Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE analyist's!

• 06-08-2009 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Im just wondering does anybody hate Joe Brolly, Pat Spillane and Marty Morissey as much as me?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

No, the panel are pretty good imo. Spillane, Brolly and O'Rourke are the usual ones for the football. I like all 3 of them. Good analysis and not afraid to get stuck in when it comes to criticising players and teams is what i want to hear anyway. A lively, articulate and funny panel. I liked Pat Spillanes comments during the Tyrone/Kildare game about some paper stating the seniors golf in Crooked Stick, USA was the sports pick of the day. "I know where i'd like to stick the crooked stick" he quipped. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Paud..... wrote: »
    Im just wondering does anybody hate Joe Brolly, Pat Spillane and Marty Morissey as much as me?:mad:

Paud, its policy at RTE to hire complete fcuking eejits (pardon my french), no matter what programme or sport is involved, and once they are in the door they have a job for life. So unfortunatly we have to pay our TV licenses to keep the Marty Morrissey's, the gerry ryans, the ryan rubridy's, the ruth scotts etc in pocket.

TBH if RTE ever hired some real talent, id say hell would freeze over that very day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

At alot of the games in Clones this year, a large banner has been held up showing a picture of an brolly with the words "is a tool" after it. Don't know if any of the lads ever mentioned it on air though. It was big enough that it could clearly be seen behind the goals, particularly at the Monaghan Armagh game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I think they are orgasmic espcailly spillane :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭The Minstrel

I was just about to do a thread about Joe Brolly. I think Spillane and O'Rourke are pretty good, but I can't stand Brolly, the whinging little wretch. Did you see the state of his sulk when Spillane cut across him after the Dublin match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

No its just you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I was just about to do a thread about Joe Brolly. I think Spillane and O'Rourke are pretty good, but I can't stand Brolly, the whinging little wretch. Did you see the state of his sulk when Spillane cut across him after the Dublin match?

That was hilarious actually, but I quite like Brolly I think hes astute, intelligent, articulate and most of all he's not afraid to speak he's mind. What would people prefer a Jamie Carragher type pundit who just trys not to offend anyone and say nothing controversial or insightfull in anyway or someone like Brolly who takes no prisoners, gives he's honest assesment and makes no aplogies for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Cyril Farrell
    Ger Canning
    Pat Spillane
    Evanne Ní Chuilinn

Dislikes
    Marty Morrissey
    Joanne Cantwell
    Martin Carney
    Joe Brolly
    Michael Duignan

The rest I'm just indifferent to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Slimity

Can't stand Brolly or Spillane. Quite like O'Rourke as he comes across like he actually knows what he's talking about and not trying to be witty or smug helps aswell.

Daysha wrote: »
    Cyril Farrell
    Ger Canning
    Pat Spillane
    Evanne Ní Chuilinn

Dislikes
    Marty Morrissey
    Joanne Cantwell
    Martin Carney
    Joe Brolly
    Michael Duignan

The rest I'm just indifferent to.

Michael Duignan is an excellent analyst, the best there is imo and I think if your honest with yourself you only dislike him over he's comments on certain Waterford players kissing their crest, fist pumping etc.

He has a great understanding of the modern game and is an excellent judge of hurling and has really impressed me, I think if I was a member of a County Board looking for a new manager you could do a lot worse than oferring Michael Duignan the job ( maybe he might take the Waterford job when Davy deserts ye cos the Clare job becomes available :p )

Michael Duignan is an excellent analyst, the best there is imo and I think if your honest with yourself you only dislike him over he's comments on certain Waterford players kissing their crest, fist pumping etc.

He has a great understanding of the modern game and is an excellent judge of hurling and has really impressed me, I think if I was a member of a County Board looking for a new manager you could do a lot worse than oferring Michael Duignan the job ( maybe he might take the Waterford job when Davy deserts ye cos the Clare job becomes available :p )

Spot on Premier, that's exactly the reason ;) Having an understanding of hurling is all well and good, but not when you can't even get the basics of fair and balanced analysis right.

Daysha wrote: »
    Spot on Premier, that's exactly the reason ;) Having an understanding of hurling is all well and good, but not when you can't even get the basics of fair and balanced analysis right.

It was a one off spur of the moment comment in fairness and in greneral he is very fair and balanced in he's analysis, and to be fair to him its an opinion shared by an awfull lot of people outside of Waterford, personally I couldnt give a sh*te what they do as it doesnt harm anyone but I know alot of people who really find it repulsive and even some suggest its a flaw and bad for the team ala Dublin footballers previous gloating ( which they have thankfully ceased)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭waterford1988

When it comes to entertainment value, Loughnane and Spillane are miles ahead.

But when it comes to the most knowledgable anaylsis, my vote is for Donal O'Grady. Listen to the man, there is no bull sh*t with him.

It was a one off spur of the moment comment in fairness and in greneral he is very fair and balanced in he's analysis, and to be fair to him its an opinion shared by an awfull lot of people outside of Waterford, personally I couldnt give a sh*te what they do as it doesnt harm anyone but I know alot of people who really find it repulsive and even some suggest its a flaw and bad for the team ala Dublin footballers previous gloating ( which they have thankfully ceased)

Meh, I don't want to get into all this again. Been discussed to death already and its the wrong topic at the wrong time.
    But when it comes to the most knowledgable anaylsis, my vote is for Donal O'Grady. Listen to the man, there is no bull sh*t with him.

Forgot about him! Great guy, always enjoyed listening to him speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I think Brolly draggs the whole thing down. He is constanly in bad form and rarely makes a succinct point.

Ger Canning is a very poor comentater to, imo. Darragh Malonley is my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Don't really care about any of them, although most are 'characters' if not necassarily great analysts. I like O'Rourke for whatever reason, O'Grady and O'Cinneide are probably the best, but really, its a difficult job to do well - summarising a lot in a few lines - and one of those guaranteed to piss off the majority of armchair managers and experts in Ireland.

I do think it should be two rather then three analysts however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Marty Morrissey is a great commentator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭david....

i dont mind joe brolly or Marty Morissey
    but i cant stand pat the rat (Pat Spillane):D

joe brolly cant stand pat spillane .for example at half time in the dublin and kerry game. pat spillane started talking in the middle of joe brolly's sentance and joe brolly just gave up talking then:D
    i hope kerry get knocked out in the next round that will quieten pat a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    I think Brolly draggs the whole thing down. He is constanly in bad form and rarely makes a succinct point.

Ger Canning is a very poor comentater to, imo. Darragh Malonley is my favourite.

agreed, Darragh Maloney is the ideal GAA commentator for me, makes the game's exciting moments even more dramatic and nearly fit to burst into laughter when things don't quite work out as the player had planned

As for analysts, I quite like Tony Davis. He usually talks a very good game of football, gives praise where it's due but points out measured criticism with footage to back it up as opposed to simply giving out for the sake of it.
    Anthony Daly was a brilliant hurling analyst when he was with RTE too, I wouldn't mind seeing him back in the studio once his Dublin tenure finishes

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Ger Canning is a terrible and cringeworthy commentator. The way he says pock (as in puck) annoys the ****e out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

bazermc wrote: »
    I think they are orgasmic espcailly spillane :D

That was a shuddering moment on Monday when Spillane was talking about orgasmic football.
    Sexual refrences+Pat Spillane is just wrong, especially when your watching the game with your dad!

My favourite commentator is Tony Davis without a doubt. His positive outlook is always refreshing. Also, I think he's fair to the 'weaker' counties, while many of the other commentators, especially Kevin McStay, dismisses them out of hand.
    I think Joe Brollys analysis is decent too but the way he scrunches up his face and squints with his glasses half way down his nose does annoy me a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    . Darragh Malonley is my favourite.

Yep, he's the best too IMO! Mostly soccer he's on for though!
    Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Marty Morrissey is a great commentator.

That mans voice annoys the hell out of me

000181a610dr.jpg
    This picture seems to be in most threads in this forum recenltly so i'll put in here too!
    wixfjord wrote: »
    The way he says pock (as in puck) annoys the ****e out of me.

That kills me too, he says it all the time too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Paud.....

Lemlin wrote: »
    At alot of the games in Clones this year, a large banner has been held up showing a picture of an brolly with the words "is a tool" after it. Don't know if any of the lads ever mentioned it on air though. It was big enough that it could clearly be seen behind the goals, particularly at the Monaghan Armagh game.
    Ya i actually saw that pretty funny!!...ha!

panda100 wrote: »
    That was a shuddering moment on Monday when Spillane was talking about orgasmic football.
    Sexual refrences+Pat Spillane is just wrong, especially when your watching the game with your dad!

My favourite commentator is Tony Davis without a doubt. His positive outlook is always refreshing. Also, I think he's fair to the 'weaker' counties, while many of the other commentators, especially Kevin McStay
    LOL on the orgasmic football from Pat Spillane! :D You're right about Tony Davis, very positive and criticises in a constructive manner, he seems to love Limerick footballers, is always full of praise for them. McStay does too, but he was a bit dismissive of Wicklow if i remember rightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭John The Bad

Marty Morrissey used to annoy me but not so much anymore and I must admit that he comes across as a nice guy which always helps. Spillane can annoy me one week and crack me up the next, same goes for Brolly. I like O'Rourke a lot and have to say the same for all the rest, football and hurling. Anthony Tohill is very good.

But the main man for me is Michael Lyster. The man makes the live broadcasts for me and he always seems to be having a ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36dmX8F7HtM

Found this video,**** quality but RTE could have avoided it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

That was hilarious actually, but I quite like Brolly I think hes astute, intelligent, articulate and most of all he's not afraid to speak he's mind. What would people prefer a Jamie Carragher type pundit who just trys not to offend anyone and say nothing controversial or insightfull in anyway or someone like Brolly who takes no prisoners, gives he's honest assesment and makes no aplogies for it?

I could be wrong here but has Jamie Carragher ever been a pundit? I'm not sure people could understand what he'd be saying if he was. Jamie Redknapp on the other hand...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

plurals don't require apostrophes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Are they paid by the word?

All the hurling panel keep interupting each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

plurals don't require apostrophes.

What a wonderful contribution :rolleyes: You have a few posts in the last hour or so that are borderline trolling, cut it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Nobody mentioned my favourite 'man from the whest' Cyril ' Wristy' Farrell. Now there's ( correct possessive use of apostrophe me thinks) a man who can describe a piece of action with all the enthusiasm of a child telling you what they're ( another example) getting for Xmas. Some of his descriptions are legendary: 'Wristy', 'stuck in', 'little flick', 'these boys'. I'm thinking of starting an appreciation society! Any suggestions for a name????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭ceegee

Nobody mentioned my favourite 'man from the whest' Cyril ' Wristy' Farrell. Now there's ( correct possessive use of apostrophe me thinks) a man who can describe a piece of action with all the enthusiasm of a child telling you what they're ( another example) getting for Xmas. Some of his descriptions are legendary: 'Wristy', 'stuck in', 'little flick', 'these boys'. I'm thinking of starting an appreciation society! Any suggestions for a name????
    How about "the cyril farrell appreciation society"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

"Game on now, Ger"

"In Cork he's known as Santy, Ger"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

The RTE are in the main, are very good. In particular Loughnane and O'Grady in the hurling, Brolly in the football are excellent. Michael Lyster is also a very good host. Duignan, O'Rourke and Spillane can be irritating alright.

And lay off Joanne Cantwell - she is doing a great job. Plus she is a fine thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Anyone else notice the number of shirts with vertical stripes worn by analysts today? I find them very hard on the eyes especially the one worn by Ger Loughnane during the live broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

ceegee wrote: »
    How about "the cyril farrell appreciation society"

Epic win right there!! LOL! :D

Have to say I find Duignam the best analyst...even if he doesn't seem to like my neighbouring Déise county! lol

Used to have fierce time for Daly too before Dublin came-a-calling for his services! :)

Tomás Mulcahy just annoys me for some reason....always has done! :mad: lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭PhosphoricAcid

I am big fan of Pat Spillane,Tony Lynch and the guy from Derry whats his name?

I think you mean Tony Davis. The guy from Derry could be either Anthony Tohill or Joe Brolly, but i presume its the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭paul larry

thet'd be big anthony tohill. quite like him but hate brolly. spillane is growin on me but i still hold a need for revenge following that puke football comment!!!!!!!!
    dont mind marty morrisey but colm o rourke tests my patience something serious.

loved what banty said about brolly a few weeks ago !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

None, as such :wink:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭PhosphoricAcid

Tony Davis sorry the fact that hes a Corkman got me confused with Antohny Lynch..and i mean Anthony Tohill..although Tohill gives the Dubs unjustified praise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Brolly (just take him witha pinch of salt)
    O'Rourke
    Cantwell (yummy)
    Evann (Yummy yummy)
    Duignan
    Cyril Farrell
    Donal O'Grady
    Marty Morrisey

Neutral:
    O'Cinneide
    Tohill
    Loughnane
    Tony Davis

Dislikes:
    Spillane
    Canning

Best pundit out there is Kevin McStay. Doesn't care for reputation romance or anything, calls it as he sees it, isn't afraid to reverse his opinion on reflection either, and the real thing I love about his analysis/commentary, is that he never shirks the big calls , i.e. Whelan's elbow last year, Aidan O'Mahony's 'fall' last year, Geraghty clocking someone 3 years ago. He's the tops for me.
    That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Cant disagree more - Kevin McStay is woeful. He almost never says it as it is and always shirks away from anything controversial. He always favours the big/traditional counties eg Dublin/Kerry. Darragh Moloney is the best commentator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Warper wrote: »
    Cant disagree more - Kevin McStay is woeful. He almost never says it as it is and always shirks away from anything controversial. He always favours the big/traditional counties eg Dublin/Kerry. Darragh Moloney is the best commentator.

I can tell you it took me a long time to warm to him, as I felt he was 'picking' on us (Kerry) moreso than any other county, but he wasn't, he was being fair. I specifically have heard him picking out geragthy's punch a couple of years back (maybe 07 Lein v Dublin)
    Anyway its all opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭hurling_lad

The live hurling panel certainly suffer in comparison to the live football panel - Loughnane is usually good value for money, but Farrell and Mulcahy are full of hot air.
    That's not to say that the football panel is without their problems - it seems a bit unbalanced since Pat Spillane came back. They are trying to ape the three-hand approach of the soccer panel, but they don't have a real Giles or Dunphy equivalent. Some of the interrupting between Brolly and Spillane would make you cringe.
    Agree with some of the above posters, though - Michael Lyster is a class act.

The hurling analysts on the Sunday game are marginally better than the live games, although I thought Peter Finnerty was better a few years ago than he is now.
    Michael Duignan has my solid respect for his comments on Mullane and Kelly in the (awful) drawn Limerick game. Whatever about pumping the fist, I have never seen an all-ireland medallist kissing the crest after a score - it's just unseemly.

As a Corkman, I think that the entire Cork contingent (Mulcahy, Davis, O'Grady, Canning) would be no loss to RTE's GAA coverage if they all got the sack. O'Grady has some supporters on this site, but I think that he goes too far out of his way to avoid saying anything controversial, even though he clearly has a great understanding of the game.

I could be wrong here but has Jamie Carragher ever been a pundit? I'm not sure people could understand what he'd be saying if he was. Jamie Redknapp on the other hand...

:o

Doh my bad blamed the wrong Liverpudlian, yes I meant Jamie ''isnt everything wonderfull in the world, I love my daddy and all he's team'' Redknapp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭parkerpen

Pat Spillane has mellowed and doesn't irk me like he did. Joe Brolly is an opinionated little twat who has very biassed views against certain teams. I resent paying my TV licence to have to be listening to his arrogance and ridiculous tone of superiorty. Give him the boot RTE - please!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Dubhthamlacht

Yeah, Brolly can be an annoying twat at times. But he makes good TV. I'd rather have him than some of the bland muck you get for example on ITV's or TV3's soccer punditry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

"Game on now, Ger"

"In Cork he' knows as Santy, Ger"

"It's in the melting pot now, Ger!"

Fond of his cliches, is Cyril

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

best commentator is Jim "big Dan shanahan came here today looking for a goal.........AND HE GOT IT" Kearney.

legend of a man.