Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back Wheel Thief

• 10-08-2009 8:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

Today I mourn my back wheel. Over the weekend, when I had gone home to Monaghan, some piece of sh!t stole it from outside my house. I had the bike locked to the railing, so they took the back wheel, including gear cogs.

Why would someone do this? is it for fun or profit?

Should I buy a new wheel online (where?) and how much will it set me back? The bike cost me about 900 2 years ago - A Trek Road Cruiser.

Has anyone seen a nice back wheel rolling around Rathmines/Ranelagh? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Probably took it out of spite the pricks. I can't really see someone trying to sell a back wheel down the pub. Have you just taken a wander about into nearby alleys etc to see if it's there? A knacker is unlikely to hang onto a useless wheel for too long. Unles he needed it for a unicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Probably took it out of spite the pricks. I can't really see someone trying to sell a back wheel down the pub. Have you just taken a wander about into nearby alleys etc to see if it's there? A knacker is unlikely to hang onto a useless wheel for too long. Unles he needed it for a unicycle.
    Probably required it to replace a wheel he had to leave locked to a fence when he took another bike around the corner - can't get home on just a front wheel, no matter how good you are at wheelies.
    How was the wheel locked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭SteamTrean

I had 2 U locks but none on either wheel. Never thought of someone stealing the wheel. Lesson learned and all that.

I'm afraid that I am now going to have to take my bike into my small flat for absolute security. This is a massive hinderence. Less space in my already tiny flat and the hassle of, every morning and evening, lugging my bike up and down stairs.

Apart from all this, I have lost some of the already scarce faith I had in humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Yes, it is important to lock the wheels all right, especially if they are quick release. Locking the back wheel through the rear triangle is actually sufficient, you do not need to lock the frame if you do this (the only way the frame could be released would be for a thief to saw through the wheel rim.) Best keep another small lock to secure the front wheel.

I am sorry for your lots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Sorry for your loss SteamTrean, there are some terrible pieces of sh!t out there and no amount of punishment is too severe. There's nothing more annoying than having your bike or a part of it stolen. I had a bike stolen from outside my house where both the wheel and frame was locked and now have to carry the bike through the house which is a real hinderence especially when raining with dirt dripping from it. I'd two previously stolen around the city but would have hoped a locked bicycle on a privately owned property would have been safe.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I use a cable through both wheels, which can be attached to the frame when not used. Clearly the thicker the cable the better (and also the heavier), but they are always susceptible to cable cutters. However most thieves are probably opportunist, and anything to deter them helps (even if it simply makes them look for another "victim")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I use these on my hack bike.

Saves carrying two locks, and gives me more locking options like just locking the front wheel if I'm in a rush, not stopping for long and can't position the bike for the normal through-rear-triangle approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

The thieves will take anything that is not nailed down and even then they will try. Every now and again they strip all the bikes at heuston station for parts.

Cycleogical have a sale on locks at the moment. They are selling the large grey Kryptonite locks with auxiliary cable, can't remember the price but it seemed reasonable at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Cycleogical have a sale on locks at the moment. They are selling the large grey Kryptonite locks with auxiliary cable, can't remember the price but it seemed reasonable at the time.

The Kryptolok? It's going for about E35. Just bought one with the auxuiliary cable.

Also bought a Fahgettaboutit, which is going for E99.

http://www.bikemag.com/gear/accessories/042506_kryptonite/index.html

It does weigh rather a lot.

Agree with blorg on the way to lock the rear wheel. The Fahgettaboutit is a good lock for locking a hybrid or road bike that way. Not sure it provides enough room to lock a mountainbike wheel; maybe it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Also bought a Fahgettaboutit, which is going for E99.
    Cheaper here, bout 93 euro ish. But more importantly they won't tell you to fcuk off. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Block (8

I'm trying to get into cycling but adding everything up it seems to cost a fortune (kinda forgot about the lock in my budget :))
    It's my second year running and the only major investment is a good pair of running shoes.

Now I'm learning how to lock bikes safely and krptonite locks in case "you know who" ever wants to steal my bike :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭crazydingo

It may seem harsh but I laugh whenever I see a bad lock job. There are so many instances of it around the city center that thieves must be having a ball!
    OP, I'm surprised that the person that sold you the bike didn't check to see that you knew how to lock it properly (presuming it was from a LBS?). It's unfortunate but at least it won't happen again.
    Lesson learned. Get rid of your quick release skewer for one that takes an allen-key instead. It won't stop it getting stolen but it may help them decide to move on over to the next idiot who hasn't locked their quick release wheels properly.

Improper locking can be quite funny

Lumen wrote: »

Saves carrying two locks, and gives me more locking options like just locking the front wheel if I'm in a rush, not stopping for long and can't position the bike for the normal through-rear-triangle approach.
    What is the seat post lock like? I'd be very interested in getting one of those. It's a bit of a chore threading a cable lock through the saddle all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Yeah, they scum will take anything. On bikes with quick release wheels I always removed the front wheel, locked it to the frame and have the chain go through each wheel, bike frame and then around whatever I'm locking it too. I'd then take the saddle with me. One evening I came back and guess what was taken, the quick release pin for the saddle ! So I had to stand all the way home that evening.

What is the seat post lock like? I'd be very interested in getting one of those. It's a bit of a chore threading a cable lock through the saddle all the time.

It looks to me like a shortened bicycle chain inside a cut down tube(to protect the frame). Not so much a lock as a deterrent/inconvenience to an opportunistic thief who just happens to spot an easily removable saddle.

It wouldn't stop anyone with a bolt cutter, chain removal tool or large hammer. Would just buy some time.

Thank you, petethedrummer, but I was thinking of the pitlock gizmos that Lumen mentioned. From what I see online, it looks like a skewer that requires a key to be released rather than an allen key.

I have both Pitlocks and Pinheads.

The Pinheads are easier to use. The Pitlocks are more secure, but possibly excessive.

I can't use the seat bolts from either because they require a seat clamp with parallel faces, and I don't have one.

Some good advice here. The video was informative and blush inducing. I am incredibly carefree when it comes to security. No more! I have to confess that, until recently, I even left my light and pump on the bike, outside, over night. By recently, I mean until my pump was *cough* stolen.

Opportunisitc human filth + Carefree gullibility = Inevitable Theft.

Now. Has anyone any advice on how I should sort out my immediate predicament (no wheel) with the least amount of expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

ask for a rear wheel on freecycle, or see if they have any 2nd hand ones in local bike shops. (there's thinkbike in Rathmines, MacDonald's in Rathgar, and a shop near the LUAS bridge in Ranelagh too)

You could go to a bike shop and ask. Unfortunately a back wheel will be costly, they are more expensive than fronts anyway and you will also need a cassette. Specifically you will need:

- wheel
    - rim tape
    - tube
    - tyre
    - cassette

As to what specifically you need that will depend on the bike, main variables would be number of speeds on the cassette and the width of the tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Just curious - even if you have the toughest, heaviest, thickest lock available on the market - are these ever picked? Or are the thieving low-lives too thick themselves for that and resort to cutting or smashing a lock?

Nothing resists a proper angle-grinder for more than a few seconds, whether it's the lock or the thing you lock it to.

It would depend on the thief:

Bolt cutters are used to get through cable locks, flimsy chains and possibly the cheaper U-Locks.

I've heard of some thieves using the bike itself as leverage to twist and force open the cheaper U-Locks.

The cheaper U-locks can also be easily forced open with car jacks and also beaten open with a sledge-hammer.

Some older round barrel locks can be opened with a bic biro.

I don't know if theft by angle grinder is that common in Dublin.

I believe the tendency with modern locks (post bic pen) is they are cut/smashed rather than picked.

It would depend on the thief:

Bolt cutters are used to get through cable locks, flimsy chains and possibly the cheaper U-Locks.

I've heard of some thieves using the bike itself as leverage to twist and force open the cheaper U-Locks.

The cheaper U-locks can also be easily forced open with car jacks and also beaten open with a sledge-hammer.

Some older round barrel locks can be opened with a bic biro.

I don't know if theft by angle grinder is that common in Dublin.

Wow...

So basically, any bike can be stolen then no matter how well you've secured it? So it's juts a matter of providing enough of a deterrent that they hopefully don't bother and move onto the next bike? Not very reassuring.

I won't get started on how I feel about these "people" and what I wish on them.

So basically, any bike can be stolen then no matter how well you've secured it?

"If they want your bike, they'll have your bike."

So basically, any bike can be stolen then no matter how well you've secured it? So it's juts a matter of providing enough of a deterrent that they hopefully don't bother and move onto the next bike? Not very reassuring.
    Basically, yes. Thankfully there are always easier pickings though. With a really nice bike it would not be a good idea to leave it locked outside for any length of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Most bike thefts must be opportunist. Theres so many badly locked up bikes, why bother with one thats locked half decently. That said if its a really nice bike, its bound to attract more serious thieves.

It's the same for any house or any car really.

I've turned into a bit of a lock nazi thanks to Hal. Had to educate a stranger on bike locking last week. He only locked his back wheel to the railing with a very cheap lock and I couldn't let it lie. He was new to city cycling and I think(hope) he appreciated the advice.

It's the same for any house or any car really.
    Indeed

190-6488.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

Oh I learnt this last night...some fecker robbed my bike by cutting the lock!! :(

Irony is that it was attached to a lamp post by the car park opp Casa Pasta...right by the Clontarf cycle path and a few mins stroll from a Clontarf garda station. It was still early evening..(we are talking between 18:00-19:00). I was gone maybe 45mins and i've left this bike all day in Connolly by the Luas Track, in town on O'Connell Street and on Sunday it was outside Ikea in Ballymun for crying out loud!!

I hope the evil fecker falls off it and shatter their legs into a million pieces and walk with a limb for the rest of their miserable existance!! (i'm normally quite peaceful...but I loved my bike!!)

Now I hope to god that Eagle Star will pay up!!

Oh I learnt this last night...some fecker robbed my bike by cutting the lock!! :(

Sorry to hear that.
    I have a Raleigh bike lock but I'm thinking of getting a NY Kryptonite lock. Will that be enough?! :confused:

Which lock were you using? Did you get the Kryptonite NY?

Sorry to hear that.

Which lock were you using? Did you get the Kryptonite NY?
    Nope, the lock I wanted only came back to CRC this week...and I was going to order it today :(

I've no idea what the lock was called...a friend gave it to me and as it was long I used it with the Raleigh lock to lock up all the wheels and the frame. It was my own fault really, I only brought the one lock with me, I wrapped the cable around the both wheels, the frame and the lampost and I stupidly figured that leaving the bike where it was it would be ok (i was going jogging and didn't want more keys than I actually needed, so glad that I hadn't brought my helmet with me cos I would have lost that two)

OK, so you used a cable lock and this got cut.

The upside is that (to my knowledge) there have been no reports here of anyone in Ireland having a u-lock cut, which would be more of a concern for everyone.

AFAIK a cheap u-lock beats the most expensive cable lock and most chains for security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

I have these too.
    They cost a bit, but you can always put them on your next bike.
    I'd love to see the face of some knacker when he spies my nice looking wheels and gets down close with a spanner....

The upside is that (to my knowledge) there have been no reports here of anyone in Ireland having a u-lock cut, which would be more of a concern for everyone.

Good to hear...

It's rate my lock time - this is pretty decent right - TreLock BS610 U Lock?

To be honest I only either have it indoors in my own / whatever house I'm in, outside the gym (safe I think...) or under ground at work. If I was leaving it around town I'd invest in extra cable locks to secure the wheels and saddles properly too.

It's rate my lock time - this is pretty decent right - TreLock BS610 U Lock?

I had one of those, but sold it with an old bike when I read this. :(

Still, it's no doubt better than a cable lock or chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭JMJR

I try to use a mix of locks, and go overkill in some situations.
    For just stopping to go into the shops I find one of these framelocks very useful- I had one on a bike as a kid but they dont seem to be available here these days:
    http://www.halfords.nl/NL/Fiets/Catalog/ProductDetail.htm?productId=607202
    then for a less secure place also a good, usually expensive chain and lock
    similar to this
    http://www.halfords.nl/NL/Fiets/Catalog/ProductDetail.htm?productId=607507
    And then also a mid range D lock.
    I also try to park it upright to a sturdy support to keep it out of the way of random car or pedestrian attack. So far Ive kept it for 20 years!
    But then my bike is an old 'MTB stylee' bike and not very sexy looking.
    BTW I have paniers permanently attached to the carrier and find that every time I park it up in the city even during business hours on a busy street that the bags will have been opened by someone presumably having a peek inside. Keeps me aware that you always have to assume that your bike is of interest to some scumbag. Very depressing though.
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 theclimber

+1 on that. Its not always the bike they want. Its the parts. If its a really good bike they will cut the frame if the lock is to difficult to break. I have seen evadince of this .

So, in total, my carelessness is going to cost me in the region of 180 bucks. Wheel, tyre, tube, Sprocket, Chain + work.

Anyone any interest in joining a vigilante group. We leave badly locked bikes down alley ways, then lie in wait for some opportunistic bike thief to come along. We then ambush him/her, opening a can of whoop ass.

Word will spread around the thieving community.. A new deterrant.. The only backlash might be that, in Dublin, badly locked bikes will become the safest bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

SteamTrean wrote: »
    Anyone any interest in joining a vigilante group. We leave badly locked bikes down alley ways, then lie in wait for some opportunistic bike thief to come along. We then ambush him/her, opening a can of whoop ass.

It's the lying in wait part that'll kill ya - the pain of knowing that your time could be much better spent out on a spin in the hills on your road bike.

So, in total, my carelessness is going to cost me in the region of 180 bucks. Wheel, tyre, tube, Sprocket, Chain + work.

Word will spread around the thieving community.. A new deterrant.. The only backlash might be that, in Dublin, badly locked bikes will become the safest bikes.
    Sure why not :D

I need to direct my annoyance at someone..instead of glaring at the cyclists cycling past me or cursing at the TV when the ads for the Tour Of Ireland comes on. Till I get a new bike (please pay up Eagle Star!!) living in Clontarf village will become a curse for the first time in 2yrs!! :(

What sort of bike do you have? Seems on the pricey side.

So while we are on the topic of bike safety, do you think that the kryptonite new york fahgettaboudit mini u-lock is overkill in dublin city and that a kryptonite evolution mini would do the job or is the fahgettaboudit definitely the one to go for?

crazydingo wrote: »
    So while we are on the topic of bike safety, do you think that the kryptonite new york fahgettaboudit mini u-lock is overkill in dublin city and that a kryptonite evolution mini would do the job or is the fahgettaboudit definitely the one to go for?

The fahgettaboudit is essentially unmountable, so you have to carry it. And it's heavy.

So you might make the decision on grounds of practiclity.

(I use fahgettaboudits and security skewers, but these are a hangover from when I was using my nice bike for everything)

The fahgettaboudit is essentially unmountable, so you have to carry it. And it's heavy.

(I use fahgettaboudits and security skewers, but these are a hangover from when I was using my nice bike for everything)
    I carry it in a pannier. I always use two panniers, so it balances the other one.

I travel a bit too encumbered for most tastes, I imagine.

I will be using my nice/only bike for everything now that I have sold my other two.
    I have a crummy cable lock (more a deterrent than anything) and an ABUS lock already, so perhaps the Evolution Mini would be good ebnough? But saying that, I can always picture the day/night where I will only be out with one lock...
    What wins? The practicality of the mini or the added security of the faghettaboudit when weighed up to the odds of someone deciding to take my bike?
    Has anyone here ever had a bike nicked in Dublin (or elsewhere) while using a Kryptonite Evolution Mini?

crazydingo wrote: »
    It all depends on where you leave your bike, the duration left unattended, the value of your bike, the inconvenience it would cause you to replace the bike or parts of the bike and the sentimental value of the bike. And also if you're prepared to haul a big lock around or leave it in a regular spot.

I use these locks
    730132.jpg997931.jpg

on this bike
    attachment.php?attachmentid=87859&stc=1&d=1250082505

Which I admit is probably overkill, as the locks are worth more than the bike. But I really don't want to lose it. I bought the locks for other reasons and I leave it in a high bike crime area, so why not use them. I bought the big chain off a guy who was fed up carrying it around, but I just tie it to the bike cos i'm not worried about paint damage to an already paint damaged bike.

There's a lovely FCR I pass most days with the front wheel unlocked. It drives me f**king nuts. I was admiring an old peugeot on Exchequer st a few weeks ago with only the frame locked. A few days later, the wheels were gone.

Kryptonite new york fahgettaboudit lock it is!
    There's a few places selling them on the internet from England for cheap-ish