Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána being called The Police

• 20-08-2009 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭

Do members of An Garda Síochána dislike being called the Police or Policemen? Or do you ever use the word Police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Doesnt bother me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

compared to some of the names they called i'd say most of them don't mind at all

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Police is grand.

Tourists love the name Garda though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I have to say I like being refered to as a Garda (although the yanks think were security guards!!)

Im not a big fan of armed members having to shout "Armed Police, Armed Gardaí" but I guess its a sign of the changing times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

i've been called far worse! ERU now have GARDA on one side fo their chest and POLICE on the other so froeign nationals dont get confused, I prefer being different and being called GARDA but police is just the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭bogs

To me the word Garda is unique because it represents us internationally first of being Irish,secondly as being an unarmed defence force within the state and perhaps in Europe perhaps the world.

I have to say I like being refered to as a Garda (although the yanks think were security guards!!)

Im not a big fan of armed members having to shout "Armed Police, Armed Gardaí" but I guess its a sign of the changing times.

Never had that problem with the yanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

pisses me off people calling other police forces gardai...

1922 wrote: »

Why??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

1922 wrote: »

I can imagine they are very few people who do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

coach23 wrote: »
    i've been called far worse! ERU now have GARDA on one side fo their chest and POLICE on the other so froeign nationals dont get confused, I prefer being different and being called GARDA but police is just the same.
    To be honest, Armed men & women shouting '' Armed Gardaí, search warrant '' etc, removing your door or instructing you clearly to put your firearm down are hardly your TV Licence inspectors ( a hint would be that the former don't like to knock ).
    One only needs common sense to know police when they see them. Ireland being the small but diverse country it is, word about the police does get around as we know. One only has to look at the news in the evening and you will see at least one member of AGS.

Would they also like us to have '' Ambulance Service Paramedic '' in egyptian heiroglyphics on our Hi-Vis?. You know... just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Is this for real.. :confused:

If tis,then it yet again represents the height of the PC dungheap we now sit atop :o

Surely the Irish version of an Armed Policeman is a Garda Airmaithe...Why the Flúich can we never go the whole-hog with stuff like this...do the proxy thing right or don`t do it at all ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Is this for real.. :confused:

If tis,then it yet again represents the height of the PC dungheap we now sit atop :o

Surely the Irish version of an Armed Policeman is a Garda Airmaithe...Why the Flúich can we never go the whole-hog with stuff like this...do the proxy thing right or don`t do it at all ?

Armed Gardai was alway the call.....but yes its gone to add armed gardaí now. And as a poster said, the ERU have Police written on their vests aswell as Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I prefer the old-fashioned 'The Polis'. :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

coach23 wrote: »

Don't be surprised if they consider stitching it on in braille, and putting ADRAG ECILOP on the front in case someone looking in their rear view mirror gets confused.

Why do the government insist on accommodating the needs of idiots? If someone doesn't know a lawman when they see one, they should just end it all now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Ow. Surplus tin of worms I take it?
    Don't be surprised if they consider stitching it on in braille, and putting ADRAG ECILOP on the front in case someone looking in their rear view mirror gets confused.

Why do the government insist on accommodating the needs of idiots? If someone doesn't know a lawman when they see one, they should just end it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The real danger here civildefence,is that there is already an expert review group up and running on this.....:(

As you quite rightly point out this burning need to underline,define and outline what should be "the bleedin obvious" has wrapped UK and Irish society in a very tight corset of imbicility.

This will largely ensure that those with a bit of cop-on (!) will flee the coop as fast as their little feet will (or are allowed to) carry them.

The modern Irish state has cocooned itself in a vast thick undergrowth of inane "EU" regulations to an extent that "Real" Europeans find quite amusing given our reluctance to embrace the other European stuff....such as properly funded and structured Public Transport and Health systems..... :(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I think the only the word 'Gardai' should be used. Otherwise it justs causes confuision with Sting and his group.

In fairness folks, all you have to do is look across the water and all Uniforms and Vehicles are marked (in wales) with "POLICE HEDDLU"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

psni wrote: »
    Ow. Surplus tin of worms I take it?

I simply think unneccesary measures are being taken to clarify something that is already clear. I guarantee you the word 'police' will appear on Garda vehicles in the not too distant future. Where I know it will do no harm, it will do no real good either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Better than those idiot reporters who call you guys Goooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrdeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

"although the yanks think were security guards!!"

I've seen a security companys truck in Chicago with the words "Garda" written on the sides..............could be the reason.....;)

V Bull wrote: »
    I've seen a security companys truck in Chicago with the words "Garda" written on the sides..............could be the reason.....;)

3270043293_d27ec3572c.jpg

V Bull wrote: »
    "although the yanks think were security guards!!"

You're spot on, and again in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

One possibility?

Useless piece of info:

My riot helmet said "Police"

When we were given them it was totally random who got one which said "Garda" or "Police"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

My first public order kit bag i was issued with had police in big writing written on it.

Very strange...... clearly got all the kit from across the water at a reduced rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hammy140

Ha ha, in Cork the Gardai are affectionately known as "Da Shades".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

hammy140 wrote: »
    Yeah, and in some areas Gardaí are called something similar to your nicknames' animal of origin.

Useless piece of info:

My riot helmet said "Police"

When we were given them it was totally random who got one which said "Garda" or "Police"

ebay is great isn't it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭bogs

Im not saying what gear you were given whether marked Garda or Police is your doing.All im saying is that Garda represents us in the world as the 26 county Garda(police) force in Ireland.

Not Your Ornery Onager

hammy140 wrote: »
    That comes from Shelta, the 'secret' Traveller language, where the original expression is 'Shaylog and Daylog'. Same Shelta origin for beor (girl) and feen (guy).

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

esel wrote: »
    That comes from Shelta, the 'secret' Traveller language, where the original expression is 'Shaylog and Daylog'. Same Shelta origin for beor (girl) and feen (guy).

Would ya, feik a buffer ?

Not Your Ornery Onager

pa990 wrote: »
    Would ya, feik a buffer ?
    Cant. You Gammon? :D

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Lads back on topic please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hammy140

Ah, thanks lads, ha ha ha, always wondered about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

I find the word Garda is becoming more and more confusing in the new multicultural ireland.
    When in plain clothes I always shout Garda and Police.
    We see more and more court cases where the legal eagles are claiming their client didnt know we were police.

Try dealing with overseas banks/embassies etc, you have to explain that you are the police over the phone, Garda means nothing to them.

Now I understand people are proud of An Garda Siochan, the unarmed police force, but it gets confusing when so many of us ARE ARMED!!

In uniform I've had tourists ask me where they would find a police officer!!
    Ive also had ones who genuinely didnt believe we are "police".

I think GARDA, with Police written in small letters below it would be a good start.

Plus, I can only imagine the lack of buying power we have when we go to buy gear etc. and then have to have it labelled. When I'm sure most suppliers would have stock of POLICE marked gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Don't ever call them constables.:D

There is alot of names you could add to that list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭RobD_

roxanne wont be too happy with that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

mcguiver wrote: »
    We see more and more court cases where the legal eagles are claiming their client didnt know we were police.

Try dealing with overseas banks/embassies etc, you have to explain that you are the police over the phone, Garda means nothing to them.

Now I understand people are proud of An Garda Siochan,

This is the P.C. stuff gone mad and typical of the "wigs" to come out with that crap. There is no confusion when a lot of these are looking for Social welfare office or free accomadation. If someone want to come hear and make a life for themselves they should acquaint themselves with the basics of Irish life.

Personally I would always adress a member of as Garda. They are members of An Garda Siochana and this should not change to suit anyone. As someone stated earlier we are top of the P.C dungheap.

I am a very proud Irishman and very proud of our Gardái

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭DenMan

I've always called them the police. I don't think they mind either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Is Shelta not an old language ??????. . . .'The Cant' being the language Travellers in Ireland use today.

I've often heard it spoken by Travellers who want to communicate in out presence without us knowing what they are saying.

There is a 'buffer' ( settled person ) in west Cork who teaches 'The Cant', hes in his mid nineties I think . . . . still drives his car and all every day. . . remarkable fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

There used to be a Traffic Fines office on O'Connell St. ( maybe it's still there ? ) on the window was the word GARDA and under that Police , Polis , Polizei , Policia , Politie , Polazza ,..... you get the idea , basically the world over they are called the same . That is why I think the name Garda is great - it is distinctly Irish and quite different from the herd - long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

DubMedic wrote: »
    Yeah, and in some areas Gardaí are called something similar to your nicknames' animal of origin.

i think the shades is pretty cool, is it a bad nick name ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

if a member was on holidays in tenerife and happen to sit down and talk to a person from...say.. iceland and they asked what you did for a living, what have you said? eh! police officer i would say.
    in wales they have both and i thing the irish should come up to international standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

Thats like the bus stop writing on the road

STÓP
    BUS
    STOP

Mixing up the irish and english is a shambles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

When I was a young fella the Gardai were known as "Brassy Buttons" or "Shades" ... :D

And that was an affectionate term...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

mcguiver wrote: »
    In uniform I've had tourists ask me where they would find a police officer!!
    Ive also had ones who genuinely didnt believe we are "police".

I think GARDA, with Police written in small letters below it would be a good start.

Plus, I can only imagine the lack of buying power we have when we go to buy gear etc. and then have to have it labelled. When I'm sure most suppliers would have stock of POLICE marked gear.

I wonder do the Carabinieri in Italy have the same problem? (especially seeing they have 5 different police forces there - and no, the Polizia is not the same as the Carabinieri!)