Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spar Clonskeagh - Steve in the Deli

• 07-08-2009 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

Anyone know this guy in the deli. He has me in tears everytime I go in for a roll, hilarious. What a legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Hey Steve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I think his name is Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Jip wrote: »
    I think his name is Steve.

Think your right there and I think he works behind the deli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

Steve?

Doesn't he work in the deli?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I heard from a friend who had an uncle this time, that his full name is Steven. Which is actually an elongated version of Steve. Coincidence? I think not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

He didn't slip in that deli is short for delicatessen did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

Is Steve the bald guy ?
    Always having the craic etc with the delivery men ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

If he is bald does he still have to wear a hair net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭MonsterMob

claiva wrote: »
    Is Steve the bald guy ?
    Always having the craic etc with the delivery men ?

yeah, his latest one liner was when he announced to the whole queue "if anyone needs any advice on sex", and then pointing to one of the girls who was working with him, "she's here till half six"!

This thread delivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,735 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Does Steve deliver or do you have to go in for your roll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

I met Steve before, really nice guy. Cracks me up something terrible. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

MonsterMob wrote: »
    yeah, his latest one liner was when he announced to the whole queue "if anyone needs any advice on sex", and then pointing to one of the girls who was working with him, "she's here till half six"!

Sounds like a total wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

I know a Stephen who works in a delicatessen in Spar in Clonskeagh, don't think it's the same bloke though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭DenMan

Yeah, sounds like a d**k to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭ToTheSea:

Bullying is always funny:rolleyes:

joking btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I'm sure if I'd have been on the queue I'd have been unable to eat my chicken and stuffing roll with a little coleslaw after that line.I'd have been in stitches. Glad I wasn't there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Does he make rolls like the rest of the Spar deli staff in the country? ie does he pack it to pieces in the wrong order rendering your lunch inedible? If so, then he's not so hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Memo: I know Steve and it's not mayonnaise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

I dunno about steve,
    but i know a guy called Fred whos always doyin in the spar buying bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

WindSock wrote: »
    Does he make rolls like the rest of the Spar deli staff in the country? ie does he pack it to pieces in the wrong order rendering your lunch inedible? If so, then he's not so hot.

It all get's mixed up in your stomach anyway:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Gillo wrote: »
    It all get's mixed up in your stomach anyway:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Wow. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Nevore wrote: »
    Wow. :rolleyes:

So whats the problem with it getting messed in the roll itself????
    Christ it's food, buy it, eat it, digest it, poo it.

Find something worthy of such worry & stress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Gillo wrote: »
    So whats the problem with it getting messed in the roll itself????
    Christ it's food, buy it, eat it, digest it, poo it.

Find something worthy of such worry & stress

Thats the problem. I am paying for someone to make up the sandwich/roll/wrap for me. I would expect it to be made up properly. I have been handed wraps and rolls before that looked like nappies. When I opened the paper it was such a feckin mess that I needed to sit down at a table and eat it with a fork. It kind of defeats the purpose of a conveniant lunch. There is a skill to making up a sandwich/wrap/roll. Well it's not much of a skill, it's really more common sense which ingredients you put in first, and which amount. You don't just lob it all in and hope it stays intact.
    Now I have to stand there and direct the staff how to make my lunch so I can eat it properly. E4 to do that. Yeah I would go somewhere else if I could but Spar have taken over this feckin country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Scien wrote: »
    What kinda Roll do ya get?

A rickroll.

Oh Steve, you are the living end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

A work 'character'..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rj1SFtxRTg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

Steve is an absolute legend, i'm only in there every so often but he always remembers me and has a chat
    some of the stuff he comes out with :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

I don't visit the Spar in Clonskeagh anymore, as it is the most overpriced convenience store in Ireland.

And the rolls used to be disgusting when I used to order ones there. So Steve could lighten up on the old comedy routine, and get busy chopping some fresh tomatoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I most find this Steve and bring him to the attention of our entertainment lords in Montrose. Perhaps his witty banter can lift us from this recession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think we've all worked with somebody like this.

Mildly amusing in small doses to gullible members of the public; detested by his workmates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Used to be a bloke on the tills in tesco clearwater..thought he was great gas,altogether..making "amusing" quips about your groceries,babbling incoherently throughout every transaction to try and curry favour.
    I used to go to a till with more people to avoid him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Zatman

Sounds like a right muppet this Steve character if he said that about the girl. I suppose that attitude is accepted over that way of the city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭MonsterMob

Zatman wrote: »
    Sounds like a right muppet this Steve character if he said that about the girl. I suppose that attitude is accepted over that way of the city

in fairness it was only meant as a joke, the girl herself was laughing her head off at it too, she was winding him up as much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Ah Steve and that girl, their priceless like that! A right pair of comedians I said a right pair of comedians! Always joking, that's steve.

hate to be there when the laughing stops though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Salvelinus

Steve the deli man ate my hamster.

Steve used to be cool but i hate him because of this thread.
    Never going to spar again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 butter or mayo?

Ahh Steve, I saw this thread and had to register and leave a message. The man is a legend, makes the best roll on the southside and is an absolute gent. I went in there one day for a roll and came out a half hour later in tears with laughter. His speciality, spicey chicken, or the spicer as we call it. Delicious.

Afew of Steve's famous quotes...
    • butter or mayo on that?
    • Will I cut that in half for ya?
    • Ah jaysus, that rolls abit dry, will I throw afew peppers on that for ya?
    Same questions all the time. I went in last week and asked for a roll with abit of red onion..."Havent any red oninon chopped at the minute" he said as he disappeared. Came back 2 secs later with a red onion and a knife and cut me some for my roll....

A true gent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Afew of Steve's famous quotes...
    • butter or mayo on that?
    • Will I cut that in half for ya?

Those quotes, down in history they will go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I'm locking this foolish thread.

This guy is a member of the public people.

Not for your amusement.