Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South African athlethe may not be a female

• 19-08-2009 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭

Bizarre story coming out of Berlin this evening. An 18 year old South African who is one of the favorites to win tonight's 800m at the World Championships has been asked by the World Governing body to take a gender test amid concerns that she may not be a women.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/athletics/8210471.stm
    Semenya told to take gender test

South Africa's 800m World Championships finalist Caster Semenya has been asked to take a gender verification test, according to athletics' governing body.

The International Association of Athletics Federations says it demanded the test three weeks ago amid fears she should not be able to run as a woman.

IAAF spokesman Nick Davies said the "extremely complex, difficult" test results were not due for several weeks.

South Africa's athletics federation has denied such a test has been demanded.

The 18-year-old Semenya is considered a favourite to win gold in Wednesday's 800m final in Berlin.

She burst onto the world stage earlier this year, running 1.56.72 in Bambous three weeks ago, smashing her previous personal best by more than seven seconds.

She also broke Zola Budd's long-standing South African record and arrived here as the newly-crowned African junior champion.

If it's a natural thing and the athlete has always thought she's a woman or been a woman, it's not exactly cheating

IAAF spokesman Nick Davies

"In the case of this athlete, following her breakthrough in the African junior championships, the rumours, the gossip was starting to build up," added Davies.

"The gender verification test is an extremely complex procedure. The situation today is that we do not have any conclusive evidence that she should not be allowed to run."

A group of doctors, including an endocrinologist, a gynaecologist, an internal medicine expert, an expert on gender and a psychologist, have started the procedure but it is uncertain when the results will be known.

"It would be wrong today to take a decision to withdraw an athlete," said Davies, who said this was not a mandatory or compulsory test and the athlete was in no way suspected of cheating.

"This is a medical condition. It is nothing that she has done. There is a need to make sure rules are followed.

"We are more concerned for the person and not to make this as something that is humiliating."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

That's balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

If indeed she is a woman, that must be a tough one to take, having someone ask you to prove you're female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What a load of absolute cock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

Its lady Ga Ga....
    I heard she was good with a pole vault !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

What many people fail to realise is that gender is not a clear cut situation. Everybody is just to a certain level more male or more female not purely one or the other.

This is not like the Russians where they force fed young athletes "enhancements" which led to at least one requiring gender reassignment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

IAAF spokesman Nick Davies said the "extremely complex, difficult" test results were not due for several weeks.
    Jeez nobody can just yank down the pants and have a look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

so she's probably a hermafradite (spelled wrong I guess...so I phoenetically spelled it)

I was wondering how long it would be before something like this would "pop up" in the sporting world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭itouchmyself

If it is true she a women the IAAF have some explaining to do the way they dealt with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

jumpguy wrote: »
    Jeez nobody can just yank down the pants and have a look?

Or the Adam apple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

A group of doctors, including an endocrinologist, a gynaecologist, an internal medicine expert, an expert on gender and a psychologist, have started the procedure but it is uncertain when the results will be known.

Hugh?

All that to drop trousers for a few seconds?

Or is it that there's nothing to see, neither nor ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

derby7 wrote: »
    Its lady Ga Ga....
    I heard she was good with a pole vault !

Ya know..........that rumor was started by christina augleria:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Well, they have a point.....pic

^^ doesn't HE play for Chelsea ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hudsonriver

Kipperhell wrote: »

This is not like the Russians where they force fed young athletes "enhancements" which led to at least one requiring gender reassignment.

Id be interested in hearing more about this?

In mother Russia Sex has you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭JOM34

So that's what Bradley from S Club ended up doin after the band broke up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

its a simple test, Semen?ya...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Complicated test that takes weeks? Codology I say.
    All she has to do is pee in one of the little plastic cups, if she can do it without getting her hands wet she's a man!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Sometimes it's hard to be a woman...

She's running in the final in about 20mins. Its on BBC 2 if ye want to have a gawk.

The Rose of Tralee is on after..

There's a rumour that the Cork rose is male........but does anyone have the balls to check her/ahem him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Imagine if it had no genitalia at all. Just a smooth bit of skin over its front bum. That would be cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

"A group of doctors, including an endocrinologist, a gynaecologist, an internal medicine expert, an expert on gender and a psychologist, have started the procedure but it is uncertain when the results will be known."

sounds like they asked our government for advice on how to deal with it.

the answer is in his/her name for fúck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    South Africa's 800m World Championships finalist Caster Semenya has been asked to take a gender verification test, according to athletics' governing body.

As Roy Walker used to say.........."Just say what you see, just say what you see".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

Here she is here, she sure looks and talks like a dude...poor woman:(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffW5zeuPcds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Fizman wrote: »
    Imagine if it had no genitalia at all. Just a smooth bit of skin over its front bum. That would be cool.

http://tiny.cc/GZNG6

Race just about to start now...

And she wins!! By a mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Could be a case of ambiguous genitalia :/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intersexuality

she looks a little like tupac shakur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Apparently she was fastest in the middle leg of the race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

How dare you acknowledge she/he is black, by linking to a black doll.

You're such a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Ann22 wrote: »
    Here she is here, she sure looks and talks like a dude...poor woman:(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffW5zeuPcds

If someone showed me that without knowing anything about the case or person then asked me describe the person being interviewed, I would say it was a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Amberjack

Just watched the youtube clip - definitely sounds and looks like a man, if not, he seriously needs to get that operation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

The race was only 800m :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Wud ye not get a bit of immac at dat ronnie?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Serious ronnie for an 18 year old girl, facial structure looks fierce male too, voice is very deep.

Like a few others, If someone showed me that and I didn't know "she" was competing in the womens events I'd have thought "she" was a man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

poor thing, judging by the first interview they think s/he's intersex and s/he didn't even realise him/herself.... what a ****ty way to find out something that traumatic about yourself :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Seaneh wrote: »
    If someone showed me that and I didn't know "she" was competing in the womens events I'd have thought "she" was a man...
    I saw her the other day with no knowledge of this, she was running in the race and I was seriously thinking "do they have male pacemakers now or something?", even the commentator said she looked like a middleweight boxer, her build was completely different to the others in the race. Even looked like she had a meaty "package":eek:.

I doubt it can be that much of a shock to her though, it has to have been mentioned before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The fact that he had to run backwards so's to avoid tripping over his balls, was the big giveaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

Personally (I may be wrong).. I dont think she is a man.

You have to understand that she comes from one of the poor townships in South Africa and like most other poor areas in the World...their main diet would consist of mainly carbohydrates which normally results into looking quite stocky.

I dont think she looks extraordinarily different from some of the Black female athletes we have seen in the competition,I believe strongly that the main issue here is the fact that she came from nowhere without any techinical training and running incredibly well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

procure11 wrote: »

You have to understand that she comes from one of the poor townships in South Africa and like most other poor areas in the World...their main diet would consist of mainly carbohydrates which normally results into looking quite stocky.

I dont think she looks extraordinarily different from some of the Black female athletes we have seen in the competition,I believe strongly that the main issue here is the fact that she came from nowhere without any techinical training and running incredibly well.

Yeah she kind of reminds me of those tennis players... the Williams Brothers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

She doesnt look stocky, she looks very very lean and muscular.

Also, you have to understand, she has a ballsack bigger than her head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

Bizarre story coming out of Berlin this evening. An 18 year old South African who is one of the favorites to win tonight's 800m at the World Championships has been asked by the World Governing body to take a gender test amid concerns that she may not be a women.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/athletics/8210471.stm

Knew a person like that once used to call it the gamble

tallus wrote: »
    Yeah she kind of reminds me of those tennis players... the Williams Brothers :)

Only if Ireland could have their equivalent to bring the much needed sporting glories..Aren't you tired of winning feck all in all competitions except GAA and Hurling that we hardly have any competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

If she runs fast enough, enough times, she might ware away her balls..... Problem solved!

She doesnt look stocky, she looks very very lean and muscular.

Also, you have to understand, she has a ballsack bigger than her head.

I apologise ...you see I am male and I dont have an habit of looking at what you just decribed above..you dirty thing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Can she produce Semen Ya or na?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

I apologise ...you see I am male and I dont have an habit of looking at what you just decribed above..you dirty thing:D

lol Im male too. She's like yer man from the lynx ad. Muchas Maracas.

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    How dare you acknowledge she/he is black, by linking to a black doll.

You're such a racist.

?? How an I racist??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Can she produce Semen Ya or na?
    Well I heard Linford Christie was feeling inadequate when she stepped up next to him at the urinals.