Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour of Ireland

• 20-08-2009 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭

hi, just wondering if anyone know the exact route through Rathdrum village tomorrow for the Tour of Ireland. Where would be the best advantage point to view?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

Coming from laragh straight along the vale of Clara through the main street of Rathdrum, there is a hotspot sprint there. At the x roads past the church there are turning right on the main road to Woodenbridge. I'd say the x road would be a good spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭okgirl

Muller 1,
    Thanks for the advice. I thought that was the route but thought the sprint maybe back on the road after the turn. Think I will try to get there early to get a good place on the cornor so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

The sprint is at the post office in rathdrum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Is it on telly anywhere?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

It's on Versus in the US so there's a chance you'll see it on justin here

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

no chance our national brodcaster, that we pay to keep going ,will show an hour or so of it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

No, our national broadcaster would rather show telly bingo and rugrats than an event with the third greatest cyclist of all time (I know this varies from site to site but this site says third) and the road champions of Denmark, Norway, Germany and Great Britain, national teams of Ireland and Australia. I hope I haven't upset anyone in the bingo forum but there's no way it can be as interesting or important as the biggest cycling race of the Irish calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Highlights on Eurosport at 23.00 hours on Friday night

I did forget to mention that at least it's getting an hours highlights at 7.30

saw a cervelo team car heading for the airport so they are here as well. Hopefully Hushvod and Haussler are here. I could of course check but just amnt bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 manofthemoment

Im thinking of how/where to intercept the tour tomorrow. One is to just drive to Thomastown and watch it spin by. Another plan was to park somehwere in the are of Mount Leinster, cycle up and wait for them to go over the summit like Im at the TDF!

I can't figure out from googlemaps what road it will actually be on. Can anyone give me any ideas about what road exaclty it's going to be on and where I could park and cycle up? Thanks a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Im thinking of how/where to intercept the tour tomorrow. One is to just drive to Thomastown and watch it spin by. Another plan was to park somehwere in the are of Mount Leinster, cycle up and wait for them to go over the summit like Im at the TDF!

I can't figure out from googlemaps what road it will actually be on. Can anyone give me any ideas about what road exaclty it's going to be on and where I could park and cycle up? Thanks a lot!
    If you can get to Thomastown why not drive/cycle to Inistoige and wathch them go up by Woodstock

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

bcmf wrote: »
    Is it on telly anywhere?

RTÉ transmission times

Friday 21st August: 7.30 - 8.30pm
    Saturday 22nd August: 7.00 - 8.00pm
    Sunday 23rd August: 8.00 - 9.00pm

If you're going to Mt. Leinster it's the nine stones as far as I'm aware, and I wouldn't go to Thomastown, you'd be better off going to Inistioge or even the sprint point in Borris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

Went to the Ritz Carlton this evening - loads of activity and no restrictions whatsoever, with the exception of Lance who arrived with a Garda escort and some minders - went straight from the car to the hotel room. Cav was totally different, posed willingly with anyone that asked and was an absolute gent. I have posted just a couple of pics on my flickr account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

michaelm wrote: »
    Went to the Ritz Carlton this evening - loads of activity and no restrictions whatsoever, with the exception of Lance who arrived with a Garda escort and some minders - went straight from the car to the hotel room. Cav was totally different, posed willingly with anyone that asked and was an absolute gent. I have posted just a couple of pics on my flickr account

cool

jerseyeire wrote: »
    If you're going to Mt. Leinster it's the nine stones as far as I'm aware, and I wouldn't go to Thomastown, you'd be better off going to Inistioge or even the sprint point in Borris.

woodcock hill ,what time would a lad want to be there at je,

jwshooter wrote: »
    woodcock hill ,what time would a lad want to be there at je,

It's 13h35 on the TOI site, link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 manofthemoment

Thanks guys, will try either Borris or Inistoge. Was Woodstock that sharp climb over the river up through the back of the village on the Tour of Kilkenny?

Yes and I can't wait to see the ToI guys do it in about two minutes tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 contador2009

jerseyeire wrote: »

What about parking near bunclody and cycling towards mt leinster? any advice welcome....

I'm not sure of the route but it'd take a while, I'd say give yourself an hour or so. There is a car park at the highest point they'll be going on Mt. Leinster. Here's my last attempt: here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mucco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

If i wanted to get to St Patricks Hill on Sunday what time would i need to be there? Race is due at 1:30ish - does it get jammed with people? Or could i get to it easily ? Any tips from anyone with prior experience appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

damoz wrote: »
    If i wanted to get to St Patricks Hill on Sunday what time would i need to be there? Race is due at 1:30ish - does it get jammed with people? Or could i get to it easily ? Any tips from anyone with prior experience appreciated.

Can't help, but have a similar query.

I am hoping to bring my 5yr old daughter to the finish line in Killarney tomorrow. Can people at the finish line today post how long they got there before the finish.
    Kids aint the most patient, so I am trying to figure out whether it is worthwhile or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Cav is a stylish mofo sans lycra :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Was out in powerscourt this morning - great access - walking around where the team cars/buses/trucks were - technically I don't think the public were supposed to be in there but there was nobody stopping anyone from walking around.

Massive crowds around anything with the astana logo on it.

Don't think the gate to powerscourt ever closed.

Podium for sign on was in a bit of a crap place from a spectator point of view - crowds were gathered at the side of it and behind it as the VIP area was directly in front so a lot of people didn't get a great vantage point.

Left before the start and got them at the top of the first KOM. Decent enough crowd at the top - had to park a bit of a walk from the hill.

Will upload some shots in a while.

Met biker joe out there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Was out in powerscourt this morning - great access - walking around where the team cars/buses/trucks were - technically I don't think the public were supposed to be in there but there was nobody stopping anyone from walking around.

Massive crowds around anything with the astana logo on it.

Don't think the gate to powerscourt ever closed.

Podium for sign on was in a bit of a crap place from a spectator point of view - crowds were gathered at the side of it and behind it as the VIP area was directly in front so a lot of people didn't get a great vantage point.

Left before the start and got them at the top of the first KOM. Decent enough crowd at the top - had to park a bit of a walk from the hill.

Will upload some shots in a while.

Met biker joe out there too.

+1 on that, great weather, loads of access, usual embarrassing commentary from the podium. Couldn't help but feel sorry for all the other teams & riders, it really is the Lance Show. Riders had to squeeze past the two hosts yabbering away about lance this, lance that on the podium, just to sign on. Still though, great spectacle, and loads and loads of bike porn to fwap over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,687 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

live-ish updates are here

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_4275.shtml

tv times

TV Coverage:
    RTÉ transmission times
    Friday 21st August: 7.30 - 8.30pm
    Saturday 22nd August: 7.00 - 8.00pm
    Sunday 23rd August: 8.00 - 9.00pm

ITV4 (UK and Satellite/Cable)
    Friday 21st August: 7.00 - 8.00pm, (Repeat Saturday 22nd August: 1.00 - 2.00pm)
    Saturday 22nd August: 8.00 - 9.00pm, (Repeat Sunday 23rd August: 1.00 - 2.00pm)
    Sunday 23rd August: 7.00 - 8.00pm, (Repeat Monday 24th August: 1.00 - 2.00pm)
    Monday 24th August (overall highlights): 7.00 - 8.00pm, (Repeat Tuesday 25th August: 1.00 - 2.00pm)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭biker_joe

Hi Aidan
    Good to chat this morning, your quick on the upload ! I should have some up later in the afternoon !

Biker_Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

Some great photos posted up on this thread - thanks!
    Was in Laragh this morning, standing on the bridge to get a view of the bunch sweeping round the bend. Bunch was split at that stage with about 20 or so 20-30 secs ahead. Some Cervelo lad seemed to have been dropped off the front group and was having drivetrain problems. He didn't look happy and I could hear his chain clunking and grinding. Strangely reassuring that even the pros have crappy, annoying mechanical problems out on the road.

bbosco wrote: »
    Some great photos posted up on this thread - thanks!
    Was in Laragh this morning, standing on the bridge to get a view of the bunch sweeping round the bend. Bunch was split at that stage with about 20 or so 20-30 secs ahead. Some Cervelo lad seemed to have been dropped off the front group and was having drivetrain problems. He didn't look happy and I could hear his chain clunking and grinding. Strangely reassuring that even the pros have crappy, annoying mechanical problems out on the road.

I hope that was n't number 31 ??? that's our man !!!

Biker_Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

biker_joe wrote: »
    I hope that was n't number 31 ??? that's our man !!!

Biker_Joe

I'd like to say it wasn't but I couldn't be sure. Trying to take in too much in the few seconds while they went by. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Wonder why everyone is looking at Cav in this one?!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mmolamphy/3842748378/sizes/o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Great photos lads and the weather makes it look really well!

just seen them go up woodstock hill a south african and irish rider leading by a few mins .
    lance and co just behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

Few more pics for you. Just at the last 3km mark before the go over the Rockshire road hill in Waterford

http://www.flickr.com/photos/stokolan/sets/72157622102028318/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Was at the start, got signatures from a few of the MTN lads:)

Pics and a clip up when I find a disk:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SACH Central

Seeing that Deignan didn't win today it was great to see Downing take the win & Yellow. I wonder has he done enough to ride himself onto Team SKY for next year.

i gotta say it ... i don't like that Downing fella !!! :eek:
    too cool for kids !

Biker_Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Straatvark

Jay Thomson made me proud today :)

Some pics of start & Mnt Leinster:
    http://picasaweb.google.com/gert.conradie/20090820_TourOfIreland?authkey=Gv1sRgCIDIlMuQ5sHRFQ#

who won today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭smithslist

jwshooter wrote: »
    who won today

Russ Downing

Here’s the stage result:

1, Russell Downing (CandiTV – Marshall’s Pasta) 196km in 5 hours 10 mins 37 secs
    2, Alexander Kolobnev (Saxo Bank) at 2 secs
    3, Matti Breschel (Saxo Bank)
    4, Philip Deignan (Cervélo Test Team)
    5, Haimar Zubeldia (Astana)
    6, Marco Pinotti (Columbia HTC) all same time

see bottom:
    http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_4275.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

ROK ON wrote: »
    Can't help, but have a similar query.

I am hoping to bring my 5yr old daughter to the finish line in Killarney tomorrow. Can people at the finish line today post how long they got there before the finish.
    Kids aint the most patient, so I am trying to figure out whether it is worthwhile or not.

Not sure what the finish is like in Killarney - Waterford has a huge run in and plenty of room - I rolled up to the finish with 5 minutes to go and there were no more than 2-3 people deep at the barriers. With a five year old on your shoulders, she'll have the best view in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Last year in Cork you needed to be in the finish area about an hour before the race got there - and that was with no Lance.

That said I'll only be heading in max an hour before they're due in. There should be plenty of room somewhere along the circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Last year in Cork you needed to be in the finish area about an hour before the race got there - and that was with no Lance.

That said I'll only be heading in max an hour before they're due in. There should be plenty of room somewhere along the circuit.

Anyone have a good map of the Cork circuit? The race website has very little detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Can you please use the spoiler tags when posting results. It's on TV later and some of us don't(didn't) know results yet. Thanks.