Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare/Galway

• 22-08-2009 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

On TG4 right now, Under-21 Hurling Championship. Cracking game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

how there hasnt been more goals in this game ill never know!!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Dunno why morey didnt go for goal early in the first half.. Honan laid the sliothar off to him straight infront of goals and he took a point.
    Galway have a class keeper. Skehill, is it?

oohh second half is starting! :D.
    Cmon the banner ;).

Go on Honan, you ledge! Goal! :D

was honan on the clare senior panel this year??

From what i know dotsflan, he wasnt on with the seniors.
    Ah Niall quinn just missed that goal for galway, thank god! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Game over or extra time?

well he should be on the clare seniors next year anyway, great hurler. and galway have a lot to thank skehill for!!! great keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭AndRoiD

class game for the neutral, galway definitely should have stole it with that wide just after the 3rd goal.

Clare seemed to be the far better balanced team but what can you do when you have joe canning playin like that.

hope extra time is as good as the first 60mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Orizio wrote: »
    Game over or extra time?
    extra time, go on Galway

dotsflan wrote: »
    well he should be on the clare seniors next year anyway, great hurler. and galway have a lot to thank skehill for!!! great keeper.

I wouldn't be too hopeful for that Horan lad.......

He's been marked by a 5''9 FB who weighs about 10stone...... plus there no big lads really anywhere else to stop him.
    And he hasn't a peck on him either, he's as scrawny, he'll get cleaned out at senior:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Definitely the best game I've seen this year. Is that 4-7 Canning's scored? End to end stuff!

My god that was the worst U-21 team i've seen us possess in a long time, apart from Canning, Skehill and one or two average performances the rest of them were shocking bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭CarDriver

WE WON!!! COME ON THE BANNER!!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Final score?

Its cool, got it on teletext.

Man of the match, guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Man of the match, guys?
    Honan Id say as he was on the winning team, Im not sure though could be Canning

O.A.P wrote: »
    Honan Id say as he was on the winning team, Im not sure though could be Canning

I laughed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭CarDriver

Its got to be Honan. He was consistent throughout the match. One of the finest matches he played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭bagaspuds

Just came back from the game....Come on the Banner.

Great Game, the best Clare team I've seen since 1998. Honan is something else. Very deceptive, he looks tall and lanlky but he's like a slippery eel. Delighted for the management team. It was obvious that the team was very well prepared. From 1 to 15, even the subs that came on played like a unit.
    Great for Sean O'Halloran. Jaysus, I remember him 20 years ago on the sideline for Bodyke in charge of underage teams, Hope he gets the credit he deserves. Likewise for Alan Dunne, Lyons and of course Minogue.

Hats off to the management :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

I wouldn't be too hopeful for that Horan lad.......

He's been marked by a 5''9 FB who weighs about 10stone...... plus there no big lads really anywhere else to stop him.
    And he hasn't a peck on him either, he's as scrawny, he'll get cleaned out at senior:D

WOW!!!! i wouldn't be too hopeful of a guy who's scored 5-16 or close enough FROM PLAY in his 3 games so far either!!! tell the galway half back that he sent flyin over the line with a shoulder in the 2nd half that he's scrawny!!!!

deccy15 wrote: »
    WOW!!!! i wouldn't be too hopeful of a guy who's scored 5-16 or close enough FROM PLAY in his 3 games so far either!!! tell the galway half back that he sent flyin over the line with a shoulder in the 2nd half that he's scrawny!!!!

He's big compared to a 5''9, 10 stone'r alright, but look at the lad, he hasn't got a bit of muscle on him.....Aisake O'Hailpin anyone?. We'll see how he gets on in the final, i bet he gets cleaned out if the KK backs are as big as ye'r own

Ye'll take a mauling in the final, and tbh we'd have taken one too looking at our backs, so i'm not too bothered about losing, too many lads there who wouldn't cut it any senior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

honan can always bulk up ya know, the man is class he will definitely make it!!

as for prince joe - wow!!!

He's big compared to a 5''9, 10 stone'r alright, but look at the lad, he hasn't got a bit of muscle on him.....Aisake O'Hailpin anyone?. We'll see how he gets on in the final, i bet he gets cleaned out if the KK backs are as big as ye'r own

Ye'll take a mauling in the final, and tbh we'd have taken one too looking at our backs, so i'm not too bothered about losing, too many lads there who wouldn't cut it any senior.

have u noticed how much speed the guy has? what are you on man?? I fail to see how a team that is averaging 3-24 a game is goin to get maul by anyone, even the great Kilkenny!! Canning was absolutely awesome today but was definatly the 2nd best player on the pitch and that's sayin sumthin!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

have u noticed how much speed the guy has? what are you on man?? I fail to see how a team that is averaging 3-24 a game is goin to get maul by anyone, even the great Kilkenny!! Canning was absolutely awesome today but was definatly the 2nd best player on the pitch and that's sayin sumthin!!!

i think your location is clouding your judgment ;)

aDeener wrote: »
    honan can always bulk up ya know, the man is class he will definitely make it!!

as for prince joe - wow!!!

As a qualified fitness instructor i can say that's easier said then done. Everyone says it about players ''If he does....'', but the bottom line is the person would have to put in a serious amount of hours every week to achieve this.

It's easier to get a soccer player to do this as their FT and the clubs can make them, but since the GAA is amatuer it's up to the lad himself..... it's similar to all the unfulfilled potential in the GAA, since the players aren't contracted they are free to do as they please and a lot of players waste their development years out drinking every night in college

If he did though he'd have a great chance of making a name for himself but today he was up against the smallest FB I've ever seen, so wouldn't get too excited yet as he had a massive size advantage which we know you don't get in senior

Fail to see how?... i don't.

Look what one good forward scored against ye today, apart from Harte the rest of our forwards(Forde was adverage) were brutal, yet we still racked up 20+ points in normal time, KK's forwards will be more balanced.
    Add in our woeful, tiny defenders which contributed to a lot of scores and you have a good analysis

aDeener wrote: »
    i think your location is clouding your judgment ;)

Think what ya like bud, 2-5 from play as opposed to 1-2, canning is a class act and is probably the better hurler overall but imo he was 2nd best today!!!!

As a qualified fitness instructor i can say that's easier said then done. Everyone says it about players ''If he does....'', but the bottom line is the person would have to put in a serious amount of hours every week to achieve this.

It's easier to get a soccer player to do this as their FT and the clubs can make them, but since the GAA is amatuer it's up to the lad himself..... it's similar to all the unfulfilled potential in the GAA, since the players aren't contracted they are free to do as they please and a lot of players waste their development years out drinking every night in college

If he did though he'd have a great chance of making a name for himself but today he was up against the smallest FB I've ever seen, so wouldn't get too excited yet as he had a massive size advantage which we know you don't get in senior

martin comerford aint exactly well built but i dont see anyone pushing him around!! Honan as the heart and thats the one thing you cant take from him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭bagaspuds

Bulk Up - What are you talking about. This isn't rugby.
    Joe Deane, Jamsie O'Connor, Henry Sheflin......I could go on.....
    Skill, speed and a good hurling brain beats all...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Neutal here. That was easily the best game of hurling this year, brilliant altogether. Honan has everything you want in a hurler, reminds me of Griffin for some reason. The Clare line made some great decisions, those subs really gave the selectors something to think about. Hats off to Galway for their efforts, they were all too reliant on Big Joe though.

[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;61739465

Look what one good forward scored against ye today, apart from Harte the rest of our forwards(Forde was adverage) were brutal, yet we still racked up 20+ points in normal time, KK's forwards will be more balanced.
    Add in our woeful, tiny defenders which contributed to a lot of scores and you have a good analysis[/QUOTE]

''1 good forward'' he's 1 of the best young forwards to ever play the game, KK have no superstar forward like galway had. Maybe yer forwards were just made look bad by clare's backs (canning aside obviously).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Congratulations to Clare today,this win shows that the underage system is producing great hurlers in the County.

Deccy, i wouldnt waste my breathe if i were you.
    Id say clare will give kilkenny bags of it in the final. The clare u21s have some fine hurlers and why some of them werent included in the senior panel, nevermind the starting lineout bewilders me tbh. But sure with mike mc as clare manager, well... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

That is extremely disrespectful to Clare. I missed todays game but have seen them play against against Waterford, who are a better U-21 team than Galway easily (without Joe Canning that is). I think Clare will beat Kilkenny with 5-7 pionts to spare.

Deccy, i wouldnt waste my breathe if i were you.
    Id say clare will give kilkenny bags of it in the final. The clare u21s have some fine hurlers and why some of them werent included in the senior panel, nevermind the starting lineout bewilders me tbh. But sure with mike mc as clare manager, well... :rolleyes:

Yeah think i'm wastin my time there alrite:rolleyes::rolleyes:!! Yeah they've got some fine hurlers who shud def have been startin for the seniors, conlon, o connel, honan, ryan and o doherty at the least shud have made it! well at least the future looks bright 4 them now!! any hope of john minogue, cyril lyons and sean o halloran gettin the senior gig????

do you, by any chance go to flannans btw? I would have thought that davy fitz might get it. Hes had his eyes on that manager position for a while now..
    But thats a 'might get it'..Wouldnt be too sure. Not a clare supporter myself, just following their u21s :P.

do you, by any chance go to flannans btw? I would have thought that davy fitz might get it. Hes had his eyes on that manager position for a while now..
    But thats a 'might get it'..Wouldnt be too sure. Not a clare supporter myself, just following their u21s :P.

nah flannan's were the enemy for me when i was at school:D:D!! yeah fitz will get it i'd say! wishful thinkin on my part on minogue gettin it!

we have enemies? :P LOL!
    Yea, id say davy fitz will come in if waterford and himself go their separate ways. Was Honan defo man of the match btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

we have enemies? :P LOL!
    Yea, id say davy fitz will come in if waterford and himself go their separate ways. Was Honan defo man of the match btw?

Yeah Honan was the ESB Man of the Match, what a game, good to see Clare making a return to an underage All-Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 aircrash

clare to a man were fantasic.Honan unreal.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Add in our woeful, tiny defenders which contributed to a lot of scores and you have a good analysis
    Every post has sour grapes written all over it :rolleyes:

Martin Comerford, Joe Deane, Jamsie O'Connor...want me to go on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I didn't see the game yesterday, but it must be worrying for Galway to be so reliant on Joe Canning, both at senior and u-21 level. There needs to be a better spread of scoring amongst their forwards. Tipp had a similar problem a few years back when they were literally a one man team with Eoin Kelly. Then Corbett and O'Brien stepped up to the plate. And the emergence of Callinan and McGrath has added to the scoring potential. Galway need something similar to happen. Honan and the whole full forward line for Clare are a very exciting prospect. They were fantastic against Limerick and Waterford. That's 3 very big scores they've racked up now. I would give them every chance against Kilkenny.

grenache wrote: »
    I didn't see the game yesterday, but it must be worrying for Galway to be so reliant on Joe Canning, both at senior and u-21 level. There needs to be a better spread of scoring amongst their forwards. Tipp had a similar problem a few years back when they were literally a one man team with Eoin Kelly. Then Corbett and O'Brien stepped up to the plate. And the emergence of Callinan and McGrath has added to the scoring potential. Galway need something similar to happen. Honan and the whole full forward line for Clare are a very exciting prospect. They were fantastic against Limerick and Waterford. That's 3 very big scores they've racked up now. I would give them every chance against Kilkenny.

Good point on galway grenache!! Yeah clare are averaging 3-24 in their games to date against decent sides and must have a chance in the final on that form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Bitter much :rolleyes:

Honan has been outstanding all year not just yesterday where fyi he cleaned out 4 direct opponents not just the FB

He has an intermediate AI winners medal and a Clare senior title and now is in an U-21 AI final, not bad for a big scrawny kid eh :rolleyes:

Yourself and Mike Mac must be the only two in the country who cant see whats blatenly in front of them.

As for your prediction that they will be mauled in the final lol, Im glad there are shortsighted people like yourself out there probably explains how i was able to get 6/1 a few weeks back on Clare to win the AI ;)

Bitter much :rolleyes:

Honan has been outstanding all year not just yesterday where fyi he cleaned out 4 direct opponents not just the FB

He has an intermediate AI winners medal and a Clare senior title and now is in an U-21 AI final, not bad for a big scrawny kid eh :rolleyes:

Yourself and Mike Mac must be the only two in the country who cant see whats blatenly in front of them.

As for your prediction that they will be mauled in the final lol, Im glad there are shortsighted people like yourself out there probably explains how i was able to get 6/1 a few weeks back on Clare to win the AI ;)

Fancied Cork to win with quite a bit to spare today and predicted that correctly, so i'll stick with Clare taking a beating in the final.... same as we would have, as i said.

Wow an Intermediate medal and a country title?... they count for little in being a threat at senior level.... :rolleyes:

I'll enjoy posting my sympathys when you lose you bet ;)

Fancied Cork to win with quite a bit to spare today and predicted that correctly, so i'll stick with Clare taking a beating in the final.... same as we would have, as i said.

Wow an Intermediate medal and a country title?... they count for little in being a threat at senior level.... :rolleyes:

I'll enjoy posting my sympathys when you lose you bet ;)

Can you even name the KK team or are you just assuming cos they're KK they'll win it handy and as for your posting sympathies, you obviously have no comprehension of how gambling works ever heard of laying off a bet for guarenteed profit??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭seany2929

Went down to Thurles for the match yesterday & i must say it was 1 of the best games i was ever at with the lead changing so many times & the fact the teams were level 10 times:eek: Emotions were all over the place. Had money on with 1 of the lads that Clare would win cause i knew they would win while still taking into account that Canning would get most of Galway's scores & get goals.Thought Skehill was immense in goal for Galway.

Delighted to see a good Clare support down there. Great Man of the Match peformance from Darach Honan while there was also some very good performances throughout the field.

Roll on Sept 13,not being cocky but i expect us to beat Kilkenny,this is a very good Clare team who haves lots of character :D Richie Hogan is Kilkennys's main man & he's not in Canning's league.

Can you even name the KK team or are you just assuming cos they're KK they'll win it handy and as for your posting sympathies, you obviously have no comprehension of how gambling works ever heard of laying off a bet for guarenteed profit??

Ya i did, but have you ever heard of a bookmakers?... because when someone claims to put a bet on you automatically assume that's where they placed it.... the vast majority of us don't use betfair :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Great result. One of the main things about this Clare team is that they have tremendous bottle. They showed it against Waterford in the Munster Final and again on Saturday - they just won't lie down and it will take an exceptional team to beat them. C'mon the Banner.

Warper wrote: »
    Great result. One of the main things about this Clare team is that they have tremendous bottle. They showed it against Waterford in the Munster Final and again on Saturday - they just won't lie down and it will take an exceptional team to beat them. C'mon the Banner.

Yeah agreed they really know how to battle, its obvious the injustice of last year has unified them and they are really out to prove a point, see that umpire in Cusack Park last year had the long term interests of Clare hurling at heart :D

I'm very suprised no-one has mentioned it here yet, but if you watch the game again or get to even see highlights, Skehil was coming outside the square with every puck-out, would have been quite ironic if Galway had have beaten Clare as a result.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Yeah agreed they really know how to battle, its obvious the injustice of last year has unified them and they are really out to prove a point, see that umpire in Cusack Park last year had the long term interests of Clare hurling at heart :D

I'm very suprised no-one has mentioned it here yet, but if you watch the game again or get to even see highlights, Skehil was coming outside the square with every puck-out, would have been quite ironic if Galway had have beaten Clare as a result.
    I spotted that and Touhy was doing his utmost not to step over the line. Joke of a rule that should either be enforced or got rid of.