Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some advice please

Options
  • 31-07-2009 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 25,067 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

I've just registered a domain name for a site I have an idea for.

I'm completely new to this and need some help

What's the next step to getting a working site online?

I know I need a CMS and frontend made so has anyone any tips as to what the best way is to go about that, and what the costs may be?

I don't even know anything about hosting =p

If someone could outline the steps I need to take to move this idea forward it'd be most appreciated =)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 ontheway

If you are hiring someone to carry out design/development for you, then they should be able to take care of everything for you.

If you are going to try and do it yourself, which I don't advise, because it should be done properly, then pick a hosting company and purchase an appropriate hosting plan. Then through the control panel you have for your hosting you can associate the domain name you purchased with your hosting account. After that you need to update the DNS records for the domain to point to the name servers of your hosting company, and bob's your uncle. After DNS update is initiated, expect to wait anything from a few mins to 48 hours for DNS to complete the update.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

What is the sites purpose?

blog? ecommerce? personal site? business brochure site?

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭pts