these older trucks have the splitter boxes, or do they have the old "crash" type where you have to double de-clutch? Wish I had one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

junkyard wrote: »
    Has anyone got any parts for a Bedford J type?

I think their is one of them up at Johnny Foxes pub.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I think their is one of them up at Johnny Foxes pub.
    i think it's a j3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Ron G

Im in Galway but travelling not a problem.seems to be a good interest in vintage & classic commercials about the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

A few photos I've taken at shows.
    BedfordTKKillarney06.jpg

145.jpg

MOUNTBELLEW2008045.jpg

MOSNEY-CHARLEVILLE07059.jpg

AustinTruckKilnihill05.jpg

MOSNEY-CHARLEVILLE07076.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

its a pity they are mostly UK imports.... Id be a firm believer in restoring trucks with an originaql ID which would look a bit out of place here in most cases and to put an Ierish ID on them would be plain daft....a bit like putting CIE livery on a Routemaster....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Would love to know the history of the converted Leyland (merryweather)????

Fire engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Some nice looking trucks there, I am drooling all over my computer, love classic trucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Here's a nice Austin Fire engine..... it used to be my local one.

Im in Galway but travelling not a problem.seems to be a good interest in vintage & classic commercials about the place
    it is in dunlaoghaire sth dublin,saw it from an apt next door,iwill check if it is still there and try and get a pic for you it looked like it was a travelling book shop or something like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Pagoda113

Hi does anybody have an interest in classic trucks & commercials.I am looking for spares for a Hino KL 1976.Preferably a complete truck in any condition to assist a restoration.

Hi Ron,

What parts are you looking for ? I have a Hino KM which is relatively complete mechanically as far as I remember but the cab has practically rusted off it completely. There's also a Hino HE here which is also pretty much complete mechanically.

Martin

Thanks guys I am looking for any bits to assist a restoration the HE/KM would be of great interest,I also would buy another old Hino as my next project.As i said travelling not a problem to go look at anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭gogs2006

Thanks guys I am looking for any bits to assist a restoration the HE/KM would be of great interest,I also would buy another old Hino as my next project.As i said travelling not a problem to go look at anything

I think there maybe a HE336 for sale in Tullamore.It has been in storage and is in solid condition.I'll get some contact details for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Classic Trucks?

I would love me one of these bad boys:
    6.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

My Dad was a licensed haulier for years and I spent many school holidays working with him. Never thought of it at the time but I'm now furious with myself that I never took any photos of the trucks that were to be seen around Dublin back then. Leyland Buffalos and 336 Hinos were everywhere along with F10 Volvos, DAF 2800 and 3300's and the dogs bollix, Scania 142's. I still remember some of the reg's - 80VSI, 660VZI, 928BZD etc. - but I'd guess they're all gone now. If anyone has any pics of the trucks that were doing the rounds in the 80's I'd love to see them.

Genealogy Forum Mod

those peterbuilts are not so good for irish roads plus they are a pain to polish all that chrome.

heres just a few of my truck pics, most of which i've driven..

olderf.jpg
    militant.jpg
    international.jpg
    hoffbedford.jpg
    100_0750.jpg
    100_0743.jpg
    100_0742.jpg
    108.jpg
    095.jpg
    LUKESPICS318.jpg
    LUKESPICS312.jpg
    LUKESPICS448.jpg
    LUKESPICS454.jpg

I have tons mor pics :p

3nero wrote: »
    heres just a few of my truck pics, most of which i've driven..
    militant.jpg
    I have tons mor pics :p
    Hi Nero, I'd love to see more of your truck pics but firstly can you tell me what is the one above.
    Would it be a Thornycroft by any chance?

Also do you have any idea if the truck below was previously known as The Blu-flite Eagle or The Lady Louise.
    Western_Star_Small.jpg

@Panhard You were mentioning DAF's. Well this one I took a pic of earlier in the summer passed me again today.
    DAF_2800_Small_1.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

Hermy wrote: »
    Hi Nero, I'd love to see more of your truck pics but firstly can you tell me what is the one above.

Also do you have any idea if the truck below was previously known as The Blu-flite Eagle or The Lady Louise.

@Panhard You were mentioning DAF's. Well this one I took a pic of earlier in the summer passed me again today.

The first one is a 1947 6 wheel drive AEC militant. that was a beast to drive and the engine was in the cab between the seats. if you had a passenger they couldn't hear you even if you where shouting at them. It used to pull 3 trailers at a time, back when you could get away with kind of thing:cool: and it once drove clean over the bonnet of a garda cortina :o

The second one you asked about was the Blu flite eagle. it never really pulled any trailers because it was allready to long for irish roads and a real pain to get through some of the smaller towns and villages.

and i'm the guy to blame for the repaint:P

where was the pic taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

Western_Star_Small.jpg

DAF_2800_Small_1.jpg
    Thanks for that, I see its a 2800

heres a few non circus trucks:cool:

036.jpg
    037.jpg
    038.jpg
    039.jpg
    040.jpg

041.jpg
    042.jpg
    043.jpg
    044.jpg
    045.jpg
    046.jpg

3nero wrote: »
    The second one you asked about was the Blu flite eagle. it never really pulled any trailers because it was allready to long for irish roads and a real pain to get through some of the smaller towns and villages. and i'm the guy to blame for the repaint:P where was the pic taken?
    Twas a long truck all right. I got to sit in it once a few years back. I think that was in the Phoenix Park, back when it was in the Blu-flite colours. I even got a free poster.:p I kinda thought it was the same truck as there can't be many 8x4 Western Stars in Ireland. My pic was taken when the circus was up by Dublin Airport. Here's another one. Sorry about the quality.
    GMC_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

Blue Punto wrote: »

Fire engine
    Speaking of fire engines, what ever happened to the Land Rover fire engine belonging to Dublin Port?

Genealogy Forum Mod

Twas a long truck all right. I got to sit in it once a few years back. I think that was in the Phoenix Park, back when it was in the Blu-flite colours. I even got a free poster.:p I kinda thought it was the same truck as there can't be many 8x4 Western Stars in Ireland. My pic was taken when the circus was up by Dublin Airport. Here's another one. Sorry about the quality.
    GMC_Small.jpg

there was a stack of those posters in the cab when it arrived on the circus.
    but i didn't keep any :(

Thats the General before it had the box mounted on the back;)
    see my first set of pics:)

EDIT: No thats the general with the box removed:eek:
    i designed that bigtop and it only arrived last summer and my pics are about 4 years old. I must ask them why they took the box off :confused:

Shame you didn't keep them posters Nero.
    The pics of the GMC and Western Star were taken in January '09.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Thanks Dutchcat id appreciate any info you can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

17062009088.jpg

That's the one parked outside Johnny Foxes. Love the reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

These are previous posts,but il stick em here anyway again!Apologies for the varying quality.
    Image5.jpg

016.jpg

IMG_0045.jpg

IMG_0044.jpg

IMG_0015.jpg

Image746.jpg

Image800.jpg

D-series brings them in...
    tp-3.jpg
    And out again...
    tp-2.jpg

And maybe not classic,but rare in this day and age..
    Image841.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ozf

Best Comercial/Tractor show every year in Lusk. This year 20th September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 dennison8

Blue Punto wrote: »

Fire engine
    it was imported from the uk, thats not the original reg no, it belongs or belonged? to kellys in borris carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Spotted in New Zealand near Thames. Apparantly belongs to an english guy who imports sound trucks back to the UK.

IMG_1093.jpg

Thanks Dutchcat id appreciate any info you can get.
    had a look the other day and that truck is still there,it was a book shop ,there is an address and ph no on the door ,pm me for the details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dermotg1

gogs2006 wrote: »
    I think there maybe a HE336 for sale in Tullamore.It has been in storage and is in solid condition.I'll get some contact details for you
    Hi I have been looking for a HE 335/336 as a restoration project for a while now. I used to work in the Hino assembley in the 70's and early 80's I worked on them all. Can anyone tell me where there are any old Hino's lying around.....Where did they all go ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

there is a Hino rigid lying in Ardee, on the Shanlis road, turn left at the Chapel coming in from Dublin on the old road,

there is a small tractor unit in another place in Co Louth (335?) . I somehow dont reckon its for sale. its in the livery of a local Mill, and i would love to see it restored.

Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭superboy

Theres a 1977 Hino tractor unit in that scrapyard in Kildare that we found recently.

Anybody got more Dennison photos.... I love them! plus they were our only homegrown truck manufacturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dermotg1

Thats great lads, Thanks for your help i will have a look at these and keep you posted.. I would be very grateful if you could pm me exactley where this mill and scrapyard is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Western_Star_Small.jpg

My dad used to drive the eagle for Blue Flite.. Used to go to all the shows with him.. Think i still have a few posters of it at home.. Was a cracking piece of machinery!!

Cant find a picture of it though..

My dad used to drive the eagle for Blue Flite.. Used to go to all the shows with him.. Think i still have a few posters of it at home.. Was a cracking piece of machinery!!

Cant find a picture of it though..
    Ah, so your Dad drove the Eagle. Cool.:cool: Beautiful truck all right!
    I sat in it once.:o I think it was at some show in the Phoenix Park.
    I also got a free poster which I have finally taken a photo of...

Picture_132_Medium.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Picked up two 1992 Dennis SS fire engines today ex-Merseyside (identical to the DFB ones). They've Cummins Straight 6 diesel engines which is a miser on fuel when compared to the Perkins 540 & 640 (V8 & TV8) engines usually fitted to Dennis Fire engines. The Cummins engine is perfect for them, not only has it better fuel consumption then the Perkins but it is more responsive, smoother and powerful, plus it is a better mate to the Allison gearbox which goes up and down smoother. They'll do the clock if you let them :eek:

Took one out for a spin this evening after a deep clean and the steering is really tight, the engine is responsive, the gearbox smooth, the suspension as new and all the lights work.

Not a bad find.

attachment.php?attachmentid=98301&stc=1&d=1260220019

Best of luck with them macroman.:)

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Best of luck with them macroman.:)
    Thanks. I'm holding onto one and my mate is doing up the other. Should be fun having the pair. The race is on :P

Maybe this Bedford would make a good companion for Dennis.:p

Picture_121_Medium.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Where was that laid up since 2006?Are you going to restore it?