Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Love Dublin!

• 16-08-2009 8:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

Bog off boggers I'm sick of ye slagging my town.

From the jokers in town to the slags all round, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

lol Dublin, manky and full of junkies, yeah lovely place :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

Dublin has it's problems but having lived elsewhere in Ireland and abroad i'd still choose Dublin. That may change in time tho we'll see what the full impact of stephen brings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

genericguy goes back to sleep...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I thought this thread would be some what interesting. Disappointing OP, disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

From the jokers in town to the slags all round, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

Fair play to you DublinMan, your kind words about our capital is a welcome change from the usual moan, groan and whine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Sounds like you havent been anywhere else op,try getting out more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I don't understand the insecurity. Why are dubs so bothered about non-dubliners not liking their city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Vasco wrote: »
    Dublin is a wonderful oasis of civilisation surrounded by by hoarding c;nts.

That looks like abuse to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Cultchies, boggers, inbreeders, anyone from beyond the pale make me sick. Dublin is a wonderful oasis of civilisation surrounded by by hoarding c;nts.
    Are you proud to be irish or proud to be just from duuublin??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Not this shyte again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Dublin's crap. You can't walk around the city centre without being confronted by a mixture of winos, crazies, scumbags and chuggers. Not to mention the utterly unattractive city centre and €2 shop mentality. I avoid the city centre as much as possible nowadays. There are plenty of European cities far better/nicer/safer than Dublin. Why tourists come here is a mystery to me, it's a deeply ugly city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Cultchies, boggers, inbreeders, anyone from beyond the pale make me sick. Dublin is a wonderful oasis of civilisation surrounded by by hoarding c;nts.

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's nice to be proud of where you're from:cool:, a place only seems crappy when a person from there is ashamed of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The most annoying thing about Dublin is seeing how easily it could be so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

humbert wrote: »
    The most annoying thing about Dublin is seeing how easily it could be so much better.

Everywhere could be better, or worse.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

STFU!

I'd like to call you names but i'll get bannd for calling someone a fúckwit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Confab wrote: »
    Dublin's crap. You can't walk around the city centre without being confronted by a mixture of winos, crazies, scumbags and chuggers. Not to mention the utterly unattractive city centre and €2 shop mentality. I avoid the city centre as much as possible nowadays. There are plenty of European cities far better/nicer/safer than Dublin. Why tourists come here is a mystery to me, it's a deeply ugly city.

i wouldn't call dublin crap, far from it, to answer your question tourists come to dublin to sample the nightlife and the irish pub culture is second to none having travelled the world, in madrid they try and copy it, in NYC they try and copy it

yes i agree dublin isn't the nicest city to look at, parts of it are disgusting and really dublin corporation should look at themselves in the mirror, when you visit a city about the same size as dublin ie oslo and see how clean that place is it makes dublin look so much worse, there is no reason why all of dublin city centre can't look like victorian dublin which seems to be manicured each night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

I'm a 'bogger' and I quite like Dublin. I like it a bit less every time someone like you comes on boards though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Its overpriced, overcrowded and its impossible to get a taxi on a night out. Roads are a disaster and there is junkies all around the city centres. Its also ugly and recently has lost the charm of the people. As a city I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The best thing about Dublin are some of the people, you do meet some gems but of late that has changed as people become more money obsessive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Live somewhere else then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Tobyglen wrote: »
    Its overpriced, overcrowded and its impossible to get a taxi on a night out. Roads are a disaster and there is junkies all around the city centres. Its also ugly and recently has lost the charm of the people. As a city I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Name a single city in the world where there are no Junkies

orourkeda wrote: »
    More than most in Dublin. Just back from Valencia and seen none! Not too many in Munich either. Also hardly any in Galway or Cork. What about the other parts of the arguements!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It seems that the education system in Dublin is broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

EVERYWHERE SUCKS/IS GREAT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

That is all nonsense.
    Although if you think its ugly, that is your opinion and you are entitled.
    I used to think it was but then I got to see a bit more of it.
    And its not.
    Some lovely little areas tucked around the place.
    I have to say it has grown on me in a big way in the last year or two.

There are literally winos crazies and scumbags in every city in every bloody city in the developed world.
    There are chuggers everywhere too.

Very few decent pubs in the city centre though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Vatican City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Thread title should be changed to I Love Town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Vatican City?
    Take it you have never been there so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'm a 'bogger' and I quite like Dublin. I like it a bit less every time someone like you comes on boards though.

And Im from Dublin, but love the 'bogs'. You dont want to listen to shyte like the original post. Every county has their good 'uns and their bad 'uns. If you hadnt posted the above, I wouldnt have posted seriously in this thread. What a load of shit-stirring childish crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

More than most in Dublin. Just back from Valencia and seen hardly any! Not too many in Munich either. Also not too many in Galway or Cork. What about the other parts of the arguements!

total bull****. there everywhere just alot more noticable in dublin with there strung out accent.

no other city in ireland can match dublin, galways a knacker town for a night out one of the only places that search you going into a nightclub.cork is full of [EMAIL="w@nkers"]w@nkers[/EMAIL].

a lot of mulla's have a big chip on their shoulder when it comes to dublin.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    That is all nonsense.
    Although if you think its ugly, that is your opinion and you are entitled.
    I used to think it was but then I got to see a bit more of it.
    And its not.
    Some lovely little areas tucked around the place.
    I have to say it has grown on me in a big way in the last year or two.

There are literally winos crazies and scumbags in every city in every bloody city in the developed world.
    There are chuggers everywhere too.

Very few decent pubs in the city centre though......
    Dublin is an awfully ugly city compared to its European counterparts. Look at other capital cities, Edinburgh, Paris, Madrid, Rome, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Prague, Stockholm, London, Berlin etc. Dublin is one of the ugliest cities in Europe and wouldn't compare favourably to any of those cities. Full of apartment blocks and very little planning. Then they stick a massive spike in the middle:confused: As I said earlier the best thing about Dublin are the people you meet there but that goes for many cities in Ireland.

major bill wrote: »
    total bull****. there everywhere just alot more noticable in dublin with there strung out accent.

no other city in ireland can match dublin, galways a knacker town for a night out one of the only places that search you going into a nightclub.cork is full of w@nkers.

a lot of mulla's have a big chip on their shoulder when it comes to dublin.
    Couldn't be arsed having an arguement with a strung out coke head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dublin can be an ok place I guess but the amount of jackeens posting about it in AH is pissing me off. Keep it in your own forum ffs, I don't give a **** about your town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

I also love Dublin, but only because it is my home. I prefer Paris, a city I've only been to once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Couldn't be arsed having an arguement with a strung out coke head.

oh yea cause i forgot were all strung out arseholes that love sticking coke up our noses,robbing cars,beating up culchies and just been scumbags in general:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Magnus wrote: »
    Dublin can be an ok place I guess but the amount of jackeens posting about it in AH is pissing me off. Keep it in your own forum ffs, I don't give a **** about your town.

I hate being called a jackeen.

This thread is a trainwreck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Well my da said that your town is crap and that Dublin is great and your da is gay so that means my da could totally take your da.

I really hope people over the age of 16 are not posting in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Do you know what, get rid of the blinkers and you'll be grand! That's the truth, Dublin is a city full of junkies and scum, then that's all you're going to see that. If you think Dublin is the best place since sliced bread, then you're deluded. It's far from any utopia or ghetto, Dublin is what it is, like all cities. It's got positives and negatives, but to be fair I'm from the 'bog' and I would actually feel safer going out and drinking in Dublin etc... in spite of all the bad aspects of the city. Seriously, just stick to the nice areas and you're alright unless you want to see junkies and scum, you should be okay. I could say the same thing about London, if you go out in London, it's the same, South Kensington, Richmond nice places, Peckham, Lewisham, Mile End, Stepney Green, Bow etc... awful shit holes. You see what you want to see, and this is applicable to nearly every other city in the world. The thing is though, Ireland isn't that nice of a country to begin with, so don't be surprised to see a lot more of the shit, God awful aspects of Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway and all of the crappy towns and villages in between becoming more pronounced over the next few years.

Aside from this, this thread is pointless and stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I'm from the schticks, boyyyyy. But I live in Dublin, I've never really had a bad experience in Dublin. There was that one time when a knacker tried to rob **** out of my housemate's car, but that's it really.

I prefer it to the sticks because where I live, there's bugger all to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

CHD wrote: »
    lol Dublin, manky and full of junkies, yeah lovely place :rolleyes:
    Totally agree. And i live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

If you compare Dublin to other European capitals it isn't great tbh. In comparison with the likes of London, Berlin and Amsterdam it's really disappointing.
    The infrastructure isn't great. Traffic is a nightmare. There are no cycle paths and the city is not pedestrian friendly whatsoever.
    Everything is so expensive.
    The airport is a mess. The nightlife is okay.
    Theatre and the arts are not promoted or funded enough for a city of its scale.
    I will say that it's a great sporting city though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It has changed a lot and I dont live there now but Dublins my home city ,were I was born raised and grew up .
    It has all my memories , good and bad , so in that respect I love it .

I always make the most of my trips over so from that perspective appriciate it more to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I love being in Dublin - was born and grew up here, and though I've travelled the world there's really nowhere else I'd want to live. One of my favourite things to do when I get home from a long trip away is to just wander around town for a few hours soaking it all in again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭NullZer0

Try living in Templebar.
    Its a nightmare.

I would say Dublin is the worst City I have lived in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't know where people are going with Dublin looks ugly, any time I've been passing through it lately I have to say it's come on allot and looks quite impressive. Driving in Dublin is a nightmare though.
    Vatican city.
    major bill wrote: »
    no other city in ireland can match dublin, galways a knacker town for a night out one of the only places that search you going into a nightclub.cork is full of [EMAIL="w@nkers"]w@nkers[/EMAIL].
    It was probably your Dublin accent that got you searched. I've never been searched or even seen anyone being searched going into a nightclub or pub in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

blondie83 wrote: »
    I love being in Dublin - was born and grew up here, and though I've travelled the world there's really nowhere else I'd want to live. One of my favourite things to do when I get home from a long trip away is to just wander around town for a few hours soaking it all in again.
    That's what I love to do when I am over and after a hr or two , like a hand in a glove , you feel at home .:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Drunk at 9.43 in the morning? A night on the powder id say.

typical dub....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

barakus wrote: »

typical dub....
    ........sniff.........

Wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

barakus wrote: »

typical dub....

quite true!

We dubs love crack. I'm absolutely cuckoo for crack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

quite true!

We dubs love crack. I'm absolutely cuckoo for crack!