Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how to make a million

• 24-08-2009 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

hi lads have been reading the forum for quite a wile an decided to register and post. basicalliy i hav tried tis system to back 21 even money bets in 21 days and reach 1million but hav no luck an only got to £64 .you start with £1 and pick an even money bet when it wins you put your winnings ie £2 on an even money an so on beting on any sport an in 21 days you be loaded but wud anyone be brave enough to get there. once you loose you back to square one having only lost £1 any tips or advice welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Someone on here that works in a bookies posted up the strike rate for even money shots before. I was suprised at how low the percentage was.

Plus, say you're 15 or so successful bets in, are you gonna have the bottle to stick a grand or two on an even money shot? I know I wouldn't dare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

butchy wrote: »
    hi lads have been reading the forum for quite a wile an decided to register and post. basicalliy i hav tried tis system to back 21 even money bets in 21 days and reach 1million but hav no luck an only got to £64 .you start with £1 and pick an even money bet when it wins you put your winnings ie £2 on an even money an so on beting on any sport an in 21 days you be loaded but wud anyone be brave enough to get there. once you loose you back to square one having only lost £1 any tips or advice welcome

erm.... the best way to make a million is to start with an "M" then write an "I" quickly next to that you put two "L" then another "I" then before you finish put "ON" next to it all....there ya go.

you've just made your first MILLION !

in fairness OP - feel free to test your theory but would you have to find a bookies that would take your bet which is difficult when you get into serious money.

why bother starting with £1 ...why not start with £100 so you'll get there faster....worst case you only loose £100...or you could take out your €100 every second bet...might take longer but you'd be in profit (Assuming you'd win)....logic doesnt always follow in gambling !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

jape wrote: »

Reread his post. This isn't what he's taking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

Even if you got as far as 11 bets right, it would take your pound to just over a grand. Not a bad return for a starting stake of £1. I think it's alot easier said than done. Good luck with it though. Why not start posting your bets up here for a bit of fun to see how you get on.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭alb

Reread his post. This isn't what he's taking about.

Looks to me like it's the Anti-martingale that the OP is talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

There's a similar challange a group of us use to do on another forum. Same idea but you start with £2 and only need 10 bets and get to £2,000. Much more realistic since its half the bets and you're much more likely to make the final bet of £1000 in this challange than the £500,000 in the other one :D

Seeing this thread has motivated me to start the £2 to £2000 challange again. Will make my first bet in tonight's liverpool match. Anyone else be interested to doing it for a bit of fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

IrishIrish wrote: »
    There's a similar challange a group of us use to do on another forum. Same idea but you start with £2 and only need 10 bets and get to £2,000. Much more realistic since its half the bets and you're much more likely to make the final bet of £1000 in this challange than the £500,000 in the other one :D

Seeing this thread has motivated me to start the £2 to £2000 challange again. Will make my first bet in tonight's liverpool match. Anyone else be interested to doing it for a bit of fun?

will do :)

I'll start a new thread a little later on and post my first selection and give a few more rules etc and then hopefully get a few more people to join in. The highest I have seen some one get is £600 and then lose it :D Anyway look out for the other thread in a while. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭candlegrease

OP's idea is a waste of time

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

OP's idea is a waste of time

Great input there, ive seen two posts from you so far and they both you being negative about something..posting like this isnt of much interest or benefit to anyone.

I'm in for the laugh.

Torres is evens to score anytime, Gerrard is 7/5.

Yeh I have been looking at torres anytime scorer all day. Think that will be my bet. Will have a quick look at the others and then start the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Steviewonder

ya ill have a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,808 ✭✭✭Raoul

Did Sunderland live betting - 1 euro on evens!! Come on 1 million. It's only a euro, could be fun.
    I was just thinking if you got so far and then quit because there was too much money involved and you did your next few bets and they all came through and you should have made a million, how bad would you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭candlegrease

Axwell wrote: »
    Great input there, ive seen two posts from you so far and they both you being negative about something..posting like this isnt of much interest or benefit to anyone.

It's of great benefit to the OP: he now knows not to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭scheister

well liverpool to beat aston villa looks like a bad start to people here that were looking at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 butchy

thanks for all replys lads yeh the 2 to 2000 sounds good too dont tink i could take the risks beting big money prob wont get that far anyway. first bet is £1 on boston red sox -1.5 v chicago white sox here goes

Sunderland are three up so I put my second euro on Belenenses, evens again. 0-0 at half time!:(

So my second bet came in. Im now up to 4 euro and I put it on your bet butchy. I have no idea about baseball but im trusting your judgement!! :D Only got 10/11 on paddypower.

2 bets down, only 19 to go before your a millionaire ;)

Raoul wrote: »
    So my second bet came in. Im now up to 4 euro and I put it on your bet butchy. I have no idea about baseball but im trusting your judgement!! :D Only got 10/11 on paddypower.

good man. but seriously dont follow me i hav no luck wat so ever and dont want to ruin your winning streak if they do win u can pick next bet

Ha, you only tell me now that you aren't good :mad:!!!

Ah sure it was only 1 euro should be good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Seems like a fun challenge. Jasus could ya imagine 19 outta 19 and stickin 500k on an evens fav in a two horse race over fences in Cartmel :D
    squeaky bum time then :pac:

I would be terrified putting a hundred on a bet nevermind thousands!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

I would be terrified putting a hundred on a bet nevermind thousands!!!

Your heart will hop outta your chest goin to the last when 2 lengths clear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I like the bet, despite losing 2 out of 3 over the weekend, the Bosox have been putting in the hits so I reckon there's a good few scores out there, especially against a pitcher with over 5.00ERA (gotta confess I haven't seen him pitch once this year but he's 5-11).

I've seen every Buchholz start however and I think he's been pretty solid overall, he has been up against some quality pitchers (CC Sabathia, Justin Verlander, Doc Halladay) but he did beat Halladay (arguably best pitcher in the AL) last time out so confidence has to be high.

Good spot, I'll be watching the game anyway so might just match your bet for the sake of it!

Edit: only worry is the form of the Red Sox relievers recently. If you can get close to evens on a Red Sox win over 5 innnings -1.5 I think that might have more of a chance. However as I've said manys a time, baseball is the hardest sport to bet on.

sorry lad bout prediction. but as u say its only pound. sum craic if sumone gets close i no i wont get past £500 first time if i even get that far wud like to see someone do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Whyno wrote: »
    Seems like a fun challenge. Jasus could ya imagine 19 outta 19 and stickin 500k on an evens fav in a two horse race over fences in Cartmel :D
    squeaky bum time then :pac:

Getting to a million would be impossible as you wouldn't be able to get a bet on once the stakes got really big.

Speaking of squeaky bums, I recall reading a story in the racing post a while back about a guy in England (a pro gambler) who stood to win something like 270 grand if a particular horse won (must have been some kind of multiple bet, I can't remember now). Said horse trotted up to the last fence 6 lengths in front and cruising, only to unseat the jockey, costing mister pro punter a quarter of a million. Ouch!!

sorry lad bout prediction. but as u say its only pound. sum craic if sumone gets close i no i wont get past £500 first time if i even get that far wud like to see someone do it

Not looking good atm, ahwell! Sure I might have another go. Maybe I wont be so eager to do it as quick and will wait on the bets. Im a very impatient person though!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Not looking good atm, ahwell!

I did suggest trying to back Red Sox -1.5 over 5 innings, they lead by 2 now (middle of 5th, Boston at bat) so that would have won.

Still a good chance of them holding out over 9 though. Buchholz pulled after giving away a 3-run homer when Red Sox were 9-4 up. It's up to the bullpen now, they're getting good support from the hitters though as I said initially.

Edit: Red Sox win by 4, great show by Papelbon at the end. Longer game than I'd hoped though!

OK well, thats another bet through. WOO!! My bet for tonight is Middlesborough to win against Notts Forest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

I am giving this a go, Seeing as I have only .84 in my boylesports account, I have taken Arsenal to beat Celtic to bring me up to a respectable €1.12...
    Then I hope to try the 21 challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Noland

In average over the long term 1 in 3 favs will fail you, plus when and IF you get to just say €1,000 by this method are you realistically going to put 1000 on one horse,event?

Plus when you think about it if you have a serious amount of money built up who is going to take your eg: 5,000, 10,000, 20,000 on a horse, match? bookmakers will restrict your account / betting if you continue to make decent money.

Simple answer is no - best method would be to turn your €1 into 4 and take out 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭fippy

Im gonna give it a go...at the end of the day to see it through you'd need big balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

1. If you cant commit to the bet (put your 1000 on an evens shot) then dont play, just gamble.
    2. Betfair wont restrict your bets.

I think this would be great if you did it with your mates, around 10 people you know, and the first one to gamble the 1000 gets e10 from mates if it loses and e50 if it wins. A nice little compensation package and incentive:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

I'll give it a go also. I presume we should post our bet up here along with current balance before the event? 2 euro and your in ye? bit like last man standing except it might never end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

i have 3 euro in my paddy power account, im going to play too! so whats the next bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

jon1981 wrote: »
    i have 3 euro in my paddy power account, im going to play too! so whats the next bet?

Whatever you want it to be!

Mike... wrote: »
    I am giving this a go, Seeing as I have only .84 in my boylesports account, I have taken Arsenal to beat Celtic to bring me up to a respectable €1.12...
    Then I hope to try the 21 challenge

I can see this being the beginning of an epic success story! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Gillington wrote: »
    Whatever you want it to be!

well it seems i was a little slow to cop on here...i put a bet on sunderland vs stoke... however that has a three way outcome :o

I can see this being the beginning of an epic success story! :D

Imagine the publicity boards.ie would get if someone actually got that far.

Breaking news: Man wins 1million from an 0.84c stake on an Irish gambling forum!

Boxfresh wrote: »
    Imagine the publicity boards.ie would get if someone actually got that far.

Breaking news: Man wins 1million from an 0.84c stake on an Irish gambling forum!

Ha, after my first three bets have come through I have been daydreaming at work all day just thinking "ahhh what will I do with all my money?" :D:D:D.
    I can't wait to be a millionaire!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭MotteDai

I love it, a couple of us have tried this, we started with €100 and laid on bets of 1-5 on or above, we got to over €1500 in 30 bets (aprox) and then got lashed with a 1-20 certainty!
    We recoiled and havent tried it since but we're proposing to do up rules and retry, it is idiotic but we plan to do it...
    I think I may join the other group here also for fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Getting to a million would be impossible as you wouldn't be able to get a bet on once the stakes got really big.

Speaking of squeaky bums, I recall reading a story in the racing post a while back about a guy in England (a pro gambler) who stood to win something like 270 grand if a particular horse won (must have been some kind of multiple bet, I can't remember now). Said horse trotted up to the last fence 6 lengths in front and cruising, only to unseat the jockey, costing mister pro punter a quarter of a million. Ouch!!

He is the biggest tit in the world for not laying it off to secure profit.

Not looking good atm, ahwell! Sure I might have another go. Maybe I wont be so eager to do it as quick and will wait on the bets. Im a very impatient person though!:(

sorry lad told ya i had no luck cant even get first bet off to win start again. good to see all intrest would be intresting if someone did it not sure of next bet will check paddy power now

i sum gambler came on here first to check result tinkin i lost then logged on to pp an seen my bet had came in checked it and i had bet boston red sox-1.5 so 1st bet up. will hav to be extra careful. just went back a checked my prediction raoul and i predicted boston red sox -1.5 so u should stil be goin if u did my bet takin a quick look at pp now 4 2nd bet

next bet £2 on Leeds tonight

i sum gambler came on here first to check result tinkin i lost then logged on to pp an seen my bet had came in checked it and i had bet boston red sox-1.5 so 1st bet up. will hav to be extra careful. just went back a checked my prediction raoul and i predicted boston red sox -1.5 so u should stil be goin if u did my bet takin a quick look at pp now 4 2nd bet

Yeah I am still up and my 4th bet is on Boro. You obviously didn't read my last few posts :(.

sorry raoul not reading your posts prob.both us beat tonight.back to bet 1 mine is £1 0n philadelphia phillies -1.5 v pittsburgh pirates @ 20\23