Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokeless cigarettes on Ryanair

• 24-08-2009 11:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭

Ryanair have started advertising these "smokeless" cigarettes on their flights, which apparently you're allowed to smoke on the flight. I am not sure but I think they were even said to be "harmless" (as they contained no tar, though "may" contain double the nicoteine dosage of a normal cigarette) though I might have misheard that bit as the PA system isn't exactly brilliant.

Is it legal to advertise cigarettes, even smokeless ones?

My own opinion is that this is a new low in taste from Ryanair, taking advantage of customers who simply can't bear to be without a smoke during a flight... BTW this particular flight was less than an hour long!
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

even if it is illegal to advertise it, Ryanair would probably take the hit on being given a fine as they would probably make a fortune from the sale of these, that and the publicity it would generate for them would be something else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What is the legal situation anyway for an airline IN THE AIR advertising and visibly showing cigs in relation to the new smoking laws and the new changes just brought in recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

komodosp wrote: »

My own opinion is that this is a new low in taste from Ryanair, taking advantage of customers who simply can't bear to be without a smoke during a flight... BTW this particular flight was less than an hour long!

Yes it is legal to advertise.

Is it really a new low? Is it the same low as offering alcohol and food in the air?

Maybe we should ban all in-flight sales.

Would you be happy paying twice the amount for your ticket? All in-flight sales subsidise the price of our tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ryanair have started advertising these "smokeless" cigarettes on their flights, which apparently you're allowed to smoke on the flight. I am not sure but I think they were even said to be "harmless" (as they contained no tar, though "may" contain double the nicoteine dosage of a normal cigarette) though I might have misheard that bit as the PA system isn't exactly brilliant.

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

And only bowsies would be interested in these, thereby subsidising normal people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Biggins wrote: »
    What is the legal situation anyway for an airline IN THE AIR advertising and visibly showing cigs in relation to the new smoking laws and the new changes just brought in recently?

As far as I know, the airspace above the country is deemed part of the country itself and so is subject to the same laws (this is also the case with the area underneath the country - out over the open seas though, I'm not so sure. Any speculation from me on this point would amount to vague bullcrap i'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Someday we are going to stop falling for these Ryanair publicity stunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

They aint advertising any tobacco products are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Is it really a new low? Is it the same low as offering alcohol and food in the air?
    I suppose you have a point, maybe it's more down to personal taste. I suppose people can be addicted to alcohol and sometimes even food. It's just that cigarettes are pretty much aimed at the addicted market where as alcohol and food don't tend to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Technically and legally they aren't cigarettes. The phraseology in all the EU and Irish legislation refer to 'tobacco' products, not 'nicotine' products.

Case closed, M'lud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I suppose you have a point, maybe it's more down to personal taste. I suppose people can be addicted to alcohol and sometimes even food. It's just that cigarettes are pretty much aimed at the addicted market where as alcohol and food don't tend to be.
    I've got a terrible food addiction, I can't even go a few hours without eating something. If I don't eat something I get terrible withdrawals, cramps in my belly and get really irritable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

The smokeless part isn't the issue. They have always been able to sell cigarettes on flights, just not let people smoke them.

Since e-cigarettes are not tobacco products, they are not subject to tobacco legislation. There is no tobacco inside, only nicotine, propylene glycol, a heater and a battery. They are useful objects and have enabled me to quite smoking, and since the nicotine is all absorbed, the only exhaled (secondary) chemical is propylene glycol, which is perfectly safe and widely used as theatrical fog.

It's perfectly legal to sell them anywhere to anyone, since nicotine is only controlled when it's a "medicine". Obviously, I hope they are not selling them to minors.

However, they are not proven to be safe, and while I'm happy to take the risk in the name of protecting myself from the harmful effects of smoking "analogue" cigarettes, Ryanair, by selling them on flights. unfortunately makes it into an issue, meaning government nannying around them is more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Since e-cigarettes are not tobacco products, they are not subject to tobacco legislation. There is no tobacco inside, only nicotine, propylene glycol, a heater and a battery.
    Just add macgyver and you've got a boom. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

ScumLord wrote: »
    Just add macgyver and you've got a boom. :(

Macguyver builds electronic cigarettes out of bamboo, lemon juice and pennies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Macguyver builds electronic cigarettes out of bamboo, lemon juice and pennies.

US Customs: "Hello sir, do you have anything in your luggage which may be used as a weapon?"

MacGuyver: "Fcuk"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I can already see 5 chav wannabes smoking Johnny Blues, saying "but they're smoking" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

They would be free to sell these, or other "dummy" cigarettes, e.g. childrens chocolate ones. They simply look like them but they are nicotine delivery devices, I expect you are also free to wear nicotine patches or chew nicotine gum on flights too. They probably only sell "smokes" for the free advertising they get.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,778 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Anything that doesn't make your mouth feel like you've just licked an ashtray just doesn't give the same kick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Theodore01

I was thinking smoking is simply about putting a cigarette between lips and lighting up. I feel smokeless cigarettes is the best alternate option to quit smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

Dont nicorette do one of these yoke for quitting fags?? ryanair have just called them smokless cigs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/8539560.stm

how about this lad :confused:

Ryanair passenger who became enraged when he was told he could not claim a scratchcard prize on his flight ate his winning ticket.The man was flying from Poland to the East Midlands on a Ryanair flight when he won 10,000 euros (£8,765) on a scratchcard he had purchased on board.
    Ryanair confirmed he ate his ticket on 26 February after cabin staff refused to pay him the winnings immediately.
    The airline said it could not reveal the winner's identity.
    Ryanair spokesman Stephen McNamara said the cabin crew and some passengers urged the man not to eat the ticket, but he stood up and ate it anyway.
    Charity windfall
    He said it appears the passenger acted out of frustration and anger.
    Mr McNamara explained that all winners must be verified before the cash prizes are handed out.
    He said the airline crew did not have the cash "kicking around the aircraft" and in any case the prize had to be collected directly from the scratchcard company.
    "In the last two years Ryanair's scratchcards have given away 10 cars, more than €300,000 in cash prizes and more than 100,000 flight vouchers," he said.
    Since the prize will now go unclaimed, the money will be donated to charity, he added.
    The winning charity will be chosen from a list of five charities in a web vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Peglegged wrote: »

Ryanair passenger who became enraged when he was told he could not claim a scratchcard prize on his flight ate his winning ticket.The man was flying from Poland to the East Midlands on a Ryanair flight when he won 10,000 euros (£8,765) on a scratchcard he had purchased on board.
    Ryanair confirmed he ate his ticket on 26 February after cabin staff refused to pay him the winnings immediately.
    The airline said it could not reveal the winner's identity.
    Ryanair spokesman Stephen McNamara said the cabin crew and some passengers urged the man not to eat the ticket, but he stood up and ate it anyway.
    Charity windfall
    He said it appears the passenger acted out of frustration and anger.
    Mr McNamara explained that all winners must be verified before the cash prizes are handed out.
    He said the airline crew did not have the cash "kicking around the aircraft" and in any case the prize had to be collected directly from the scratchcard company.
    "In the last two years Ryanair's scratchcards have given away 10 cars, more than €300,000 in cash prizes and more than 100,000 flight vouchers," he said.
    Since the prize will now go unclaimed, the money will be donated to charity, he added.
    The winning charity will be chosen from a list of five charities in a web vote.

I went onto the Ryanair website after reading that, and it appears the best part (the list of charities) was left out!! From Ryanair.com:
    Since this €10,000 prize will now go unclaimed Ryanair and Brand Force, the scratch card company, have decided to offer the cash to charity and have asked Ryanair passengers to vote on www.ryanair.com (until Fri 5th Mar) for which type of charity Ryanair should donate the €10,000 prize to, from the following list:

1. An Anger Management Charity
    2. An Eating Disorder Charity
    3. A Gamblers Charity
    4. A Disruptive Children’s Charity
    5. A Mental Health Charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

taking advantage of customers who simply can't bear to be without a smoke during a flight...

Taking advantage my hole. Some people like smoking, and these are the closest one can get to a cigarettes.

It's not a big cynical conspiracy to do with exploiting smokers, it's merely offering them the choice to buy and use a nicotine inhalation device onboard a flight, where they can't smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This necro-thread was stubbed out a long time ago.:P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

on smokeless flights they don't need to change the air as often

to change the air causes increased drag and increases fuel consumption by one or two percent, airlines aren't going to bring back smoking

if smokeless cigarettes are smelly then if enough people complain it might get them to ban it on fuel economy , but they will have a cover story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

to change the air causes increased drag

Eh how does it increase drag exactly?
    fuel consumption by one or two percent
    Air conditioning packs use engine bleed air. So yes you are right it does affect fuel consumption.

But the real reasons are fire safety, customer demand and legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

fluffer wrote: »
    Eh how does it increase drag exactly?

Air conditioning packs use engine bleed air. So yes you are right it does affect fuel consumption.

But the real reasons are fire safety, customer demand and legislation.
    And nobody wants to sit around in what is essentially a metal container with wings filled with the smell of cigarettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

LOL @ smokeless cigarettes, they must've run out of underwater hairdryers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

It's a new low for the stewards/stewardesses who have to walk through the cabin trying to flog these faux cigarettes. They look mortified doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

tbh, the next thing I expect is Michael O'Leary tellin us all that smokin is now good for us, if we smoke his smokeless fags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

Who wants to breath in ''fog'' on a flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

No one.
    Unless there is a smoke machine going in the night club section of the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I've never understood the difference between advertising cigarettes and advertising nicotine patches. The smokeless cigarettes would fall under the nicotine patches rather than cigarettes, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The Ryanair smokeless ciagarettes are not e-Cigarettes,they are more like the nicorette inhaler. There's no fog/fake smoke or anything like that.
    bluto63 wrote:
    I've never understood the difference between advertising cigarettes and advertising nicotine patches. The smokeless cigarettes would fall under the nicotine patches rather than cigarettes, no?

The law says you can't advertise tobacco products, not nicotine products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

eoin wrote: »
    The law says you can't advertise tobacco products, not nicotine products.
    Where does the nicotine come from? If it's extracted from tobacco it's a tobacco product isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Don Draper will be thrilled.......

69 wrote: »
    Where does the nicotine come from? If it's extracted from tobacco it's a tobacco product isn't it?
    It could be, not sure if they just synthesize it. Either way they can advertise it, and rightly so.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2004/en/act/pub/0006/sec0002.html
    “‘tobacco product’ means—

(a) any product consisting, in whole or in part, of tobacco, that is intended to be smoked,

(b) a tobacco product within the meaning of the Finance (Excise Duty on Tobacco Products) Act 1977 (inserted by section 86(1) of the Finance Act 1997 ), or

(c) any cigarette paper, tube or filter manufactured for use in the smoking of tobacco,

other than a medicinal product within the meaning of the Irish Medicines Board Act 1995 .”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I went to and from London in December, and on neither occasion did anyone bother buying those smokeless things. I'm not sure if it's because it was only a 50-minute flight or because those smokeless cigarettes just aren't any good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

anyone remember good ole snuff?

I'm not sure if it's because it was only a 50-minute flight or because those smokeless cigarettes just aren't any good.
    If I was that stuck for a smoke I would make sure to bring my own nicotine gum/pills/patch, and not go on a flight in the hope they have them in stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Irishdudedave

Just a few points to clear it up for ye lads:

> They are cigarette shaped inhalers that contain 0.8mg of nicotine (The average amount contained in cigarettes)

> They contain flavorings to mimic the taste of smoking

> As for having to sell them, its not as bad as people are saying here. You walk down asking people if they want them, if not then who cares... if they do then I know that the bar for that flight is up another €6... and with Ryanair that means alot!

Oh and they are made by a company called similar in Germany, they have a website: http://www.similarshop.eu/commerce/smokelesscigarettes/company/smokeless.jsf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I certainly hope so, the more advertising the better. And not just on Ryanair, in everything!
    Peglegged wrote: »

Ryanair passenger who became enraged when he was told he could not claim a scratchcard prize on his flight ate his winning ticket.

That deserves a thread of its own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

anyone remember good ole snuff?

god yes! blowin brown snots for hours after using it! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭irishhigh

It's called giving head!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭captainjack

Just a few points to clear it up for ye lads:

> They are cigarette shaped inhalers that contain 0.8mg of nicotine (The average amount contained in cigarettes)

> They contain flavorings to mimic the taste of smoking

> As for having to sell them, its not as bad as people are saying here. You walk down asking people if they want them, if not then who cares... if they do then I know that the bar for that flight is up another €6... and with Ryanair that means alot!

Oh and they are made by a company called similar in Germany, they have a website: http://www.similarshop.eu/commerce/smokelesscigarettes/company/smokeless.jsf

I want one! The website makes them look cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

This SPAM bot is confusing me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

You obviously have no idea how ryanair run their business. People buying these cigs will keep prices low for people who just want to fly with no strings

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

You obviously have no idea how ryanair run their business. People buying these cigs will keep prices low for people who just want to fly with no strings

What about wimmins on the rag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

antodeco wrote: »
    What about wimmins on the rag?

It's a bloody disgrace that Ryanair get away get stuff like this :D