Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

King of Queens

• 09-08-2009 5:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Was watching a marathon of this today, must be one of my Favouite tv shows ever:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

Was watching a marathon of this today, must be one of my Favouite tv shows ever:D

Dam! Missed this. Great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

It's a very well-written show made even better with the performances of Kevin James, Arthur Stiller and Patton Oswalt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Brilliant show! Kevin James is just awesome!

And ya definitely would!

leah_remini.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭scanlas

Best sitcom of all time...and none are even close to it considering it spans nine years of pure consistent gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Like this show but prefer two and a half men

Actually we should have a poll....Two and a half men, King of Queens, Everybody loves Raymond ect ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Surely these posts are tongue-in-cheek, KOQ is quite possibly the worst thing I've ever seen on television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

the first couple of series are good but it got strained and old towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Surely these posts are tongue-in-cheek, KOQ is quite possibly the worst thing I've ever seen on television.

You beat me to it - such an awful, awful show. That and Everybody Loves Raymond. Just sooooooooo bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Love It :)
    It Always Seems To Make Me Feel Hungry Though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I love King of Queens. Gerry Stiller is my favourite, although he plays a role very similar to that of Frank Costanza I think he's brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Excellent show, best yank comedy since Friends and early Scrubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I like it too. It's not the greatest sitcom ever but the characters are likeable and there are some very funny moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

scanlas wrote: »
    Best sitcom of all time...and none are even close to it considering it spans nine years of pure consistent gold.

You should seriously watch some more TV.

It's not even close to the best sitcom ever.

Jokes and punchlines can be seen a mile away. Two and a half men/Seinfeld, etc etc, is/was written far better. King of Queens just seems a little lazy, imo. And the main character is just annoying. He is quite the over actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Not even near the best sitcom ever, it isnt fit to lick Seinfelds boots, by the numbers american sitcom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

+1. I thought this thread was a big joke on me and everybody was in on it.
    scanlas wrote:

Are you serious? It's more like the worst sitcom of all time considering it spans nine years without a single good episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Before I say anything I HATE.. Everybody Loves Raymond, Two And A Half Men, etc etc.. HATE them with a passion. cos they all seem to be lumped into the one basket with KOQ

I think KOQ is great. Kevin James, Leah Remini, Jerry Stiller, and even Lou Ferigno.... great cast. Love the episode where they have the voice recognition software...

Jaysus lads..

People are just expressing their opinion of a show.. try not to lambast them and their opinions too much.. they are entitled to them!

FWIW, I couldn't even lump in 'King of Queens' with 'Raymond' or 'Two and a Half Men' - KoQ is light and always watchable. The same can't be said for the latter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I really fcukin hate everybody loves raymond... Maybe it's the name.

Do like two and a half men and king of queens though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Thats the trouble with forums, people (especially the negative ones) get so passionate about their TV programmes that they lose all reason and cant help themselves....deep breath everyone...;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I will put on KOQ if there is nothing else on. It can have its funny moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,819 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I can understand people saying there are better comedys (there are imo - Frasier and Seinfeld would be two i'd put above it immediately)

But, how could anyone use Two and a Half Men as an example of comedies that are better than it? It is an ok show, but no where near as good a comedy as some others - certainly not a show i'd be using as any kind of example, especially writing. It is basically just a series of jokes based on how cool Charlie is.

IMO Frasier is possibly the best sit-com of that time. Some absolutely classic stuff in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

I love the way King of Queens doesnt think it has to make sense, feels ok about leaving stories before they have been wrapped up, has no likeable characters, and doesnt contain any humour. That is my favourite bit about it. Proof that if anything is on long enough on the standard american TV channels, people will like it.

I personally think Everybody Loves Raymond is miles ahead of KOQ. Its not funny but at least its well-written with realistic characters and pleasant family viewing.

To compare either to the best of what is out there borders on the ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

I can understand people saying there are better comedys (there are imo - Frasier and Seinfeld would be two i'd put above it immediately)

But, how could anyone use Two and a Half Men as an example of comedies that are better than it? It is an ok show, but no where near as good a comedy as some others - certainly not a show i'd be using as any kind of example, especially writing. It is basically just a series of jokes based on how cool Charlie is.

I'd lump King of Queens, Two and a Half Men and Everybody Loves Raymond together cos they're all current, reasonably similar and on around the same time on comedy central.

I must say though that I had written Two and a Half Men off all along without ever watching it. But I gave it a proper watch a few months back and am hooked ever since! Not a patch on Seinfeld, Family Guy or whatever else I know, but I still get a good laugh off it. Enjoyable no-brainier tv.

King of Queens and Everybody Loves Raymond just irritate me though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

King of Queens > 2.5 men >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> ELR

I hate ELR!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

IMO Frasier is possibly the best sit-com of that time. Some absolutely classic stuff in it.

Couldn't agree more with you about Frasier - that show is THE BEST sitcom ever IMO. The writing is just brilliant! Can't really say much about the others cos never watched them - just never appealed to me plus i hate Charlie Sheehan! Watched KOQ once or twice - it's ok but nowhere NEAR Frasier! I'm trying to get a hold of the box set at the moment so i can enjoy it whenever i want!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

leahyl wrote: »
    plus i hate Charlie Sheehan!

Yeah, Charlie Sheehan looks like a right lazy b*stard.

Not trying to start a willy waving competition, but shows like Seinfeld and Curb are light years ahead of Frasier. Not that Fraiser isn't brilliant.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Not trying to start a willy waving competition, but shows like Seinfeld and Curb are light years ahead of Frasier. Not that Fraiser isn't brilliant.

Are you that guy in the Tayto ad running around the pitch? Seinfeld better than Frasier, that's the bigger laugh than anything initiated by Jerry Seinfeld (or "sign-field" if you are Pat kenny.. :P ). the last few series of Frasier were not great however, the same jokes became very overused

I do think that a lot of the american comedy shows are based around a single character, and if you dont like that character you wont like the show. Ergo, I like Kelsey Grammar --> I like Frasier, I hate Charlie Sheen (particularly his nasal tones)--> I hate Two And A Half Men, I hate Ray Romano --> I hate Everybody Loves Raymond.

Even the episode of KoQ that featured Romano (him and Kevin James are good friends) I couldnt stand. Maybe that's why Friends was so successful, cos it didn depend on you liking one main character. If you hated one, you would still watch it for the others.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Yeah, Charlie Sheehan looks like a right lazy b*stard.

Just looked this up.. LOL

the last few series of Frasier were not great however, the same jokes became very overused

Ya i agree with you there - for me the best character in Frasier was not Frasier (although he was excellent) but Niles - absolutely HILARIOUS! David Hyde Pierce won countless Emmys for that character and it was Niles infatuation with Daphne that was the funniest storyline in the show (and just him as a character in general) He was just class! But as soon as Daphne and Niles got together it did get a bit less funny - there were still however some classic episodes even after that point:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

David Hyde Pearce for Frasier won as many Emmies as Brad Garrett for Everybody Loves Raymond.

Not sure emmies are a sound judgment as to comedy quality.

Morgans wrote: »
    David Hyde Pearce for Frasier won as many Emmies as Brad Garrett for Everybody Loves Raymond.

Not sure emmies are a sound judgment as to comedy quality.

I think you'll find that I at no point said that because he won a lot of emmys meant that Frasier is a better comedy than any of the others - i was merely stating a fact - he is a great actor and he won a lot of awards because he is a great actor - is that ok??:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:mad: I cant believe people saying KOQ is bad, its one of the best tv shows ever, some people just dont have taste if they think two and a half men is good:D its nothing but a load of crap about some echotestical ass hole called charlie. Everybody loves raymond? please that is so manufactured, if you guys want to see real class ye cant beat carrie and doug and Arthur is just about the best tv charcter ever, thats why KOQ had 9 seasons becauuse people loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭niallo76

king of queens is a great programme,not as good as seinfeld or frasier,but nevertheless just funny-and gerry stiller and the great Patton Oswalt too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Two and a half men is brilliant! Charlie is by no means the star of the show though. His mother and Alan are. V. funny stuff. I miss fraiser and seinfeld though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Brilliant show! Kevin James is just awesome!

And ya definitely would!

leah_remini.jpg

the only reason to watch it, even if she is a scientologist.

...and not everyone loves raymond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Allison91

I really love King of Queens have a huge crush on Kevin James because of it,
    never liked Two and a Half men probably because I can't stand Charlie Sheen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Always reminds me of a frog for some reason.

Great show though

I love the way that Kevin James has no problem be self deprecating, something that isnt as common in American humour more so in Irish humour I would have thought. Like the episode where Carrie was playing host to the Japanese business visitors. When the head of the Japanese delegation met Doug, he noticed his size and said "aahhhhhhh, sumo wrestler?".. Doug responds " Nahhh, just fat". .

I think he's great. Unfortunately Mall Cop wasnt so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Eamo87

Yep. She's the main reason i watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I like KOQ buts its defintely as unoriginal as Two and a Half men and everybody loves Raymond.

Its the typical dim-witted yet loveable everyman and his nagging wife scenario.

Pretty similar to just about every other US sitcom about couples/families: (The Simpsons, Love and Marriage, Everybody loves Raymond etc etc etc)

Same joke, different surnames

Verdict: Best of the current unoriginal bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Its impressive how Leah Remini turns into an absolute monster in the later seasons though. I would guess she almost doubled her starting weight at one point!

I always liked. Just a good laugh and knows its place and Kevin James is very good.

zuutroy wrote: »
    Its impressive how Leah Remini turns into an absolute monster in the later seasons though. I would guess she almost doubled her starting weight at one point!

yeah she did after she had her baby. At the wrap party for one season, Kevin James was slagging her. He said "congratulations on Leah for FINALLY losing those last few pregnancy pounds. And you know what, she gave them to me".

it is frightnening to think that Brad Garrett and David Hyde Pearce could be even considered to be in the same category and has the same number of Emmys. If I was David, I dont know whether I would have accepted it.

In the same category as who? And why would he not accept it?

Well I was kind of joking, but he was in the same category as Brad Garrett for the 56th Emmys

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

* David Hyde Pierce for playing Niles Crane on Frasier
    o Peter Boyle for playing Frank Barone on Everybody Loves Raymond
    o Brad Garrett for playing Robert Barone on Everybody Loves Raymond
    o Sean Hayes for playing Jack McFarland on Will & Grace
    o Jeffrey Tambor for playing George Bluth Sr. on Arrested Development

Hyde Pierce won that one, which was pretty good considering Frasier was really starting to take a nose dive around then.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/56th_Primetime_Emmy_Awards

Ah, now I get ya :D

oh interesting piece of trivia. Megan Mullaly (Karen in Will and Grace) tried out for the lead role in KoQ.

She tried out for Kevin James part? Suprised she didn't get it - they could be twins!

kingofkaren.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I love KOQ especially Kevin James he is very funny as is Jerry Stilller (he could teach his son Ben a thing or two about comedy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

I love this show, its so funny. Jerry Stiller cracks me up in it every time. one of the episodes where he tells the daughter that he lost her name in a poker game was gas. top comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Jerry Stiller takes KOQ from mediocre to great.

without him it wouldnt have the quality. the man is a legend.