Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath v Kerry

• 23-08-2009 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭

Right time to start a thread on the 2nd semi.

Was just listening to Jimmy McGee n co on the radio and they kept saying if kerry beat meath cork will have to this that n the other, went on n on like this.....if kerry beat meath, if meath players were listening to this der'd be no greater motivation!

Anyway i think Donaghy could be the key, coming on with 20 minutes to go, would be to much for the Meath defence to handle, could see kerry pullin away in later stages of the game.

I would expect both forward lines 2 come out on top of their oppositions defences, with Meath needing at least 2 goals to have any chance imho.

Will be interested to hear what neutrals have to say on the game, in fairness in other threads Kerry posters seem to hav a certain respect for Meath football

What with be the outcome of thus game: Kerry v Meath 43 votes

Kerry Win
    0% 0 votes
    Draw
    97% 42 votes
    Meath Win
    2% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭blueovalmk2

speaking from a Meath side of things,it will a good learning curve for Meath,Kerry`s team have been here a few times over the last few years an that will stand to them next sunday,Meath are young an tis will give them a little taste!!dont get me wrong theres nothing more i`d like than to see than a Meath v Cork all Ireland,but our chances are slim,yet i have that Royal felling in my stomach that we could pull off "The Shock of the Championship" :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 26 COB_here

Personally am really looking foward to it , and agree with royaler83 many people are looking at the final between kerry cork already and are writing meath off.
    But while saying that meath are going to have to pull off one hell of a performance if they are to get a result ,the sheer class of kerry is undoubtable and as the op said meath forwards will not only have to get on top but dominate,
    While im saying that does anyone know what the story with stephan bray is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

COB_here wrote: »
    While im saying that does anyone know what the story with stephan bray is?

What you mean? He's back from suspension if thats what u mean?!

yeah Bray is back,between himself an Joe surely theres a chance of a few good scores,as COB_here said i`m really looking forward to it too

royaler83 wrote: »
    He's back from suspension

cool :D i rate him highly , pitty kevin reilly is missing the game do :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

Would like to think that Meath would have a chance but can't see Kerry giving them any chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

It has to be a repeat of the 2007 Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Poulgorm

What year was it that Meath gave Kerry a right hiding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tracto

That would be 2001, great day but we have barely one a big game since then.

Have to say I don't really give us much of a chance but if bray, Farrell, Sheridan and ward are all on fire who knows...

Has anyone else noticed the complete lack of support around the county. I was in kells last week and there wasn't one Meath flag up. Is this just a lack of interest in gaa in the county nowadays? I'd say if we dis make the final there'd be a few more jumping on the bandwagon alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Dr. Shredder

i didnt think wee'd beat mayo and i was very wrong indeed, so i am not going to say anything

tracto wrote: »

Have to say I don't really give us much of a chance but if bray, Farrell, Sheridan and ward are all on fire who knows...

Has anyone else noticed the complete lack of support around the county. I was in kells last week and there wasn't one Meath flag up. Is this just a lack of interest in gaa in the county nowadays? I'd say if we dis make the final there'd be a few more jumping on the bandwagon alright

i agree no flags flying here in Trim ether,i dont think people are expecting us to get much further but on the other hand ya dont want us to be saying we`ll beat tis an that like other countys (ehhhmmm) an then get slated for it,Meath are always better as the under dogs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

As long as they Kerry font give us the same beating they gave Dublin I'd be happy.

I hope Meath can put up a good fight and take from the experience but it is very unlikely that we will get past Kerry.

Making it to a semi has to be seen as a successful year for Meath anyway, all we can do is look forward to the day and give it our best shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

tracto wrote: »

Kells doesn't know that Meath are playing. The messenger on horseback hasn't arrived yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

it should be a good game, meath are pretty good and kerry are nowhere near as godlike as it seemed against the Dubs. with expectations so high for kerry to stroll home, i could see meath pushing them hard until kerry finally move up the gears and put it to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Cork are less worried about the Kerry Croke Park factor this year. But I would be very worried if we had to play Meath in the final.

Meath will not capitulate like the Dubs, and if Meath play like Meath can, there could be an upset on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

It is hard to know where Kerry are really at at the moment.Dublin are quarter final chokers and the game isn't a true reflection of how Kerry are defensively as they weren't tested.Meath have some good playerd in Bray,Sheridan,Ward and King but I just think on form and on paper that Kerry have better man to man players and a better team work rate than Meath when they get going.

I think Kerry will need to have a serious off day for Meath to get over the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

If I was a Meath gaa supporter i would be like a complete b@stard today.

Ever since the Cork victory yesterday all the talk has been of the great final that it is going to be between Cork and Kerry.

Dangerous game it is to be looking one step too far. I hope Meath quietly go about their business, train hard and give Kerry a run for their money. As a Corkman I wouldn't have a preference either way (even if it wasn't to face us in the final) but hate to see a team written off in such a manner. Its an All Ireland Semi final ffs. You don't get there easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I know form never works out this way but what if I said this to ye.

1)Cork beat Kerry well in the munster championship after a replay.
    2)Limerick only lost to cork by a point.
    3)Meath beat Limerick by a point but it should have been more.

If you take that bit of twisted logic into account Meath have a great chance but as I said it rarely if ever works out like that.

The thing about Meath is they have 6 forwards who can all score. The 2 brays, ward, sheridan. Kerry looked shaky in the early stages but after blowing away Dublin how will Kerry play on Sunday??

Another omen for Meath is that they will have to play in their alternative kits and they have already won twice playing in their yellow jersey.

Personally, I hope meath win because the Limerick will have lost by a point to the 2 AI finalists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sslazio11

Browney7 wrote: »
    I know form never works out this way but what if I said this to ye.

1)Cork beat Kerry well in the munster championship after a replay.
    2)Limerick only lost to cork by a point.
    3)Meath beat Limerick by a point but it should have been more.

If you take that bit of twisted logic into account Meath have a great chance but as I said it rarely if ever works out like that.

The thing about Meath is they have 6 forwards who can all score. The 2 brays, ward, sheridan. Kerry looked shaky in the early stages but after blowing away Dublin how will Kerry play on Sunday??

Another omen for Meath is that they will have to play in their alternative kits and they have already won twice playing in their yellow jersey.

Personally, I hope meath win because the Limerick will have lost by a point to the 2 AI finalists

Good 3 point logic there, it's always funny to put it down like that. How about this?
    1. Dublin beat Meath by 2 points but it should have been more
    2. Kerry beat Dublin by 17 points
    Anyway, as a Kerryman I'm very wary of Meath. They're a team to be respected at all times, and if the Kerry team are alreasy thinking about Cork in the final, we could well be beaten.

But I don't see that happening, this team knows from last year against Cork not to take the foot off the gas, and I think over 70 minutes they'll have enough to edge past Meath, but not by too much at all, maybe a 3 point win.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Hi Folks,

I don't normally venture in here but thought I might drop in for a shameless bit of self promotion :D

Keep an eye out on RTE2 Friday 28th for The Road to Croker. It's obviously about Meath & Kerry. I did a piece with Cian Ward, teaching him how to shoot - not with a ball, but with a shotgun.:)

Don't know how much they'll show but it should be interesting.

36D56314139741BCB63D64E8CDFF2844-500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bacon bites

the only ppl writing off Meath are from outside Kerry. Us in Kerry may be a lot of things, but we have a huge respect for footballing tradition and respect for all opposition. Plus, any team in the semi-finals deserves to be there and should not or won't be taken lightly. Kerry played extremely well against Dublin but won't be sucked in by it as they know that Dublin are not at the races. Can't see the likes of the O'Sé's, Mike McCarthy or Tom O'Sullivan getting carried away. They all had their arses handed to them by Meath before as we all remember!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

SeaFields wrote: »

Ever since the Cork victory yesterday all the talk has been of the great final that it is going to be between Cork and Kerry.
    No you wouldn't be a b@stard, you'd be delighted. Talk of a Cork-Kerry final is just want Meath want. It gives the Meath players extra motivation and can subconciously distract the Kerry boys.

I'm giving Meath a great chance, i actually think they can win this one. Kerry won't get the same time and space from the Royals that Dublin afforded them. I also think it wasn't in Kerry's best interests to have it all their own way against the Dubs. A close hard fought match would have been much more beneficial to them. Stephen Bray will be back and now that Meath are a on a roll, i feel they're in a prime position to take Kerry down, who i'm sure will have one eye on the AI Final. Also traditionally, Meath hold no fear of Kerry, we all know what happened the last time they met in 2001, and Meath were big underdogs for that game too. Kerry were the reigning champions at the time.

Meath by 2 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

grenache wrote: »
    No you wouldn't be a b@stard, you'd be delighted. Talk of a Cork-Kerry final is just want Meath want. It gives the Meath players extra motivation and can subciously distract the Kerry boys.

Ah yeah, theres that side of it, but for supporters to listen constantly of how the final has been decided I would be like "ehh..you gotta get through us first lads".

But yes grenache, the meath panel and management team will be happy with such commentary

Im a meath supporter myself and i think its a disgrace the level we are being wrote off people dont realise how much this team has come on during the year. We are being judged on a below par performance against dublin, but this attitude of a cork kerry final is imo not seen in either kerry or meath camp , im sure the kerry team are well aware of the threat meath pose on sunday , as for the result it will take a lot for us to do it but am looking forward to it all the same.

Whats the view of other meath supports of how we are being wrote off for this game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

blackbelt wrote: »
    It is hard to know where Kerry are really at at the moment.Dublin are quarter final chokers and the game isn't a true reflection of how Kerry are defensively as they weren't tested.Meath have some good playerd in Bray,Sheridan,Ward and King but I just think on form and on paper that Kerry have better man to man players and a better team work rate than Meath when they get going.

I think Kerry will need to have a serious off day for Meath to get over the line.
    Yeah I'd have to agree with you there, Kerry will need to have a serious off day for Meath to make the final. Reckon Cork will be either anyway, though of course it would be hard won against Kerry.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

COB_here wrote: »
    Im a meath supporter myself and i think its a disgrace the level we are being wrote off people dont realise how much this team has come on during the year. We are being judged on a below par performance against dublin, but this attitude of a cork kerry final is imo not seen in either kerry or meath camp , im sure the kerry team are well aware of the threat meath pose on sunday , as for the result it will take a lot for us to do it but am looking forward to it all the same.

Whats the view of other meath supports of how we are being wrote off for this game?

Long may it continue I say.
    Cork were written off before the semi final 2 years ago and they demolished us. No matter if it's only people outside Kerry writing us off, I'm hoping it gets into the heads of the Kerry players. It certainly got into the heads of Meath players in '07.
    However I think Kerry's players are far too experienced to take us for granted. Methinks we'll need the game of our lives on Sunday to make the final.

Getting my tickets tomorrow. I'd like to think that we can win but I'm expecting Kerry to be victorious.

Would be brilliant if we can pull it off though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 royals4sam

Kerry are hot favourites and rightly so but any team with 6 forwards who can get scores and threaten have a chance and in Sheridan ward both brays Farrell and peadar byrne Meath have six if seamus kenny and brian Meade and peadar can win crawfords breaking ball Meath could cause an upset looking forward to it now how many of u who are writing Meath off did the same vs mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I didn't write Meath off against Mayo and I'm certainly not writing them off now.

I'd rather play Kerry in the final, because we know them and we know if we can get it right, we can beat them.

I'd be nervous as hell playing Meath in the final, and living in your county does not help. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

royals4sam wrote: »
    Kerry are hot favourites and rightly so but any team with 6 forwards who can get scores and threaten have a chance and in Sheridan ward both brays Farrell and peadar byrne Meath have six if seamus kenny and brian Meade and peadar can win crawfords breaking ball Meath could cause an upset looking forward to it now how many of u who are writing Meath off did the same vs mayo

:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Does anyone know if there are tickets available for the upper stands? I've been checking Ticketmaster for the last few days and all I'm being offered in in the lower stand in the corner of the Davin and Hogan. Am I better off just waiting until the day itself to get better tickets than the ones they're trying to flog off online?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭pkeno

whatnext wrote: »

Uh oh, the author of that piece wrote Meath off too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

SeaFields wrote: »

Dangerous game it is to be looking one step too far. I hope Meath quietly go about their business, train hard and give Kerry a run for their money. As a Corkman I wouldn't have a preference either way (even if it wasn't to face us in the final) but hate to see a team written off in such a manner. Its an All Ireland Semi final ffs. You don't get there easily.

This will suit Meath just fine, people writin them off everywhere...
    Thats when Meath are most dangerous, theyre gonna give Kerry a hell of a game and if its still in the balance with 10 mins to go anything can happen!!!!

also on the Kevin Reilly issue, its a blessin in disguise for the Royals....
    The most ovverrated footballer in the county, if not beyond!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭robpurf

i wouldnt say kevin reilly is overrated he was one of the few to show anything against dublin hes a decent full back.personally speking im delighted were being talked down but i cant see kerry falling for the hype.weve a forward six to match any team in ireland and crawford is having a cracking year but i worry about our backs especially when they keep passing it around among themselves only to lose it.

as for a lack of support around the county,im afraid to put my flags out every time i have since i moved house weve lost!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

Up the Royal! Can't wait for Sunday :D

Whatever the result, I'm just glad Meath are back in the latter stages of the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Sorry about that didn,t see other tread, my mistake. If Kerry play at half aof wat they did against Dublin they will win by a mile(9 to 13 pionts), I will say. But up the Royals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Threads merged, no need for a new thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Threads merged, no need for a new thread

i think theres a 3rd thread hanging about also with posts in it...can u add them in please?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I predict a Kerry win but they will get a few frights along the way. Meath are a dogged team and will play for the 70 odd minutes. They have a centre forward and a full forward line that can do untold damage to Kerry -for two reasons. They have proven themselves in recent matches to be capable of upsetting good players - physical presence, scoring capability, mobility etc. - and secondly the Kerry full back line , in particular, are there for the taking, easily the worst line in the team. Unfortunately it is the quantity of ball they will see that I think will ultimately defeat Meath. Kerry are capable of limiting the ball the Meath Full forward line will get, I reckon Kerry will end up with 60 per cent possession, which will be enough to win the match. Would love to see a Meath V Cork but I predict Cork V Kerry, both eventualities should make for an interesting final, but for different reasons. 1987,1988, V 2007 ( in particular) Come on the Rebels!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Kerry will eat Meath alive at midfield and in the back line.

Everyone is talking about Meath's scoring forwards.

When you're looking for scoring forwards to outscore Kerry it did Galway, Mayo and Monaghan no good.

Kerry will get more ball into their forwards than Meath and will score more off it. It's that simple. Meath are being written off full rightly imo- I think it'll be over by halftime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Kerry Team v Meath

All Ireland Semi Final 30 August 2009

(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle) (2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (4) Tom O’Sullivan (Rathmore) (5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (6) Mike McCarthy (Kilcummin) (7) Killian Young (Renard) (8) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow) (10) Paul Galvin (Finuge) (11) Tadhg Kennelly (Listowel Emmett’s) (12) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) (13) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes) (14) Declan O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) (15) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (Captain)

Subs: (16) Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds) (17) Aidan O’Mahony Aodán Ó Mathúna (Rathmore) (18) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly) (19) Bryan Sheehan Brian Ó Siocháin (St. Mary's) (20) Micheál Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Paul O’Connor (Kenmare) (22) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) (23) David Moran (Kerins O’Rahilly’s) (24) Seán O’Sullivan (Cromane) (25) Anthony Maher (Duagh) (26) Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks) (27) Aidan O’Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (28) Barry John Walsh Barra (Kerins O’Rahillys) (29) Maurice Corridan (Finuge)) (30) Kieran Quirke (Duagh) (31) Ronán Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht) (32) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Kerry to win by 5. However i wouldn't be surprised if Meath push them much closer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bacon bites

please lads, do not write off meath! they will look at it like it is, 70 mins of die hard, in your face football. I'd be like that it i was playing. Am a kerryman hoping for the right result, but please don't anyone write meath off. Thats what they want!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Meath XV: P O'Rourke; C O'Connor, A Moyles, E Harrington; S Kenny, C McGuinness, C King; N Crawford, B Meade; P Byrne, J Sheridan, S Bray; D Bray, B Farrell, C Ward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Writing Meath off is mad.

Any shortcomings that the Meath team may have in terms of talent, will be mitigated be their unwavering attitude to die for the cause (which Dublin lacked sorely at the start of the month).

Kerry will need to put up a strong performance to guarantee a win, and while they will natuarally be favourites, it has to be said that Kerry hammered a team of chokers (my own team) in the quarters. Come to think of it, so did Meath. However, the real stuff starts here, and im sure Sunday will be a cracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Catenaccio!

Great forward line but I'm a bit concerned about the defence as it's lacking somewhat. And I don't think Moyles will be playing - just like in 2007.

Is throw in at 2PM or 3:30?

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Is throw in at 2PM or 3:30?

3:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

I'm a bit nervous about Sunday... a lot of pressure on the Royals.

Hoping for Meath V Cork in the final.... exact same 10 years on! :D