Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your thoughts on this beamer please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Nice colour and spec, what's not to like? 2.2 with that auto is also a nice match. That engine can use oil so check the service history carefully. Mileage is low, I'd look into that too. If average miles then I would go petrol, nice smooth 6 (like all BMW's should be) as opposed to a diesel 4 pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Yeah since I started looking I've noticed a lot of cars with questionable mileage.

The M3 is just more expensive, both on and off the road. I'm pushing it out as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That dealer used to be the main BMW/MINI dealer for Limerick and they seem to be trading again on their former Nissan premises so if the car was originally sold/serviced by them they should have the history of it on their computer system.

The spec is decent compared to normal Irish spec models too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

This one is a bit of a bargain :)

http://jjreillycars.webzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200931194745204

Only thing is there is no mileage listed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Whyner wrote: »
    What do people think about this beamer?

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3341749#

Do you suggest diesels? I'll be average milage

Stretch a couple of extra grand and you can pick up a very nice 5 Series for that same year.
    Definitely check the mileage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, just to note that the car you are looking at has been reduced in price here:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200932194815995

bazz26 wrote: »
    OP, just to note that the car you are looking at has been reduced in price here:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200932194815995

No way, great work Bazz, now we're getting more realistic, nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Looks a lot better at the new price!

I have the same car, albeit a few years older and I love it. I've never kept a car this long and I still don't see any reason to change it.

Good points:
    Smoothness.
    Quietness, apart from the lovely engine noise when pushing on with the windows open :)
    Relaxing drive in auto, fun to drive in sport or "manual" mode.
    Comfortable for 4 adults even on a long spin.

Bad points:
    Likes a drop of oil between services, the expensive stuff.
    Heavy on juice. A price I chose to pay to go automatic but figure on ~25mpg around town, up to maybe 32mpg on a well behaved long run.
    Tax. €823 a year.

If I had to replace mine I'd be looking at that one. Buy it and enjoy it!

Edit: Checked online there; the tax is up at the end of this month and the NCT is out since May. I'd be getting the dealer to NCT it before I bought it, just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Great car - I've got the same in a 325ci. Love the E46, and that one has the facelift.. Go for it. :)

milltown wrote: »
    Edit: Checked online there; the tax is up at the end of this month and the NCT is out since May. I'd be getting the dealer to NCT it before I bought it, just in case.

I liked what you had said until I read the above. I was going to spin down on Sat and try it out. I'm going to call them first thing in the morning and go through my checklist with them.

No NCT has put a downer on things. Isn't the waitingt list a coupe of months these days?......:eek:

Wouldn't let you be put off to any great extent by a lack of NCT, just be sure to get the garage to do it - they can get cancellations.

Well I'll express an interest but certainly wouldn't take it without an nct. I'll update you when after I call them in the morning...It's nice to hear so many good reviews

Deal done. Getting it delivered on Friday and taking her on a road trip to Sligo for the weekend............kinda looking forward to it :P just a bit..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

Congrats - best of luck with your new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Fair play, enjoy it!

Care to give us any more details of how the deal went?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Deal done. Getting it delivered on Friday and taking her on a road trip to Sligo for the weekend............kinda looking forward to it :P just a bit..........

Car looks class!

I'd say you'll be smiling the whole way to Sligo now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Nice one!

Being a six cylinder is what a 3 Series should be and that colour combination looks fantastic. Well wear with it.

Yeah I'll let you know how it went. I've been looking for a few months now and kinda just took the plunge this morning. I think I've made the right decision but time will tell. Don't know too much about cars so there is an element of risk involved.

I'm paying 16k. That includes valet, service, 4 new tyres, repair to scratches on bodywork (3 or 4 minor scratches),alloys getting redone, 6 months warranty and delivery from Limerick to Dublin. The alloys, one of them had some chunky scrapes, 2 had lessor markings and the fourth was fine. He said it just happens when parking, not much you can do. This costs €100 per alloy but he gave in to including this in the total.

What else do you want to know? I tried to get it for less but no joy whatsoever. The price he gave me when I met him was €16,995 and he knocked a grand off that even though I told him it was advertised at €16,495

I'm happy though, my first car was a 98 golf so it's some step up. My golf clubs fit in the boot so happy days.

NO NEW CAR

Deal is off, the person who traded it in still owes €16,000 on it so she's getting it back and they're taking the new car back off her. Her old car now has 4 tyres on it and all the above. Dealer knew them pretty well and hadn't checked the finance, unreal.

DEVASTATED is not the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

That's some load of shi'te! Sorry dude

I wouldn't worry, price was in their favour considering you had no trade in.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry, price was in their favour considering you had no trade in.

please explain?

He said the price was €16 995, for that one expects a mint car so the wheels, valet etc aren't worth talking about. I got the impression that your deal involved you buying the car as a straight sale ie you didn't have a trade in. The windscreen price is the trade in price. For straight sale I would expect minimum 10% off the screen price, in the currrent climate I would want minimum €2000 off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

He said the price was €16 995, for that one expects a mint car so the wheels, valet etc aren't worth talking about. I got the impression that your deal involved you buying the car as a straight sale ie you didn't have a trade in. The windscreen price is the trade in price. For straight sale I would expect minimum 10% off the screen price, in the currrent climate I would want minimum €2000 off.

But it seemed to be very well priced. Personally I would swallow my pride and settle for a smaller discount if it's still cheaper than 20% off a much more expensive car.

Each to their own, I bet salesman was pleased with himself though. €500 off the advertised price straight sale. You'd be swallowing more than pride ;)

Well it was €1,000 off. Said price was wrong on their site. Between that and their cock-up no wonder they went into receivership a few years back.

Just had the heart set on it and and was a big fan of the tanned leather. Ah well, at least I'll be able to sleep tonight

All other options welcome...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Sounds a bit odd to me. maybe they sold it to someone else in an even better deal for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

mickdw wrote: »
    Sounds a bit odd to me. maybe they sold it to someone else in an even better deal for themselves.

gazumping in the motor trade.

NO NEW CAR

Deal is off, the person who traded it in still owes €16,000 on it so she's getting it back and they're taking the new car back off her. Her old car now has 4 tyres on it and all the above. Dealer knew them pretty well and hadn't checked the finance, unreal.

DEVASTATED is not the word

Argh, sorry to hear that!
    At the same time, there are a *lot* more out there for that money, you'll have no problem finding value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭voteforpedro

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320Ci-M-/200931194781966/advert?channel=CARS

this looks like a nice one! lots of kit. should get it for 14.5K....

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320Ci-M-/200931194781966/advert?channel=CARS

Yeah I saw that one, might head over during lunch for a test, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

HA! I remember paying €18k cash for my 01 320ci in july 07, in a private sale. And that was a good price. Jaysus @ depreciation! An 05 for 14k!

Good luck with the car anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Dito, bought a 01 320CI with full spec for 20K 2 years ago, sold it for 7,250 last week.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-S...t?channel=CARS

Drove that at lunch. Leather was a bit worn but drove well and overall condition was pretty good.

If I ask to see the service book how often does it match up with the bmw scheduled services?

Think I'll come back to it next week when my mind isn't still thinking about the last car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Discount as well due to Donegal reg ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Things I fixed on my old 01' 320CI; worth checking;

Oil sensor light
    Rear Coils
    Aircon fan speed
    Battery (still on original?)
    Parking sensors
    Brake discs (still on originals?)

I'm heading to Bristol in 2 weeks, might come back with this

http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/1109044.htm

Well you'll never guess

You know the beamer I had my deposit down on last week, well it's back up for sale in Dublin. The new pics have been added and the price is gone up to €17,950. 2 grand more than the price I agreed with Pat Keogh in Limerick.

Remember, the deal fell through cause there was outstanding finance.....hmmm :confused:

Can't wait to ring up about this in the morning

http://www.autotrader.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/CI-M-SPO/200933194918171/advert?channel=CARS

Smell of fish!

http://www.autotrader.ie/search/BMW/...t?channel=CARS

Ok, so I want my girlfriend’s bmw mechanic to service my car before I buy it. She’s been using him for over 3 years and he worked for bmw for over 10 years before setting up his own gig. Thing is, the salesman was reluctant to give me a warrany seeing as his mechanics weren’t servicing it.

The bmw guy warned me that their all cowboys and gave slim chances on them using the correct bmw oil. I could get the bmw mechanic to take it away and service it for me but they want to be paid in full before that.

What would you do? At this moment I’m going to get the bmw mechanic to look over it (no ramp) and leave Redgate service it. I might just be getting paranoid but have had a very stressful time over this

I’m buying from Redgate Motors on the Old Naas Road

I would let it go, the while thing stinks and I'd say if anything goes wrong you be be kicking yourself. There are loads more out there, without the question marks.

It's too nice to let go. Ok, decision made. Going to get them to service it and get bmw dude to look over it after service.

I’ll get bmw dude to service it in a few months and from then on. Sounds good to me. Owwww, my head.......

How did the AA inspection go for the car in Bristol Whyner?
    To be fair, if Redgate won't let you take the car away for an inspection, you should walk away.
    Seriously, it's for the best.

Also, you'll be paying more for it than you originally would have, won't you?
    Seriously, walk away and keep looking. Loads more nice Beemers out there and many aren't going anywhere in a hurry.

It's too nice to let go./QUOTE]

The why bother asking for opinions if you have your mind made up? Get fixated on one car at your peril.

Not what I want to be hearing. I don't believe there's much wrong with the car, it's the people you have to deal with.

When you're not a mechanic yourself you've got to trust someone else.

I think you're all giving up on this too easy and blaming faith. I'm going for it (with my fingers crossed).

The why bother asking for opinions if you have your mind made up? Get fixated on one car at your peril.

I still appreciate all responses and only have a deposit down. Perhaps if someone had concrete evidence I'd reconsider.

Well from my point of view, I got a spotless, full service history late 2005 5 Series for a lot less than what you're paying for your 3 series a few weeks ago.
    That 3 series was probably built in 2004 so the car is nearly 5 years old.
    You're also considering paying 2 grand more than what it was advertised for a couple of weeks ago.
    For those reasons I wouldn't be too interested in buying it.

Heroditas wrote: »
    You're also considering paying 2 grand more than what it was advertised for a couple of weeks ago.

Don't think I mentioned but I'm paying €16,500.

Only difference is an extra €500 and I'm getting a 6 month warranty in Dublin rather than a 3 month in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

That car was overpriced when you first wanted to buy it, now its even worse. There's a whole lot more out there for that money than you are getting with that car and in 12 months I could easily see that car struggle to fetch 10k, they are starting to look dated already. Its easy to get fixated with one particular car but you need to take your time and wait for the perfect car at the right price to come along, be patient!

The 320 is actually a funny kettle of fish. Posers go for the 318 whereas the petrolhead wont be satisfied with the performance from the 2.2L lump and want at least a 325-328. Its caught in no mans land in a way and wont be easy to sell on imo.