Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brandy and Cigars: The GC off-topic thread

• 20-08-2009 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Gentlemen. Pull up a chair, won't you?

Shocking weather lately, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Oh I say. Ah I would like a nice whiskey or any aul beer, been tough with repeat exams lately. Need to unwind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

when are you done dude? Any word from Lyon? Maybe you could work in the AA rescue center there :)

Next thursday exams are done. Have a break now until monday. Subject is OO models, using Z notation which isn't used in industry anymore and hasn't been for a very long time >.< Must give academics what they want though.

I've applied for 2 jobs in Lyon, one as systems analyst and the other as helpdesk. Would be happy to hear from either but would much prefer system analysis.

If I can't get em I will work in a pub over there. Hows chew?

couldn't be sweeter at the mo, except I'm installing systems in Uruguay remotely from here. Network link is sooooo sloooow, very frustrating. Will be heading back down in Oct so the more I can get done here, the less I have to do there...

>.<
    Well do what ya can and grab a cuppa :D
    It is a few thousand miles away haha
    edit: i presume their IT stuff isn't up to scratch, or is it just slow for no reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Just wondering where do you guy's aliegances lie football wise?Its obvious TBH is a Pool fan.What about the rest of you?

Im a Man Utd fan myself.Shocking game last night although Im not overly unhappy because Im hoping it will spur Fergie into strenghtening the squad.We are still missing a quality central midfielder.Hargreaves is MIA indefinitly,Carrick simply isnt good enough,Ando is too young and Fletcher is hit and miss IMO.

Used to be into football, then it got more about the lifestyle, fast cars. I feel it's turned into an olympic diving competition where even the slightest nudge knocks full grown men to the ground in the most flamboyant ways... used to be a utd. supporter.

yeah pool fan myself ned, weird seeing little mickey owen in your shirt! think chelsea have it this year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

chelsea? tut tut. Torres is gonna stay completely fit. Stevie G will score 20 and Johnson will tear defences to shreds. We'll have it wrapped up by Feb

I can only thank you once :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Will wrote: »
    Used to be into football, then it got more about the lifestyle, fast cars. I feel it's turned into an olympic diving competition where even the slightest nudge knocks full grown men to the ground in the most flamboyant ways... used to be a utd. supporter.

That's why I follow a real football team instead of a bunch of overpaid primadonnas, Yeovil Town ftw :cool:

oh and i forgot to mention that Pats will beat Steau 2-0 tonight and march proudly onto the group stages of the EuroPremierChampionsAlsoRansEuropa Cup

nice one :)

off for a powah nap! exams really take it out of ya

Its hard to look past Chelski alright.

I honestly dont think Liverpool have what it takes.They came up short last year and this year have sold the best passer/distributer in the league last season.

Johnson,while a good player will leave them exposed in the back.They are used to playing a relatively flat back 4 without much attacking threat coming from that area.

United could be in big trouble unless something is done.I cannot understand why Ferguson didnt go in for Barry when he left Villa.Just look at last years CL final.We were so badly exposed in midfield it was wince inducing.

If Arsenal get/stay fit they will be hard stopped.

Of course you cant discount Man City either.

Even the Spurs have started brightly.

Its going to be a very interesting season.

Yeovil Orestes?

Interesting pick.For a lower league team Id be inclined to lean towards MK Dons for some reason.

christ look at the rain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

christ look at the rain!

Terrible altogether, just got caught in a massive shower of it, myself and the lads had to cower under a tree, damn rain:mad:

I'm Reilly btw, new here at the GC!

welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Humidity is not good for the sleep :-/

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Humidity is not good for the sleep :-/

Neither is the internet:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Hah! True.

But I've started a hunt on eBay, and I'm not going to lose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

/Doffs hat
    Gentlemen, good afternoon.
    Friday at last. Already at home, feet up, and planning the evening ahead. I sense the onset of gin & cigars & jazz. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Ya, I love fridays, which is also payday for me!

/puts on hat, goes to work...

OldGoat wrote: »
    /Doffs hat
    Gentlemen, good afternoon.
    Friday at last. Already at home, feet up, and planning the evening ahead. I sense the onset of gin & cigars & jazz. :)

can I just say, with the greatest of respect, and having seen your photo, I hope I turn out like you when I get to your age.

Why thank you sir. It's easy really, be an optimist and then wring every moment of pleasure you can from life cos it's the only chance you have at it.
    Well, that works for me anyway.

Cigars and jazz I can dig. Love the smell of a nice cigar. Mmmmm. Cigars and whiskey, it's like milk and cookies for a gentleman :)

Nice jazz combo play in the Purdy Kitchen on Sunday evenings. And they do a burger&pint deal for an OK price. It's how Sundays deserve to be spent.

I can't smoke cigars, I inhale and vom :( not as cool as it sounds

I've had one or two, i feel stupid though as it's more for mature gentlemen and not the likes of me.

I know what you mean. You know when you just leave school and you start having dinner parties with your friends - like you're playing at being grown up. That's how I feel having a cigar :)

I was at AC/DC in april and caught myself drinking a latte and eating a bacon and brie sandwich while watching the band. As in, the band AC/DC. What's THAT about!? when did I turn into that guy? :D

haha how very refined teebs :p
    I do enjoy a good coffee though

I've had one or two, i feel stupid though as it's more for mature gentlemen and not the likes of me.

Man, I'm 17 and I like cigars, big, fat cuban ones. Kinda like a suit they make ya look super-cool!:cool:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Can the title of this thread be changed--Im off the smokes a week now and every time I read the thread list its making me want one and its usually cigars I use to get over the cravings.

Leave the Brandy bit though--Or change it to JD?

tbh wrote: »
    I can't smoke cigars, I inhale and vom :( not as cool as it sounds
    Don't inhale. Easier said then done especially for anyone who has smoked before. Cigars are not about the nicoetne(sp?) hit but about the flavours and how they change over the length of the cigar. Smoke goes in the mouth only. However, secondary smoke is an issue. In any smokey athmoshere you are going to end up with lung's full. You pays yer money, you takes yer chance...:)

As for smoking cigars being an old mans (Yeah I know you said mature but I HEARD 'Old' :p) thing well thats just balderdash. It's like saying only old men can appricate a good wine, or only old people like cheese. Cigars can be learnt and enjoyed by anyone who has a palate for the flavours.

Hellrazer wrote: »

/gags a little at the thoughts of changing a brandy for a JD. :rolleyes:

someone once told me that you know you are getting middle aged when you start talking about coffee the way you used to talk about drugs.

I'm really getting into my coffee now, I'm not quite up to the tea & coffee forum yet, but I'm finding my way around the various blends and types. I couldn't drink instant now, and I've stopped taking milk and sugar. Another thing to blow money on :( but I'm enjoying it

Never been a fan of cigars although I will admit to smoking the occasional Hamlet when I first started smoking many moons ago.I remember smoking one on the bus on the way to school.Jesus the place was rank for about 2 days afterwards.As for brandy/whiskey,if I drink it I will fight with my toenails.

As Grandpa Simpson said about sasperillo - it angrys up the blood.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Can the title of this thread be changed--Im off the smokes a week now and every time I read the thread list its making me want one and its usually cigars I use to get over the cravings.

I've changed it for a week till you're over the worst - after that, you're on your own! :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I've changed it for a week till you're over the worst - after that, you're on your own! :p

The way things are going here I might be back on them within the hour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

someone once told me that you know you are getting middle aged when you start talking about coffee the way you used to talk about drugs.

Jebus. I've entered middle age early.
    I'm really getting into my coffee now, I'm not quite up to the tea & coffee forum yet, but I'm finding my way around the various blends and types. I couldn't drink instant now, and I've stopped taking milk and sugar. Another thing to blow money on :( but I'm enjoying it

The tea and coffee forum is a great place. Some of the lads there have a savage knowledge of coffee and they're more than willing to share. If you don't want to venture in there, I'll say only two things to you:

1) Get yourself a burr grinder
    2) Get yourself some Brazil Fazenda Cachoeira.

I'm a cafetierre / french press man myself and a good burr grinder and some of that stuff freshly ground will *blow* *you* *away*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I'm not allowed brandy any more. Can the thread title be changed to water and nicotine patches please? Cheers.

As for smoking cigars being an old mans (Yeah I know you said mature but I HEARD 'Old' :p) thing well thats just balderdash. It's like saying only old men can appricate a good wine, or only old people like cheese. Cigars can be learnt and enjoyed by anyone who has a palate for the flavours.

I appreciate nice cigars but the image of a youngish guy with a cigar in his mouth, im sure i looked like an eejit. Even reading about it now makes me hunger for one

For anyone who is into their coffee hit up coffee angel, they've a few stalls around the IFSC. I recommend the guy in front of the PWC building, sound guy and a great barista

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I'm not allowed brandy any more. Can the thread title be changed to water and nicotine patches please? Cheers.

Mrs. Goat is away for a few days. Can I have the thread title changed to: OldGoat WLTM Cotys the Thracian goddess for drinkies and perhaps more.

... im sure i looked like an eejit.
    Never thought you you being even remotely self consious Will. :)

I have my moments like everyone. May go on the hunt for a nice bottle of red wine this evening. Depending on weather and apathy levels.

Everyone over to old goats for a session :pac:

Cotys the Thracian goddess just PM'ed. I'm busy tonight. :p

Gotta love my similarly named alt account :pac:

oooooo look at you throwing around your new CMod powah :p i don't remeber getting the memo on that one now at all at all.....
    I have my moments like everyone. May go on the hunt for a nice bottle of red wine this evening. Depending on weather and apathy levels.

if you keep making such good posts Will we may have to think up a title for you.
    Cotys the Thracian goddess just PM'ed. I'm busy tonight. :p

Now we can do this one of two ways........ we can come over and take the pics ourselves orrrrr you can take them and then post them. Either way we all know what comes next if the pictures don't appear

Feckin cheapskate. Ya can buy the photographs just like everyone else.

Aww it's great to be off for the weekend!:D

For some reason I have an urge to go and play snooker, maybe it's because I just found my old cue...

pretty freakin bad ass newt, like wolverine...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/earth/hi/earth_news/newsid_8212000/8212623.stm

I've not played snooker in years, at least 20. I play a beatufiul theoritical game but my practical game is a shambles. I can't see byond the tip of the cue.