Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Musings of a private seller

• 21-08-2009 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭

As most of you know ive been buying and selling cars relatively frequently over the past few years, and have always been pretty successful in selling privately, due to a) pricing the car reasonably and b) keeping my cars the way they should be kept.

I rushed into the decision to buy the z4 coop a little quickly, to be honest i couldnt resist it as i had always loved the shape, and i was offered a hefty discount as a cash customer. however the lack of rear seats has become a bit of an issue, that and the fact i should never have sold my m3 persuaded me to put it on the market.

i believe its priced competitively, you cant import one for anything near the price, you cant get another one of the same age or mileage here for near the price either (scarcity is clearly a factor here).

it will have been on carzone 2 months next week and if it doesnt go i am withdrawing it for a few months, it would be lunacy for me to sell it any cheaper so i am willing to put up with the inconvenience of the space as it is a super car aside from that.

i have had a lot of interest but all with downfalls so no deal has been done:

one guy had just sold his 318ci, got way less than he bargained for so his max budget is 25k, has rang me twice now a month apart asking if i have any interest in his offer, sorry no

some guy offered me his clean 05 golf gti + 14k, seemed a reasonable deal until i realised that dealers are now selling these for 13.5k, originally i thought this would be worth circa 15k on a private sale

also, a bmw garage in sligo were interested in taking my car and giving me a 3.2 awd brera plus an acceptable cash differential, but as much as id like to try the brera i realise that a 3.2 litre alfa with an SO reg is going to be too hard to sell.

so where have i gone wrong? is it just a case of the right car at the wrong time? the people who would normally have 30k to spend and who would like this type of thing no longer have it? or am i off the ball with my price, what think ye boardsies?

if it gets to next week and doesnt sell ill be changing the wheels and doing a few little bits a pieces :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I think you're dead on with the price.

It just is, as you say it, the right car at the wrong time.
    It's so hard to sell a car right now..it's beyond a joke the discounts people expect off cars.

Keep trying and you'll get it, put it up everywhere you possibly can.
    You'd be surprised where people notice them..only takes one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭rco2000

i realise that a 3.2 litre alfa with an SO reg is going to be too hard to sell.

What's wrong with an SO reg???:confused::(

(and I'm not from Sligo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

rco2000 wrote: »
    i realise that a 3.2 litre alfa with an SO reg is going to be too hard to sell.

What's wrong with an SO reg???:confused::(

(and I'm not from Sligo)

dubs, of which im not one by the way i just live there,

seem to be negatively predisposed towards any reg other than a D reg,

makes selling a car that little bit harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Turlock

Cyrus wrote: »

+1 I'm a dub and for some reason it'd bug me if my plate wasn't a D reg (pathetic I know...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭rco2000

lol...Very much a sign of insecurity with the poor auld Dubs.
    You've got your work cut out up there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Other than the general state of car sales, you've got the "anything over 1.8 is too big" mentality of Irish retards to contend with.

If you were selling this in the UK, I guarantee it'd be gone by now.

I also think you definitely made the right choice with avoiding the Brera considering how difficult it is to sell your current car.

I'd just hold out for now. Someone as enthusiastic as yourself about cars will come along and buy it when the time is right.
    He/She's probably stalking your advert as we speak, in the hopes the price drops further because it's probably out of his/her budget.

Vertakill wrote: »
    He/She's probably stalking your advert as we speak, in the hopes the price drops further because it's probably out of his/her budget.

maybe so :)

unfortunately for them i cant go any lower :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

in fairness are you not the victim of a superior new model? the new one is gorgeos (not knocking yours) and the old adage of a new model's arrival will knock an extra year's deprecation off the price. so take your 29K value for a clean 07, and now imagine a clean '06. all of a sudden, 25K isn't a million miles away...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

maybe so :)

unfortunately for them i cant go any lower :o

Oh of course don't go any lower.
    I just meant that I'd say there's loads of people that would love to buy the car right now but, whether it be job security or just not having enough money at this moment in time, can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

The Z4 coupe is a car that i would love to own if space wasn't a consideration. The shape is just beautiful IMO, but then i thought the Z3 M-coupe was cool looking so maybe my judgement isnt the best!

This is a bad time to be selling a car like that. If you can manage the space issue, i would be holding on to it a little longer. Maybe you have access to another car with more space when required?

Mad to get back into an M3 or do you have something else in mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Lovely car, wish you the best of luck selling it. On a slightly related note, I've had offers and inquiries but they've all fallen through, on my own car.

Is there loads of fake buyers out there or whats going on altogether?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

While the economy and credit crunch and any number of other factors come into play, my own opinion is that you just bought yourself too far into a niche. IMO you were lucky to sell the 5er as quickly and easily as you did, you just got lucky that yours was for sale at the same time the right buyer was in the market. You had a sweet, clean M3 that was just slightly too old for your plate snobbery (not trying to insult, just giving my read and I hope if you're honest you'll admit it), that you sold for a decent price just before M3 prices in general took a dive. Again, pretty easily.

Then with money burning a hole in your pocket you bought one of the nicest shapes BMW have made in recent years, in one of the best colours, with a fairly fresh reg, but the wrong engine. Like the old 1.9 Z3 proved, most people in that market want to pose around Dawson St. or Bond St. or wherever and care more about what's on the reg plate than what's under the bonnet. Whereas the petrolhead with an eye for a pretty shape will either go for the full M or else won't be worried about the year and buy something cheaper and spend the spare cash on petrol/wheels/suspension/brakes etc.

I hope you can sell it soon though. I think a few of us on here live vicariously through your disposable income and automotive ADHD!

That sort of car is not what folks buy when they are worried about losing their jobs, pondering why did they invest all that cash in bank shares etc. Also it won't be going up in value unfortunately so if you really want rid of it have a serious think about how much do you think you will get for it next year than compare that to the best offer you have gotten so far. Garages will drop huge chunks off the windscreen price of these cars now so don't be led by the screen price when deeming your one as good value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

You have a number of problems:
    1. New Model Z4 distroying the desirability and price of your car.
    2. Engine too big for most, too small for some.
    3. Rare...that not a good thing when selling, it means that not a lot of people want that car.
    4. Maybe some perceived image problems with the Z4 coupe.
    5. Not convertible.
    6. Car is in bad taste in recessionary times, nothing subtle about a 2 seat sports car, when all around are loosing their jobs.

Advantages are:
    1. Perfectly kept car.
    2. Nice options. Auto etc.
    3. Well priced. Maybe a little lower cause of the new model.
    4. D Reg. and relativly new.

You are going to need a very specific buyer. If I were buying your car I would have to ask myself about what else I would get for the money...E46 M3, E92 335d/i,135, E36 M5, Z4m conv.

My advice...leave it up on carzone, wait for the right buyer and keep looking into garage deals for that M3 you want. In the meantime enjoy that straight 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

RoverJames wrote: »
    That sort of car is not what folks buy when they are worried about losing their jobs, pondering why did they invest all that cash in bank shares etc. Also it won't be going up in value unfortunately so if you really want rid of it have a serious think about how much do you think you will get for it next year than compare that to the best offer you have gotten so far. Garages will drop huge chunks off the windscreen price of these cars now so don't be led by the screen price when deeming your one as good value.

spot on I'm aiming to buy an M3 or M5 early next year as I know that the market will be even more desperate then than it is now with the amount of people who will lose their jobs in retail / social industries after Christmas time.

The market is going to be flooded even more than it is now and prices with plummet.

milltown wrote: »
    IMO you were lucky to sell the 5er as quickly and easily as you did, you just got lucky that yours was for sale at the same time the right buyer was in the market. You had a sweet, clean M3 that was just slightly too old for your plate snobbery (not trying to insult, just giving my read and I hope if you're honest you'll admit it), that you sold for a decent price just before M3 prices in general took a dive. Again, pretty easily.

hi milltown, i have to disagree with some of what you are saying, i definately got out of the 5 at the right time, the reason for selling the m3 wasnt plate snobbery tho, it was the longest i ever kept a car and the reason i changed and will always change after a year is that there are so many lovely cars out there and so much to try i cannot help it :)

also i did badly on what i sold my m3 for, i lost 11k over 13 months, and prices have firmed up again, i think if i had it today id sell it for slightly more than it went for when i sold it

lastly re the engine in the z4 coupe there are only 2 choices, the M or the 3.0si so if someone wants one thats what they have to buy, for most the 3.0si will be enough, its 265bhp, torquey, relatively frugal and 0-60 in 5 seconds or something like it, apparenly the z4m is a very unwieldy beast

RoverJames wrote: »

agree with you totally here, but one thing, there are hardly no z4 coupes for sale, any of the ones that are are 08s and all are over 45k, im not basing my price on garage sticker prices :)

in fairness are you not the victim of a superior new model? the new one is gorgeos (not knocking yours) and the old adage of a new model's arrival will knock an extra year's deprecation off the price. so take your 29K value for a clean 07, and now imagine a clean '06. all of a sudden, 25K isn't a million miles away...............

the new z4 is superior to the old vert alright, the coupe is a different animal (as was the case with the old z3 coupe which will still cost you 20k for a 00) as they arent really comparable, also there wont be a new z4 coupe id imagine given the vert is a hard top, lastly the price of a new one with a comparable engine has to be near 80k, im selling something a lot cheaper,

but i take the point,

still for certain types of cars i dont think new models affect them that much because they are inherently desirable, they just depreciate year on year and id include the z4 in that and the m3, m5 etc :)

anyway appreciate all the comments folks, i guess ill just have to sit tight for now and see what comes up:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I wouldnt put the word "Montego" as the first word of any car ad to be honest.

Your problem is that the likes of Lombard and Ulster are selling repos for small money just to shift them, and as another poster said, a Z4 isn't exactly what you buy when either your job is on the line, half your friends are redundant, your clients are struggling or you are in the process of laying off staff (take your pick according to your situation).

Personally I don't think it is a particularly nice car either, but again that is just a personal opinion.

Also, I would point out that changing cars every few months is not a great idea, especially when you start loosing lots of money in the process. Most of us here like cars, but to be honest there are more interesting things to do with spare money than try out different variations of BMWs.

The car is worth what the market will pay. If you can't sell it, you are too expensive. No point asking us about the value.

maidhc wrote: »

Your problem is that the likes of Lombard and Ulster are selling repos for small money just to shift them, and as another poster said, a Z4 isn't exactly what you buy when either your job is on the line, half your friends are redundant, your clients are struggling or you are in the process of laying off staff (take your pick according to your situation).

Personally I don't think it is a particularly nice car either, but again that is just a personal opinion.

Also, I would point out that changing cars every few months is not a great idea, especially when you start loosing lots of money in the process. Most of us here like cars, but to be honest there are more interesting things to do with spare money than try out different variations of BMWs.

The car is worth what the market will pay. If you can't sell it, you are too expensive. No point asking us about the value.

odd post that, thanks for your thoughts tho,

i dont need anyones advice on how to spend my money tho thanks, and i spend it on other things than just changing cars, id also wager that ive lost less in cars than joe bloggs who buys a new golf or 316 every 2-3 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Just on your ad Cyrus. If I was in the market and looking at your ad all it would do is push me towards buying an M3

I think you focus too much on the negatives :)

odd post that, thanks for your thoughts tho,

i dont need anyones advice on how to spend my money tho thanks, and i spend it on other things than just changing cars, id also wager that ive lost less in cars than joe bloggs who buys a new golf or 316 every 2-3 years

I apologise for not agreeing with you! :D

All I'm saying is there is no point bemoaning the fact you loose money on cars or being surprised an utterly impractical 3.0 car that isn't everyone cup of tea isn't selling in the middle of a deep recession!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Have to agree you are too focused on the negatives in the rather long winded ad for your car. You bring up every negative point there is only to tell us this is not a problem.

You say "but after 2 months with the Z i still miss my old m3 and maybe i was a little hasty parting with it"
    Other read: bought this car, its crap need rid.

You say "the car is for sale at €31.5k (this retailed at circa €75k i believe
    )"
    Others read: depreciates like a rock.

You say "The only cars i am interested in a part exchange against it are a well looked after e46 m3 coupe or cab or a 630/645i"
    Others read "better cars for a similar price are 46 m3 coupe or cab or a 630/645i

It has an virtually unmarked oregon pearl grey leather interior (regularily treated with gliptone cleaner and conditioner), the paintwork is in excellent condition, i had the car detailed shortly after i bought it and since then the only person to wash it has been me using a lambswool mitt, it is regularily waxed.

Important to note, this car has received some cosmetic paint repairs.
    Firstly in September 2007, a car reversed into the passenger door in the original owners carpark at work, this was repaired under insurance by Soraghans in castlenock at a cost of €1,800 (copy of invoice included), the passenger door skin was replaced and a new one put onto the car and painted and obviously adjoining panels were blown in. - is this really necessary, minor cosmetic damage is of no interest if well repaired

To my eye the paint work is excellent, and you all know how fussy i am, but i do feel it is important to point this out at the outset. Both repair shops are known as excellent companies and the work bears this out.:- me thinks the lady protests too much

I had Gary at Chelmsford fully inspect the car and he is happy that there is no evidence of any sort of impact damage on the car and any repair is purely of a cosmetic nature: - why did you suspect damage?

The car is fitted with a set of oem mv2 18" rims and bridgestone re050 RunFlat tyres, the rims are in excellent condition, they were refurbed by maxwells so no kerbing, plenty of thread on the tyres: argh...so they were kerbed in the past? Are they buckeled

I know you look after this car very well, but to a prospective buyer (who will probable see the boards.ie advert and the carzone advert) this is a bit too much info.

How about giving the spec, saying its in immaculate or showroom condition, any inspection welcome, Very low mileage, FBMWSH, Trade ins considered. End of. All the detail makes me think there is something to hide, like somebody nervously babbling when asked a simple question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Personally, I think your advert is fine. Someone said earlier that most people on here are interested in cars - they may well be but most are also not interested in owning them (most are also not interested in interesting cars though imo!). So your ad should be directed at the tiny percentage of people who are genuinely interested in a car like this, which it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

My 335 sat in Maxwells since Feb this year, 7 months later it appears to be gone - last time I checked it was hovering around €40,000. It was 80,000 plus new summer 2007. That's what you're up against - the garage who you would think have more success than a private seller still couldn't shift it for a long time and although similar engine size, it was a far more practical car due to back seats etc.

I think you will still sell a car like that (you hear of all the bad news but there's a lot of people that haven't been affected by this recession, they're still buying cars, getting mortgages, going on holidays.. lucky them eh) but there's still some people out there, it's just going to take longer for you to find them or them to find your car.

I'm glad I adore the M3 so much because I don't think I'd be shifting it too easy at the moment either but I'm hoping when the time comes, there's still a market for an immaculate M3 out there somewhere.

I'd say leave the ad up if you want to continue paying for it but leave the price as it is and you never know. Is something like the Irish Times classified worth looking at?

I apologise for not agreeing with you! :D

All I'm saying is there is no point bemoaning the fact you loose money on cars or being surprised an utterly impractical 3.0 car that isn't everyone cup of tea isn't selling in the middle of a deep recession!

i dont see where i was bemoaning the fact i was losing money ?

every car isnt someones cup of tea, thats why they arent all the same

Have to agree you are too focused on the negatives in the rather long winded ad for your car. You bring up every negative point there is only to tell us this is not a problem.

edit - on reflection you are probably right, this overdisclosure might put people off, maybe better to let someone ask and then explain it to them then,

anyway thanks for all the input lads ill keep going with it and see where i get to,

car has grown on me a lot since ive put it up so if it doesnt sell ill hang onto her til next summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

I think Maidhc is just a bit jealous tbh! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Keep the car and put a set of CSL wheels on it. I think it's a fabulous shape. I was driving behind a silver Z4 coupe recently and it looked amazing- looks better in real-life imo. Perhaps you could keep the Z4 for a while and save up for an E93?

I think Maidhc is just a bit jealous tbh! :D

Not at all. Why would I be?

ive no reason to think you are jealous mike, again why would you be,

but there did seem to be an element of disdain in your post,

you dont like the car, irrelevant to what i was asking, you dont think how I spend my own money is a good idea, again not any of anyone elses business and then you tell me no point asking anyone about what its worth,

sorry if I have offended you in the past or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

My 2c Cyrus is that there is nothing wrong with your ad (now!).

The car is well presented and well priced. As soon as someone really interested in a car like this comes along she'll be snapped up.

Problem is there's not as many of those type customers these days. The only cars that seem to be shifting quickly these days are 1L - 1.6L sub €10k cars, credit union money stuff basically. Of course there is still other stuff moving but not with the regularity enjoyed over the last few years. Completely different beast, but look at the RR / RR Sport - biggest fashion accessary you could have had two years back. Can't move them at all these days as they seem to be percieved as vulgar now!

As stated, you just need the right customer.........

ive no reason to think you are jealous mike, again why would you be,

but there did seem to be an element of disdain in your post,

you dont like the car, irrelevant to what i was asking, you dont think how I spend my own money is a good idea, again not any of anyone elses business and then you tell me no point asking anyone about what its worth,

sorry if I have offended you in the past or something

Only thing I am jealous of is your IWC watch! :D

I apologise if I sounded disdainful, but I do think it odd you sold what was a very good car at a big loss to buy the Z4. Again your choice, but not a well thought out one as you note yourself. I do recall you were going to buy a car in Fermoy and I was half tempted to have a look at your M3 if it had been there (just as well I didn't for completely unrelated reasons).

It really doesn't matter what people here say your car is worth, because no one here is going to buy it. You will get a certain amount of back slapping and be told you car is in wonderful and a bargain. It probably is a bargain relative to 12/18mths ago, but just like some high end property at the moment it being a bargain doesn't seem to be enough, people just don't have the money.

My 2c is to get rid of it and buy something from Stuttgart, what you loose on one side you will make up on the other.

Only thing I am jealous of is your IWC watch! :D

I apologise if I sounded disdainful, but I do think it odd you sold what was a very good car at a big loss to buy the Z4. Again your choice, but not a well thought out one as you note yourself. I do recall you were going to buy a car in Fermoy and I was half tempted to have a look at your M3 if it had been there (just as well I didn't for completely unrelated reasons).

It really doesn't matter what people here say your car is worth, because no one here is going to buy it. You will get a certain amount of back slapping and be told you car is in wonderful and a bargain. It probably is a bargain relative to 12/18mths ago, but just like some high end property at the moment it being a bargain doesn't seem to be enough, people just don't have the money.

My 2c is to get rid of it and buy something from Stuttgart, what you loose on one side you will make up on the other.

:) no worries, glad you like the portuguese, if you ever get the chance to get one go for it, its an incredibly beautiful watch and nobody knows what it is either so you dont come across as a flash git!!

the car in fermoy fell through (twas an e92 330ci) but they have it for sale again at about 14k more than was agreed to sell to me for :(

i think i panicked selling the m3, values were falling like stones, they have actually stopped now but i was worried it would be worthless in another year!

hopefully the z is the car for someone and if not ill give it another few months :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    My 2c Cyrus is that there is nothing wrong with your ad (now!).
    Altho it's a complete waste of time putting a car that's worth more than a grand on adverts.

you are probably right, tis on carzone tho :)

there is one guy who has made me two offers on adverts a leon + 22k and then 27k, but no more contact, wtf is that about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

PaulKK wrote: »

:D @ 9k..

ive reported that same person 5 times already, never got this much attention before :pac:

grrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Lord jaysis that carzone is a disaster. They are going to have to start verifying ads before they place them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Carzone has been ruined for many months now. They don't seem to care.

Its just the worst time in probably 10yrs to be selling a car.

Scammers have to pay for scam ads, which I suspect is the reason carzone entertain them. It's all about money at the end of the day.

you are probably right, tis on carzone tho :)
    The link in your sig is to adverts, not cz...

JHMEG wrote: »
    The link in your sig is to adverts, not cz...

i know, its on both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

my 0.2c

First of all, I'm not a big BeeEmm fan, and most certainly not of Z4's, generally. However, the Coupé, and the colour of yours - both outside and in - is the one exception to the rule.....

Whilst selling a big-engined car is always difficult, and these days in particular, I don't think that in this case that's the issue. Those people who are happy to buy 3.0's, will still buy 3.0's, but the choice of which 3.0 will itself be rationalised........which brings me to what I see as the biggest problem: two seats only.

Now, I hear you all bemoan 'it's a sports car...blah blah...'. Yes, but in the real world, we don't get to use sports cars for our own enjoyment solely, and if not needing occassional adult space in the back (á la M3), then we most certainly do need at least occasional kid-size seats. [tangent]+1 on the Brera - but that has no back seats either,...which is just one reason why the Alfa GT is such a success...[/tangent] It appears to me, that you've already found this out. The Z4 coupé is just...........too limiting in appeal.

The heady days of 20-somethings rushing out to buy are long gone, this we all know. The stream of 30- and 40- somethings has reduced to, at best, a trickle. And guess what, in the mental sums to justify a 'nice' spend - at any pricepoint - the car will have to tick more than a few boxes. Boxes which, maybe a few years ago, was unnecessary, as the true luxury of a seldom-used sports car could be sustained, but which these days it's going to have to justify itself a bit more......actually,...... a whole lot more........€1300 p.a. tax isn't helping, either....

If I may, this is why I have an MX-5 nearly stuck to the tiles in the garage from lack of use, and which my cat is eyeing fondly.... and the 968's are out and about 7 days a week. Even last night, and not for the first time, I had to shoehorn two adults into the back of the 968 from a night-out, to save them from queueing or walking for a taxi/hackney in the wee small hours...... In truth the Mazda is as good, if not better than my 968's. But......it's too limiting. At it's age and peanut value, though, I can 'wear it'.

It's also why the M3 - big tax and all - is something you can live with. The car on it's own merits can help offset the tax/depreciation argument. The Z4 Coupé on the other hand, can do neither......

So, what to do, at the end of the day ?

Well, I'd discount the 'Stuttgart' offering tbh, unless it's a 2+2. You think Z4's have depreciated ??.....nothing compared to a Boxster, that's what....! Which leaves 911's.......and they're money. All the time. To buy. To run. To own. So you'll be backing your Z4 even more........which I doubt is part of your plan.....

The Golf Gti deal isn't as bad as you make out. Say you keep your Z4 for another year, can you imagine how much you'd have lost by then ? By taking the Gti option now, it may appear you are taking a big hit, but in reality, all you'd be doing is taking a smaller hit now, than a much, much bigger one on the Z4 in a straight sale, in 12 months' time........think of it as front-loading the depreciation, now. And there's always, always..........someone looking for a Gti.........

What else.....???........the obvious, really. Keep it. Drive it. A lot. You won't reduce depreciation on it by baby-minding it, so no point in tippy-toeing it for the next owner's benefit, and being grumpy in the meantime ;) . No, just drive the damn thing :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Dan_B

The car is not everyone's cup of tea but what car is?
    Don't agree with the post above, given what is being asked for similar cars at the minute I'd say you could drive it for another year and look for the same sort of money as you are now.

In relation to your musing, one factor that hasn't been mentioned yet is when people are parting with 30K+ they seem to prefer to deal with a garage, rightly or wrongly.

Dan_B wrote: »
    The car is not everyone's cup of tea but what car is?
    Don't agree with the post above, given what is being asked for similar cars at the minute I'd say you could drive it for another year and look for the same sort of money as you are now.

In relation to your musing, one factor that hasn't been mentioned yet is when people are parting with 30K+ they seem to prefer to deal with a garage, rightly or wrongly.

indeed, however i was kinda hoping the warranty on mine would negate that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

few cars will hold their value over 12 months at the best of times.

indeed, however i was kinda hoping the warranty on mine would negate that?

People are a bit nervous of finance owing at the moment on cars too. It is a shame there does not seem to be any crystal clear way of demonstrating to a potential buyer there is nothing owning/or that you can give clear title by paying the bank.

I know of a messy dispute at the moment where a person bought an SL in good faith, and now Ulster want it back because the original owner owes big money on it. I believe the car might be locked in a shed with a guard dog at the moment. :pac:

Personally I prefer to buy privately. Better to meet the owner and sound him/her out than a salesman.

If no one is biting this year it's unlikey to go a year later for the same sort of money, as I said earlier in the thread it won't appreciate in value. I agree about the dealer thing, most of the folk buying a car like that wouldn't consider buying privately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Dan_B

I'm not suggesting for a minute the car will appreciate in value.
    Given the depreciation it has already suffered the curve will level off and will be in the thousands rather than the tens of thousands over the next 12 months.

At this price that will pit it against audi tt's of the same year which has to make it an attractive proposition to a whole new audience.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Only 2 possibilities.

1/. The car isn't being seen by it's ideal target market.

2/. The price is wrong.

Have you had anyone who has come to view the car OP?