Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joanne Cantwell Again

• 04-08-2009 11:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭

Right Lads and Lassies, I’m all for ladies being involved in the men’s G.A.A coverage but does she make anyone else’s blood boil?

She comes across as someone who does a **** load of homework just to catch people off guard and make herself look good.
    The emphasis seemed to be placed on her amazing knowledge of the game (despite her being a woman) and she’s intent on rubbing it in the face of doubters she may have had in the past(or something).

Also she’s a nightmare for asking stupid questions and dragging interviews out for too long (like someone grilling a politician in a current affairs program), even when the person being interviewed is clearly feeling awkward and just wants the interview to end.

Id be completely satisfied if Evann Ni Chuilinn took her place full time.

Am I completely off the mark here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

She played inter county for Dublin. Probably better positioned than you to ask questions from players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    She played inter county for Dublin. Probably better positioned than you to ask questions from players.

Get her to interview Ladies Footballers then.

NufcNavan wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Give examples and people may support your point of view!!

kmart6 wrote: »

He is actually complaining about her being too knowledgable...examples would just make the OP's argument even more worthless.

She is intelligent and straightforward interviewer who is also easy on the eye. Nothing wrong with any of that imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    ?????????

Oh I know that..... And....? By your reasoning you could get Cora Staunton in to do the interviews. Would probably be only slightly more annoying.

Its just about the manor in which goes about her business.
    She makes people uneasy. Think it comes across quite clearly in the interviews.

Orizio wrote: »
    He is actually complaining about her being too knowledgable...examples would just make the OP's argument even more worthless.

She is intelligent and straightforward interviewer who is also easy on the eye. Nothing wrong with any of that imo.

How about she asks a valid question instead of the same cliché rubbish that we hear every week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

Her interviewing style is quite annoying, but not half as annoying as her reporting style- she's pure TV3 still, with that nasal voice thing she has going on like Sybil Mulcahy and Glenda Gilson. I'm sure she's extremely knowledgable and very hard working, but she does grate on the ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭pipelaser

kmart6 wrote: »

Does anyone remember her and Kevin McStay on the High Stools on the statistics section of the Sunday game last year (a position from which she has since been omitted)?
    I’ve never seen McStay so fed up(I rate him a top pundit by the way)
    A different pundit had to go up every week to do that section with her.
    Tohill seemed to be the only one that didn’t seem hate it.

She interviewed Meath’s Chris O'Connor after he won Man of the Match at the weekend. She re-jigged the same question three times.
    He looked completely bamboozled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

pipelaser wrote: »
    The emphasis seemed to be placed on her amazing knowledge of the game (despite her being a woman) and she’s intent on rubbing it in the face of doubters she may have
    How is her being a woman relevant here? You think because she is female that she should automatically know nothing about the sport? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I vote we put her on the Sunday Game panel instead of Joe Brolly. Much more knowledgeable and easy on the eye too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I vote we put her on the Sunday Game panel instead of Joe Brolly. Much more knowledgeable and easy on the eye too.

brolly was the only "expert" who went for kerry on sunday on one of the papers i read, the others including liam hayes, spillane, mcstay, jack o shea, paudi o shea, colm o rourke and lots more went for the dubs.......

and lol at comment "despite her being a woman", one of the most knowledgeable gaa people i know is a woman, some of the best gaa debates i have ever had have been with women from varying counties like westmeath, dublin and mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭John The Bad

Right Lads and Lassies, I’m all for ladies being involved in the men’s G.A.A coverage but does she make anyone else’s blood boil?

She comes across as someone who does a **** load of homework just to catch people off guard and make herself look good.
    The emphasis seemed to be placed on her amazing knowledge of the game (despite her being a woman) and she’s intent on rubbing it in the face of doubters she may have had in the past(or something).

Also she’s a nightmare for asking stupid questions and dragging interviews out for too long (like someone grilling a politician in a current affairs program), even when the person being interviewed is clearly feeling awkward and just wants the interview to end.

Of all the ignorant stuff you say here, you're sexist comment that I put in bold grates the most. This is one spiteful thread. Do you have any sisters or women friends? If so, how'd you feel if they were denigrated simply because of their gender?

So let me get this straight, you think women should only interview women footballers? What about politics? Should Miriam O'Callaghan only interview women politicians?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Of all the ignorant stuff you say here, you're sexist comment that I put in bold grates the most. This is one spiteful thread. Do you have any sisters or women friends? If so, how'd you feel if they were denigrated simply because of their gender?

OP was making the point that she knows her stuff (despite being a woman)

Now I dont know about you but for every one woman I know who knows her sport theres 20 men who do too, so OP has made a fair and valid point there. Its not "sexist", its the truth. Its one rule for the women and one for the men in this country as far as I can see.

FearDark wrote: »
    OP was making the point that she knows her stuff (despite being a woman)

Now I dont know about you but for every one woman I know who knows her sport theres 20 men who do too, so OP has made a fair and valid point there. Its not "sexist", its the truth. Its one rule for the women and one for the men in this country as far as I can see.

1 sport-knowledgeable woman for every 20 sport-knowledgeable men you know.... How do you know this? Have you done a survey? Or is this a "pulled out of the air" statistic?

I feel sorry for any girls growing up in this country if such backward-thinking is this prevalent.

So let me get this straight, you think women should only interview women footballers? What about politics? Should Miriam O'Callaghan only interview women politicians?

That's different. This is a sport for men. It doesn't require some bimbo whose main goal is to look pretty in front of the camera and ask the same clichéd questions no matter who she interviews.

Do you really mean this or are you trolling?

First off, football is played by men and women. Second off, I don't think she's a bimbo at all. Third off, please bring me some examples of the clichéd questions.

And even if she is so bad at her job (which I don't think is the case) why assume that's because she's a woman? Men can be poor sport journalists -- I find Jimmy Magee to be very poor.

Do you really mean this or are you trolling?

First off, football is played by men and women. Second off, I don't think she's a bimbo at all. Third off, please bring me some examples of the clichéd questions.

And even if she is so bad at her job (which I don't think is the case) why assume that's because she's a woman? Men can be poor sport journalists -- I find Jimmy Magee to be very poor.

I am not trolling, simply calling it as I see it.

There's Gaelic football and there's Ladies Football, I just think that RTE don't want to be branded sexist so they have to get someone like Joanne.

The same questions like "You just won, you must be delighted." "How important is the next game?"

After the Dublin Kerry match, she asked a Kerry player (can't remember who it was) "Yous really started well didn't you?" I mean like what else is he going to say? Why would he disagree with her?

I do agree with you on that one though, I can't stand Jimmy Magee.;)

There's Gaelic football and there's Ladies Football.

That's a daft statement in my book. Would you regard yourself as sexist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

She's eye-candy. Amen to that brother!
    But she's good at her job. Her' credentials are her' past as a ladies' football player who won All Stars for Dublin.
    Football's football no matter whether it's Dublin-Kerry in Croke Park or Dublin-Cork in Pairc UI Rinn.
    I've always found her interviews/post match questions to be grand.
    She's been doing sideline reporting for at least 3-years now & this weekend just gone, covered all 4-games.
    Think she's done all or most of the games this year whereas last year, the sideline & post match duties were shared around with Evanne Ni Chuilinn & Claire MacNamara.
    I'm guessing it's because of cut-backs but Evanne & Claire MacNamara are doing the Sportsnews on 2 & Six-One and they both use-dta be on sideline duty.
    Both are knowledgeable & competent enough also. Jacqui Hurley co-anchors the Sunday Sport with Con Murphy & is doing an excelent job.
    I'm all for women in the workplace. Any workplace.
    Don't forget, Marty Morrissey started out doing sideline back in the 90s from what i remember. With any luck, Joanne will go on to commentate on a MENS' Senior Inter-County Match soon.
    Joanne's also done commentary on Premiership Highlights & on NFL & NHL Matches.

Can ye post photos up on this here DB? If so I'd upload one of Joanne Cantwell. I await a response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

out of 10, id give her

She's eye-candy. Amen to that brother!
    But she's good at her job. Her' credentials are her' past as a ladies' football player who won All Stars for Dublin.
    Football's football no matter whether it's Dublin-Kerry in Croke Park or Dublin-Cork in Pairc UI Rinn.
    I've always found her interviews/post match questions to be grand.
    She's been doing sideline reporting for at least 3-years now & this weekend just gone, covered all 4-games.
    Think she's done all or most of the games this year whereas last year, the sideline & post match duties were shared around with Evanne Ni Chuilinn & Claire MacNamara.
    I'm guessing it's because of cut-backs but Evanne & Claire MacNamara are doing the Sportsnews on 2 & Six-One and they both use-dta be on sideline duty.
    Both are knowledgeable & competent enough also. Jacqui Hurley co-anchors the Sunday Sport with Con Murphy & is doing an excelent job.
    I'm all for women in the workplace. Any workplace.
    Don't forget, Marty Morrissey started out doing sideline back in the 90s from what i remember. With any luck, Joanne will go on to commentate on a MENS' Senior Inter-County Match soon.
    Joanne's also done commentary on Premiership Highlights & on NFL & NHL Matches.

Can ye post photos up on this here DB? If so I'd upload one of Joanne Cantwell. I await a response.

Well said on all that. I would love to hear her commentate on a live championship match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

I don't think that she is particularly good at the interviewing side of things. There's worse out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is pointless. She is good at what she does.

She does ask a lot of questions but I'd rather that than leaving out important ****. She played the game too for Dublin and obviously went to pursue a career in the field.

OP must hate Jim Carney.

I hate Jim Carney...

OP, my new bff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 alrudd

rossie1977 wrote: »
    brolly was the only "expert" who went for kerry on sunday on one of the papers i read, the others including liam hayes, spillane, mcstay, jack o shea, paudi o shea, colm o rourke and lots more went for the dubs.......

and lol at comment "despite her being a woman", one of the most knowledgeable gaa people i know is a woman, some of the best gaa debates i have ever had have been with women from varying counties like westmeath, dublin and mayo
    Kevin Mcstay went for Kerry too last week on the sunday game.

Joanne Cantwell is ok btw.Rather see and hear her a lot more than Joe Brolly.

I seem to find myself in the minority thinking that Brolly is good craic. Devilish little rogue :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

ah shes a lovely girl give her a chance.she brings a bit of glammer to the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

jaysus, people would complain about anything! she a decent burd as is the other girl and while their not perfect in their interviewing skills, its not exactly rocket science and you can be sure theres a producer in their ear telling them what to ask.

2 threads in 1 day about her. the real criminal here is Tohill. a terrible pundit, the rest are all pretty decent. I think Mcstay is very good especially along with Dara O C, and also all the hurling ones are v good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

This is better than yesterdays thread, at least there is some discussion rather than just pictures.

Anyway, I do not get this attitude of sure she is grand for a girl or football is just a mans sport. If a person is good enough for the job then they should do the job, commentator, team doctor etc.

can we have a girls in gaa appreciation thread?!:D

i dont really follow the ladies side, but im sure theres a few girls about who are decent. i remember the dublin full forward before was pretty damn hot. also, the hottest girl in my office is also a gaelic footballer (club).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

can we have a girls in gaa appreciation thread?!:D

i dont really follow the ladies side, but im sure theres a few girls about who are decent. i remember the dublin full forward before was pretty damn hot. also, the hottest girl in my office is also a gaelic footballer (club).

im sure the dublin ladys would of put up a better display than the fellas did on monday if they had the chance.

i dont see what all the crap is about her.i think she is doing a great job.lots of other sport eg soccer, golf, snooker,tennis have females doing the interviews. even on some of them there hosting the shows.shock horror!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Tristram wrote: »
    I seem to find myself in the minority thinking that Brolly is good craic. Devilish little rogue :D
    Problem with him, Tohill and a few others is they feel the need to promote particular counties above other. Gets a bit boring when impartiality goes completely out the window, can't listen to them sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I dislike Cantwell fervently. It's the voice more than anything else, it gives me short sharp pains to the ear. I get what the OP is saying in that she tries too hard in interviews. By this I mean she has learnt off a set number of questions but if the interview/interviewee goes in adifferent tangent she's left floundering and embarrassing herself. Her work on Against The Head was one of the worst crimes committed by RTE commissioning.
    I've always liked Clare McNamara's relaxed style and would prefer to have her doing the work Cantwell is mopping up.
    As for people saying she's eye candy, I'd suggest ye broaden ye'r horizons beyond copper face jacks lads.

Aidric wrote: »
    I
    Clare McNamara

jaysus no:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I wouldn't exactly call Joanne Cantwell eye candy, she's not bad looking but certainly nothing more than average. She does a reasonable job on various sports coverage. Her style is a bit wooden times and she does always ask the same type questions but there's worse interviewers out there e.g. TV3'S Sinead Kissane.

+1 on Claire McNamara. She's excellent at her job. She makes it seem effortless. Really like her presenting style. Nearly always asks intelligent questions in interviews. She's from Tipp, but we'll forgive her for that :wink:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I think Joanne Cantwell is an excellent presenter. Wether she's 'hot' or not is really irrelevant and quite demaning to someone who is actually a very decent sports journalist. I wouldnt comment on Goochs or Brian Doohers physical apperance as its irrelevant to what they do on the pitch, same with Joanne.
    I have enormous respect for her because she must have worked extra hard to prove herself as a gaa pundit.

However, saying that GAA is a lot better than most sports in terms of equality. There is always a hefty percentage of female spectators at matches, a lot more than soccer or rugby. I think they should show more camogie and Ladies football on The Sunday game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,684 ✭✭✭eigrod

It's been all downhill since Liz Howard and Enda Colleran left the Sunday Game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

panda100 wrote: »
    I have enormous respect for her because she must have worked extra hard to prove herself as a gaa pundit.
    Lols @ pundit.

I think Joanne Cantwell is an excellent presenter. Wether she's 'hot' or not is really irrelevant and quite demaning to someone who is actually a very decent sports journalist. I wouldnt comment on Goochs or Brian Doohers physical apperance as its irrelevant to what they do on the pitch, same with Joanne.

However, saying that GAA is a lot better than most sports in terms of equality. There is always a hefty percentage of female spectators at matches, a lot more than soccer or rugby. I think they should show more camogie and Ladies football on The Sunday game though.

I agree with all this. I think there is a lot of sexism running through this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bacon bites

I'd have to go with the anti - J Cantwell sentiment. I just don't think she's up to it. I don't like her interview technique or her voice. C McNamara would be my preferred choice tbh. Or say it......Weeshie Fogarty from Radio Kerry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I hate the way the whole female factor was even brought into the discussion. It has no relevence to the type of reporter she is??

I think shes alright like. Im not a huge fan or anything. She knows her stuff though, you cant take that away from her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Are you serious mate? I'm all for equality but not in this field. Have you ever watched a Ladies game! I think it is pretty bad compared to mens and would not want to see it on the Sunday game. Lets face it, equality is a good thing but men and women are different and sometimes their characteristics suit different things, it's natural, it's life infact. If women want to play sport i'm 100% for it but there is no need for it to be shoved down our necks for equalitys sake, that is nonsense.

As for Joanne Cantwell she is alright at her job and fair play to her for getting that Donaghy interview beside the hill on Sunday.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Are you serious mate? I'm all for equality but not in this field. Have you ever watched a Ladies game! I think it is pretty bad compared to mens and would not want to see it on the Sunday game. Lets face it, equality is a good thing but men and women are different and sometimes their characteristics suit different things, it's natural, it's life infact. If women want to play sport i'm 100% for it but there is no need for it to be shoved down our necks for equalitys sake, that is nonsense.

As for Joanne Cantwell she is alright at her job and fair play to her for getting that Donaghy interview beside the hill on Sunday.

imagine joe brolly and pat spillane reviewing a ladies football match.. Not very nice :P.

Yeah, it was fair good of her to get donaghy right beside the hill.
    Although, i was laughing when she said something like ''you're not very popular with the dublin supporters it seems" to donaghy.
    Well done joanne for stating the obvious. I think the boos are loud enough for me to hear from the tv like.

But really, she is alright like. I dont like matt cooper but you dont see me going off starting a thread about him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

imagine joe brolly and pat spillane reviewing a ladies football match.. Not very nice :P.

Yeah, it was fair good of her to get donaghy right beside the hill.
    Although, i was laughing when she said something like ''you're not very popular with the dublin supporters it seems" to donaghy.
    Well done joanne for stating the obvious. I think the boos are loud enough for me to hear from the tv like.

But really, she is alright like. I dont like matt cooper but you dont see me going off starting a thread about him..

Agree with your entire post.
    One point though, if womens football was on The Sunday game, then surely for equality sake, Spillane and Brolly would have to assess the game in the same way as the mens football. They couldn't lower their critical standard because it' ladies football, could they? It has to work two ways!

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Agree with your entire post.
    One point though, if womens football was on The Sunday game, then surely for equality sake, Spillane and Brolly would have to assess the game in the same way as the mens football. They couldn't lower their critical standard because it' ladies football, could they? It has to work two ways!

id say they would be nice enough to the girls tbh.. Too bad we dont get a chance to see how they would react to a womens gaa match (im not too pushed over it though :P).

Im probably going against the beliefs of my fellow feminists (:P) and the lot but i couldnt stand a sunday game with womens gaa split 50/50 with mens gaa. Theres just no atmosphere or nothing.

Sure doesnt tg4 show some women gaa matches? Tune into that if you want to catch up with all the sceal from the cluichi.
    Problemo solved :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 yoggie

id say they would be nice enough to the girls tbh.. Too bad we dont get a chance to see how they would react to a womens gaa match (im not too pushed over it though :P).

Im probably going against the beliefs of my fellow feminists (:P) and the lot but i couldnt stand a sunday game with womens gaa split 50/50 with mens gaa. Theres just no atmosphere or nothing.

Sure doesnt tg4 show some women gaa matches? Tune into that if you want to catch up with all the sceal from the cluichi.
    Problemo solved :D

Just want to point out one important fact. Theres no such thing as "womens gaa". There is ladies football and camogie. These are run by a completely seperate organisations from the gaa and under different rules from their respective "brother" sports.

Back to the discussion in hand, I don't care if Joanne is a man or woman, I don't enjoy her presenting style, just like I don't enjoy des cahill or brian carthy.

I'm done with this ridiculous thread. I always laugh when somebody says something along the lines of, "I'm all for equality BUT...."