Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v England ODI

• 22-08-2009 2:35pm
    Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like Freddie will not be playing at Stormont on Thursday, as he is expected to go under the knife next week (presumably another knee op)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

No Rankin for Ireland. Out with a groin injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

f1dan wrote: »

Huge loss for us

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

England squad:

Paul Collingwood (capt)
    James Anderson
    Ravi Bopara
    Tim Bresnan
    Stuart Broad
    Joe Denly
    Eoin Morgan
    Matt Prior (wk)
    Adil Rashid
    Owais Shah
    Ryan Sidebottom
    Graeme Swann
    Luke Wright

Not sure if they will call up anyone to replace the injured Flintoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

This live anywhere lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

Beasty wrote: »
    England squad:

Paul Collingwood (capt)
    James Anderson
    Ravi Bopara
    Tim Bresnan
    Stuart Broad
    Joe Denly
    Eoin Morgan
    Matt Prior (wk)
    Adil Rashid
    Owais Shah
    Ryan Sidebottom
    Graeme Swann
    Luke Wright

Not sure if they will call up anyone to replace the injured Flintoff

Morgan back to face the Irish, and I dont think this is on any TV, well not Sky Sports anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

f1dan wrote: »

AAAAHHHHH FECK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

d'Oracle wrote: »
    AAAAHHHHH FECK!

Irish Times today says he's 50-50. It might not matter, the weather forecast isn't good

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Rjd2 wrote: »
    This live anywhere lads?

No live TV or radio coverage anywhere.

Still tickets available though!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Got my ticket back in March. A couple of weeks ago Ticketmaster sent me an e-mail telling me it had become reserved seating, and a new ticket was on its way. I had to call them if it did not arrive 48 hours before the event. Yesterday I got another e-mail saying ticket should have arrived by then and to call them if not. I spent 10 minutes waiting on the phone this morning to then be informed my ticket had not been posted and would be held for me at the ground.:mad:

This should probably be in the Ranting and Raving forum, but I paid these cowboys a "service" charge for the privilege of buying a ticket from them, and they could not have had the simple courtesy to inform me the ticket would be at the ground:mad:

If Hurricane (now Tropical Storm) Bill gets his way, I will probably spend 4 hours driving to and from Stormont on Thursday to see no cricket, but at least I'll then get my £35 back (less another "service" charge:mad:)

Got my ticket back in March. A couple of weeks ago Ticketmaster sent me an e-mail telling me it had become reserved seating, and a new ticket was on its way. I had to call them if it did not arrive 48 hours before the event. Yesterday I got another e-mail saying ticket should have arrived by then and to call them if not. I spent 10 minutes waiting on the phone this morning to then be informed my ticket had not been posted and would be held for me at the ground.:mad:

This should probably be in the Ranting and Raving forum, but I paid these cowboys a "service" charge for the privilege of buying a ticket from them, and they could not have had the simple courtesy to inform me the ticket would be at the ground:mad:

If Hurricane (now Tropical Storm) Bill gets his way, I will probably spend 4 hours driving to and from Stormont on Thursday to see no cricket, but at least I'll then get my £35 back (less another "service" charge:mad:)

I would have thought you would be entitled to your service charge if they did not complete the service as promised?, ( sorry to go OT )...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 ringo747

Lads, do you know if you can pay on the door? How much is a ticket to just stand around the boundary? I don't want a seat in the stands.

ringo747 wrote: »
    Lads, do you know if you can pay on the door? How much is a ticket to just stand around the boundary? I don't want a seat in the stands.
    Reserved seating only. They only had a about 300 tickets left a couple of days ago, available through ticketmaster (to pick up at the ground). They may have gone though, following England's Ashes victory

Cremated wrote: »
    I would have thought you would be entitled to your service charge if they did not complete the service as promised?, ( sorry to go OT )...
    The ECB charge £1.40 for England Test ticket refunds. In the "old days" you did not get any refund. Not sure if Cricket Ireland (or Ticketmaster) charge. Hopefully it will be academic, but a "full" refund is due if there is less than 10 overs play.

Reserved seating only. They only had a about 300 tickets left a couple of days ago, available through ticketmaster (to pick up at the ground). They may have gone though, following England's Ashes victory

Does that mean you have to book for reserved seating only? Or do you mean you have to book a seat and I won't be able to stand around?

If tickets are still available there is plenty of space at Stormont to stand around - you are not required to take up your seat

Cool, I plan to go to do some photography work for local press. Thanks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Cool, I plan to go to do some photography work for local press. Thanks

Why don't you talk to Cricket Ireland about press accreditation then? You'll get a lot more access with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

England 11/2, Johnston getting rid of Bopara and Trott, both for 0.

Rain stopped play though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

Anybody got a stream for the game???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

What a start!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

what a spell by trent 7/2 off his first 6 overs. O'Brien doing an excellent job the other end aswell. We need to drive this great start home now by taking some wickets while we have em under pressure.

come on boys

Rain falling again. Such a pity its not being televised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

KevIRL wrote: »
    Rain falling again. Such a pity its not being televised

Yes, nothing beats a bit of rain on the tv :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Agree that its a shame its not on TV. TG4 should be showing it. Would be great craic to hear all the crikets terms as gaelige!

Following it here:http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/shared/fds/hi/statistics/cricket/scorecards/2009/8/15834/html/scorecard.stm

England have stablised and have upped the run rate a bit. 56-2 after 18 overs.

Prior gone! 64-3 after 22 overs.

This going along nicely. Have we ever beaten England in Cricket before?

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Prior gone! 64-3 after 22 overs.

This going along nicely. Have we ever beaten England in Cricket before?

Nope

Need to get rid of Denly quick smart though.

England now 83-3 after 26ovs

Collingwood gone.

England 93-4(29ovs)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Sandeman

So with 116-4, 35 overs, and England with a run rate of 3.3 or something like that, what do you guys reckon would be a good total, realistically, for Ireland?

Sandeman wrote: »
    So with 116-4, 35 overs, and England with a run rate of 3.3 or something like that, what do you guys reckon would be a good total, realistically, for Ireland?

Shah gone now aswell. I think if we kept them under 210 it would be great

with a primary target to keep them under 220

Denly gone !! thats the big one.

Lets keep the door shut now

Good stuff from the lads, Trent with three wickets, good way to celebrate his 100th cap :D...

Cremated wrote: »
    Good stuff from the lads, Trent with three wickets, good way to celebrate his 100th cap :D...

26/4 from trent off his 10 well done captain fantastic. unlucky it wasnt a fifer

9 down would be great to bowl them out. :D:D

lets keep it to under 200 lads

204 needed to win. a smidge over 4 an over.

this is eminently winnable especially with a good start.

Looks like rain Ted: http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp?ani=y

Might have our innings cut short a bit. Anyone care to explain the Duckworth/Lewis method to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

That's a fantastic effort from the lads.

Big performance needed with the bat, but it's definitely possible.

Looks like rain Ted: http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp?ani=y

Might have our innings cut short a bit. Anyone care to explain the Duckworth/Lewis method to me?

Not really. I jsut plug the numbers into the DL calculator and get the revised total :D

rain it is. Hopefully we get on. we need to bat 20 overs to constitute a game right ?

D3PO wrote: »
    Hopefully we get on. we need to bat 20 overs to constitute a game right ?

Think so.

I plugged values in here and got a target of 115 for Ireland off the minimum of 20 overs.

we are a good 2 hours away from it being reduced to 20 overs though.

pretty stiff target off 20 i think especially if its seaming as much as cricinfo have insuinuated.

id actually go as far as to say england would be happy enough with that only 89 runs being knocked off for the 30 overs

Don't take my word as gospel. I could have done that all wrong. Seems about right though. Ireland know their target (5.75 runs an over) and have 10 wickets to get it. They just have to go hell for leather and not worry too much about loosing the odd wicket.

rain has stopped anyway. Im guessing they might end up reduced to 30 ish overs by the time they restart

So you were out by 1 run Euro

116 needed to win off 20 overs game restarting at 5.36

7 off the first over no wickets down

repeat 16 more times and we win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Porterfield gone, 8-1

Just need one decent partnership of around 50 and should win.

38/2 after 5.3 overs
    Stirling 15, Botha 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

50 up after 7.1 overs, so far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

66 for 3 (9.0 overs)

Botha gone - 66/3 after 9.1

Make that 66/4 after 9.3 - Stirling out, so getting interesting

85/5 after 14.4
    Ireland require another 31 runs with 5 wickets and 32 balls remaining