Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The possitive bant!

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭edward543350

OO wot a nite body is in bits double gin and west coast what was i thinking:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Where are people hitting tonight so? Any hassle from the auld biddies in Templars yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭neilk32

Where are people hitting tonight so? Any hassle from the auld biddies in Templars yet?

8pm music at a reasonable level neighbour comes out from doing his gardening shovel in hand and asks it to be turned down lol8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Sparkles:)

was at a wee party wednesday and the SU and neighbourhood watch just told us that if we're gonna smoke to do it out the back of the house, but my friends were sitting on the grass outside there place yesterday about 4 and the SU told them that they were intemadating the children and that they can't ssit on their front lawn, that they were a burden to the actual residents...

Like, omg, they pay rent, they werent even playing music there was six 20 year old girls lying on the grass and reading Look! and 2 lads pukin a about but tis all!

Sparklesxxxxxxxxxxxxx

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Seems people were booted out yesterday. Saw a good chunk of party folk, who seemed fairly drunk, being escorted out of the estate and watched as they went off into the distance.

Can understand though - its not a student estate, its also used by parents with their children so should be respected as such.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Over a week in and we have two suspected cases of swine flu! Dont forget to wash your hands and the awl "Catch it, Bin it, Kill it"!

"catch it, Kill it, bin in"

catch it? thought we were avoiding that

my advice to people would be to get it, and get over and done with it before exams you wont get it a second time so when theres a real epidemic hello hospital jobs!!! =D

(of course i am not a doctor and in no way admit liablity)

Sparkles xxxxxxxxx

Catch it, kill it, bin it

Sounds like a daft punk tune

Lads, two old women going around handing out a "free newspaper" which is full of anti-europe stuff. Dont get involved in any form of debate and just inform Estates/Security. There complete nut jobs. One kept hitting me on the shoulder today when I discussed it with her while others have been verbally abused by the same people. They were removed from campus twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Sully wrote: »
    Lads, two old women going around handing out a "free newspaper" which is full of anti-europe stuff. Dont get involved in any form of debate and just inform Estates/Security. There complete nut jobs. One kept hitting me on the shoulder today when I discussed it with her while others have been verbally abused by the same people. They were removed from campus twice.

My mate and I went up to the college to do some work this evening and met these two women in the carpark they gave us a paper each and asked us to read it and let us leave to our desination. They didn't bother us in the slightest and were very friendly overall, we both agree on this. I think maybe some topics in particular they were discussing such as promoting a no vote on lisbon may have offended a few people who are yes predominately but it is their freedom to promote a no vote this way as there are yes campaigners wearing horrible yes teeshirts in bright yellow around campus. Why aren't these people asked to wear alternative attire. Don't see the harm in them to be honest, bit whacky but nice. Both women are elderly one in particular and i certainly couldnt imagine them verbally abusing anyone. On the flip side there was some interesting articles in the paper for those who chose to read it.

stick-dan wrote: »
    My mate and I went up to the college to do some work this evening and met these two women in the carpark they gave us a paper each and asked us to read it and let us leave to our desination. They didn't bother us in the slightest and were very friendly overall, we both agree on this. I think maybe some topics in particular they were discussing such as promoting a no vote on lisbon may have offended a few people who are yes predominately but it is their freedom to promote a no vote this way as there are yes campaigners wearing horrible yes teeshirts in bright yellow around campus. Why aren't these people asked to wear alternative attire. Don't see the harm in them to be honest, bit whacky but nice. Both women are elderly one in particular and i certainly couldnt imagine them verbally abusing anyone. On the flip side there was some interesting articles in the paper for those who chose to read it.

That paper was full of nonsense. A few things;
    - The CIA does not run the EU,
    - De Valera did not warn us about the EU,
    - You will not be conscripted into the army,
    - The Irish Constitution is not removed or rendered useless,
    - The min. wage has nothing to do with Lisbon (she effectively admitted this),
    - It is not impartial,
    - It is heavily against anything Europe,
    - The organisation has voted no to every Europen Treaty to-date, since launched.

I know you are very against Lisbon and the whole EU over being asked to vote twice, but I would have hoped you were smart enough not to believe the rubbish they say about the EU. Whatever about Lisbon, the last thing we need is people being turning against the EU. We have this type of crap every treaty anyway.

They were in the college yesterday, according to some of the WIT Staff and a few students I spoke to after, and were verbally abusive when asked to leave.

Today, they came up to me very nice and friendly, presenting it as a general newspaper and when quizzed said it was an unbiased paper on Lisbon. She quoted several areas (above) in regards to why you should vote no. When I pointed out she was wrong and discussed it, the eldest lady in the group got very loud and physically hit me several times into my shoulder while shouting at me, cutting across me in my conversation with the other lady. All this in front of a lot of students (classes ending). The other lady never raised her voice and was fairly civil in her discussions. If anything, it turned to a bit of banter towards us and the other lady backed off. I believe they were moved on, again, by security. I'm sure those who witnessed the event will realise just how cracked up these people can be.

At the end of the day - it happened. I am not suggesting people dont take the paper. Lots of folk did, had a chuckle and put it away. I assume most people will dismis it as nonsense as generally most people are pro Europe, see the benefits and are just concerned about the impact Lisbon will have thanks to the way the No side have made stuff up (Army, Abortion, Min. Wage, Constitution etc) and the poor Yes side campaign making it all about Europe and not as much about the treaty.

I have always recommended people read the summary notes out there on Lisbon (some No websites admitted having incorrect Libon Treaty quotes eg. Socialist Party) or the treaty itself if your up for it. Compare what you read against what the No side have said (Min Wage, Charter of Rights and EU Commissioner being the best examples) and make a call on that.

Voting "No" for the sake of it, as a method to piss of the government (Sinn Fein launched a new poster suggesting people vote No as an act against FF) or because you were asked to vote again because you didnt understand and said no the first time - is stupid. You should only vote on the facts and your opinion on those facts. Nothing else.

Head along to the Lisbon Talk on Tuesday at 7.30 in the Auditorium if you like, listen to what is said and question Sean Kelly about your concerns or whatever.

That paper was full of nonsense. A few things;
    - The CIA does not run the EU,
    - De Valera did not warn us about the EU,
    - You will not be conscripted into the army,
    - The Irish Constitution is not removed or rendered useless,
    - The min. wage has nothing to do with Lisbon (she effectively admitted this),
    - It is not impartial,
    - It is heavily against anything Europe,
    - The organisation has voted no to every Europen Treaty to-date, since launched.

I know you are very against Lisbon and the whole EU over being asked to vote twice, but I would have hoped you were smart enough not to believe the rubbish they say about the EU. Whatever about Lisbon, the last thing we need is people being turning against the EU. We have this type of crap every treaty anyway.

They were in the college yesterday, according to some of the WIT Staff and a few students I spoke to after, and were verbally abusive when asked to leave.

Today, they came up to me very nice and friendly, presenting it as a general newspaper and when quizzed said it was an unbiased paper on Lisbon. She quoted several areas (above) in regards to why you should vote no. When I pointed out she was wrong and discussed it, the eldest lady in the group got very loud and physically hit me several times into my shoulder while shouting at me, cutting across me in my conversation with the other lady. All this in front of a lot of students (classes ending). The other lady never raised her voice and was fairly civil in her discussions. If anything, it turned to a bit of banter towards us and the other lady backed off. I believe they were moved on, again, by security. I'm sure those who witnessed the event will realise just how cracked up these people can be.

At the end of the day - it happened. I am not suggesting people dont take the paper. Lots of folk did, had a chuckle and put it away. I assume most people will dismis it as nonsense as generally most people are pro Europe, see the benefits and are just concerned about the impact Lisbon will have thanks to the way the No side have made stuff up (Army, Abortion, Min. Wage, Constitution etc) and the poor Yes side campaign making it all about Europe and not as much about the treaty.

I have always recommended people read the summary notes out there on Lisbon (some No websites admitted having incorrect Libon Treaty quotes eg. Socialist Party) or the treaty itself if your up for it. Compare what you read against what the No side have said (Min Wage, Charter of Rights and EU Commissioner being the best examples) and make a call on that.

Voting "No" for the sake of it, as a method to piss of the government (Sinn Fein launched a new poster suggesting people vote No as an act against FF) or because you were asked to vote again because you didnt understand and said no the first time - is stupid. You should only vote on the facts and your opinion on those facts. Nothing else.

Head along to the Lisbon Talk on Tuesday at 7.30 in the Auditorium if you like, listen to what is said and question Sean Kelly about your concerns or whatever.

em i knew you'd rise to the bait, i didn't even read the paper:P:D

i love this banter thread.hehe

Dont lie Jordan! I called in last night and Stevy told me you read it (especially the conspiracy theory article on swine flu)! You cant hide from your shame that easily boio!

Fecking no siders, nut jobs the lot of em!

Dont lie Jordan! I called in last night and Stevy told me you read it (especially the conspiracy theory article on swine flu)! You cant hide from your shame that easily boio!

Fecking no siders, nut jobs the lot of em!

lol he'd also be able to tell you that the first thing i said when i got the paper was that this would piss kev off :)

wait wait wait, the cia doesn't run europe...

i am both shocked and appauled...

Sparklesxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

Sparkles:) wrote: »
    wait wait wait, the cia doesn't run europe...

i am both shocked and appauled...

Sparklesxx

The greatest trick the devil ever played was convincing the world he didn't exist ;)

Touché :P:P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

The greatest trick the devil ever played was convincing the world he didn't exist wink.gif

he does exist...nowadays they just call him socialisim..mwahah:D
    When I pointed out she was wrong and discussed it, the eldest lady in the group got very loud and physically hit me several times into my shoulder while shouting at me, cutting across me in my conversation

Ha they would have loved to bump into me so...:p I think Mr.O'Leary sums up perfectly 4min 15sec into this clip why we should all be voting yes this time:pac:

http://www.ryanair.com/site/IE/news.php?yr=09&month=aug&story=gen-en-250809

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

Here's to WIT i love you:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

So, is Keith Barry cancelled tomorrow?

I only bought my ticket today, but heard a few rumours that it might be off.

I asked in the SU office this morning and was told it was going ahead. Ill ask again tommrow and see any updates. I assumed he would cancel with his grandad being very ill in hospital, but maybe not.

Keiths grandfather died today. So, it may not go ahead.

RIP.

What was the conspiracy theory on swine flu about?

?

Btw, Keith is cancelled. Contact SU for refund information. Being re-organised for November.

hows everyones freshers week?

and cause im sure ye havent heard anyone said it today...

to martha!!!