Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo V Meath

• 02-08-2009 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭

Can anyone confirm when this game is on? I see on the GAA web site its down for 2.00 next sunday 9th Aug but that has changed before so dont have that much faith in that until i hear some official confirmation. That would put it in a double header with the killkenny v waterford semi. Thats 45 euro for a stand ticket.:eek:. A bit steep if your only goin for the football and have no interest in the hurling. :(

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 26 COB_here

Ye looks like it is going to be run as a double header with the hurling alrite.Wont be confirmed untill tonite i dont think?
    As for the tickets i completely agree ,its a shame because a lot less fans will travel in now i feel due to the semi-final prices of tickets and with the currnet state of money :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

COB_here wrote: »
    Ye looks like it is going to be run as a double header with the hurling alrite.Wont be confirmed untill tonite i dont think?
    As for the tickets i completely agree ,its a shame because a lot less fans will travel in now i feel due to the semi-final prices of tickets and with the currnet state of money :(

To be honest,it had to be put somewhere and this was the only way.I would have thought the hurling semi would have filled Croke Park by itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The Bull wrote:
    A bit steep if your only goin for the football and have no interest in the hurling.

You should look at it at getting 2 for the price of 1. It is a good deal. You'd pay a lot more than that for a standard Premiership ticket and still only see one match. There are no curtain raisers or minor matches in the likes of Old Trafford or Anfield etc.

As a GAA fan, you should have an interest in both sports. The football match is likely to be a good one. Even without the football match, you'd be paying the semi-final price anyway, so you might as well get full value for your ticket and see both games. If you were going to a show, you wouldn't wait until the interval before going in. Also, you may possibly miss the best part of the show, if we were to get a repeat of last year's All-Ireland Hurling Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

Flukey wrote: »
    You should look at it at getting 2 for the price of 1. It is a good deal. You'd pay a lot more than that for a standard Premiership ticket and still only see one match. There are no curtain raisers or minor matches in the likes of Old Trafford or Anfield etc.

As a GAA fan, you should have an interest in both sports. The football match is likely to be a good one. Even without the football match, you'd be paying the semi-final price anyway, so you might as well get full value for your ticket and see both games. If you were going to a show, you wouldn't wait until the interval before going in. Also, you may possibly miss the best part of the show, if we were to get a repeat of last year's All-Ireland Hurling Final.

No mate dont have much interest in the hurling. Dont get me wrong, its a skillful game but been from mayo it all football down here apart from a small bit of hurling. Who knows we might get a draw in one of todays games and could set up a double header on saturday next, u never know:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Any update on these tickets? how much would the meath game be? the hurling is working out at 45 for me and 5 for kid + booking fee.

Is there a ticket for both games? how much??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I'm really looking forward to this now. Don't often get the chance to see some top quality Championship football so it's a nice bonus, one I'll gladly pay the extra quid for. Atmosphere around the stadium should be a lot better and it'll help me to forget the nerves for a bit :o
    Big Nelly wrote: »
    Any update on these tickets? how much would the meath game be? the hurling is working out at 45 for me and 5 for kid + booking fee.

Is there a ticket for both games? how much??

There'll be one ticket for all 3 games yeah (minor hurling before the football at midday too). Not sure how the concessions will work out so far though.

Daysha wrote: »
    There'll be one ticket for all 3 games yeah (minor hurling before the football at midday too). Not sure how the concessions will work out so far though.

When do they usually go on sale? looking on GAA and they usually go on sale on the sunday nite but nothing up yet!! cant find anything on internet to say when they will go on sale!!!

They're on say on ticketmaster as we speak. They still have it listed as only Kilkenny/Waterford though, so best wait until they confirmed its a double header before purchasing. That should be sometime tonight or early in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

Meath and Mayo aren't exactly renowned for their hurling pedigree. As a Meath fan why I subsidise a game I don't want to see?

This is the problem with the GAA.. a big stadium they couldn't afford and now need to fill.

Why not play it in the midlands somewhere and let the Meath and Mayo fans travel an equal distance to see the game for a reasonable price. €45? Joke...

And no, the comparison to an interval at a show is completely invalid.

I don't necessarily agree that you should have to have an interest in both sports, but in the end of the day, you're still only paying €22.50 each for two top-class Championship matches. As Flukey said, we're still nowhere near English standards in terms of pricing, and your county still doesnt play half as many matches p/year as your standard English club would.

Fair points Daysha but I'd be more inclined to pay 25 just to see the meath/ mayo game than 45 (or whatever) to see meath/ mayo and the hurling thats all.

The way the GAA are doing it they are losing fans based on this policy. Loads of my mates are the same.

If I buy the tickets for 45 quid will that cover both games if played in Croke Park?

Seems so yip... details are not released yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

I think it's out of the question that it will be in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

NufcNavan wrote: »
    I think it's out of the question that it will be in Croke Park.

Ya, scramble for tickets would be mental I think. The hurling will get 55000-60000 in Croker I'd say on it's own.

Culchie wrote: »
    Ya, scramble for tickets would be mental I think. The hurling will get 55000-60000 in Croker I'd say on it's own.
    Highly doubt that the hurling would get that on its own. I'd say 60,000 in total for both games would be more accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Meath and Mayo aren't exactly renowned for their hurling pedigree. As a Meath fan why I subsidise a game I don't want to see?
    That's just you - plenty of hurlers and hurling fans in Meath. What about the hurling fans that don't want to see football?

Be it 1, 2 or even 3 games, as is the case on some days, there is always only one single price for a ticket. You are never charged per game. So whether you arrive an hour before the first game of the day starts, or as the final whistle of the final match blows, it is one price. So like I said, you should try to get full value for your money. You have paid for it after all. Meath and Mayo may not be strong Hurling counties, but there are plenty of people from both that would have a strong interest in seeing the hurling match, and there will be plenty of the hurling fans that will be happy to see the football. As Daysha said, as a Waterford hurling man, he'll be delighted to see the football match. So if you think €45 is too much to pay for one match, then go in and see the two it actually entitles you to see. For the hurling-only fans amongst you, there is of course one risk of going to the football match: You might enjoy it! It's a chance you may have to take.

Just confirmed there on the sunday game 2.00 Mayo v Meath Croke Park

Three games so for your 45 euros

12.00 MHC: Kilkenny V Tipperary

2.00 SFC: Mayo V Meath

4.00 SHC: Kilkenny V Waterford

I had a suspicion that there would be 3 matches. I am not from any of the competing counties, but I will be there, to see all of them. That's how it should be, even when a particular game is of far more interest to you than another. Go in and see the lot. It is a good day out. Nothing tops it. What better way of killing the time waiting for the match you want to see, than to go in and watch another one? You can sit and twiddle you thumbs outside Croke Park for a few hours until a few minutes before 4pm and then go in and see Kilkenny v Waterford, or you could get in there at about 11:30am and get a great day's entertainment for the exact same price. I know which I'll be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭PhosphoricAcid

Does anybody know the cost of a U16 ticket for say the Hill? It will be opened,yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 alrudd

I had a suspicion that there would be 3 matches. I am not from any of the competing counties, but I will be there, to see all of them. That's how it should be, even when a particular game is of far more interest to you than another. Go in and see the lot. It is a good day out. Nothing tops it. What better way of killing the time waiting for the match you want to see, than to go in and watch another one? You can sit and twiddle you thumbs outside Croke Park for a few hours until a few minutes before 4pm and then go in and see Kilkenny v Waterford, or you could get in there at about 11:30am and get a great day's entertainment for the exact same price. I know which I'll be doing.
    Well said.You'd be daft to miss one or the other quite frankly.If you pay for your ticket you should get full value and like flukey said it will be a great day out as long as your own county wins of course LOL.I'll certainly be there early although prob not in time for the start of the minor.

Not a fan of any of the counties playing, young fellow is up from Cavan and never went to Croke park(you can guess the reason if you have seen Cavan play this year) so I was going to take him for the day!!! Working out 55 quid for the full day, I would probably get tickets from work for the corporate box but I cant risk it!!! they dont give out tickets till Friday., Still 55 quid for 3 games in croke park!!! he will love it and I have never seen a hurling match live so happy days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

providing we beat meath what are or chances of beating kerry wed need to produce a game like we did against the dubs a few yrs back to beat them

Sorry but for €45 euro people are bing ripped off yet again. Will anyone from Meath or Mayo give a toss about the hurling? Will anyone from Waterford or Kilkenny give a toss about the football? Very very few. I myself would go to see both games, but this is not the case for most people going there.

The GAA's justification for this is "Well you get 3 games for that price". True, but they know right well that very few will watch 2 of the games, never mind 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Does anybody know the cost of a U16 ticket for say the Hill? It will be opened,yeah?
    It won't be open I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

It won't be open I'd say.

It is open, tickets on sale for €30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

It's all academic, Kerry will wipe the floor with either team.

plasmaguy wrote: »

Good man, Keep talkin them up, Thats not a problem at all. I just hope u dont end up like the dublin boys today, sure now ur be touted as all irelands favorites.

and to quote ur own words in my words
    It's all academic, Tyrone will wipe the floor with the Kerry team in the final.
    ;):D:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I find it rather amusing to see Mayo being looked down upon the whole time.

Last year Mayo were beaten in the quarters,Mayo were the better team and were niave not to put Tyrone away.

This year Mayo have hammered NewYork, Roscommon and defeated Galway in Salthill, this previously occoured in 1967.

John O'Mahoney is a winning manager. Mayo have the players to beat anybody on their day. A lot of the players from the 2006 final remain, along with the addition of the All-Ireland u/21 winning team.

Mayo have switched tactics this year, they mix up their short passing with the odd long ball and sometimes deploy a sweeper if needed. In other words the general thought is that Mayo have 'smartened up'.

If Mayo can beat Meath, don't be suprised to see them give Kerry a game. The only concern is Mayos full back line. However Kerry would also have a job in containing Mayos forwards, that much I know for sure.

Maigh eo abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I'd like to believe Mayo would do well against Kerry, but unfortunately realism tells me otherwise.

Mayo were blown out the gate in 06, 05 and 04 as well as 97.

Practically the same Kerry team and a few changes to the Mayo side this year. It is going to be a massacre.

I am from Mayo in case anyone thinks otherwise.

When it comes to big games in Croke Park, particularly against Kerry, Mayo are flops. Too many chokers on the team once they see the sight of the Green and Gold jersey.

I also agree Mayo are naive, they think you can concede lots of possession in a game, and still win. There just isnt enough graft and fighting for every single ball particularly around the middle of the field.

If you lose the midfield battle you lose against Kerry and its only by having something like 60% of possession that you win against Kerry, unless you have good forwards like Tyrone.

Kerry to thrash Mayo again this year as they did in 04, 05 and 06.

It's no use having players who can beat New York, Roscommon and Galway, but who retreat into themselves in the big games against Kerry. And I think we all know who those players are.

We need men playing for Mayo not boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I'd like to believe Mayo would do well against Kerry, but unfortunately realism tells me otherwise.

Practically the same Kerry team and a few changes to the Mayo side this year. It is going to be a massacre.

When it comes to big games in Croke Park, particularly against Kerry, Mayo are flops. Too many chokers on the team once they see the sight of the Green and Gold jersey.

I also agree Mayo are naive, they think you can concede lots of possession in a game, and still win. There just isnt enough graft and fighting for every single ball particularly around the middle of the field.

If you lose the midfield battle you lose against Kerry and its only by having something like 60% of possession that you win against Kerry, unless you have good forwards like Tyrone.

It's no use having players who can beat New York, Roscommon and Galway, but who retreat into themselves in the big games against Kerry. And I think we all know who those players are.

I think a big reason why we were destroyed by Kerry twice was because it was the final and the sheer pressure that surrounds any Mayo team in a final is immense.
    If you take the game into context and remember that is a semi final where Mayo will be under dogs and will be playing with the mentality that we have nothing to lose. Our best performances in Croke Park have been when there was no pressure, take Dublin '06 and Tyrone '04. Also remember the game we played against Kerry in the Quarters where we took our points and put in decent game.

Anyway this is a non event unless we beat Meath who won't be a pushover. However I must admit I would put my house on us doing so. Pity the old Meath team is long gone, revenge would be sweet. James Nallen has to play a part for his own sake :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I think a big reason why we were destroyed by Kerry twice was because it was the final and the sheer pressure that surrounds any Mayo team in a final is immense.
    If you take the game into context and remember that is a semi final where Mayo will be under dogs and will be playing with the mentality that we have nothing to lose. Our best performances in Croke Park have been when there was no pressure, take Dublin '06 and Tyrone '04. Also remember the game we played against Kerry in the Quarters where we took our points and put in decent game.

Anyway this is a non event unless we beat Meath who won't be a pushover. However I must admit I would put my house on us doing so. Pity the old Meath team is long gone, revenge would be sweet. James Nallen has to play a part for his own sake :D

In reality, Mayo should have no problem with Meath. Their presence in the semi finals flatters to decieve the fact that save for the Limerick game, they have had it easy in the qualifiers.

Mayo by at least 5. After that I would love to see them do the business. However Cork, Kerry and Tyrone will not be east to overcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

i to am a mayo man there was very little talk about us beating galway in there back yard which to me is the best thing for the team.
    the only things that worries me is over confidience against meath
    but saying that i see us beating meath (there capain is there best player and he be on the sideline for it so we should control medfield better that we did against galway.

the gouch today was giving to much room to play and he cut them open
    he will not get that against us .heres hoping that the kerry team have peaked to soon and we take them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭robpurf

im bouncing meath got back to croker and im looking forward to seeing kilkenny waterford too that will be good.as for the game i think mayo will be too strong to be honest i mean it was a massive thing them winning in salthill and theyve been knocking the door the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I would agree - we have done very well to get this far and when you rebuilding (as Meath have been for the last few years) you need your very best players playing.

If Bray was playing and everyone up for it then I think we could take Mayo. I think this will be very dificult for us - I just hope it is close.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 26 COB_here

I hope thats the An Mhi jersey you're talking about :D
    From reading other forums ect. mayo lads seem to be thinking of kerry already.

I am a meath fan and realise mayo are a good team but hopefully wel give yas a good game on sunday!
    See ya der:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Het-Field wrote: »
    In reality, Mayo should have no problem with Meath. Their presence in the semi finals flatters to decieve the fact that save for the Limerick game, they have had it easy in the qualifiers.

Mayo by at least 5. After that I would love to see them do the business. However Cork, Kerry and Tyrone will not be east to overcome.

You are right about that, in reality, but this is Mayo! :) I expect us to beat Meath based on what I have seen of Meath but then again Mayo in Croker God knows!!!

If we are to make any impression on Kerry we need to come away from Meath with a 7 or 8 point win!

TIme will tell :)

Mayo are probably a better team than Meath, but I still reckon we can pull it off. Mayo haven't played in a while and IMO there is a good chance that they will have an off day.

Meath are notorious underdogs, and can never be written off. We were never expected to beat Tyrone in 2007.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Mayo are probably a better team than Meath, but I still reckon we can pull it off. Mayo haven't played in a while and IMO there is a good chance that they will have an off day.

Meath are notorious underdogs, and can never be written off. We were never expected to beat Tyrone in 2007.

Think you had a better team back then though. Fay and Gerarty were class on that day

Don't know if its worth anything, but every Waterford fan I've talked to this week has been telling me they'll be shouting for Mayo on Sunday. Suppose there's lots of similarities between the two counties...both fairly talented teams whom neither have won an AI in quite a few decades, yet they always seem to be there or thereabouts. Ye also went through in the 06 final what we went through last year, so we feel your pain.

So, yeah...g'wan Mayo! :D

Don't know if its worth anything, but every Waterford fan I've talked to this week has been telling me they'll be shouting for Mayo on Sunday. Suppose there's lots of similarities between the two counties...both fairly talented teams whom neither have won an AI in quite a few decades, yet they always seem to be there or thereabouts. Ye also went through in the 06 final what we went through last year, so we feel your pain.

So, yeah...g'wan Mayo! :D

LOL, Is someone coming to Mayo on holidays :)

yop wrote: »
    LOL, Is someone coming to Mayo on holidays :)

Haha, maybe, never been there before I don't think. The footballers better be impressing me on Sunday then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭blues2

Well to win the all-ireland mayo have to play Meath, Kerry and possibly Cork, the 3 teams that denied them the all-ireland since 1951.

If any year, now is the one to do it, but there is a lot of improving to be done first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Lads I cant wait for it.....both games. Unfortunately I'll miss the minor game.

Anyway I thinks its great to have both the hurling and the football on the same day. I dont really understand the comment about very few of the Mayo and Meath fans having an interest in the hurling. I know we are not known as a hurling county but there will be a lot more than a few from Mayo staying for the hurling. In the hurling stakes Meath are similar to ourselves.

I was at hurling final last year so it should be interesting to see Waterford and Kilkenny again. I'll be wearing my Mayo jersey this time rather than my Connacht one (blue and white) but I'll have both flags. I have the utmost respect for Kilkenny and if they beat Waterford I'd like to see them go all the way. As Daysha said Waterford are similar to Mayo so I'll be cheering them on.

yop wrote: »
    Think you had a better team back then though. Fay and Gerarty were class on that day
    Aye but apart from them 2, its basically the same team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Do either team really want to win after what transpired today. I can't see either team running Kerry close.
    If Mayo do over come Meath, maybe Martin Carney might spot a Kerry weakness during his video analysis and devise a cunning plan that Mayo implement to perfection. I doubt it but we can always hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

Its Revenge Year for Mayo - we have Meath for '96, Kerry for '97, '04 & '06 and then Cork in the final for '89.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

mercuroman wrote: »
    Its Revenge Year for Mayo - :)
    again,but I just can't see us beating Kerry.We seem to have an inferiority complex when playing Kerry.we can run Tyrone to within a point in Croke park,but Kerry always seem to beat the sh*t out of us unless it's in the league.