Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it Halfords fault?

• 12-08-2009 9:40am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭

Should we blame Halfords for the increase in the boy-racer culture in this country??
    If anything they seem to promote it.

Anytime i go in there, theres nearly always a gang of them inside drooling over the chrome exhausts on display, and another gang near the entrance showing off their supped up starlet:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I don't think they pre-dated the modding scene, they just reacted to an opening in the market. And there's a difference between boy racers and people who mod their cars (though there's obviously an overlap).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

No, but I'd blame them anyway:D

But just because they take a bit of pride in their car doesn't automatically mean they are a menace. To be honest I've seen more souped up cars driven carefully and within the law than driven badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Blame England, isn't that were the boyracer thing started? Then it slowly crept over to Dublin with the help of Pimp My Ride UK and from there to the midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

philstar wrote: »
    Should we blame Halfords for the increase in the boy-racer culture in this country??

Anytime i go in there, theres nearly always a gang of them inside drooling over the chrome exhausts on display, and another gang near the entrance showing off their supped up starlet:rolleyes:

Your saying they(a business) are at fault for try to make money off of a lucrative market ???

the mind boggles, last time I checked:

business make profit != illegal.

They'd be Boy racers with of without the existence of Halfords , Halfords are just in the right place and right time to make money from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Magnus wrote: »
    Blame England, isn't that were the boyracer thing started? Then it slowly crept over to Dublin with the help of Pimp My Ride UK and from there to the midlands.

I blame Henry Ford, isn't that where the car thing started?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

JustinOval wrote: »
    I blame Henry Ford, isn't that where the car thing started?

No, it was them cavemen tinkering with the idea of the wheel, bloody neanderthal racers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Alot of mod stuff in halfords has little labels stating that their not suitable for road use....particulary led bulbs and typical stuff like that. They have to protect themselves incase some young lad comes back and blames halfords for selling it to them in the first place
    after a garda gives them stick over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

I blame Donegal :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Pimp my Ride has a lot to answer for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Magnus wrote: »

Yea, because guys never modified or raced their cars in Detroit about 40-50 years ago....

If you want to blame someone, blame max power!

steve06 wrote: »
    If you want to blame someone, blame max power!

maxpower_home.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Anytime i go in there

pot, kettle, me thinks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

Your right - and Pennys and JJB Sports are at fault for bringing the "chav" culture over to our scumbags........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Halford's like any businesses identified a gap market and filled it to some extent. Some people might see that as good business sense. Also they don't just sell modified products btw.

What next? Blame McDonald's for being obese or Heineken for being an alcoholic? Nobody puts a gun to your head and makes you buy these products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 StuartC

Fair play to em, its a business and they are reaping the market who want souped up motors. Sh*t looking things though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭andr3w103

dont blame halfords...blame gob****es who think there class drivers with class cars ...... d power of ownin a car goes 2 dere head .......d ba5tards have insurance 4 young males twice as much as for females .... .4000 for a clio 2 for a girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Yes, it's Halfords fault

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I run a modified car website and the vast majority of car enthusiasts wouldn’t be putting a halford backbox on their car let me tell you that....

Anything bought in halfords bar, tools, batteries, manuals, paint, head units. is all boyracer tat.

To be honest anyway, you'd want your head examined for buying anything in there unless you were stuck after the motor factors close; they are nicknamed "halfrauds" for a reason. They are too over priced.

Would like to point out though that modifying culture predated max power, pimp my ride, and all that other crap anyway so they all jumped on the bandwagon.

if your looking for somewhere to point the finger, blame the celtic tiger and blame irresponsible parents for buying their kids cars and then letting them tart up the car like idiots.

Real enthusiasts spend mega money on importing parts from Japan from sites like RHDjapan and Nengun or auctions etc or getting real custom parts from the likes of Irmsher for the euro models etc.

The vast majority of Irish people are small minded bigots who just like to rant about something and the flavour of the month (for the last few years) is modified car owners. The real idiots are few and far between amongst us; unfortunately they are the ones with the loud exhausts and idiotic behaviour and thus get noticed more.

In any case, I do massive mileage up and down the country and middle aged men and women with 5 kids in a jeep tend to act more irresponsibly on the road, indicators and the concept of using a mobile phone while driving are foreign concepts to them. Id rather listen to a cheap halfords exhaust then be wrote off by a 50 year old merc driver talking to his clients about slippers and brown envelopes.

andr3w103 wrote: »
    dont blame halfords...blame gob****es who think there class drivers with class cars ...... d power of ownin a car goes 2 dere head .......d ba5tards have insurance 4 young males twice as much as for females .... .4000 for a clio 2 for a girl

Less of the txtspk please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Halfords stuff is absolute over priced dirt, you'd have to be clueless to buy your shi'te chrome license plate surround from them anyway...

i agree motor factors ar way cheaper and better ... but most the boy racers i no and see have spent thousands (not from halfords) on there sh1theaps and its retarded and somtimes they get there hands on exellent modern classics and absoulutly destroy them .... ive seen too many bmw 325s with huge spiolers and ridiculus fukin m badges THEY ARENT M3'S ....and twincams they love raping them....along with other cars ........and galanzas ar pieces of sh1te..........and car enthusiasts dont ruin their cars with aftermarket parts from japan

eoin wrote: »
    Less of the txtspk please.

whats txtspk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

cronin_j wrote: »

unfortunately they are the ones with the loud exhausts and idiotic behaviour and thus get noticed more.

yes, and they're on the increase..i call them...

The Black Bonnet Brigade

whats txtspk?

Text speak.

cronin_j wrote: »

In any case, I do massive mileage up and down the country and middle aged men and women with 5 kids in a jeep tend to act more irresponsibly on the road, indicators and the concept of using a mobile phone while driving are foreign concepts to them. Id rather listen to a cheap halfords exhaust then be wrote off by a 50 year old merc driver talking to his clients about slippers and brown envelopes.

boy racers/modified car owners are some of the worst drivers on the road its them bast'ards fault ill have to pay 4000 to insure my car wen a girl of the same age will have 2 pay 2000...and yes there are rich docters and soliciters and such that buy stupid suvs or mercs cas there show off snobs......and boy racers are show offs aswell

eoin wrote: »
    Text speak.
    so ur tellin me not 2 reply so much??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

no he's saying type your instead of ur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

We don't expect perfect spelling here, but please make a bit of an effort - your posts so far have been quite hard to read.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

i agree motor factors ar way cheaper and better ... but most the boy racers i no and see have spent thousands (not from halfords) on there sh1theaps and its retarded and somtimes they get there hands on exellent modern classics and absoulutly destroy them .... ive seen too many bmw 325s with huge spiolers and ridiculus fukin m badges THEY ARENT M3'S ....and twincams they love raping them....along with other cars ........and galanzas ar pieces of sh1te..........and car enthusiasts dont ruin their cars with aftermarket parts from japan

you do know that M badges are for non m cars too, like M-Sport vesrions. are you sure it was M3 badges they were putting on?

boy racers/modified car owners are some of the worst drivers on the road its them bast'ards fault ill have to pay 4000 to insure my car wen a girl of the same age will have 2 pay 2000...and yes there are rich docters and soliciters and such that buy stupid suvs or mercs cas there show off snobs......and boy racers are show offs aswell

are you sure you were quoted 4k for clio insurance? i havent heard of anybody paying that much for such a small car in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

I think he's telling you to at least finish school and learn to type and spell before coming on here.

TTYL m8 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

That has nothing to do with boy racers. In any case if your goin to continue to rant about your insurance in such an off topic fashion please leave this thread and start one in the ranting and raving forum.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

There was no car modding in this country until this came along
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=603 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

It was actually Ripspeed who supplied all the aftermarket goodies, Halfords bought them out - think you'll still see Ripspeed branding in parts of the stores.

Halfords do some great deals - especially the 3 for 2 offers on cleaning goods, and some of their tools are excellent. The main fault is that some of the staff aren't exactly a wealth of motoring knowledge, but some of them are fine and helpful.

They've had a great impact as far as I'm concerned - and I'm beyond being a boy racer at this stage. Almost no motor factors opened past 12 on a Saturday for years, and forget about a Sunday - at least they're open 7 days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

i love halfords got me out of a hole many a time,couple of quid in the difference but where will u find a factors open on sat evening or sun? and no i don't work there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

If anything they seem to promote it.

Thats like saying that the Premiership teams are too blame for underage drinking,just because kids see the likes of Steven Gerrard wearing a jersey with Carlsberg on it doesnt mean he going to go and get himself a Carlsberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Thats like saying that the Premiership teams are too blame for underage drinking,just because kids see the likes of Steven Gerrard wearing a jersey with Carlsberg on it doesnt mean he going to go and get himself a Carlsberg.
    yea, or formula1 teams were to blame for smoking! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

steve06 wrote: »
    yea, or formula1 teams were to blame for smoking! :D
    next we'll be blamimg our Lord for nudity because he was wearing for little up on the cross.:D

Ah come on so and we'll get a gang together and go down there to protest. Try and get the RSA involved too. Auntie Gaybo will have a field day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

father-ted-careful-now-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

kbannon wrote: »
    There was no car modding in this country until this came along
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=603 :D

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

boy racers/modified car owners are some of the worst drivers on the road its them bast'ards fault ill have to pay 4000 to insure my car wen a girl of the same age will have 2 pay 2000...

That doesn't quite tie in with what you said in this thread here...
    ANDR3W103 wrote:
    .....im 14 and ive driven on the road many times and im a better driver than alot of people i know with a licence.....

bazz26 wrote: »
    father-ted-careful-now-001.jpg

Was waiting for that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Fey! wrote: »

owned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Halfords/Ripspeed paid my wages for quite a while :P Thankfully I just worked with Sat-Navs most of the days though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

stalloned5nf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

This made me larf, very accurate!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

made my day :D

and dat doesnt tie in why?

IN 3 YEARS I WILL U ****ING DOWNSYNDROME, HENCE ME WRITING I'LL AS IN I WILL HAVE TO IN THE FUTURE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Not really though