Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Agree With An 18+ Only Drinking Law?

• 16-08-2009 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭

Just something that occurred to me in regards to kids and drinking. I don't have children but as I get older I think more about these sorts of things.

I have to say I'd approach it the way the French do. If my 14 year old asks if they can have some wine when we're having dinner I'll give them a small glass of watered down wine. I think it's a much better approach than saying "No, the mystery adult drink is not for you!" and wait for them to go drink straight vodka in a field with their friends.

I think the 21 only rule in the US is absolutely crazy. A group of 19 year old Irish college students not being allowed to drink while on holiday is a bit ridiculous. I think responsible drinking results from teaching them the right attitude early on rather than forbidding it until an arbitrary age.

(Poll incoming!)

Do You Agree With An 18+ Only Drinking Law? 157 votes

It should be TWENTY ONE or older!
    0% 0 votes
    Yes! Not a drop until their eighteenth birthday.
    17% 27 votes
    No, perhaps some with their family if they're mature enough.
    17% 28 votes
    No, let them do what they want, it'll work out.
    64% 102 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm 22 (nearly 23) as long as they don't raise it past that I'll be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

In the case of some people it should be 35+ only to drink, others shouldn't be allowed drink at all and no harm done with others who are 15 having a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Zillah wrote: »
    If my 14 year old asks...
    I don't have children...

Everything you've ever said is now suspect Zillah. I'm keeping my eye on you...

/stink eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

On the continent teenagers might drink wine a few nights a week, you know a glass or two with an evening meal.

In Ireland a teenager might drink nothing all week and get wasted on Friday night.

Same amount of alcohol, now tell me which is better & safter.

At least it's not the UK! When I worked there it was the done thing to go for pints at Friday lunchtime.
    For all the reputation that Ireland has, I've never seen that in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

No. I think there should be some kind of staggered system. I think the age for drinking in pubs should be reduced but keep the minimum age for buying in off-licences at 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i want drinking banned altogether, so that people will stop battering and slicing each other up every weekend, to prevent 15-hour waits in A&E for people who deserve treatment, and relieve the burden on gardaí.

Open some amsterdam-style coffee shops for over 18s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I think it should be lowered to 17.

why?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

i think it should be done like this:

wine with parents present: 14
    Beer/Alco Pops etc: 16
    Spirits: 18

or somethin along those lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

genericguy wrote: »
    i want drinking banned altogether, so that people will stop battering and slicing each other up every weekend, to prevent 15-hour waits in A&E for people who deserve treatment, and relieve the burden on gardaí.

This is a terrible idea. I went drinking last night in a pub. There was at least fifty people drinking, and for hours. Not one punch thrown. If you're serious, then you are very wrong. If you're fishing, well done. A bite. Maybe you'll raise a glass to yourself to mark the occasion, hm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Zillah wrote: »
    Just something that occurred to me in regards to kids and drinking. I don't have children but as I get older I think more about these sorts of things.

I have to say I'd approach it the way the French do. If my 14 year old asks if they can have some wine when we're having dinner I'll give them a small glass of watered down wine. I think it's a much better approach than saying "No, the mystery adult drink is not for you!" and wait for them to go drink straight vodka in a field with their friends.

I think the 21 only rule in the US is absolutely crazy. A group of 19 year old Irish college students not being allowed to drink while on holiday is a bit ridiculous. I think responsible drinking results from teaching them the right attitude early on rather than forbidding it until an arbitrary age.

(Poll incoming!)

18 is the purchase age. If it's in a private residence, you can give a 2 year old a bottle of vodka if you want.

And, yes, the US should lower their age limit to suit Irish college students... Wait, wf?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I think it should be 21+

I didn't realise how bloody annoying 18 year olds are.
    A lot of growing up done between 18 and 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

18 is the purchase age. If it's in a private residence, you can give a 2 year old a bottle of vodka if you want.

yep. About time someone mentioned that.

have you never seen the episode of the simpsons when they ban beer... it doesnt work jus drives it underground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

the reason for the anti-social activity involving alcohol in Ireland and The UK is because of the licencing laws and the age limit.

In other countries (Italy, France, Spain, Greece etc) where licencing laws are nonexistent and kids are introduced to alcohol by their parents well before their 13th birthday in most cases (glass of wine with dinner, a glass of beer at a family function) the kids grow up without any mystery around alcohol and they associate it with eating and celebrating so they dont see the point of sitting in a feild drinking cheap vodka in cheap soft drinks.

Tyranax wrote: »
    This is a terrible idea. I went drinking last night in a pub. There was at least fifty people drinking, and for hours. Not one punch thrown. If you're serious, then you are very wrong. If you're fishing, well done. A bite. Maybe you'll raise a glass to yourself to mark the occasion, hm?

i am serious. irish people as a whole just haven't got the cop-on to enjoy alcohol responsibly, it breaks up more families and causes more misery than anything else I can think of. and the sight of children/grown adults, rolling around the streets in their own puke at the weekend (which I see every weekend) is something that i think we can do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

I have to say that being introduced to alcohol in the home did absolutely nothing to curb my dangerous teenage binge drinking or give me anything of a responsible attitude to alcohol. I was given small amounts of wine on special occasions throughout my childhood and allowed to have the odd can in the house before I went out as a teenager. If anything it only made me want it more as I grew up associating it with happy times and celebrations.

I don't think it is about age limits to be honest, I just think society in general needs a major overhaul and re-education in terms of how we view drinking. It is horribly damaging, wastes a hell of a lot of hospital hours and causes untold amounts of damage to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Personally, I've only just been alowed to drink (just lager) by my parents. I say parents, I mean dad - she hit the roof when she found out :pac:

They kept going on about how it was my "first drink", with me nodding along. If they hadn't been such smothering, sheltering parents I probably wouldn't have tried it in the past :P .

If I have kids (which I hope I do), I think I'll let them drink in moderation. Complete bans lead to rebelling IMO.

dannym08 wrote: »
    have you never seen the episode of the simpsons when they ban beer... it doesnt work jus drives it underground.

yeah, and that's my point. if people kept the fighting and puking and falling around the place underground, ireland would be a better place.

why?

Because we currently have a ridiculous situation where many people have left school and are working full-time or in third level college, but are strictly prohibited from drinking. I've always thought its ludicrous that people can join the defence forces at 17 or even get married but can't enjoy a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I was allowed drink at home in front of my parents. It didn't really stop me being a "dipso" during college but it definately helped me know my limits. I had A BBQ at the long weekend and allowed my niece and nephew try a few drinks with their parents permisson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

From about sixteen onwards, myself and friends were all allowed drink as long as it was in someones house.

It was a good attitude to have and meant when we did start going to pubs, we weren't making a mess of ourselves, nor were we out drinking in fields as teenagers.

I'd have a similar policy with any kids I have.

yeah, and that's my point. if people kept the fighting and puking and falling around the place underground, ireland would be a better place.

You do know America tried banning drink once? And that it was a complete disaster, which encouaged people to drink more, meant that people drank dangerous homemade alcohol, and put money into the pockets of gangsters? Surely you're aware of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

No it wouldn't.

Look back on the stabbings and murders over the past few years and you'll see a high percentage of those happened during house parties etc.

Because we currently have a ridiculous situation where many people have left school and are working full-time or in third level college, but are strictly prohibited from drinking. I've always thought its ludicrous that people can join the defence forces at 17 or even get married but can't enjoy a drink.

that's a fair point.

hardly. they'd still be fighting and puking only now with no regulations. And the drunk fighting puking people will still need medical care so it wouldnt ease waiting times or anything.

anyway dont ya think the guards have enough to be going on with as it is

You do know America tried banning drink once? And that it was a complete disaster, which encouaged people to drink more, meant that people drank dangerous homemade alcohol, and put money into the pockets of gangsters? Surely you're aware of this?

i am aware of this, and if the government sees fit for alcohol to be legal, then why not legalise all recreational drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I went for a pint with my Da when I was about 15. It was never a mystery after that and I enjoy a scoop. I did the same with my sons. My 21 year old had one 'incident' a couple of years back but it was down to having no food and, the main thing, is that he told me about it.

This weekend, himself and his 17 year old brother are at a Pearl Jam concert in Berlin and I only asked one thing, which was no beer until they got back to where they were staying. I know that the freedom I give them will be respected for this but if the plan goes wrong, I know they will tell me. What more can you do?

i am serious. irish people as a whole just haven't got the cop-on to enjoy alcohol responsibly, it breaks up more families and causes more misery than anything else I can think of. and the sight of children/grown adults, rolling around the streets in their own puke at the weekend (which I see every weekend) is something that i think we can do without.

You're doing it again! Stop blanketing people! Not everybody goes out and gets hammered, starts a fight, then goes home and pukes on the kid, but only after battering the wife. I can drink responsibly. So can the majority of people. The poll is against you too.

hardly. they'd still be fighting and puking only now with no regulations. And the drunk fighting puking people will still need medical care so it wouldnt ease waiting times or anything.

anyway dont ya think the guards have enough to be going on with as it is

no, i'd argue that the amount of effort put in by the gardai to deal with the odd drunken prick would be far less than that required to deal with people in town right now. i'd support a price increase to ten euro a pint though as a compromise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Id say leave it at 18. In reality tho is the age to start going into pubs and clubs really 18? Since i have been 16 ive been going out most weekends to pubs and clubs and never really had much problems.

Id say maybe drinking in pubs with parents @ 16

And leave clubs + off licence @ 18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It is not illegal to give a child a small glass of wine or beer at home.
    It can be said to be neglectful of a parent to allow a child to become intoxicated.
    It is illegal to for a child to buy alcohol or to buy it for them or for them to be consuming alcohol in a lienced premises.

I can't see the laws changing while we have the abusive alcohol culture that we do,
    the whole thing is honest a bit chicken and egg.

You're doing it again! Stop blanketing people! Not everybody goes out and gets hammerd, starts a fight, then goes home and pukes on the kid, but after battering the wife. I can drink responsibly. So can the majority of people. The poll is against you too.

i can have a couple of beers responsibly too. and i don't mind if the poll is against me - with ireland's drinking-dependent 'culture' my opinion was never going to be popular.

i am aware of this, and if the government sees fit for alcohol to be legal, then why not legalise all recreational drugs?

because the vast majority of "recreational" drugs are a lot worse than a pint of bud

i can have a couple of beers responsibly too. and i don't mind if the poll is against me - with ireland's drinking-dependent 'culture' my opinion was never going to be popular.

So why then do you want a blanket ban? If the majority of people can handle it? Or is this just a case of you "wanting something done" because of what you've seen a few times? Guess what, in the past people got drunk and disorderly. They do now. They shall in future. Education can help to prevent that, that's what's needed. Not prohibition.

no, i'd argue that the amount of effort put in by the gardai to deal with the odd drunken prick would be far less than that required to deal with people in town right now.

but it wouldn't be the odd drunken prick. if you got your way it would be everyone who has a drink.
    'd support a price increase to ten euro a pint though as a compromise.

wud ya go way... costs enough as it is

Some one learn that guy up on prohibition.

Me, I think we should ban food because there are fat people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

I believe that rather than regulating the purchase of alcohol to a particular age or particular time of day or anything like that, they just need to increase the penalties for misbehaving. Drunk & Disorderly -- 30 days automatic community service every day (focus on evening/night work) Introduce percent-wealth based penalties so that it affects rich people as much as poor people. Repeat offences results in doubling of the sentences (30-days, 60-days, 120-days, etc.).

There's no reason to penalize sensible drinkers -- we could allow 24-hour sales -- just pick on those who misbehave.

asdasd wrote: »
    Some one learn that guy up on prohibition.

Me, I think we should ban food because there are fat people.

nobody goes starting fights because he's had one too many chicken wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

because the vast majority of "recreational" drugs are a lot worse than a pint of bud
    In fairness, there's very few things worse than a pint of that pish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

why doesnt everyone calm down and have a can?

So why then do you want a blanket ban? If the majority of people can handle it? Or is this just a case of you "wanting something done" because of what you've seen a few times? Guess what, in the past people got drunk and disorderly. They do now. They shall in future. Education can help to prevent that, that's what's needed. Not prohibition.

because it would be worth it. And i put myself through college by working as a bouncer, so when i say this goes on every single night, i mean every single night, not "a few times". although i suppose there is a market for men that can pull drunken pricks out of clubs, so for that i should be thankful as it contributed to my education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

because it would be worth it. And i put myself through college by working as a bouncer, so when i say this goes on every single night, i mean every single night, not "a few times". although i suppose there is a market for men that can pull drunken pricks out of clubs, so for that i should be thankful as it contributed to my education.

How many hundreds of people were in those pubs every night?

You're not addressing the issue. Why should I not be allowed to drink because you saw a few drunken louts? You don't have popular support for a reason, because the bad behaviour that you describe is not a popular phenomenon. Most people don't act up. Most can handle their drink. So therefore, most people should be allowed to drink. There is no mandate, at all, for the blanket ban.

There isnt much point dealing with people who have a selectin bias like this. I know friends who have become anti-alcohol since working at the A&E. Thats what they see - the problems with alcohol. The rest of us see normal people drinking, and not getting affected too much. But we deal with different worlds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

My god, grow up child... If people want to drink, let them drink, if they want to get hammered let them. So get off yer high-horse and keep quiet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

I'm 22 (nearly 23) as long as they don't raise it past that I'll be happy.

A typically Irish response. I'm alright and feck the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Prohibition definetly wont work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

I'm 17 and I think it should be lowered to 17.

Whether parents want to accept it or not, we'll get drink if we want it. My parents let me drink if I'm in someones house.
    The Spar down the road has a policy that I'd support for 17 year olds if it was dropped. The most a 17 year old should be able to buy is a 6-pack so as to prevent them from buying drink for their underage friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I'm 17 and I think it should be lowered to 17.

Whether parents want to accept it or not, we'll get drink if we want it. My parents let me drink if I'm in someones house.
    The Spar down the road has a policy that I'd support for 17 year olds if it was dropped. The most a 17 year old should be able to buy is a 6-pack so as to prevent them from buying drink for their underage friends.

Haha, you can wait like the rest of us did.