Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eejit or Eegit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Jako8 wrote: »
    I say eejit.

I wonder where that word comes from.

It come from idiot. Culchies came along with their mad accents and changed its pronunciation, presumably for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I'm in awe.

OP, you do know it's just a regional variant pronunciation of the word 'idiot' (probably id-jot to eed-jot to ee-jit). I just can't see any way of getting 'ee-git' out of 'idiot'.

We really just use 'eejit' in print to show how 'idiot' is being pronounced, it's not really a separate word in itself, any more than 'Dor-sett Street' or 'Dort' are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I demand a recording to hear the difference between the two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Monkey_Pirate

WeeBushy wrote: »
    It come from idiot. Culchies came along with their mad accents and changed its pronunciation, presumably for the craic.

Oh my god. I never knew that. How did I never know that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,966 ✭✭✭budgemook

Davidius wrote: »
    I demand a recording to hear the difference between the two!

what are you on about? eejit is EEE JIT and eegit is EEE GIT. What's the problem? Eegit is way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,966 ✭✭✭budgemook

WeeBushy wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I feel like an eejit for wasting my time in this thread.