Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Business and Computing TR082

• 25-08-2009 6:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Accepted this course recently and havnt heard of anyone else doin it!

Did anybody else here accept this course?? Also wonderin the ratio of guys to girls? Probably not many biords doin it! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Dante

I'm doing it aswell but unfortunately for you I'm a lad....I'm praying to **** for a few women in the class too!Do you know what we actually do on this course cause I havn't a breeze....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 BDMC

Nah man i really dont hav a clue what to expect! Small enough class, so should get to know people anyway.

Yea, cant wait....should defo go for a few piss ups early on though! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Good luck with the course :)

Probably not a ton of women, but you'll no doubt have more than the Computer Science average :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Timmins

Moving up to Dublin to do this course aswell.. Looks good to me anyway, and to be honest i'm not sure i'd want to meet women in the same course, as you'd end up seeing them every day and that. ;P

Timmins wrote: »
    Moving up to Dublin to do this course aswell.. Looks good to me anyway, and to be honest i'm not sure i'd want to meet women in the same course, as you'd end up seeing them every day and that. ;P

Haha maybe you're right.

BDMC wrote: »
    Haha maybe you're right.

Nah, classes are always better with a few wimins about in all fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭jingx3

I'm just entering Comptuer Science but I kinda wish I went with this one now. ::(

bit of a dilemna.. registration 24th at 10am.. grads from secondary school later that evening (can easily get back to cork for that), but then some orientation meeting at 10am on the 25th :| anyone know if thats compulsory and stuff ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

Is the the course orientation meeting, or some ****e library/computers/tcd orientation? The former you wouldn't want to miss, the latter you could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Hardy Heron

Good question! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

This course pretty much is Computer Science without Hardware or Electrotech/Telecomms and some business courses in their place AFAIK.

Not to be too harsh or negative but I would reckon this will have a massive dropout rate as a result of people signing up for the course based on the name alone, without a clue what it's about.

Though maybe I could be wrong. Hardware and Electrotech are generally considered to be the hardest part of 1st year CS.

The ratio of girls to guys will be slightly higher than CS in first year, and probably equivalent to it after that when the class gets ridiculously smaller.

Plenty of societies and clubs for meeting girls though.

I have a background in both computers and business, and was hungup on doing Commerce or CS before I found this course, so i reckon it suits me down to the ground! I think its the course's orientation meeting alright though.. Bollocks. (Different dates and **** for each course, so it must be). What exactly would this meeting entail does anyone know?

The course director will introduce you to the course, to Trinity, to how exams work, and to what will be expected of you during the year (such as what happens if you miss class or fail coursework). If it's anything like the pure computer science course, attendance will be taken, and it would be highly frowned upon (email saying "come to my office with a good excuse" kind of thing) to miss it. Try not to miss it, it is worthwhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Hardy Heron

snappieT wrote: »
    The course director will introduce you to the course, to Trinity, to how exams work, and to what will be expected of you during the year (such as what happens if you miss class or fail coursework). If it's anything like the pure computer science course, attendance will be taken, and it would be highly frowned upon (email saying "come to my office with a good excuse" kind of thing) to miss it. Try not to miss it, it is worthwhile.

Good advice!

I don't think it'd be that frowned upon... In first year we were told attendance was compulsory and you had to sign in to lectures, yet there were little negative implications for anyone who didn't show up often. In second year, while AFAIK lectures were still compulsory, several lecturers mentioned that attendance was taken for statistical reasons only and missing ordinary lectures was pretty much acceptable.

That said, it'd be bad to miss your orientation meeting, but not the end of the world.

I'll email the course director and explain the situation about the orientation meeting, and hopefully one of the lads on here would be able to sort me out with anything i REALLY need to know? :D

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    This course pretty much is Computer Science without Hardware or Electrotech/Telecomms and some business courses in their place AFAIK.

:(:(:( I wanted to avoid the more technical aspects of computers cause I know very little about programming and such. Oh well, guess I'll have to give it a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭manicmonoliths

You guys will more than likely be doing Introduction to Organisation and Management and Introduction to Economics which are both huge modules of around 300 people each, both are about 50:50 ratio wise.

Perverts

Have people bought laptops already? Thinking of buying one now but wasnt sure if i should wait till we start to see if there were any deals goin with the college. Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭tabouli

Pure curiosity here, but if everyone who's doing Business and Computing is taking modules with first year CS, would they have decreased the number of places available in first year CS or something? Just trying to think of ~25 extra people in programming and computing labs...?

Have people bought laptops already? Thinking of buying one now but wasnt sure if i should wait till we start to see if there were any deals goin with the college. Any advice?

I bought mine there last week on the net. You'd probably be better off buying online imo because you'd save much more there than you would with student deals etc.

Cool thanks. What did you get out of curiosity?

Well actually I got mine off eBay which is very dodgey and I wouldn't advise it. I have a few mates who got high spec laptops for quite cheap on laptopsdirect.ie with no problems so I'd recommend that. You could also try Elara.ie or dabs.ie aswell.

:(:(:( I wanted to avoid the more technical aspects of computers cause I know very little about programming and such. Oh well, guess I'll have to give it a go!
    Oh, you're taught from the ground up. The programming course is very basic. Intro to Computing can be a bit tricky to get your head around, but once it clicks, you're grand.

Apply yourself and be willing to do some work and you'll be fine.
    tabouli wrote: »
    Pure curiosity here, but if everyone who's doing Business and Computing is taking modules with first year CS, would they have decreased the number of places available in first year CS or something? Just trying to think of ~25 extra people in programming and computing labs...?
    CS has been underfilled for the last few years. Business and Computing would appear to be a strategy to up the numbers doing a CSish course.

btw, you don't need a laptop, there are plenty of computers in labs on campus with everything you need and you will have your own space on the server. In fact, I would actively discourage you from bringing a laptop to college, and especially from using one in lectures.

Just buy online, Dell have some decent deals on now, or Apple will give you 13% off and a free iPod for the next few days (you get a good few macs in CS, there were 10 in a class of ~30 that graduated this year).

You do not need an amazing graphics card or any non-onboard graphics card, unless you plan to do Computer Graphics in 4th year (and just hold off until then to upgrade, there'll little point in shelling out for what will be 3 year old technology now). Get a decent, dual core CPU (Core 2 Duo is ideal), and aim for 2GB min of RAM (Java can be a hog). You don't need anything special. Save yourself some money. Dell Studio 15 runs about 600 quid for the spec I mentioned, and will serve you well.

I think a laptop is worthwhile, as the PCs in college can be a bit iffy, and it's much easier to work on one machine, be in college or home, to get those assignments done. There is nothing worse than maintaining consistency of coursework across various filespaces, in particular for larger projects.
    tabouli wrote: »
    There isn't a static number of teaching assistants per module - if there are more students, the lecturer will be allowed to take on more teaching assistants.

I think you're heading into a great course. I was not a fan of electrotech and comms when I went into CS, and had an interest in business. Would have been great to swap them out for a few business modules. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭boblong

Can I just wave my little HP flag?...

Right now in PC World you can get a HP DV6 for 599.99
    That's an AMD Athlon X2 64, 3 gigs RAM, 250gig HD, and an ATI Radeon HD 4350. As far as I'm concerned that's a great deal.

Plus the laptop looks super sexy.

JC 2K3, why exactly would you discourage people from bringing a laptop to lectures? I type a lot faster than i'd write notes by hand - do you think it just acts as a distraction or something ?

Cheers!

You will end up browsing the net/playing games in lectures, guaranteed.

If you really want to use it to type notes, disable your wireless and avoid having games on the profile you use in lectures.

Though you'll still probably end up playing minesweeper or solitaire.

boblong wrote: »
    Right now in PC World you can get a HP DV6 for 599.99
    That's an AMD Athlon X2 64, 3 gigs RAM, 250gig HD, and an ATI Radeon HD 4350. As far as I'm concerned that's a great deal.
    Maybe I'm just biased, but I'd just pass right by AMD myself. And I've had nothing but trouble with HP hardware in my experience. Dell is a safe bet imo. This with an upgrade to dual core Pentium runs for 464 including shipping.
    JC 2K3 wrote: »
    If you really want to use it to type notes, disable your wireless and avoid having games on the profile you use in lectures.
    Even better: write notes in lectures, transcribe to electronic format while reviewing later on that evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭jingx3

Even better: write notes in lectures, transcribe to electronic format while reviewing later on that evening.

I tried that. Never got around to transcribing them. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭boblong

Maybe I'm just biased, but I'd just pass right by AMD myself. And I've had nothing but trouble with HP hardware in my experience

Have to say I feel quite the opposite. Used nothing but AMD for the last few years. I own a HP workstation, Compaq(close enough) desktop, and this laptop and have never had any problems whatsoever. But w/e everyone's experience is different :)

Ever since this: http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/1029097/dell-blames-battery-exploding-notebook I've always felt nervous having a Dell in my lap haha.

Did anyone go to the orientation meeting on Thursday? If so, could someone sort me out with a timetable, or info on the first lecture next monday maybe? :D Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Did anyone go to the orientation meeting on Thursday? If so, could someone sort me out with a timetable, or info on the first lecture next monday maybe? :D Cheers!

Timetables

Was that general orientation meeting on Friday important at all?

No idea really. I went in, registered, and ****ed off. Thanks for that Mark200!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Kunjunk

hey guys I made a facebook group for this course if you're interested in joining:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/group.php?gid=140673083119&ref=nf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Joseph

Has anyone started this course this year? It's a new course that I'd be interested in doing - if anyone had some feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Throw it over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I've merged a new thread on the same topic with this one.

It seems good so far to me. Lectures are mixed with BESS, MSIS and Computer Science students, so you get to meet a good few people aswell. I can let you know after another month or two if you like.

Deaddude wrote: »
    Has anyone started this course this year? It's a new course that I'd be interested in doing - if anyone had some feedback

Basically in first year you do six modules; Introduction to Programming, Introduction to Computing, Maths, Statistical Analysis, Economics and Introduction to Management.
    So far the course is pretty good, its a bit all over the place in terms of course content but I'm sure it will pick up seen as its new and all. In programming we have been learning about algorithms and logic. In Maths we have done pretty much nothing, just a bit of Pythagorous' Thoerm and sets. In Computing we are learning about Processors, Binary and how to use some programming software. I have no idea what we've been doing in statistical analysis, some boring stuff about graphs and statistics I think. :S In Management we've been learning about the development of industry in the 16th century onwards and in Economics we've been learning about opportunity costs, trade-offs, marginalism and how economies work.

If you have any questions later on in the year just give me a PM! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭nDakota

theres too many of yaz for my liking

nDakota wrote: »
    theres too many of yaz for my liking

Get out of here you CS nerd!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Swizz

hey Ive a few Qs regarding the above course (TR082)

Is this a new course? Is that why the points are so low?

I want to study business in TCD, and want to know whats the difference between a BA degree(Business and Computing) and B.B.S. Whats the difference?

Anyone doing this? Thoughts so far?

Any useful replies would be really appreciated.

Threads Merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Swizz

How many hours a week do ye have? including tutorials?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Saviola

I would be quite interested if anyone could answer Swizz's questions!