Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squat Pain ?

• 10-08-2009 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭

So I finally added weighted squats to my gym routine yesterday. I just did 3 sets of 10 reps, good technique, and squatting low, with some light weights.

Today, the stiffness and pain in my outer thigh abductors and quadriceps is something else. Seriously, I can barely walk. I train hard these days and often get aches and pains but this is a new level of pain. Now, it's lactic-y type pain, not injury pain, but it's extreme. My legs wobble when I walk! I have trouble getting up out of chairs or sitting down in them, and the stairs are a freaking nightmare. Yes, I have stretched. No, it hasn't helped! :)

My question is this:

Normally I exercise most days. Today it was simply impossible - I barely managed a 20 minute stroll. Typically I would be back to the gym in the morning. But, should I?

And if yes, should I squat, or avoid the squats until this pain has gone? I don't want to do myself an injury, but lately I have been making gains in the gym and I am loathe to slow down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

So I finally added weighted squats to my gym routine yesterday. I just did 3 sets of 10 reps, good technique, and squatting low, with some light weights.

Today, the stiffness and pain in my outer thigh abductors and quadriceps is something else. Seriously, I can barely walk. I train hard these days and often get aches and pains but this is a new level of pain. Now, it's lactic-y type pain, not injury pain, but it's extreme. My legs wobble when I walk! I have trouble getting up out of chairs or sitting down in them, and the stairs are a freaking nightmare. Yes, I have stretched. No, it hasn't helped! :)

My question is this:

Normally I exercise most days. Today it was simply impossible - I barely managed a 20 minute stroll. Typically I would be back to the gym in the morning. But, should I?

And if yes, should I squat, or avoid the squats until this pain has gone? I don't want to do myself an injury, but lately I have been making gains in the gym and I am loathe to slow down!

Ah welcome to the world of squats,everyone who does them has being there! You might be starting off slightly too heavy maybe? Anyways it'll pass,get yourself some epson bath salts load them in the tub and soak for a while.Then if you can bare it have a cold shower an hourish before you go to bed (might be too late tonight) & again in the morning when you get up it will help get the circulation going.This will help pump lactic acid out & other nutrients in! Other then that you'll just have to wait it out!

If you can maybe a walk or a light jog in the morning will help, again just to get the blood pumping in thee legs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Thanks for the advice, I'll have that bath tonight, and a cold shower in the morning. No, I definitely didn't start off too heavy, I only lifted 5kg! I have plenty of excess body weight to be lifting. :p

Ok, so a light jog or walk tomorrow.

But should I go back to the gym do you think? And if yes, should I squat, or avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

Thanks for the advice, I'll have that bath tonight, and a cold shower in the morning. No, I definitely didn't start off too heavy, I only lifted 5kg! I have plenty of excess body weight to be lifting. :p

Ok, so a light jog or walk tomorrow.

But should I go back to the gym do you think? And if yes, should I squat, or avoid?
    Only go back to the gym when you feel you're recovered.

And yes, you should squat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

DoireNod wrote: »

And yes, you should squat.

In the longterm you should squat. If I was in that much pain id be giving it at the very least 3 days before id do it again at a lower intensity to see how my body copes! Out of interest OP how what type of programme you following? How often & what days are you incorporating squats & other compound lifts into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

You're using muscles not previously used. Wouldn't worry about it. Will be grand after a few sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

5Kg, or the bar plus 5Kg?

I'd also advise doing sets of 5, rather than 10. Better for strength gains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

haha. I always get a chuckle when someone I know who has never done weights takes them up and then gets crippled by DOMS the following couple of days. Had a mate in work take up squats and the following day had to almost roll down a flight of stairs.

I'm not poking fun but rather commiserating. We've all been there. It'll hurt like crap for around 2-3ish days. Next session will potentially do the same but not as badly and it'll eventually get to the point where you don't get it or it's nothing that bothers you.

Take a look at starting strength (google starting strength wiki). I do the practical program on that site and have become a fanatic about it. Really really enjoying it.

It gives you a really simple 3 exercises a workout routine that is initially nice and easy and you progress in a way that brings your entire body along with it so by the time the weight starts to get serious you're ready for it. Keep at it, progress with the plan and always with the intention of lifting heavy and after about a month or two you'll regret not having started sooner.

I wasted a lot of time trying to fit the weights onto the bar, and failed. There was absolutely nobody at all to ask for advice. I didn't want to risk an injury so I used 2 x 2.5kg dumbbells with this method instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcR7E5cQB_w

Sets of 5, noted.

FÚCK, I am in PAIN today. This is not even funny. Why does nobody warn you about this pain? I am going to London tomorrow and I'm not going to be able to climb the flight of stairs to get on the damn plane.
    Burkatron wrote: »
    In the longterm you should squat. If I was in that much pain id be giving it at the very least 3 days before id do it again at a lower intensity to see how my body copes! Out of interest OP how what type of programme you following? How often & what days are you incorporating squats & other compound lifts into it?

Burkatron I am not following any particular programme. I am 26, F, unfit.

Outside the gym I typically I walk for a minimum of 30 minutes every day, and some days I do a proper hike for a couple of hours. I might get in a swim once a week also.

I've now got the gym bug and go to the gym 4 times a week (not this week though!). I go every second day typically and do a full body workout. Sometimes I go a little more often and on those days I do only cardio.

On an average day, I aim for 30 minutes of cardio, keeping my heart rate at 80-90% of its maximum. I usually do this with cycling 10km and running for 15 minutes.

(I know others advise weights first and cardio second, but I have tried both and I find I achieve significantly more on both counts with cardio first and weights second.)

Next I do a full circuit with the weights machines, lifting as heavy as I can, 3 sets on each machine with 8-10 reps, or to failure as the case may be. I know, I know, but I am a beginner. I am aware of their limitations and that they are too supportive but I do not intend to use them forever. That's why I ventured into the male-dominated free weights section to try my hand at some squats. I also do some assisted pull-ups, which I find extremely hard.

Eventually I plan to incorporate bench press, dead lifts and presses. I've been watching videos in an attempt to learn safe technique, and am starting with barely any weight at all.

Thanks for the advice folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I wasted a lot of time trying to fit the weights onto the bar, and failed. There was absolutely nobody at all to ask for advice. I didn't want to risk an injury so I used 2 x 2.5kg dumbbells with this method instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcR7E5cQB_w

Sets of 5, noted.

FÚCK, I am in PAIN today. This is not even funny. Why does nobody warn you about this pain? I am going to London tomorrow and I'm not going to be able to climb the flight of stairs to get on the damn plane.

Oh ye dumbell thrusters (haven't heard them being called dumbell press before), IMO one of the most under rated and best exercises out there and can be a serious killer.

Other then that just do some light walking today as a light bit of active recovery will help

oh and ditch the machine workouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

DoireNod wrote: »
    I would say just do not squat and probably avoid any legwork in the gym.

I still get ridiculous DOMs from squats. I have started doing more lately, but a week or so ago I did about 20 reps in a single set and they were hurting for a good 4-5days after. While with deadlifts I would not get them at all really, just got mild DOMs in my lower back, which feel good. I would be lifting more weight on the deadlifts too.

I find it hard to go up stairs but find cycling fine.

When doing warmup squats last night I felt it straining the muscle. I think I will start doing deep bodyweight squats every morning from now on, and just do them in general, like getting into the "asian squat" when going down low, which I do a bit in my job.
    248251-Cop-a-squat-1.jpg

Update: the severe pain took 4 days to go. I hobbled around London like a crippled old lady. Back to the gym tomorrow.

Good times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭shift

"the squat hits a whopping 256 muscles with just one movement".

well done on sticking to your new workout plan. I know squats are a killer, I get jelly legs every time I look at a barbell. But they are so worth doing, I would guess they are most worthwhile form or resistance training!

I think 3 sets is alot to start off on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

Not strictly-Some of the finest physiques are built on 20 rep squat sets! Pre steroid era-This was the Essential in strength training-somehow got lost along the way! I'm paraphrasing Stuart McRobert here!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Not strictly-Some of the finest physiques are built on 20 rep squat sets! Pre steroid era-This was the Essential in strength training-somehow got lost along the way! I'm paraphrasing Stuart McRobert here!;)
    totally agree - mcrobert and his books are still the best reading around. People still stealing from hardgainer mags and giving no credit where its due

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

FÚCK, I am in PAIN today. This is not even funny. Why does nobody warn you about this pain?

Cos you wouldn't do them if they did.

Just remember that you are awesome for doing them.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm in the midst of the worst quad DOMS ever right now (inside, outside, middle). I can feel ever bit of quad screaming when I try to get up / walk / sit down / climb stairs etc.

Got some odd looks today trying to hobble around with a nonchalant swagger. Almost feel over on the tube going on a bumpy part of track - legs couldn't take the pain!

531 squat day yesterday called for 6 main squat sets, 5 assistance sets... and I added 5 front squats at the end, for 16 in total.

I'm think that is way too much.... or am I just a wuss?
    Transform wrote: »
    totally agree - mcrobert and his books are still the best reading around. People still stealing from hardgainer mags and giving no credit where its due

What are these hardgainer mags you refer to? I've seen you mention them a few times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

5 rep sets are better for strength gains tho....

Hanley wrote: »
    5 rep sets are better for strength gains tho....

hmmmm the rep number isn't
    the most important factor—effort, form and progression are!You can gain strength from low medium and high reps using different weights and people will respond to these in different ways! With a Stimulating compound lift like the Squat i go high and let the body know what im up to! When cutting i avoid the high rep squats as they're fairly brutal and i havent the energy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

the most important factor—effort, form and progression are!
    Well I presume they mean with the same effort etc then 5 reps is better for strength.

But I wonder what suits the OP best, I am guessing she might favour muscle development over strength gains, perhaps not though. Of course you get muscle gain along with strength, but 10-20reps might be better for hypertrophy. She is only starting out on squats so I wonder which is more advisable, low or high reps, i.e. trying to get her form right. I have seen arguments for both, too many reps and you can get sloppy, too heavy and you might "cheat" or lose form.

Personally I prefer higher rep squats.

hmmmm the rep number isn't
    the most important factor—effort, form and progression are!You can gain strength from low medium and high reps using different weights and people will respond to these in different ways! With a Stimulating compound lift like the Squat i go high and let the body know what im up to! When cutting i avoid the high rep squats as they're fairly brutal and i havent the energy!

Hmmm….. when it comes to strength, yes it is.

This argument was done to death a while ago actually. When it comes to strength – ie your ability to move the most amount of weight possible, lower reps (3-5) will generally be better than higher (15-20).

Hmmm….. when it comes to strength, yes it is.

This argument was done to death a while ago actually. When it comes to strength – ie your ability to move the most amount of weight possible, lower reps (3-5) will generally be better than higher (15-20).

Yea its been done ta death alright! For me some Exercises differ-the squat is the Daddy for growth stimulation we all agree,so for me i let the body know i'm doin them!- 20 reps! For little muscles id apply the medium rep rule for strength yea!;)

rubadub wrote: »
    I have seen arguments for both, too many reps and you can get sloppy, too heavy and you might "cheat" or lose form.

Form shudn't be lost just cos its a high rep target! I agree with goin too heavy-, but adding slowly should help avoid the going too heavy too quickly feeling!

Primarily, what I want is for my muscles to be burning lots of calories at rest and thus increase my metabolism so that I don't gain 3lbs in a week because of a cheat meal (this has happened to me in the past). Since weight training I have had better weight losses, or no gains when over-eating a little.

So I want a better metabolism, a stronger body and lastly, some muscle tone, which I expect will be waiting for me when the fat is trimmed.

Primarily, what I want is for my muscles to be burning lots of calories at rest and thus increase my metabolism so that I don't gain 3lbs in a week because of a cheat meal (this has happened to me in the past). Since weight training I have had better weight losses, or no gains when over-eating a little.

So I want a better metabolism, a stronger body and lastly, some muscle tone, which I expect will be waiting for me when the fat is trimmed.

I would hazard a guess that the cheat meal result in weight gain cos of the bloat it caused.... Probably pretty laden down with salt?

For you to have gained 3lb you'd have to have consumed approx 10,000kcals in one sitting!!!

NBB Bohs wrote: »
    Question re squats, can someone post a vid of perfect technique. I think I can get very good depth but I did them today and I'm nearly certain I didn't do them right. Although in the shower my upper leg was going 90, couldn't stay still so maby a good sign :)

This is the least modest thing you'll ever see, but this is the prettiest looking set of squats I've ever done, and form's damn good, imo - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuQPi1g-z-g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi There

Nice squatting Hanley, but Jaysus, there is no way I would ever attempt to squat with that amount of weight off a squat rack like that :eek:

That has got to be the most bockerty, untrustworthy squat rack I have ever seen. It's like extreme squatting :D. Could they not bolt it to the floor??

Thank god for power racks.

Best Regards,

M

B-Builder wrote: »
    Hi There

Nice squatting Hanley, but Jaysus, there is no way I would ever attempt to squat with that amount of weight off a squat rack like that :eek:

That has got to be the most bockerty, untrustworthy squat rack I have ever seen. It's like extreme squatting :D. Could they not bolt it to the floor??

Thank god for power racks.

Best Regards,

M

You’re joking!!! That rack is the same one they use in the IPF world championships!! It’s pretty much the best squat rack you can get. It only wavers when you hit it hard like I do, and even then there’s a zero chance of it toppling over.

I’d rather squat out of that than a power rack any day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Have to say, I'm with B-Builder on this one, everytime I watch you squat, I'm like "Timmmmberrrrrr" in my head :pac:
    But out of curiosity, with the numbers you're lifting, why don't you use the power rack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Skull

This is the least modest thing you'll ever see, but this is the prettiest looking set of squats I've ever done, and form's damn good, imo - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuQPi1g-z-g

You could have got another two out of that, lazy lazy lazy , by the way I love that squat rack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi There
    You’re joking!!! That rack is the same one they use in the IPF world championships!! It’s pretty much the best squat rack you can get. It only wavers when you hit it hard like I do, and even then there’s a zero chance of it toppling over.

I guess I'll take your word for it.

I am a copmplete novice when it comes to lifting and have only started a compund lifting routine recently. I have seen Power lifting on TV once or twice but never paid much attention to it to be honest.

I was interested in seeing your squatting technique to gauge how good/bad my own technique is and was a little shocked to see how the rack moved. I have visions of going flying forward face first onto the ground with the weights across my shoulder :eek:

I like the fact that the power racks in the gym are

1. Bolted to the floor
    2. Don't move an inch

Best Regards,

M

Have to say, I'm with B-Builder on this one, everytime I watch you squat, I'm like "Timmmmberrrrrr" in my head :pac:
    But out of curiosity, with the numbers you're lifting, why don't you use the power rack?

The good bars and the good plates in Hercs are downstairs, the power rack’s upstairs!! I’d rather have a good bar than a power rack… Normally there’s people to spot squats but there just happened to be no one in that day so I ploughed ahead anyway.
    Skull wrote: »
    You could have got another two out of that, lazy lazy lazy , by the way I love that squat rack

Me too!! I’m definitely bringing it up to the national championships next year with me. And hahaha I know… I was on my own tho and had never been under 200kg raw so didn’t wanna push to anywhere near failure!! I’ll do it for 10 this year :p
    B-Builder wrote: »
    Hi There

I guess I'll take your word for it.

I am a copmplete novice when it comes to lifting and have only started a compund lifting routine recently. I have seen Power lifting on TV once or twice but never paid much attention to it to be honest.

I was interested in seeing your squatting technique to gauge how good/bad my own technique is and was a little shocked to see how the rack moved. I have visions of going flying forward face first onto the ground with the weights across my shoulder :eek:

I like the fact that the power racks in the gym are

1. Bolted to the floor
    2. Don't move an inch

Best Regards,

M

The rack honestly was never going anywhere… It might look shaky cos I jumped into it, but when you’re taking it out and putting it back it doesn’t move. The reason it tipped a bit on the way back in was cos I walked it in extra far to make sure I was actually there (cos there were no spotters!!). The danger of walking in extra far with a power rack is that it’ll just bounce right back off the pins cos there’s no give. So to that end the ER rack wins. That particular rack’s had well over 300kg come out of it without any trouble, the exact same rack in the IPF has had over 450kg come out of it without even the slightest hint of unsteadiness too!! It might look dodge, but there’s no rack I’d rather come out of.

The greatest think about it from a competition perspective is the ease of adjustability. It can go from accommodating a guy who’s 6.5+ foot tall with a wide grip to a 5 footer with a narrow grip in about 20 seconds. There’s even a bench that slots into it so you don’t have to change out the rack when the squats are finished. I frickin love that rack!!! 