Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welsh texting and driving, Graphic!

• 17-08-2009 11:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭

Anyone seen the new road safety ad for wales to try and cut down on texting and driving?
    Film to stop texting and driving
    Gwent Police hope a shocking film about the consequences of texting while driving will help prevent crashes.

The film, which was made by Peter Watkins-Hughes, stars young local actors and is expected to be shown in schools.
    Video is in the link
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/wales/8203091.stm

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I think the video is lovely, northern Ireland isn't a bad place to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,528 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I think the video is lovely, northern Ireland isn't a bad place to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Why didn't the oncoming car not move out of the way instead of beeping :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭irelandrover

I'm confused. There was a road accident and a young male driver wasn't to blame. How is that possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Its effective, I'll say that much!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'd say texting in Welsh is a feckin nightmare even if you aren't driving at the time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

I'm confused. There was a road accident and a young male driver wasn't to blame. How is that possible?

I must say your very cynical!! :D

Its a very good ad. WAY better than the [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] the RSA spout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

R.O.R wrote: »
    I'd say texting in Welsh is a feckin nightmare even if you aren't driving at the time :D

"Hi hny, lets meet @ llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch train stn kk?"

http://llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.co.uk

http://llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.co.uk/soundfiles/llandad4.wav

As to the OP, very effective ad I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

All I see is an NI tourism ad

It was probably the males fault because he was texting her?

Good ad for a bunch of amateur movie makers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

also the second car the crashes into them is driving on the wrong side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

EPM wrote: »
    All I see is an NI tourism ad

Try reloading the page - that's all I got first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What a stupid ad!

1. Why doesn't the mondeo even try to move or slow down?

2. Why is their car suddenly on the left hand side of the mondeo in the crash despite the shot before being well on the right?

3. Why is the red fiesta on the wrong side of the road.

4. at 39s there is also another car on the wrong side of the road.

5. the window at 2.15 looks smashed inwards from the outside even though the girls head would have hit it from the inside.

6. Would a Ka even hold up that well:D

What a stupid ad!

2. Why is their car suddenly on the left hand side of the mondeo in the crash despite the shot before being well on the right?

5. the window at 2.15 looks smashed inwards from the outside even though the girls head would have hit it from the inside.

How did the police arrive approx. 40 seconds after someone called an ambulance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Very sobering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Mena wrote: »
    "Hi hny, lets meet @ llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch train stn kk?"

http://llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.co.uk

http://llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.co.uk/soundfiles/llandad4.wav

As to the OP, very effective ad I think.

We say Llanfair PG instead of the whole name...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Noffles wrote: »
    We say Llanfair PG instead of the whole name...

Its Llanfair "R18" when I'm out on the town boyo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

What a stupid ad!

It's obviously a fake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

A Ford Mondeo, a Ford Ka and a Ford Fiesta.

All I got from it was "don't buy a Ford"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Jumpy wrote: »
    Its Llanfair "R18" when I'm out on the town boyo

Ah, we've hicks on here too... I'm a towny so may of been a little inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Holy collision exagaration batman! Entertaining nontheless, even if the Mondeo was practically stopped when the Ka hit it. The second impact was a pleasant surprise.

Joking aside, hopefully it will cause people, young and old, male, female and undecided to think twice about texting while driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Bloody Sony Ericsson phones :rolleyes:

testicle wrote: »
    It's obviously a fake...

Yeah but if I doesn't look real then why bother. People will just think it looks fake and laugh at it rather than pay attention, exactly as I did.

Anyway she was driving on a straight road and couldn't hold the wheel straight while doing something, I thought women were supposed to be able to multi-task:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Lmao!

No one texts while driving. And if you do, you deserve to be taken off the roads!

Also lmao at the dumb friends who didn't notice the car coming up front!

And also lmao at the car upfront which plunged straight into the girl's car without slowing down, beeping, or weaving around!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭alo1587

Just out of curiosity,do we have anything like the helicopter service here for taking road crash victims to hospital,or are all the government helicopters booked out ferrying fat politicians around the country?

Lmao!

No one texts while driving. And if you do, you deserve to be taken off the roads!

Eh, clearly they do or there would be no need for the ad in the first place:rolleyes:
    alo1587 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity,do we have anything like the helicopter service here for taking road crash victims to hospital,or are all the government helicopters booked out ferrying fat politicians around the country?

Just the coastguard ones and I doubt they're allowed task them for traffic accidents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Anyway she was driving on a straight road and couldn't hold the wheel straight while doing something, I thought women were supposed to be able to multi-task:pac:
    Lmao!

No one texts while driving.

Also lmao at the dumb friends who didn't notice the car coming up front!

And also lmao at the car upfront which plunged straight into the girl's car without slowing down, beeping, or weaving around!!

It's the callous attitude behind statements like the above that causes crashes.

Couldn't happen to me, I always pay attention, everybody else does stupid things, but never me.

Remember this film the next time you catch yourself drifting out of your lane/taking that corner a bit too fast/ narrowly missing that other car while you were
    - fiddling with the radio
    - gawping at the girls by the side of the road
    - singing along to the thumping music in your car
    - having the craic/an argument with your passenger
    - whatever else it was you were doing instead of concentrating

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Im actually shocked at some of the comments in this thread, whats wrong with you all.

The ad is extremely effective, who gives a toss "if the window broke inwards insead of outwards"...or if the ambulance arrived 40 seconds later, its an ad. Ten times better than the **** the RSA churn out, and shock horror, not a young male driver in sight!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Thought it was good actually. Pretty high body count for an ad. Was that baby supposed to be dead in the back of the car, or just oblivious to the accident?

I like the fact that the driver was alive at the end of the add, pity she didn't see bodies laid out or something. Maybe OTT I suppose.

I don't like these ads in general, they try to hard to simply start "do anything wrong and you will crash and die horribly". There is no intelligence behind them. In this current day and age shock tactics like this no longer work, people see much worse in films/ on TV every day.

They've been running ads like this for years, I'd like to see any statistics that they are effective in any way.

It certainly will not stop me from the occasional text while driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

What would stop you? A near-miss? An accident? Or would it take a death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I don't like these ads in general, they try to hard to simply start "do anything wrong and you will crash and die horribly". There is no intelligence behind them. In this current day and age shock tactics like this no longer work, people see much worse in films/ on TV every day.

They've been running ads like this for years, I'd like to see any statistics that they are effective in any way.

What struck me in the add was the little girl asking her parents to wake up. I superimpose (unintentionally) my own daughter into that seat. That's what effected me the most. Not that I use the phone/text while driving, but it still has an impact and I find myself empathising.

Take me back 18 years, when I was still a kid with my first car, and to be honest, the add would have had no affect (on me at any rate).

FearDark wrote: »
    Ten times better than the **** the RSA churn out

But it's not better than the ads from the RSA. it's just more of the same. do something wrong and other people suffer. like the ad for wearing your seatbelt "the one without the seatbelt did the damage" or any of the drink driving ads. its the exact same except it wasn't a male driver driving the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

She drives, he dies. In your face RSA, In-Your-Face.

I don't think these ads are ever effective longterm. They do shock on a first view, but getting it rammed down your throat every day on TV for a few weeks if anything de-sensitises people more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

That's re-assuring. You're no better than someone only slightly over the alcohol limit AFAIC.
    I fail to see what could possibly be so important that it can't wait ten minutes until you can find a place to stop and read/create/send and drive on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Wertz wrote: »
    That's re-assuring. You're no better than someone only slightly over the alcohol limit AFAIC.
    I would have said worse myself, at least the drunk is looking at the road.

Wertz wrote: »
    I fail to see what could possibly be so important that it can't wait ten minutes until you can find a place to stop and read/create/send and drive on...

I'm not going to try and defend it, I'm just being honest and saying that that ad will have no impact on my behaviour. Just like the "speed kills" ads won't make me (or 95% of people) drive any slower.

It's no more dangerous than routing around for a cd/ reading a map/drinking a coffee and they're all perfectly legal/allowable.

As an aside was listening to the technology guy on the Right Hook the other day and you can now get PCs designed to fit your steering wheel, how about that for crazy

do something wrong and other people suffer

Unfortunately, that's exactly what happens though. Others will be made suffer for your mistake.

Sad state of affairs that people (of all ages) have become so selfish that that doesn't matter to them anymore.

What doesn't help though is the constant focus on how many people have died in road accidents. It's hard to relate to dead people. You might be able to muster some sympathy for their families, but basically dead people are just statistics and more or less easily shrugged off.

What I find effective about these "shock & awe" type ads is when they focus on the "lucky" ones that made it out alive ....with debilitating injuries, lifetime pain, a string of painful operations, dependant on others for the rest of their lives, never able to work or live a normal life ever again.

peasant wrote: »
    Unfortunately, that's exactly what happens though. Others will be made suffer for your mistake.

Sad state of affairs that people (of all ages) have become so selfish that that doesn't matter to them anymore.

That wasn't my point. Of course that's a bad thing. My point was that the ads have been the same for years. Of course its going to de-sensitise people to it.

The "best"type of these kinds of ads i've seen in recent years was the drink driving one where it focused on people after the accident. where it showed a girl going through physiotherapy or another girl whos face was all scarred after numerous operations. or the guards showing up at someone's house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I'm not going to try and defend it, I'm just being honest and saying that that ad will have no impact on my behaviour. Just like the "speed kills" ads won't make me (or 95% of people) drive any slower.

It's no more dangerous than routing around for a cd/ reading a map/drinking a coffee and they're all perfectly legal/allowable.

As an aside was listening to the technology guy on the Right Hook the other day and you can now get PCs designed to fit your steering wheel, how about that for crazy

Yeah at least you're honest and upfront about it. I'm no angel on the road either, but I draw the line at anything to do with phones.
    That said I've sat beside people in cars/vans that are texting with one hand and smoking a cigarette in the other and thought little of it...but I'd always have a hand ready to grab the wheel in the event that it might matter.

I think texting is much worse than even talking on a handset (and way beyond the coffee drinking)...you're concentrating on composing, focused on a small screen whilst attempting to press small buttons...in anyone's book that's a distraction...depending on where you are on the road network at the time, that distraction may be the deciding factor in a fatal collision.

There's nothing that can be done to stop people texting and driving, same way as you can't really stop someone tired from driving...but yet we have this huge stigma around driving after a couple of pints (rightfully BTW) but both of the above are arguably more dangerous, but are nigh impossible to legislate for...but more importantly, that even if people were pulled up for it, there would be no stigma or shame involved, unless someone was dead as a direct result...

Lmao!

Jesus.. you gotta be kidding me. I even text when driving. Most weeks it takes me 2min to write a short text while going down the M1 at 10pm at night doing 120kph or more.

I just about manage..it's a struggle and I wouldnt do it with many other cars on that road. But I should stop doing it. I'm a text-driver :( And it's not like I haven't had a few scares while doing it , I have.

They need a better ad than that. I'm not sure what type of ad would do it. Maybe something realistic. Like where no one dies.. but show how easily and quick accidents happen. Maybe a few examples in the one ad to highlight the real dangers of texting while driving not just the "oh sh1t" scenarios. But things like rear ending people, taking off your wing mirror and driving up verges.

Edit: I also drive when incredibly tired and sometimes closing one eye helps stay awake. I also often drive after only one drink. I shouldn't even do this. Disgrace the law shouldn't allow it.

You know I'm not even that old. I'm the "new" generation of young people.. but old habbits of our parents are still rampant, I see it everyday it's just with more modern excuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 missysc

I'm finding this post very interesting cos work for a company that makes road safety films! As you can imagine we're well aware of all the cynicism/indifference out there. I have to say I think this one is good but could do with a bit more scripting to make the 'story' a bit tighter. The music is also a bit overkill??

I'm scared to post these now but here are links to some of our ones - as you can see we've adopted a slightly different tack to get people watching them.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYAszJmcp90

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsVvG5diSOA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bG8Y4BUKF3I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I'd text at traffic lights and on motorways, but not on any roads which require more than a little concentration. If you cant read the road and take your eye off it on a motorway (not when its busy obviosly) for two seconds every 15 seconds in case you cause yourself or someone else to die, then you should think about your own abilties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'd text at traffic lights and on motorways, but not on any roads which require more than a little concentration. If you cant read the road and take your eye off it on a motorway (not when its busy obviosly) for two seconds every 15 seconds in case you cause yourself or someone else to die, then you should think about your own abilties!

Not saying I've never done it myself but you're gonna get slaughtered here for admitting that dude!

If you cant read the road and take your eye off it on a motorway (not when its busy obviosly) for two seconds every 15 seconds in case you cause yourself or someone else to die, then you should think about your own abilties!

Maybe you should think about this:

120 km/h = 33.33 meters per second

Take your eyes off the road for two seconds and you've covered a distance of 66.66 meters, do it for three seconds and you've covered a whole football pitch flying blind

I really, really cannot believe I'm reading serious posts from people saying it's OK to text while driving, esp. on a motorway at 120km/h. Please, please tell me you're all trolling, either that or provide me with a timetable of when you're going to be on the roads, and I can make sure I'm at home rather than sharing the roads with a bunch of lunatics. Absolutely unbe-fecking-lievable.

this is true but if Im looking at a motorway, the car in front of me is doing roughly the same speed as me and is 8 seconds infront, and clear road ahead of them, and from checking mirrors I am aware of approaching cars then I have minimum of 6 seconds to react to anything unexpected the driver in front does (assuming the incident happens exactly when I look away). I am aware of the space in the other lane (again from mirror checks) and could probably outbrake most cars (and can always swerve to hard sholder) I dont think send a text in that situation is unsafe! I would go as far as to say if you couldnt manage that, then I would be under the impression that your ability to survey your surroundings, your awareness of your options if the unexpected arise, and your ability to control your car are substanderd and you should not be driving on the motorway.

Flying blind implies you have no knowledge of where your going and will have no awareness of where you are when you look back, this is not the case on the motorway if you are a safe distance, going at a safe speed and survey your surroundings constantly!

Alun wrote: »
    I really, really cannot believe I'm reading serious posts from people saying it's OK to text while driving, esp. on a motorway at 120km/h. Please, please tell me you're all trolling, either that or provide me with a timetable of when you're going to be on the roads, and I can make sure I'm at home rather than sharing the roads with a bunch of lunatics. Absolutely unbe-fecking-lievable.

120 km/h, whooooaaaa, hold on tight!!! theres lunatics out there!!

older_driver.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Personally, I found this really horribly graphic and difficult to watch. Yes there might have been technical flaws, but it got the point across. I found myself thinking, I hope I'm never being taken out of a car in that kind of a state, whether I'm driving or not. Because every time we're on the road, no matter how careful we are, you might get some idiot texting or whatever coming the other way, and the ad is a scary reminder of what could happen (and again, maybe the ad is technically inaccurate, but people are killed horribly and painfully on the roads every day.)

Will it change my driving? I don't think so. I'm a careful driver anyways, I genuinely try my best to concentrate 100% every time I'm behind the wheel, and I don't take unnecessary risks. In fact, I wish I hadn't watched that because I did find it very disturbing.

Will it change someone else's driving? Well, I doubt those shock-value ads are all that effective ... but say if it got through to even 1% of drivers, and made them be that little bit more careful, lives might be saved. And wouldn't that be worth the other 99% of us having to put up with the ads even if we don't think they're effective or well-made or whatever?

120 km/h, whooooaaaa, hold on tight!!! theres lunatics out there!!
    I regularly drive at speeds well in excess of 120km/h, thanks all the same, the difference is I'm actually concentrating on what I'm doing rather than diverting some of my attention to something as stupid as texting.

This forum really has sunk to an all time low with this thread.