Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tercel 1911

• 16-08-2009 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭

Hey guys/girls,
    I was thinking of buying a Tercel 1911, anyone have one?
    What's the range and accuracy? And what does it fire at?
    Cheers.
    Lefty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭hitman_

Hi, I acquired one of these new recently. Still in it's box.
    I'll bring it to the Barn tomorrow night if things work out and give it an airing.
    Cheers
    Hitman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

hitman_ wrote: »
    Hi, I acquired one of these new recently. Still in it's box.
    I'll bring it to the Barn tomorrow night if things work out and give it an airing.
    Cheers
    Hitman

whats the build quality like on her, slid to frame fit, finish etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

P170809_1533.jpg

The tercel is top right.

Build is bloody great, this is the nicest 1911 I've ever held, finish is beautiful, with a goldish tint. Slide to frame is very tight, the mechanism is smooth, they even stamped "tokyo marui made in japan" on it, the cheeky buggers.

FPS is high for a gbb, .95 joules.

Internally it is identical to a TM style 1911, with some very good quality control of dimensions, none of the rattle of the bell.

So far I own one, my friend who is barely into airsoft does, and judging by the look and feel of the gbb, a lot more people are going to want one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

How's the metal itself sam? May pick up one of these sometime

Seems nice, I'm impressed with the whole pistol, and this is my third 1911, and IMO is the best of the lot.

I worked on a ksc 1911 before and this really blows it out of the water, a very nice pistol.

Tried out my one tonight at Red Barn. Very comfortable to use, weight is just right, feels nice. Chrono at 0.95 Joules. Seems accurate enough, I didn't have time to check the gas usage as the light was failing & I was playing.
    Overall, a very nice 1911, think I'll be keeping this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

How strong is the kick off it?

Leftyflip wrote: »

Very subjective question. Not as hard as my Tanio Koba KJW 1911, then again that was modified also tonight was a bit rushed. I suppose "adequate" is about right.

Decent, metal 1911 style, like a we, but not all rattly and shite.

Thanks lads! I need to find some gas now ><

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭desertstorm

will this take the r27 mags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

hitman_ wrote: »
    Very subjective question. Not as hard as my Tanio Koba KJW 1911, then again that was modified also tonight was a bit rushed. I suppose "adequate" is about right.
    kjw make a 1911? im a little confused, but interested? :D

Just got my 1911 now, it's a very nice pistol, trades are great, good weight too. But I've got no gas to test it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

Firekitten wrote: »
    kjw make a 1911? im a little confused, but interested? :D

they do a single stack 1911a1 and a TK designed double stack 2011 varient that is CO2 compatible, both very good pistols, though the single stack can run out of gas before firing all 21-ish bbs if done rapid or bump fired.

you can put a shim under the top of the mag vent to get slightly better gas efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Just got my 1911 now, it's a very nice pistol, trades are great, good weight too. But I've got no gas to test it :(

Where'd you get it Lefty and is it silver or black?

I got it from Ehobbyasia and it's the black one.

EDIT: Just got some gas, fires great, it has a good kick and the slide locks back solidly.
    I got about 40 rounds on a charge of gas. Not a bad pistol for less than E50

3840456191_6139010e0c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

To quote Lefty's sig ... "om nom nom" :pac:

Where did you pick your black m1911A1 up from Lefty? RSOV don't have them in stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Lemming wrote: »
    To quote Lefty's sig ... "om nom nom" :pac:

Where did you pick your black m1911A1 up from Lefty? RSOV don't have them in stock

I got it from this place.

Given the quality of the new silver model, I'd be as bold to say Tercel make the best 1911a1 full metal clones.

The nearest rival bell, is a joke by comparison, you wouldn't throw it at someone once you try the tercel, great dimensions control means a proper fit of parts, and a nice casting quality. Get. In fact, I'd almost buy another grey one.

Actually, does anyone know any Irish retailers that have spare 1911 mag lips? Customs freaking broke one of mine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 RogueCheddarDyl

After reading all this good stuff about it, I ordered one. my first GBB! Should be here any day now!! Anyone who is looking for one g-military.com have them in stock. PS How are they on gas guys??

They absolutely eat gas and the mags can leak a little, but after a few fills and some silicone oil they'll be grand.

I find they are par for the course 1911 wise for gas, no worse than WE or bell.

You have to remember the mag is very slim, and they did the 25 rounds per mag rather than 15 with WE say.

You would only get better gas efficiency on a plastic 1911, or maybe a light weight aluminum slide, but I wouldn't criticise the tercel myself over any other full metal 1911 in this regard.

Mixed information there lads:D Still, I'm just so happy with the price:eek:
    As I said I'm new to GBBs, and was wondering about these: http://www.fire-support.co.uk/product-info.php?id=1996
    Anyone have any experience with them? or perhaps a new Review Request thread would yield more answers:p

With the price of propane here, you're as well off just buying airsoft green gas.

Agreed

WooHoo! My Tercel 1911 came today!:D I can't see any faults with it. Nice and weighty, and a much stronger kick than my brother's Army 1911 (Gold lol).
    feels very well put together and solid, no rattling internals.
    Thumbs Up!

Oh yeh,BTW mine chrono's at 315fps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Actually, does anyone know any Irish retailers that have spare 1911 mag lips? Customs freaking broke one of mine...

Don't know about mags leftyflip, but the bunker at Southeast Airsoft are carrying the Tercel 1911 I believe, worth a shout.

just thought id post a pic with the wood grips i bought from my brother.
    DSC00090.jpg

Thats the earlier grey model, I've been wondering if its as good as the new silver one build wise, could you give us a quick run down of build?

Maybe you have held other 1911's and know how rattly the crappy ones are, is the slide nice and tight on this one also and with good accuracy?

I'm tempted tp get another grey one with the silver as good as it is.

Thats the earlier grey model, I've been wondering if its as good as the new silver one build wise, could you give us a quick run down of build?

Maybe you have held other 1911's and know how rattly the crappy ones are, is the slide nice and tight on this one also and with good accuracy?

I'm tempted tp get another grey one with the silver as good as it is.

Both my brothers have 1911s so I've held a few, but never the silver one of the Tercel. It's as solid as a "proper" (i.e. not a clone) 1911 (not sure what make) that I've fired and a lot more solid then the Army R27 Gold 1911.

Other than that I don't know what to compare it to but the slide is as tight as.....a goth's pair of jeans i guess. lol

I'm happy with it anyway, but the hop-up is a bit all over the place until you adjust it at first, then it seems fine! as I said , 315fps on my chrono.

Hmm. the hop on mine is very good, if its built as well as the newer model I may well get one.

The hop on mine is incredible, was getting amaing range with .25s there on Sunday, made a few people go holy sh*t.

I popped off a couple of rounds into the bushes at predator and it was straight and far, impressive stuff.

I might buy another one myself actually, just because they arethat amazing.

Exactly why I might get a grey model again, my third at this stage, nothing like a replica you like and which you can get practical use out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Mervenut

<snip>
    Didn't read the full thread before posting!! Sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Renius

Did you order yours from g-military.com Rogue Cheddar? Want to get one of these but haven't dealt with g-military before and am just wondering how you found them? Cheers! Also i really like your blog Stercus Accidit! Keep up the good work!:)

Renius wrote: »
    Did you order yours from g-military.com Rogue Cheddar? Want to get one of these but haven't dealt with g-military before and am just wondering how you found them? Cheers! Also i really like your blog Stercus Accidit! Keep up the good work!:)

Yup g-military. I used speedpost EMS and it arrived within a week and a half.
    They give u a $5 voucher when you sign up, which is a little bonus :)
    They shipped it out the same evening I ordered it and e-mailed tracking numbers and receipts and all that very promptly. so yeh they were great for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Flecktarn wrote: »

Considering getting that. I've never gotten anything of that site. Is it good? Also what gas would you use in it? (I've never had a gbb)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Renius

Ordered it on tuesday night and it arrived today! Bloody good service considering it came from Hong Kong. My first 1911 and i have to say i love it. Very nice feel to it and very powerful! Highly recommend the gun especially for the price :D

Dr.Poca wrote: »
    Considering getting that. I've never gotten anything of that site. Is it good? Also what gas would you use in it? (I've never had a gbb)

I use green gas in mine no problem, 134a wouldn't have the pressure to cycle the slide.

Cheers for that. Do you know if that's a reputable site?

What site is it?

Dr.Poca wrote: »

It has been in the past for me, but I haven't bought AEGs or GBBs from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

I rather love my KJW CO2 M1911 A1, is this thing as good as it for the realism/ 'holy ****' factor? The KJW is beaut- heavy, loud, obnoxious, eats gas, kicks like a mule and downright kicks ass. Blam blam blam blam and you feel the recoil shudder down your arm, and the poor sod you just shot curses and certainly calls his hit!

Ok? We're talking about the Tercel though... Also, necro thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

Ah did not notice the dates- my mobile phones display is a tad FUBAR. I was asking was it as good for 'being fun to shoot'. Oh I need to re- take all my photos due to HD death in my PC.