Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Railway Bridge

• 23-08-2009 7:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

That Train Driver saved lives in stopping the next train going over.

If he hadn't been so alert would Dublin be ready for such an emergency? What kind of response would have happened if a train with 200 pax ended up in water? Do organisations train for such emergencies? Would help from other counties be needed? What resources would you need? How quickly would you get the Garda Water unit there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭RobD_

well not the whole thing would go into the water, not even half of the train would make it in,

having saying that now, there is no real way to escape from that kind of situation, cant really smash the windows because they would go every where with the plus fact of being underwater.

i dont think the doors would work because their electric and under water woudlnt work, and their extremely hard to open at any time !

but who says that it might not be able to make it over, after all it was the stone that collapsed and not the metal track ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

RobD_ wrote: »
    but who says that it might not be able to make it over, after all it was the stone that collapsed and not the metal track ? :confused:

not quite true, the driver saw water coming up between the tracks and thought it unusual then realised that the far track foundation was gone and his was giving way as he was crossing it. correct the track didn't break off but it doesn't look like it would hold a train crossing it either.

malahideestuarybridgecollapsebarrymulvey.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭RobD_

DCTF wrote: »
    not quite true, the driver saw water coming up between the tracks and thought it unusual then realised that the far track foundation was gone and his was giving way as he was crossing it. correct the track didn't break off but it doesn't look like it would hold a train crossing it either.

malahideestuarybridgecollapsebarrymulvey.jpg

i'd agree with you, i just thought it would be a nice experiment.

i didnt know that water came up between the tracks ? how did it get that high ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

BizPost wrote: »
    Do organisations train for such emergencies? Would help from other counties be needed? What resources would you need?
    A few years back they had a simulated train crash up in Maynooth, They had all of the emergency personnel up there, Gardaí, Fire-fighters, Paramedics and Civil Defence. Granted they didn't have the train underwater but they put a lot of work in to it, tipped a few carriages on to their sides and had other volunteers act as injured people with various broken bones etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭boomer_ie

That Train Driver saved lives in stopping the next train going over.

If he hadn't been so alert would Dublin be ready for such an emergency? What kind of response would have happened if a train with 200 pax ended up in water? Do organisations train for such emergencies? Would help from other counties be needed? What resources would you need? How quickly would you get the Garda Water unit there?

Last year or the year before there was three major incidents in the one day in three separate parts of the country, one involved 100 children being thrown from their boats in Dun Laoghaire (I believe 100 ambulances were sent to this according to some newspapers although this total may include AP cars, Ambulance Officer Jeeps etc.) On the same day there was also a bus crash and a plane crash.

I never heard of any major issues as a result of the activations of the emergency plans. The only real issue that could cause a problem is poor access to an incident location through small country roads etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

In this case I think the big problem would have been access if a train would have went into the sea. Manpower wouldn't have been the prime issue in my opinion. If a major disaster happened Dublin would be about the best resourced area I think : close proximity of major hospitals ( Malahide to Beaumount and Mater is less than 20 min ), Dublin Fire Brigade is probably the biggest and one of the best equipped fire services on the island, plenty of Gardai in the region to take control of access routes, Baldonnel and Dublin airport with the SAR helicopter and Air Corps minits away to provide airlifts etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Cork_Rebel

Depends what equipment you need, putting people in the water quickly with boats and drysuits would it not be the Coast Guard?

Along with the helicopters they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

no DFB would be there first with SRT's from swords, kilbarrack, hq phisboro, coast gaurd would supply boats along with dfb and rnli but that would only apply to people in the water coast gaurd and other services woud not be allowed near the incident, all extraction and initial triage would be done by dfb on scene and shipped off to the ambulance loading point and transported by dfb and hse ambo or volunteers from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭BizPost

"other services woud not be allowed near the incident"

Assume if its in the water there would be plenty of "other" services at the incident like Garda Water Unit. Would have thought RNLI would be in the water extracting people quicker than the nearest DFB boat. How many boats do DFB have, where are they based?

Also would there there not be a trauma team including Doctors from the HSE on scene leading the medical side?

RobD_ wrote: »
    having saying that now, there is no real way to escape from that kind of situation, cant really smash the windows because they would go every where with the plus fact of being underwater.
    There is an emergency door override which usually consists of a lever near the door covered with glass but I'd say it would be hard to use in an underwater scenario.

not many boat 2 to be exact, you see the way these thing work is if there is an incident involving a train the call goes through the 9's system as per all emergency calls, that would be dealt with by the dfb, the initial response would be the fire brigade form swords kilbarrack and northstrand and hq,and the gardai, on arrival the OIC would make an assessment on the situation and more than likely deem it to be a major emergency unless it was a freight train with only a small number of people involve, ie the driver and one other.
    anyway that OIC would call in resources as per the need. now grant it if there was alot of people in the water the life boat service or coast guard might be there quickly to rescue them but these crews are all on pager systems and the fire brigade are on an emergency turn out system so they are ready to go at all time and time being the important thing the rescues would be effected immediately and since they would be the one in charge and the ones to initially take the call they would be there the fastest, but in that situation people in the water would not be the biggest problem as the estuary is quit shallow and close to the road, also the natural behavior of people would be to make their way away from the water back up to dry land unless they were thrown into the water,so entrapment would be the biggest problem and that would be the sole responsibility of the DFB

"other services woud not be allowed near the incident"

Assume if its in the water there would be plenty of "other" services at the incident like Garda Water Unit. Would have thought RNLI would be in the water extracting people quicker than the nearest DFB boat. How many boats do DFB have, where are they based?

Also would there there not be a trauma team including Doctors from the HSE on scene leading the medical side?

and absolutely no way would you put untrained person ell like doctors into an entrapment situation that they can do nothing or know nothing about,they along with the ambulance crews would be kept back to an appointed area waiting for the injure to be brought to them and then they would access them and transport

ivabiggon wrote: »
    and absolutely no way would you put untrained person ell like doctors into an entrapment situation that they can do nothing or know nothing about,they along with the ambulance crews would be kept back to an appointed area waiting for the injure to be brought to them and then they would access them and transport

There is a formal system for pre-hospital doctors in the UK that would see doctors turn up on site to assist in scenarios such as these. I dont think there is a formal system as yet but there would be doctors / consultants or whatever drafted in from the nearest available location and utilised on site at a casualty clearing centre (rather than directly on scene). At least thats my understanding of things.

The UK system is BASICS (http://www.basics.org.uk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 drill

Medical team would come from a hosp furtherest from the accident site ie malahide - Tallaght, Vincents etc or further depending on the incidents impact on the countys hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

boomer_ie wrote: »
    There is a formal system for pre-hospital doctors in the UK that would see doctors turn up on site to assist in scenarios such as these. I dont think there is a formal system as yet but there would be doctors / consultants or whatever drafted in from the nearest available location and utilised on site at a casualty clearing centre (rather than directly on scene). At least thats my understanding of things.

The UK system is BASICS (http://www.basics.org.uk)

There are two emergency Doctors in Cork that I know of. Both have blues and sirens in their private car/jeep provided by the HSE. They also have full content including lifepak in their booths.

ivabiggon dont know where your getting they would not be put in there. if they have to provide care then they will go in there.

In regard to the 999, I believe it would go to Garda command and control first as with most incidents where fire/ambo are not directly requested. Also if the train went into the water, make no mistake Dublin Coast Guard MRCC would be notified and all RNLI and IrCG resources would be depolyed including RNLI lifeboat, IrCG rescue/patrol boats, IrCG ground crews and Rescue 116 (EI-MES)

Interesting posts, I didn't realise Dublin FB are in control of the operation. Do all the stations have SRTs with Dry Suits and Water Rescue gear?

Wouldn't make sense to wait for the first fire crew to arrive before calling Coast Guard lifeboats.

i don't believe it would go tru garda control first. when an accident occurs the first thing people do is call the ambulance at that stage the control room operator would inform the sub officer in charge of the incident and he or she would contact the garda control room immediately, at that stage the dfb ambulances
    and fire trucks would be well on their way, and i know from experience the fire brigade will not alert the coast guard or life boat until they confirm the incident, making sure it was not a boggie.
    it is all very well to say that a doc down in cork has loads of gadgets to attend incidents but in all my time I've never seen doctor train or even travel on the ambulances or truck of the Dublin emergency service so they are not equip to deal with on site emergency's. so that would make them a potential liability,they may very well deal with "after extraction" in a triage area but not in the main incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Just to say apprently the driver saw water coming up through the track, I was sceptical about this however the highest tide of the year occured on saturday so it would have bee very high on friday also this couple with the recent heavy rain flowing downsteam lead to a very high water level on the inside of the estuary, so it might well be possible the water was coming through.

This high level of water may have also contributed to the bridge failing, although I would guess it was on its way out and it was only a matter of time.

With regards to it being underwater the depth of water there is not much maybe a metre or two tops with tide in, it would depend which side the train went. So you wouldn't be looking at a completey submerged situation.

Also the doors have an override beside them which allows for them to be manually opened.

With regards the water coming up through the rail i presumed he was talking abotu the splashing from the water splashing up caused by the falling debris from the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Loads of info on the major emergency framework here:

http://www.mem.ie/

There is a protocol for marine incidents:
    http://www.mem.ie/memdocuments/a%20protocol%20for%20multi-agency%20response%20to%20rail%20related%20emergencies.pdf
    For the purpose of co-ordinating response for rail emergencies normally the local
    authority is the lead agency. The Fire Service, as PES of the local authority, will
    act for the local authority as Lead agency in the early stages of response. This may
    become a broader Local Authority function at a later stage of the major emergency

The issue of access to the site depends on how the cordons are set up, quoting from the main framework Appendix F11:
    The Inner Cordon is used to define an area where the emergency services work to rescue casualties and survivors and deal with the substance of the emergency. This is also the area where evidence will need to be protected. Persons working inside this area should have appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE).
    A Danger Area may be declared (see also Section 5.5.4) where there is a definite risk torescue personnel, over and above that which would normally pertain at emergency operations. This risk could arise because of dangers posed by the release of hazardous materials, buildings in danger of further collapse, the threat of explosion or the presence of an armed individual....
    Where it is necessary that services continue to operate in a Danger Area, they should apply their normal incident and safety management arrangements, and relevant officers should continue to exercise command/control over their own personnel working in the
    Danger Area.

Experience from rail incidents in other countries shows that in prolonged entrapments, the use of medical / surgical teams is essential. The statement by ivabiggon that

needs to be taken with a dose of salt. Unless there is some particular danger presented itself such as a hazardous materials release, it would be impossible to justify closing the site to anyone but the fire service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

ivabiggon what your say makes DFB loo like a baby with a rattle. Now admittedly I have never worked with them. But I would assume it would be borderline negligent to not call in the appropriate resources.

If a Doc was available I would assume the paramedics would love to have him available to provide extra pt care if applicable. I cant see what immediate danger he would be in because I will assume DFB will have stabilized the train before allowing extrication to continue, there would be no fire risk, risk of explosion etc. Short of possibly wet legs I see no danger. If I'm wrong please tell me.

I have worked with those docs in the south and indeed with 2 basics doctors and there is no denying they are able to add to pt care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

i know from experience the fire brigade will not alert the coast guard or life boat until they confirm the incident, making sure it was not a boggie.

Irresponsible in my opinion.
    One quote I've often heard from Fire officers on scene and it's one I've used myself as I agree fully with is,
    "I'd rather be looking at it than looking for it".

Why turn out trucks and officers to check if it's a hoax call, even though it's known that the call involves a sea incident? Losing valuable minutes if you discover the Coast Guard is required.

I've been turned out to many rock/cliff/shore incidents usually involving walkers and and have always requested,although control often have it done already, and that is to alert the Coast Guard and Fire Service. It's common sense prevailing as we are dealing with peoples lives here.

As for doctors and paramedics/ambulance crews not being allowed near the scene, where did you get that one from?
    I've been to quite a few incidents where DFB have requested extra resourses, additional ambulances. doctors etc and have yet to be blocked from entering any scene. I'm a Paramedic fully trained in MIMMS and wear my full PPE, as do doctors/nurse attending these incidents, so why would they not be allowed near the scene to stabilise before and assist in extrication?

I remember a good few years ago there was a traffic accident involving a coach and a truck on the N4 Chapelizod by-pass. As well as the usual emerengency services sent to the scene St. James' hospital dispatched a team of doctors/nursed to assist casualties at the scene. So saying that they would not be allowed on scene is rubbish. It can actually help in deciding what priority casualties are sent to hospital.

the point i'm trying to make here is when a number of people are trapped and there is crews working around them there is only so much room to maneuver with cutting equipment, we are talking 3 -4 fire fighters,
    now introduce a doc and maybe a nurse and a paramedic into the mix and thing get crowded very quickly,
    so in the situation were DFB would be dealing with this train crash there would be no need for the paramedics, nurse and the doc, because all the crew are paramedic and some of them are AP's so unless there is an need to preform surgery they're would be no need for the doc or nurse.
    in the major emergency plan it is laid out quite clearly the 3 circles around the incident and who should be working in each,
    and there is no point introducing more people into a dangerous situation than necessary, that's were they become a liability. doctor and nurse aren't trained to work in these situation. and how would you give a crash coarse on the side of a bridge to a doc in how to get into a dry suit to work up to their waist in water.
    and just to answer the question re SRT's and stations, the majority of stations have SRT capabilities

Bang Bang wrote: »
    Irresponsible in my opinion.
    As for doctors and paramedics/ambulance crews not being allowed near the scene, where did you get that one from?
    I've been to quite a few incidents where DFB have requested extra resourses, additional ambulances. doctors etc and have yet to be blocked from entering any scene. I'm a Paramedic fully trained in MIMMS and wear my full PPE, as do doctors/nurse attending these incidents, so why would they not be allowed near the scene to stabilise before and assist in extrication?

it's not the job of the doc or the paramedic to extricate, it's the fire service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

so unless there is an need to preform surgery they're would be no need for the doc or nurse.

In situations like a train crash, this is not something to rule out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

it's not the job of the doc or the paramedic to extricate, it's the fire service!

Assist being an operative word here as we're all part of the one team so to speak.

The HSE are responsible for people as casualties. The HSE are responsible for making the decisions on what hospitals are placed on call and what casualty goes to which hospital etc. Clinical decisions will be made by doctors on scene. Ambulances to be used will be decided by NAS Ambulance Service Officers jointly with Fire officers (where Dublin is the scenario) under advice from the on scene clinical leader.
    HSE NAS Command & Control will advise all Emergency Departments of any major incident and inform them as to what and how many casualties each department will be receiving, this includes any major incident in the Dublin area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 robinb

Wasn't going to reply - but I just want to put some facts straight after having walked out and stood on the collapsed section of bridge on Friday night myself in respect of water safety for the Coast Guard.

First, it was the highest tide of the year at 2am the following morning, but it was also the lowest-tide of the summer just after the point of collapse http://www.dusac.org/sites/default/files/images/Dublin_tide_range_2009.png

Low tide was around 8pm that night. The collapse occurred after 6pm. There is no way water was coming up between the tracks. I'm sure what he meant was between the sleepers he could see water (they remained on the tracks with the tracks still crossing). There would have been no splashing either, it's just too high.

I'm reasonably sure, if a call had of come in from Irish Rail (presumably the first to know or a bystander) to say "a train has derailed on the bridge into water" every button would have been hit. Taking into account you need to walk out on the bridge from parking a vehicle as we did that night, if the buttons were hit at the same time, Howth RNLI Inshore (D-Class) would have been close to first on-scene in the water based on their fast response time (they all work/live near the boat-house).

The current flow around the bridge would be too deep and fast for people not in boats to have entered. For any of you who haven't been in the water there - it's like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDP79l0OepE

At 6pm the Coast Guard helicopter at Dublin Airport would have had less than 7-10 mins response time to be overhead on-scene with winch - although there is only so many people you could winch in a mass incident.

In the area, from the water side you'd have Howth RNLI all weather would have been next, followed by our boat and the civil defense water unit which are not on initial response. Followed by i'd imagine maybe Skerries and Dun Laoighre RNLI too.

-Robin
    http://www.howthcoastguard.com

there is absolutely no way that any of those voluntary services would have been there before the fire brigade in swords or kilbarrack would have been and that would include the helicopter.
    the heli from the airport has a half hour start up warm up time before been air bourne tho the fight is only 5-7 mins away, the fire brigade would have been long before, oh and any incident on land is the fire service responsibiliy not the coast gaurd

Read my post... "the first there in the water".

Quoting those times makes me think you've never called the helicopter. Am I having a conversation with someone who is just speculating who's not got facts?

What is your name and unit?

-Robin

Just rereading - It's too easy to come across here in the wrong way. Shouldn't have posted at all - I'm not looking to be confrontational, hence why I use my real name.

Just wanted to make you aware of the tide and other services in the area from the water side not get into a mines bigger than yours.

Later,

-Robin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

there is absolutely no way that any of those voluntary services would have been there before the fire brigade in swords or kilbarrack would have been and that would include the helicopter.
    the heli from the airport has a half hour start up warm up time before been air bourne tho the fight is only 5-7 mins away, the fire brigade would have been long before, oh and any incident on land is the fire service responsibiliy not the coast gaurd

ivabiggon, for some reason you seem to be against any other service. DFB are not god, they are part of an overall bigger picture who are there to preserve life.

Start up time for Rescue 115 is not 30 mins, its about 6 while the crew are on station.

Tbh I think this is turning into a battle of who has the biggest p****!! If I was on the train, I would care who came to get me.....would any of ye??
    robinb wrote: »
    Just rereading - It's too easy to come across here in the wrong way. Shouldn't have posted at all - I'm not looking to be confrontational, hence why I use my real name.

Just wanted to make you aware of the tide and other services in the area from the water side not get into a mines bigger than yours.

Later,

-Robin.

Robin, there is very little Coast Guard posters here , please continue posting. Your experience is/will be valued. (as is your programme for SAR;))

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

It's rare that I echo a fellow moderator, but I agree that you didn't read robinb's post in full, and you are coming over as being arrogant and rude. The man said:
    robinb wrote:
    Howth RNLI Inshore (D-Class) would have been close to first on-scene in the water

...and he never said anything about whether they would assume command of the incident.

I am not prepared to allow you to unfairly condescend upon a Coast Guard Volunteer who attended the scene, and who deserves our respect and thanks, and instead is getting attitude and grief.

Last warning: Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

in all my time I've never seen doctor train or even travel on the ambulances or truck of the Dublin emergency service so they are not equip to deal with on site emergency's. so that would make them a potential liability,they may very well deal with "after extraction" in a triage area but not in the main incident.

Doctor's regularly go out on with the Ambulance Service. DFB operate 11/12 ambulances in Dublin so they are not the only 999 ambulance service in Dubin, the HSE NAS do respond to 999 calls aswell.

In saying that I do take ivabiggon's point about the doctors "liability". It really doesn't make sense to have doctors bang in the middle of the scene if they aren't trained or equipped to deal with same. They'd be better suited to the triage area where they can re-triage as per neccesary.

Ivabiggon,
    Do ye use MIMMS as we do or do ye have a different standard?.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

If the train actually went into the water, regardless of what service the first 999 diallers asked for, I would expect that the first people in the water would be members of the the local marina. It would be natural instinct I would say for any members in Malahide to jump in there craft to give any assistance necessary. I would expect them in turn to get on to the radio to notify the Coastguard long before any ES arrived on site.

Ivabiggon said the local stations have SRT capabilities. That mean Kilbarrack and Swords have SRT with dry suits that could enter the water straight away?

Agree those lifeboats can turn out in less than 5 minutes as staff work very close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭supermedic

I have had the pleasure to work both inside and outside the Pale for nearly twenty years, I would suggest, that at best Ivabiggun, may be a firefighter. I have worked with many excellent fire crews in Dublin and have rarely found any officer, sub or station, to have the arrogance associated with some of his comments. The perceived or real tension that exists in the capital is almost non existent outside Dublin, because the retained guys have a very different attitude. I have many friends in the DFB, and probably like every organisation, like my own, there are people who get "carried away" with themselves. While no one disputes the fire services role in scene safety, you can be fairly sure if the worst happened the other day, every service would have worked well within and outside their remit, without conflict and for the benefit of the patients. The role of paramedics and advanced paramedics may not have included getting wet on the day in the same way firefighters would have carried stretchers as well as doing the extrications. But outside Dublin, everyday, HSE paramedics go far outside their remit to effect rescues, often before the fire service have arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭999/112

robinb wrote: »
    Wasn't going to reply - but I just want to put some facts straight after having walked out and stood on the collapsed section of bridge on Friday night myself in respect of water safety for the Coast Guard.

First, it was the highest tide of the year at 2am the following morning, but it was also the lowest-tide of the summer just after the point of collapse http://www.dusac.org/sites/default/files/images/Dublin_tide_range_2009.png

Low tide was around 8pm that night. The collapse occurred after 6pm. There is no way water was coming up between the tracks. I'm sure what he meant was between the sleepers he could see water (they remained on the tracks with the tracks still crossing). There would have been no splashing either, it's just too high.

I'm reasonably sure, if a call had of come in from Irish Rail (presumably the first to know or a bystander) to say "a train has derailed on the bridge into water" every button would have been hit. Taking into account you need to walk out on the bridge from parking a vehicle as we did that night, if the buttons were hit at the same time, Howth RNLI Inshore (D-Class) would have been close to first on-scene in the water based on their fast response time (they all work/live near the boat-house).

The current flow around the bridge would be too deep and fast for people not in boats to have entered. For any of you who haven't been in the water there - it's like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDP79l0OepE

At 6pm the Coast Guard helicopter at Dublin Airport would have had less than 7-10 mins response time to be overhead on-scene with winch - although there is only so many people you could winch in a mass incident.

In the area, from the water side you'd have Howth RNLI all weather would have been next, followed by our boat and the civil defense water unit which are not on initial response. Followed by i'd imagine maybe Skerries and Dun Laoighre RNLI too.

-Robin

Robin points out that the tide was the lowest-tide of the summer. Low tide was at approximately 8pm and that the collapse occurred about 6pm, So mid-tide was at approximately 5pm. Mid-tide is generally perceived to have the fastest flow/movement of water, with several mitigating factors, an important one is that this is an estuary so the parameters change here [time of slack water]. Did the collapse occur at the “peak flow”? [It is people like Robin, armed with local knowledge, that know these local anomalies.]

Robin also states that the highest tide [spring tide] of the year was at 2am the following morning. Looking at the video link Robin has posted, and considering the above, the volume/flow of water passing this viaduct would be huge and no doubt dangerous.

Carrying out dynamic risk assessments, scene safety, etc. would it be possible for an S.R.T. swimmer to perform any rescue in this flow??

If the situation had occurred where a train and carriages did de-rail, it would be incidental “who” was there first or last. This type of incident would be a multi-agency task. I would hope that the agencies and the individuals representing the respective agencies would work together, in a professional manner, with a common goal of doing their very best for casualties/patients.

Robin, how deep is the water there [say, mid-tide] would the Howth A.L.B. operate there? If there is a chance I’m sure the D***y Bros. and crew would sneak her in.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 reno911

I would have taugh that something like this would be an all hands on deck situation, im assuming that who ever raised the alarm called 999/112 and probably got DFB control. assuming a train did go into the drink, i would assume dfb would send out swords/kilbarrick trucks first and a few amob's and would put the HSE ambo's on standby as well as vol's (vol's to do patient transfer of walking wounded), I would hope they would notify the Coast Guard chopper if not for rescue purpose then for light for working crews (as it was nearing night) and to search for people who possably left the train and got taken away by the current. Again i would assume when the trucks arrived they would call for more resources, such as more trucks, dfb small inflatable (the DFB rib would take too long to arrive on scene), ambos, possably a command unit, coast guard, rnli and civil defence water rescue unit, due to the fast running water it would not be possible to get SRT's out to the train without boats and if there was damage to the weir the water would be even faster. coast guard and rnli would be there in minutes and civil denence would be there within the hour(adiquite time for a vol service i would think). remember there are 2 sides to the train track. 2 small boats would need to be put in broadmeadow as ribs would not be easy to launch (civil defence and RNLI i would assume). while all this is going on i would assume again that DFB would have called (after the intital trucks called for more resources) the Guards for road closures etc..., fingal engineers, fingal water safety officer and Irish rail engineers to do risk assesment and to give advice to all crews on the ground and also doctors&nurses that will be required on scene (again i know there are AP's in dfb but there not doctors, granted they will be setup in a triage area but definitly a mush have as AP's/emt will not be doing triage) and all hospitals arround dublin and probably drogheda would be notified. just a taught of what i think might have happend for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

As i think about it, the idea thatsomeone one have to verify. If this happened DFD control would light up like a christmas tree with so many call about the incident. It would be verified by the call volume about the incident.

thats true, but the public have a way of blowing things out of proportion in a panic stiuation, an initial response of 2 pumps an ambo and possably an ET or DO car would be normal and the officer on scene can assess the situation and call on additional resources

But if you have an incident at sea/ estuary you call the lifeboat straight away. I don't get understand waiting to get to an incident to call in other emergency services if you're getting lots and lots of calls in. That could add at least another 10 minutes having to wait.

The nearest lifeboat is 10 mins away, how far is the nearest fire brigade boat or nearest fire engine with dry suits?

you dont just send everything out to an incident, you send what you need, and in order to know what you need you need to send the minimum amout first and build resources as you require them, remember if there is another incident in dublin at the same time you cant have all your resources held up. I agree if there is something on the water the CG and RNLI should be called first. but what are they going to do when they get to a train in the water, they are not trained in extracation/stabilization/advanced medical training nor have the equipment on board a boat. this all falls under the remit of DFB/HSE. the CG/RNLI/CD would be there to assist in what ever way they can. like i said before taking personell and equipment out to the area as the water flow is too fast to get out by swimming and if there was any people in the water to get them, but it was a "potential" train derailment which means everybody will be in the train not outside unless they climbed out in which case most people will sit on the outside of the carrage and wait to be rescued. in fact if a carrage was under water it would not be the DFB/HSE/CG/RNLI/CD that would be needed but a team of trained divers such as the garda and a crane to get the carrage out of the water. Also remember DFB and as far as i can remember Civil Defense have floating platforms which can be roped up and pulled out to the accident site with personell and equipment to get started. would it not be better for a fully equipped truck to arrive on scene and ask for more additional resources while starting to extracate people that an boat with no equipment on board to tackle a train derailment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Don't forget if the train ended up on the inside of estuary there is no access from the sea. AFAIK there is just the one Slipway in on the Malahide side.

Also the water isn't that deep around here, while I haven't got numbers I very much doubt the train could be fully submerged.

boats would be needed if it went in on the broadmeadow side it can get fairly deep a carrage would be fully submerged, there is a slip at the sailing club but inflatables would be better as it's very shallow for the first 20 feet or so and they can be launched from the roadside. to get a rib in would be time consuming and not that easy, again if somebody walked out along the bridge to the affected area a floating platform could pulled out using the correct roping system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

I would be embarassed if some readers thought that ivabiggon is DFB. I doubt very much that he is as he would know that neither Kilbarrack nor Swords has SRT capability. Indeed it is a bone of contention in both stations at the moment and they are using this incident now to fight their corner to be SRT equipped.

Also, the poster who suggested that the response woul be 2 pumps and a DO. Not a chance. Any sub worth his salt in the control room would be making up as soon as he saw the volume of calls. He would not be waiting for the in attendance message and make up from the 1st arriving appliance.

This incident would take hours to deal with in the initial rescue stages. the build up of resources would be huge with staging and triage areas required. I would expect that the water rescues would be handled initially by local craft already in the water with a long term CG / RNLI deployment.

Train extracation would be DFB lead and I am certain that the Incident Commander would restrict access to that site for other than essential responders due to the water and further collapse risks. DFB protocol requires personal flotation devices (lifejackets) when working within 3m of water. I do not think that HSE have this but stand corrected if they do.

But I say again. This would be a protracted incident that would require an integrated and co-ordinated response over a long time. It will involve all the the 3 Principal Response Agencies (Fire, Amb, Gda) and plenty of volunteers (CG, RNLI, St Johns, Civ Def, OMAC, etc) and possibly Dublin Bus, army, etc. Plenty of opportunity for those that want the spotlight to grab it. I am certain that ivabiggon would not be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

dfbemt wrote: »
    I would be embarassed if some readers thought that ivabiggon is DFB. I doubt bery much that he is as he would know that neither Kilbarrack nor Swords has SRT capability. Indeed it is a bone of contention in both stations at the moment and they are using this incident now to fight their corner to be SRT equipped.

Also, the poster who suggested that the response woul be 2 pumps and a DO. Not a chance. Any sub worth his salt in the control room would be making up as soon as he say the volume of calls. He would not be waiting for the in attendance message and make up from the 1st arriving appliance.

This incident would take hours to deal with in the initial rescue stages. the build up of resources would be huge with staging and triage areas required. I would expect that the water rescues would be handled initially by local craft already in the water with a long term CG / RNLI deployment.

Train extracation would be DFB lead and I am certain that the Incident Commander would restrict access to that site for other than essential responders due to the water and further collapse risks. DFB protocol requires personal flotation devices (lifejackets) when working within 3m of water. I do not think that HSE have this but stand corrected if they do.

But I say again. This would be a protracted incident that would require an integrated and co-ordinated response over a long time. It will involve all the the 3 Principal Response Agencies (Fire, Amb, Gda) and plenty of volunteers (CG, RNLI, St Johns, Civ Def, OMAC, etc) and possibly Dublin Bus, army, etc. Plenty of opportunity for those that want the spotlight to grab it. I am certain that ivabiggon would not be there.

I'm with you on this dfbemt. This forum has generally been devoid of the my dick is bigger than your dick crap that goes on elsewhere. It has started to creep in recently and will destroy the place if let loose.

I also have my doubts about the individual concerned with some of the more rubbish posts. It is quite obvious to me that if a train had gone into the water it would immediately be a multi agency response. Multiple calls would come into the dfb control who would with the info from the calls have to immediately contact the coastguard at the same time as despatching their own resources. Response times for the lifeboat crews are pretty quick and it does not take the helicopter 30 mins to warm up.

Scene safety would be important and it is quite obvious that the fast flowing currents at the base of that bridge are a major hazard. Unless properly equipped no one from any agency including fire would be allowed access that water. Surgical teams as required would obviously be used were prolonged extrication of seriously injured casualties was necassary. However, access to the scene would definetly be restricted due to the hazards involved.

Hopefully we can get back to constructive discussions without more rubbish been bandied about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Smokey Bear

All DFB appilances will be carring SRT equipment 61 and 51 got them in the last 2 months more to follow,training now thats on my list for Santa never mind PMDs!!!.All ambulances are to have lifejackets and throw bags soon.
    Agree with dfbemt and PaulZx in regard to this poster

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Lads in fairness, there had been no more from the poster in question since my post, so it's best not refer to the matter again, as we now deem is has been dealt with.

Thanks.

All DFB appilances will be carring SRT equipment 61 and 51 got them in the last 2 months more to follow,training now thats on my list for Santa never mind PMDs!!!.All ambulances are to have lifejackets and throw bags soon.
    Agree with dfbemt and PaulZx in regard to this poster

What does the SRT equipment consist of?